English Clubs Liverpool Football Club - The Kop Talks 2011, Konchesky, Ayala left, Torres next?

cherroy
post Jan 14 2011, 11:32 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Yluxion @ Jan 14 2011, 11:22 AM)
Can you imagine how loud the crowds would chant KD name at Anfield this Sunday?

Hope KD able to sort out the line up problem. LB for Glen Johnson just doesn't work IMO, if Aurelio not available I would choose Konchesky instead, at least that's his natural position.

While Maxi Rodriguez should start as LM for this game. Jovanovic on our previous game is pretty rusty. Joe Cole maybe can play an attacking role linking up Torres or as RM to replace the tired Kuyt.
Another option is play 5 at the back
Johnson - Kelly - Agger - Skrtel - Aurelio

Let the 2 full back going forwards, as Johnson is good in attacking but weak in defending, while Aurelio is good at putting crosses in.

One thing is that, Liv doesn't have aerial attacking power in attack, which is one of weak link.
If on the ground cannot break down opponent, aka you cannot play fluid football on the ground, then you need to use the aerial route.
Somemore, without aerial attacking power, it just means, little chance to score in corner kick. Only Krygiakos has the aerial power for corner, like Hyypia, but Krygiakos defending is questionable.
cherroy
post Jan 14 2011, 03:56 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Jan 14 2011, 03:40 PM)
i heard ajax claimed that the striker valued around 15 million pounds and i hope we can get him. he is strong right? and young?
15 mil is cheap nowadays for a well known striker.
cherroy
post Jan 17 2011, 12:27 AM

25,802 posts

I would sum up the performance tonight, 2 sloppy defence cost the game.
Unchallenged header on 1st goal
CB out of position on 2nd goal.

Skrtel is very shaky this season, rarely win header in the penalty box during opponent corner time.
Krygiakos is average in defending.

If Carra not coming back soon, a CB is needed in the transfer window, Agger is too injury prone.

Changing the CB during half time, straight away conceded 2 goals. sweat.gif

Good thing, more football play on the ground.
and Kelly know how to send thru pass to Torres, this is something missing quite sometimes.
cherroy
post Jan 17 2011, 12:32 AM

25,802 posts

At least we don't see a frustated Torres.
Play with confidence.

Kyut is simply magnificent in dynamo way.
cherroy
post Jan 17 2011, 03:51 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(manx @ Jan 17 2011, 03:41 PM)
i think KD replace Agger is the biggest mistake because Agger player better than Skertel (or maybe Skertel cannot perform without Agger)... Both goals are from Skertel's fault. On other note, Lucas is too slow... i am very tense when Lucas got the ball, eventho he played key role in midfield in stopping Everton's attack but his controlling really needs to improve and speed up because opponents press him very fast and easily he lost the ball... anyway, Anfield was very lively because of KD, not necessary to win game but to impress the fans is more important (remember "Gladiator" movie - win the spectator) smile.gif
Based on last night commentator, Agger was injured (so far none of news I came across saying what kind of injury), I don't think any manager would want to change the CB at half time, with little threat from opponent.
It was a forced move, I reckon.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story.../866738?cc=4716
They are a different team. This was the first derby since 2002 that they entered without the men deemed their heart and soul. Minus Steven Gerrard and Jamie Carragher, Dalglish ensured the natives had two representatives. A couple of surging runs furthered Martin Kelly's burgeoning reputation but Jay Spearing was the surprise inclusion. Compared to Gerrard, whose position he occupied, Spearing is the second-rate Scouser. But one man with an affinity to the club selected another.

"Steven might not get [back] in, you never know," said Dalglish mischievously. "But I don't care where they're born. If Jay had been born in Scotland, he'd still have played."

Interesting comment from KD.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 17 2011, 03:52 PM
cherroy
post Jan 18 2011, 04:04 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(leftist @ Jan 18 2011, 03:46 PM)
wanna bet??? brows.gif
under King Kenny..even spearing getting a start! notworthy.gif
And play the whole 90 mins.

When KD made substituition time, everyone taught it would be him to be substituted, who know it was Miereles.
cherroy
post Jan 18 2011, 09:33 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(chenwfng @ Jan 18 2011, 05:26 PM)
Maxi is ok actually, he moves from left wing to the 'hole' position to assist in attacks and he's always in the penalty box to try score goals. If we were to replace, I'd say Dirk Kyut. He has the stamina of a horse but even with that, his performance has been lacking. The only reason Liverpool put Kyut at RW is to help defend the RB position. We need some new faces and new attacking options. Joe Cole has been a MAJOR let down this season. I was all hype-d up about him and thought he'd be raining crosses and passing for Torres but dammit we really need someone at RW!
I disagree.

Kyut has plenty to offer. From defending to attack, he contributed a lot in most match, although occassionally dip in form, passing went missing etc in certain match.

Against Everton, it is his attempt on goal, both, which lead to the 1st goal.
As well as provide a thru pass to Miereles that 1 v 1 with GK.

If there is loose ball from opponent GK, I can bet Kyut is the one going forward try to take advantage of the loose ball.
And in the past several occassion lead to goal as well.

Yes, Kyut is not a fancy, dribbler type of player, but he has his share of contribution to the team.

Most team nowadays no longer play winger type of system.
Chelsea under JM, only play diamond, not a 4-4-2, no midfield winger system.
So does Arsenal, playing well, without a real winger.

Winger type of player is a rare breed nowadays.
Also, with no good header of ball in the attack, winger system may not suitable as well. As traditionally winger playing cross in, with aerial attack is one of weakest link of Liv, crosses may just wasted like that.
Liv seldom score thru a corner kick stat speak all, and a lot of time, opponent defender has easy clear out only, without much challenge.

cherroy
post Jan 19 2011, 10:24 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jan 19 2011, 10:21 AM)
Honestly, I cannot seem to accept the fact that we are selling Babel and at the same time are keeping folks like that Jovanovic, Poulsen, Cole and even to a certain extent Maxi and Kuyt on the payroll...

I suppose those lot are old timers waaaay pass their sell by date whereas Babel is young enough to warrant a gamble sad.gif

I think Konchesky and Kyriakos should also be sold, but then again we are pretty thin at the back... sigh.
You want to sell, also need buyer or bidder for them.

This is not a football manager, simply press a sell button then the player is sold.
cherroy
post Jan 19 2011, 10:56 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jan 19 2011, 10:28 AM)
@cherroy football manager also need to have bidder only can sell lor. Damnit we sure have a lot of players that nobody wants sad.gif

However, with players like Joe Cole and Jovanovich (free signings on massive wages iinm) we could probably 'earn' more than selling Babel just by giving them away to any takers who are willing to offer them a replacement contract.
I don't play football manager, so I don't know. tongue.gif

Wages and age are always a stumbling block for bidders.

What is the contract tenure for both of them?

Added on January 19, 2011, 10:57 am
QUOTE(vreis @ Jan 19 2011, 10:53 AM)
Most delicious @ 7mil Euro? Thats like half the price we bought him. Might as well keep him, since the fees not going to help much in pursuing other attackers.
If want to raise money for transfer window, only a few player could fetch higher value, while those players is a big no no for selling.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 19 2011, 10:57 AM
cherroy
post Jan 19 2011, 09:50 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(feelfree @ Jan 19 2011, 06:55 PM)
Yeah, Malaysia time is on 8.45pm, the early match! Waiting to see what King Kenny will do for this match. Will Gerard playing this Saturday? Or need to wait another match?
Gerrard is still suspended, only available after next match.
cherroy
post Jan 20 2011, 03:15 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jan 20 2011, 09:55 AM)
Aye and the ressies beat your team as well, Man City  smile.gif

Added on January 20, 2011, 10:20 amReading several threads here, I see one commonality. Posters are always talking about which positions to bolster. Seriously, new players come secondary to me. To what you say? To developing a system of play. The latter is long term of course but every new manager should work hard on getting whatever players he has at his disposal to play his way. The reason Liverpool were so successful in the past over 4 managers i.e. Shankly, Paisley, Fagan and Dalglish, is because we played good football and regardless of which players came or left, our style never changed. It is also the reason Man Utd are doing so well despite fielding average players in various positions over the years. What I would like to focus on is what Dalglish is trying to do to address this issue. Its been said to death that we used to pass and move, and with Dalglish focusing on 5-a-sides, I'm hoping it will only be a matter of time when we see the team attacking in pockets of 3-5 players. We've already seen signs of this. When we have an established style, you don't need too many expensive big signings because each player makes the other stronger and better.
I agree, team play is the most important, not players.
You can have 10x Torres on the field, but still lose the game.

The most important thing is know how to play football, fluid football, and water-tight defence.
AF and AW is the example, player come and go, while style of football, ability to play football rather remain intact.

cherroy
post Jan 21 2011, 10:54 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jan 21 2011, 10:47 AM)
Actually, I would love to see how Martin Kelly will do there. From what I've seen this season, he's more physically adept than Martin Skrtel. Both are the same height but Kelly has been stronger in the air, and he's definitely the quicker of the two. Skrtel doesn't read the game particularly well either and with a little more exposure, Kelly could just turn out to be Carra's replacement. No need to look elsewhere unless we absolutely have to. Having said that, signing a centreback is crucial to address our immediate defensive woes what with Skrtel out of sorts, Carra looking like he's getting on and Kyrgiakos vulnerable against quicker forwards.

Sami Hyypia? Fantastic player but I've nothing against the club letting him go. He constantly found it a struggle to keep pace with the game in England and I do think it was time for him to find greener pastures. Looking forward to him returning in the capacity of a coach though.
CB is needed, too many mistake and loose defending, as seen from the Everton match.

Leading 1-0 comfortably, suddenly 2 error defending causing 3 points gone.

Krygiakos is particularly useful for corner kick, as aerial ability/attacking sense is good, but defending wise sometimes very shaky and no confidence enough.

cherroy
post Jan 23 2011, 10:55 PM

25,802 posts

The top priority now is defence and clean sheet.

Defence is somehow still shaky and fargile a lot of time.

Going forwards has been massive improving.
If not the pitch condition, we could see more goals. The ball simply hard to travel or for some longer splitting pass.

Shelvev should score when 1 v 1 against Gk after just coming in, may be lack of experience.

cherroy
post Jan 27 2011, 06:41 AM

25,802 posts

Clean sheet!

This is what most people glad of.
But it was heart beating match to watch.

Meireles clearance on goal line and can easily has a back spin on the ball, really sweating out the fans.

At least currently Liv is sitting at a more respectable position in league table.

DM was not protecting enough for the defender.
cherroy
post Jan 27 2011, 10:44 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(koolspyda @ Jan 27 2011, 10:01 AM)
damn devil linesman, Sian Massey had better eye(s)  tongue.gif
Lady linesman is better. thumbup.gif
cherroy
post Jan 27 2011, 11:21 AM

25,802 posts

Why Lucas didn't even on the bench?
Injured?
cherroy
post Jan 27 2011, 11:26 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aiyish @ Jan 27 2011, 11:24 AM)
Its suprising consider we hate Poulsen a month ago. Now subbing him out was a bad choice last night.

Poulsen = Legend!
LOL, and people said should sub Gerrard in yesterday match, and miss Lucas.

How thing change so fast. laugh.gif

Added on January 27, 2011, 11:27 amBtw, Miereles did look quite energetic for the last 2 games, always a threat to the opponent goal.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 27 2011, 11:27 AM
cherroy
post Jan 27 2011, 11:55 AM

25,802 posts

Playing Gerrard at the right can be an option as well.

As compared to the middle, at wing area, he may have more room and free space to utilise, bombarding forwards, cut inside, putting dangerous cross to Torres.
It is much easier penetrate opponent defence from wing area, as compared more direct through middle.

cherroy
post Jan 27 2011, 03:31 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Jan 27 2011, 03:11 PM)
gerrard has been playing well with torres, feeding him with direct passes or through balls down the middle, its going to be seen as to whether gerrard can be as effective in feeding torres from wide areas

another thing is, iirc, when gerrard starts from the wing area, he tend to leave the RB exposed at time, or perhaps my memory failed me tongue.gif
Then DM is the one to cover, good understanding between teamate is always important, if your CB bring ball forward to opponent goal, then as DM, LB or RB, you need to cover your teamate position, aka staying back.
Gerrard always perform the best, if you let him roaming around.

Kelly is pretty much quite discipline on RB, what you need is another CM to cover the position, if Gerrard bombarding forward time.

One thing positive since KD took over, apart the first game against MU, Liv is scoring in every match. thumbup.gif
cherroy
post Jan 28 2011, 10:02 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(sahathai @ Jan 28 2011, 09:53 PM)
Alonso, Masch and Hyypia 'left' the club, not 'sold'... we're not even thinking of offloading Torres, the club have rejected Chelsea's offer and stated that he's not for sale.. but rumors suggesting Torres want the club to negotiate with Chelsea...
All of them never go to another EPL team but abroad.

0.0273sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:59 PM