Bonia

TSviruz019
post Jan 12 2011, 11:43 AM, updated 15y ago

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

I found out in one of the thread in Men's Style & Fashion that the brand Bonia is actually a Malaysia Brand?

anyway, I myself likes a few stuff from Bonia but then most of the time I browse around this section of the forum, it seems like almost no one talks bout Bonia stuff. Just wondering, is Bonia product really not worth getting? Or is it just not that popular among people here? hmm.gif
regza_xlr8
post Jan 12 2011, 11:52 AM

33 posts

yes, its malaysian brand, its gud stuff actually, buying bonia handbag for my fiance , price bit expensive but the quality is very good and cool design too
SUSSartorialist
post Jan 12 2011, 01:16 PM

its a good brand

but without the made in italy/france tag
rocket_jet
post Jan 12 2011, 01:48 PM

Videogame connosieur
712 posts

Yes, seldom people talk about Bonia. Can't remember the name until moentioned now...lol
Stuffi
post Jan 12 2011, 02:00 PM

Orchid Malevolence.
1,154 posts

Sembonia is also part of Bonia
ShinAsakura
post Jan 12 2011, 02:54 PM

티파니씨 를 좋아해요
2,134 posts

I got a Bonia leather shoes. Very comfortable although the leather texture not that nice, but can't say much since I got it cheap <RM400.
ZintanthraX
post Jan 12 2011, 03:29 PM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

as for me,bonia 10+ years ago is much better than nowadays cz its imported and made from a pretty solid leather i must say (my moms handbag that she bought when i was 4 last till now and still looks good).talking bout price,there r still diff between common bonia being sold at metrojaya(for instance) n the 'special' one in the boutique.go 2 bonia boutique in subang parade and u'll see none of em are cheap. smile.gif
bloke1
post Jan 12 2011, 05:21 PM

Yang Paling Cemerlang
996 posts

Bonia shoes are horrible but always overpriced. By horrible I mean clunky, corrected grain, rubber soles.
TSviruz019
post Jan 12 2011, 09:29 PM

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

I can't find any Bonia shoes in my country, but quite a few Shirts n semi-formal/formal pants. I like their polo shirts n short sleeves, very nice tongue.gif. Also their messenger bag for men is really nice. I do like the Tesoro as well, but i think it's overpriced ><
precept66
post Jan 13 2011, 12:36 AM

1,054 posts

Probably accepted as the top 5 Malaysian Brands as far as leather goods are concern....quite reliable.
rocket_jet
post Jan 13 2011, 07:31 AM

Videogame connosieur
712 posts

Perhaps Bonia should have a sale. Then we can rush through its main entrance...haha
netmatrix
post Jan 13 2011, 08:24 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

Joint venture Malaysia and Singapore. But i heard singapore is main investor. Dunno la, long time never follow already.

http://www.tradenex.com/sites/Bonia/index.htm

sakon7
post Jan 14 2011, 12:00 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(precept66 @ Jan 13 2011, 12:36 AM)
Probably accepted as the top 5 Malaysian Brands as far as leather goods are concern....quite reliable.
Top 5 leather goods brand? can u name the other 4? lolx

I went to bonia at midvalley a few weeks ago and saw a new range of full leather bags for men. The design looks like chanel bag, quite nice. But quality is the most important thing on earth for me. Any ppl who own a bonia bag can share ur exp? drool.gif
fuzagi
post Jan 14 2011, 04:20 PM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

i had a bonia wallet. quality was good. some of the designs now r quite good too. quality i would say its up to par with some 'labels'. worth getting if the design is right for me. a fren told me that its actually pretty hot in hk.
Chartry
post Jan 14 2011, 07:32 PM

In the mood of love
1,616 posts

loves their men shoes but never got any cause i've too many shoes. laugh.gif
TSviruz019
post Jan 14 2011, 08:56 PM

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

I like their messenger bag. Saw em online the other day, planning to buy it when i reach MY biggrin.gif
Quick`
post Jan 31 2011, 04:11 AM

735 posts

i bought a Bonia polo-tee
for the very first time, ter saw a nice polo tee sho i decided to buy it
so expensive men after so called discount -20% still at RM100+, i thought can get at 50-60 ringgit
local brand but sleep.gif took a bite from my wallet

This post has been edited by Quick`: Jan 31 2011, 04:12 AM
Mave[rick]
post Jan 31 2011, 09:56 AM

68 posts

corrected grain (with that price, you can't expect much)
rubber soles = they have synthetic leather sole sometimes

overall = getting a great discounted italian shoes would be wiser, at least it's lighter
but hey, we're in bolehland...show some support by having 1 of their product not that bad after all...boost up the GDP
show some support rolleyes.gif

i personally did not purchase any bonia products
but i do have 1 wallet which were gifted by colleague from my ex-company...
using it to slot in most of my member cards as secondary wallet...served me well over the years, no compaint rclxms.gif
Pat89
post Feb 22 2011, 09:39 AM

2,092 posts

Do you guys have any idea how much is the cost for Bonia men shoe. Code : 08508-0537-08 Calf leather, Buisness.
Fei Kei
post Feb 22 2011, 09:42 AM

389 posts

cheap shoe, x-pensive tags.
like all local shoes wear few mths. or touch water become "crocodile" (mouth open)
Joey Christensen
post Feb 22 2011, 10:52 AM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

I have a Bonia leather wallet and it serves me pretty well over the years. Same goes to my leather shoes. Been more than a year and it's still like brand new. The reason I bought these was is because of the design. Price tags for those are quite reasonable.

Regards, Joey
Stuffi
post Feb 22 2011, 05:20 PM

Orchid Malevolence.
1,154 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Feb 22 2011, 10:52 AM)
I have a Bonia leather wallet and it serves me pretty well over the years. Same goes to my leather shoes. Been more than a year and it's still like brand new. The reason I bought these was is because of the design. Price tags for those are quite reasonable.

Regards, Joey
May I know where is it made ?
arold88
post Feb 22 2011, 05:52 PM

499 posts

waaaa...
u just know bonia is malaysian prodt...

buy the shoe once for my first year in diploma yearssss ago....huhuh
netmatrix2
post Feb 22 2011, 07:39 PM

481 posts

Bonia seems to be started by Singapore company. U can see their concept is marketing their products just like White Coffee. Durban is a local brand, but they do not do as much marketing. But u can see the difference in branding their stuff. Bonia even if the stuff seems like Seed or G2000, but they have stand alone stores since many years ago. Many brands does not have. Other seem to thrive having their brands peddled by department stores. I recall Bonia's first flagship store was in Subang Parade since early 90s'. It still exists till today.
Pat89
post Feb 22 2011, 07:52 PM

2,092 posts

Do you guys have any idea how much is the cost for Bonia men shoe. Code : 08508-0537-08 Calf leather, Buisness.

Guys, please reply me for this....
bloke1
post Feb 22 2011, 08:13 PM

Yang Paling Cemerlang
996 posts

Are we supposed to decode that? Go email Bonia instead.
Stuffi
post Feb 22 2011, 09:48 PM

Orchid Malevolence.
1,154 posts

QUOTE(arold88 @ Feb 22 2011, 05:52 PM)
waaaa...
u just know bonia is malaysian prodt...

buy the shoe once for my first year in diploma yearssss ago....huhuh
How was it, how long does it lasts? laugh.gif
Noyoudontcare
post Feb 23 2011, 12:51 AM

252 posts

my brother bought the shoes for office work...he can safely say that the pair has done him good for years of his daily 8 to 6 work routine...

they do have sales if im right...as im tight with the bbudget, i gotta wait for them to go on sale
Joey Christensen
post Feb 23 2011, 09:38 AM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

QUOTE(Stuffi @ Feb 22 2011, 05:20 PM)
May I know where is it made ?
I'm sorry. I don't really know. It could be made in Malaysia.

Regards, Joey
71ers
post Feb 23 2011, 09:48 AM

467 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix2 @ Feb 22 2011, 07:39 PM)
Bonia seems to be started by Singapore company. U can see their concept is marketing their products just like White Coffee. Durban is a local brand, but they do not do as much marketing. But u can see the difference in branding their stuff. Bonia even if the stuff seems like Seed or G2000, but they have stand alone stores since many years ago. Many brands does not have. Other seem to thrive having their brands peddled by department stores. I recall Bonia's first flagship store was in Subang Parade since early 90s'. It still exists till today.
Bonia is a local malaysian company but looking at their history page in the website, it seems to be started in singapore. But as far as i remember, there are a few brothers running the business during the late 80's and early 90's and their factory is in Taman Midah. But i am not sure what they have evolve to be now.

This post has been edited by 71ers: Feb 23 2011, 10:01 AM
netmatrix2
post Feb 24 2011, 01:16 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(71ers @ Feb 23 2011, 09:48 AM)
Bonia is a local malaysian company but looking at their history page in the website, it seems to be started in singapore. But as far as i remember, there are a few brothers running the business during the late 80's and early 90's and their factory is in Taman Midah. But i am not sure what they have evolve to be now.
A better looking brand. The standalone boutiques have an upmarket feel about them. Most of their stuff nowdays are very modern. Even the cuts are modern. They got a lot of fancy fabric prints and details on their shirts. I doubt anyone would wear embroidered cuffs. wink.gif
TSviruz019
post Feb 25 2011, 05:14 PM

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

actually i find bonia products worth it..they have good quality..and price are reasonable..previously during the sales i went to check out the man's bag..was around RM500+ after discount is around RM300+ i think..but i end up not buying it cause i wanted another Bonia design which they do not have it in that store sad.gif
darkprince1781
post Jan 23 2012, 06:59 PM

QUOTE(bloke1 @ Jan 12 2011, 05:21 PM)
Bonia shoes are horrible but always overpriced. By horrible I mean clunky, corrected grain, rubber soles.
THIS.

+1.

Added on January 23, 2012, 7:02 pm
QUOTE(netmatrix @ Jan 13 2011, 08:24 PM)
Joint venture Malaysia and Singapore. But i heard singapore is main investor. Dunno la, long time never follow already.

http://www.tradenex.com/sites/Bonia/index.htm
Bonia operated mainly in Singapore until 1978 when they moved their HQ and operations to KL. I supposed the Chiang family (Bonia is still pretty much a largely family controlled business) are Singaporean but I'm not entirely sure.

Added on January 23, 2012, 7:10 pm
QUOTE(viruz019 @ Jan 12 2011, 11:43 AM)
I found out in one of the thread in Men's Style & Fashion that the brand Bonia is actually a Malaysia Brand?

anyway, I myself likes a few stuff from Bonia but then most of the time I browse around this section of the forum, it seems like almost no one talks bout Bonia stuff. Just wondering, is Bonia product really not worth getting? Or is it just not that popular among people here?  hmm.gif
Bonia products are very much overpriced and doesn't neccessarily deliver the promised quality. They do employ brilliant branding and merchandise in my opinion. Their shoes cost around RM 400 usually and sometimes they have like warehouse sale at their HQ at Taman Midah and they'd even slash the prices of the shoes to as low as below RM 100 - I even bought 3 pairs (including a pair of Valentino Rudy) of their working shoes during one of their latest warehouse sale, and my friends who followed along got themselves a few pairs as well, but the next day when we met at work, everyone complained how uncomfortable their shoes are...and my pair of Bonia is starting to show signs of retirement now, and that's fast.

This post has been edited by darkprince1781: Jan 23 2012, 07:10 PM
jeremy_yee
post Jan 24 2012, 09:16 AM

175 posts

Bought a pair of their black shoes at 50% discount years ago. Quality are really so so and their sole only lasted one year before I throw them away.

Their shirt and pants are not bad though.
EricLow
post May 14 2012, 02:50 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(rocket_jet @ Jan 13 2011, 07:31 AM)
Perhaps Bonia should have a sale. Then we can rush through its main entrance...haha
They always have it, either in Sogo or their HQ in Tmn Midah.
chgchksg128
post Sep 13 2014, 03:46 PM

1,002 posts

I like Bonia's design although it is made in Malaysia, aka Malaysia brand.
Design is good although it is at mid high range price tag.
I have bought their apparel for years but only until half year ago I bought a pair of their shoe.
it changed my mine that I will never buy any BONIA products. For half years, i wear the shoes once in two weeks by average. Then the last two months, I wore 3 times a week. Then the sole of the shoe torn without excessive used.
I complaint to the customer service and claim it is not their manufacturing mistake. The quality is good when it is in the production. It is normal the shoes wear and tore and they do not provide any warranty. I am really disappointed with their attitude and the quality.
For RM399 (discount 50% when sale one time) for a pair of shoe that last for 6 month, it is overprice and but worth to buy from them anymore.
There are many overseas brand in the same price range that is better in terms of quality.

This post has been edited by chgchksg128: Sep 13 2014, 03:47 PM
chgchksg128
post Sep 13 2014, 03:50 PM

1,002 posts

QUOTE(jeremy_yee @ Jan 24 2012, 09:16 AM)
Bought a pair of their black shoes at 50% discount years ago. Quality are really so so and their sole only lasted one year before I throw them away.

Their shirt and pants are not bad though.
totally agree with their quality..sucks
sabrina222
post Dec 23 2016, 09:30 PM

Sabrina666
671 posts

Dont know where to post this but is bonia discounted wallet priced at about rm 200( rp: about 300) worth getting?
I mean will it last for years?

0.0217sec    0.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:09 PM