4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Alienware Mothership v7, waiting for M14x and M18x !

GreaseMonkey90
post Apr 12 2011, 03:40 PM

Alienware Bencher
563 posts

there. clear everything. go customize it now tongue.gif

http://configure.dell.com/dellstore/config...=alienware-m18x

casing for m18x is soft touch-anodized.

This post has been edited by GreaseMonkey90: Apr 12 2011, 03:44 PM
GreaseMonkey90
post Apr 12 2011, 04:00 PM

Alienware Bencher
563 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Apr 12 2011, 12:51 AM)
come to Malaysia ASAP please! laugh.gif

ADD : LOL dual 2GB vs single 1.5GB! this is like an insult to Nvidia  tongue.gif
hasnt fully update yet. lol
GreaseMonkey90
post Apr 12 2011, 05:31 PM

Alienware Bencher
563 posts

plus the 330W is still not up. selecting dual 6970 will cause it pop out an error on incompatibility
GreaseMonkey90
post Apr 12 2011, 11:48 PM

Alienware Bencher
563 posts

M18X photo gallery

http://www.dell.com/content/products/super...modalheight=550

GreaseMonkey90
post Apr 12 2011, 11:56 PM

Alienware Bencher
563 posts

i haven't been more excited since the R1's launch wub.gif rclxms.gif

and dell canada has taken out the m18x and m14x. lol

This post has been edited by GreaseMonkey90: Apr 12 2011, 11:57 PM
GreaseMonkey90
post Apr 13 2011, 02:15 AM

Alienware Bencher
563 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Apr 12 2011, 11:06 AM)
Ugh damnit. I think the bearing of my M15x's processor fan is dying or something.
Loud noises and sometimes even vibration when the processor is stressed.

Worst thing? I'm now in UK D:

What can I do in this situation :/
too much dust? try taking out and use compressed air to spray it.

if all fails. call dell uk. im sure they could help u out.
GreaseMonkey90
post Apr 13 2011, 03:34 AM

Alienware Bencher
563 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Apr 12 2011, 11:30 AM)
I thought of that too, I clean the fans very regularly (once a month) so the dust isn't really significant..at least visually.
Bah..I wonder how much will it cost since the warranty isn't international  doh.gif

And by the way, how to take out the fans?
I am not really sure how to take the top panel out lol.

EDIT:
The CPU Heatsink fan is 49.99GBP (saw on ebay)
Omg lol
there should be a manual in the website or u can search the forums. some posted how to strip the m15x before, if i can recall.
GreaseMonkey90
post Apr 13 2011, 11:39 AM

Alienware Bencher
563 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Apr 12 2011, 02:43 PM)
Yeah thanks for the advice.
I checked it out and pry opened my M15x CPU Heatsink Fan.
Disassemble to the very last component of the fan and the fan is very clean, some dust but not significant.
And the bearing seems fine..too?
Maybe I'll get some WD-40 or some sort of lubricant for it..

After I cleaned the bearing with microfiber cloth, light wiping of course, I put them back together and run a CPU test.
The temperature improved somehow LOL. (Full load from 83 down to 78)
I have no idea why but the noise is still there, but not as worst.

And uhh if this information is any helpful (or maybe a duh)
The fan used in M15x's CPU is a magnetic bearing type.

EDIT:
After some reading, maglev type is the best among all?
And it's frictionless. Then..where the hell the noises coming from???
Crap..I'm starting to think there is something else in my laptop that causes the noise.....

somewhere, somewhere is loose. reopen in n check the screws. or u can do the old style: take out the fan and hit it a few times on yer palm and put it back tongue.gif
GreaseMonkey90
post Apr 13 2011, 06:34 PM

Alienware Bencher
563 posts

QUOTE(DarkSyndrome @ Apr 13 2011, 03:23 AM)
You mean the power plan settings?
I selected the 'Never' and it should be alright

But the thing is I'm little disappointed since the auto dim doesn't work at all. Not that I want to save power.
Its more like...the feeling of 'there are no way to solve the problem other than switching it off'?

Well anyway thanks smile.gif

Edited: The power setting doesn't solve the problem. It still dim and I have to set it back manually zzzz  doh.gif
check power, check stealth, check nvidia control panel, check screen brightness.
GreaseMonkey90
post Apr 16 2011, 09:16 AM

Alienware Bencher
563 posts

waiting for this M18x

i7 2920XM | AMD 6970M CFX | 4GB 1333MHZ (upgrading to 6GB 1600MHZ by myself) | Samsung P800 256GB SSD (slot in by myself) | 320GB HDD | 1920x1080 WLED | Blu-ray |
GreaseMonkey90
post Apr 16 2011, 12:36 PM

Alienware Bencher
563 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Apr 15 2011, 09:34 PM)
core i7 2920XM i have d lor ^^.
i dont have ma....so i have to buy lor

omg im starting to use ma and lor again tongue.gif
GreaseMonkey90
post Apr 16 2011, 01:14 PM

Alienware Bencher
563 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Apr 15 2011, 09:41 PM)
how ur homework? done d?
well, 2920XM doesnt seems to be suit M17x-R3, damn hot 90'c++ almost 100'c d
done already spent the whole night.....
GreaseMonkey90
post Apr 17 2011, 01:12 AM

Alienware Bencher
563 posts

QUOTE(alvinkhorfire @ Apr 16 2011, 12:37 AM)
Where can we purchase mobile processors? At Lowyat maybe?
even if u do get the proc...do u know how to strip yer laptop and install it?

This post has been edited by GreaseMonkey90: Apr 17 2011, 01:24 AM
GreaseMonkey90
post Apr 17 2011, 04:54 AM

Alienware Bencher
563 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Apr 16 2011, 12:55 PM)
open can kolos back kenot  sweat.gif
it was hard for me the 1st time. the freakin screws were tight as ******

i was strippin it without a manual. have to strip and take photos of parts and strip and take photos.

now its ok already. gettin a hang of strippin laptops...like strippin a stripper tongue.gif
GreaseMonkey90
post Apr 17 2011, 12:38 PM

Alienware Bencher
563 posts

QUOTE(alvinkhorfire @ Apr 16 2011, 08:02 PM)
Sorry, that was supposed to be just a harmless question. And yes, I meant Lowyat Plaza. I really do not know where I can purchase mobile Intel processor. Can it be purchased at physical stores at Lowyat Plaza, or through eBay for example?  rclxub.gif  Please advice accordingly. Thanks.
I do admit that I have practically zero knowledge about tinkering with the internals of the Alienware laptop, other than changing RAM modules. Still, there is no harm knowing where to buy mobile Intel processor, as that information can come in handy, should need arise. Surely, when I want to swap my proceesor, I would certainly seek advice in this forum.

Grease, are you 100% certain that you are going to purchase M18x? I am looking forward to reading your M18x review in the near future.  rclxms.gif
i always try to buy the most powerful and try to do a review.
GreaseMonkey90
post Apr 18 2011, 12:36 PM

Alienware Bencher
563 posts

QUOTE(kira-kun @ Apr 17 2011, 08:37 AM)
Well if anyone knows a seller for Kingston HyperX 8GB (2 x 4GB) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Laptop Memory Model KHX1600C9S3K2/8GX or just a rough price of that ram, do tell me smile.gif

Checked the lowyat online phamplet couldn't find any
250+
GreaseMonkey90
post Apr 18 2011, 02:30 PM

Alienware Bencher
563 posts

QUOTE(kira-kun @ Apr 17 2011, 10:08 PM)
I would have thought so too.
If rm 320 below, I don't mind upgrading to 16 GB 1600 mhz
Need to find where to get lol
+shipping 300++

in malaysia they will try to sell as expensive as they can

This post has been edited by GreaseMonkey90: Apr 18 2011, 02:34 PM
GreaseMonkey90
post Apr 18 2011, 04:01 PM

Alienware Bencher
563 posts

QUOTE(kira-kun @ Apr 18 2011, 12:03 AM)
Which web can I get it from?
Amazon not shipping so does newegg
well thats the disadvantage of living in mys. i would rule out amazon and newegg if im not in NA.
GreaseMonkey90
post Apr 19 2011, 03:00 PM

Alienware Bencher
563 posts

If someone wants ssd, i can sell it to them.

Currently in stock: 1 Intel x25m 1st Gen. $120 used 4 months
2 ocz vertex 2 120gb used 1month $300 each. Buy 2 for $550
GreaseMonkey90
post Apr 19 2011, 10:16 PM

Alienware Bencher
563 posts

1hr to go. Hopefully I can order after the announcement

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0637sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled