9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Alienware Mothership v7, waiting for M14x and M18x !

kira-kun
post Apr 4 2011, 05:35 PM

161 posts

Dude, are you high?

So you plan to keep extending your warranty until your laptop dies out and hope that you get a new laptop that period when replacement is out?

So if my product is like 10 years out dated but still being covered under warranty, you think they will give me a brand new spanking model?

You got to be out of your mind.
At most they will give you a refurbish or too bad, get yourself a new one.

This is applicable in general. Like Belkin and such... Belkin, you think they will give me a new model even if it is under warranty?

Heck no... they will only provide such service until it is really gone.

No business man is silly enough to give you a new product in such way
kira-kun
post Apr 4 2011, 09:55 PM

161 posts

Let it be US, Australia, Malaysia or even mars...

Noone is that stupid.
If you ask, fine it is plausible when you first buy with it's initial warranty but not extension.
Why the hell people buy new Dell machines when they can just extend and wait till their products phases out and get new ones...

Sorry not logical.

Added on April 4, 2011, 9:57 pm
QUOTE(afag @ Apr 4 2011, 09:47 PM)
Yup, I believe Dell maybe will replace equivalent or lower system with m15x. Dell also has biz strategy.

But, let see what happen..if it is a real thing, i will extend my warranty to the max tongue.gif
Equivalent... Yes and that means refurbish
Not new.. That's not equivalent...

This post has been edited by kira-kun: Apr 4 2011, 09:57 PM
kira-kun
post Apr 5 2011, 06:07 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Apr 4 2011, 11:50 PM)
then you are wrong bro, there is somebody who dont know where dell will replace them a new laptop, then they keep on extend the warranty untill 4th years. Im the 1 who extended my XPS 17 till 2009, where dell replace a new m17x with T9800 + GTX280M SLi, no all people is lucky and not all the cases is the same. where most of the people will think like u. " since the warranty so expensive, why dont i buy new laptop", that's y most of the cases didnt happend where most of the people buy new laptop.

1 more thing, when u know ur laptop is vry old and not nice anymore, will u ever think of using it for 2 more years or 3 more years to wait for new unit replace by Dell?

Last thing is, refurbish and new what different? i would like to know what are the consumer thinking?

Warranty does not secure one person laptop's value. Should there be a replacement, in normal circumstances you get the equivalent item.

So why would a company like Dell replace obsolete laptop that could be under warranty? It is going to the shop asking to replace an expired milk for a brand new one.

Great that you managed to changed XPS 17 to an alienware M17X. What was the reason? Can't repair cause it is old? If like that everyone would get warranty for 5 years and can exchange to newer laptops right?

Sorry I can't see the logic.
If Dell operates as such, people can try to capitalize on that.
Don't be upset if you can't get that golden treatment wink.gif

kira-kun
post Apr 5 2011, 10:16 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(alvinkhorfire @ Apr 5 2011, 02:44 PM)

This is more like it.
Yes warranty period for 5 years and obviously if they were not able to fulfill their obligation, you obviously get compensated
No arguement there.
When this was first brought up, you did not say the warranty period and my main arguement was there is no such thing a lifetime warranty for laptops.

Not gonna comment on your intention of warranty... You have 1 year complete warranty.. you can only extend for another 4 more years based on the article you presented which is another RM 2,400 by the way...

Added on April 5, 2011, 10:19 pm
QUOTE(Unbreakable3131 @ Apr 5 2011, 05:36 PM)

Gosh sucks to be you...
Well you had your great adventure though brows.gif

This post has been edited by kira-kun: Apr 5 2011, 10:21 PM
kira-kun
post Apr 7 2011, 09:33 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(alvinkhorfire @ Apr 6 2011, 05:36 PM)
When M17x-R3 was first released with AMD HD 6850M or GTX 460M, it was touted by Dell Alienware as the "worthy" successor of M17x-R2 with dual GPU. While in the background, they are secretly developing M18x.

I really have no idea why Dell continues to deceive us with this absurd statement. I remembered that at the event when they introduced M17x-R3, they kept on insisting that GTX 460M can match dual HD 5870M crossfire. We here did not believe that, but sadly the less-informed customers will. It is one thing that they were marketing it to make profit, but it is definitely a lie that M17x-R3 is the worthy heir of M17x-R2.

Dell, please don't deceive us this way. We are not that dumb. Any more lie without any decent truth will continue to degrade your reputation further.
Mr knight in shining armor, thanks for your concern.
Alienware targets a rather niche market where is targets gamers.
With the interweb, many of us have gained the knowledge about this. Many of us such ad myself have done sufficient research and reason why go for M17X R3 instead of M18X. Basically not enough money to splurge on myself smile.gif then again dual gpu sounds mighty nice however I am traveling around Malaysia and Australia

Like what putochip said, most companies practices as such. If they set their line ups together, they would.
It is about the timing of research being completed and being able to sustain enough hardwares to meet the supply.
They are now having problems with the their parts now mainly base and it is l making me wait for 1 month for my M17X R3... oh well be patience I guess on my part

This post has been edited by kira-kun: Apr 7 2011, 09:50 AM
kira-kun
post Apr 7 2011, 02:57 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(alvinkhorfire @ Apr 7 2011, 02:05 PM)
Well said, putochip123! If I am not mistaken, the Sandy Bridge processors are of mainstream type. Even if Intel releases the enthusiast version of Sandy Bridge processors, it will not significantly improve the gaming performance, since most games are GPU-dependent.

kira-kun
Sorry for my harsh comment about Dell being not honest about M17x-R3. I am just pointing out that we customers must be wise enough to discern facts and myths. Besides that, we should not entirely trust Dell's marketing words.

Sigh, your M17x-R3 is making my M15x look outdated.  sad.gif I hope that you will get your gaming beast real soon, so that you can have fun with it.  rclxms.gif
I agree with all your statement.
Then again when specs and benchmark was out, it wasn't too impressive but hey, you can't have best of both worlds being portable and powerful. Well it is not like R3 is really that portable but yea. When the specs were out, we would already have a rough idea that something more powerful will be up. They are not backing down to Sager with dual gpu right?

Alvinkhorfire, bro, sorry if I have offended you. Tough day at work for few days hah!! Sarcasm and such post does make my day haha! Thanks for the complement. Waiting for my first komputer mahluk asing hehe. However like what I stipulated, I'd there is a way to capitalized they would. If they could release all model out they would. Customers are no longer stupid. With the Internet, nothing is secret. The only thing that is secret is nothing haha! Such a niche market and strong community, people will be informed. Again, they can replace their m17x r3 for m18x if they want right?

Cheers bro

This post has been edited by kira-kun: Apr 7 2011, 02:58 PM
kira-kun
post Apr 7 2011, 05:32 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Apr 7 2011, 05:12 PM)
did some research and the upcoming m18x shud be better than m17x r3 right? lols. thanks
With great power comes great Responsibility haha!! In cash terms!

Don't be surprise if they starting price is 8,999 or 9.5k biggrin.gif

kira-kun
post Apr 7 2011, 08:58 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Apr 7 2011, 08:09 PM)
hope it's not tht expensive, just in case i needa upgrade the parts  sweat.gif

ask u guys something, is xps 16 and alienware assembled in the same factory? i feel d way those workers assemble my xps 16.. it's pretty bad..  rclxub.gif
M17X R3 is already close to 8k. With dual gpu and bigger screen. Should hit 9k.

I am just guessing
kira-kun
post Apr 7 2011, 11:04 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Apr 7 2011, 09:26 PM)
it wil have dual GPU, so probably is aound RM8999, but malaysia might not bringing in this model, so u guys dont hope too high
Cause too expensive?
Maybe but I still think it will.
If Australia gets it so does Malaysia cause I believe it is from the same hub
I hope I am right
kira-kun
post Apr 8 2011, 12:12 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Apr 7 2011, 11:09 PM)
haha, they are different hub as well, even is same hub malaysia might dont have. not because of expensive, even expensive also got people buy la. kira kun ur M17x-R3 also vry expensive wat. is just dont have demand, so they dont wqna to bring in. like XPS 17 malaysia dont have.
Haha duly noted smile.gif
I need to remember even if cs is here that doesn't mean it is assembled here as well like my client haha!
Thanks for pointing it out.

Well it is ashamed if they don't but oh well...

Yea expensive hehe and will definitely be happy when it arrives. I still need to settle Internet arghhh!!!

kira-kun
post Apr 8 2011, 07:15 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Apr 8 2011, 12:34 AM)
My friend get me a 3d version. Noob dao

Added on April 8, 2011, 12:51 amIntel Core i7-2720QM Processor(2.2GHz,1600 MHz DDR3,6M cache)
Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
750GB 7200RPM Hard Drive
6GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM(1x2GB+1x4GB)
Slot Load Fixed Blu-ray BD-ROM / DVD+/-RW Combo Drive
Integrated Stereo Sound
1.5GB GDDR5 NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460M
Internal 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet
Intel WiFi Link 6300(802.11a/g/n) Half Mini-card Dell Wireless 375 Bluetooth Internal mini-card Alienware
M17x Stealth Black
17.3" Truelife Full HD(1920x1080) 3D LCD Panel with 3D Glasses
Alienhead 3D / AlienFX AQUA
9-cell Primary Battery
Still good man!
kira-kun
post Apr 8 2011, 12:02 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Apr 8 2011, 07:52 AM)
I wan 6970. I dont wan 3d. Nvm he replace a core i7 2920xm for me
That would make it a better deal... I7 2920 double the price of i7 2820...

Grats hehe
kira-kun
post Apr 8 2011, 03:23 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Apr 8 2011, 01:08 PM)
proccessor not my main choice, i like 6970 more than proccessor
Later get 485 hehe

kira-kun
post Apr 8 2011, 04:19 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(sweeann @ Apr 8 2011, 04:04 PM)
Just checked out the M17x ... 4.3kg .... O_o

And it did not mentioned about the speakers and sound system, and how long can the 9 cell primary battery can last, anyone using it can share some info?

Thanx.

Did a bit of customization:
- Slot Load Fixed Blu-ray BD-ROM / DVD + /-RW Combo Drive
- 1.5GB GDDR5 NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460M
Total price RM7831, a bit over my budget but I can still manage, but the weight .. 4.3kg ... sad.gif ... imagine the weight of 2 notebooks (1x M17x + 1 HP Compaq 6910p) on my back when I am traveling ...
I go gym everyday and ready to carry haha!!!
Ask the sifus here for better price smile.gif
kira-kun
post Apr 8 2011, 04:43 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 8 2011, 04:36 PM)
Hmm, most ppl who has the money, would probably want to spend more to get a M18x instead?  hmm.gif
Maybe not, just my thoughts hehe~
I feel you bro, I also no money  laugh.gif
I could have gone for M18X but then I didn't want...
Afraid that my cousin will tell my mom about my laptop haha!!
Mom is pissed at me not spending time outside the house those days. Imagine what will she think if I had purchase this and my cousin said it is for gaming haha! Additional 1k ringgit cause satisfy impressing a girl temporary my mom says. But that additional 1k could satisfy me till the next alienware revision I believe haha!!!!

Oh well how I wish my parents can splurge on my gaming need!
kira-kun
post Apr 8 2011, 05:55 PM

161 posts

Sweeann, be like me and m17x r3 is sufficient.
kira-kun
post Apr 8 2011, 08:34 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Apr 8 2011, 07:42 PM)
if i duwan the weird characters above the name to be carved on the customised nameplate and on the back cover, can i request for it to be done?

i only wan my name to be on it
I am one of those who wants those engraving...
Too bad m17x r3 don't have sad.gif

Wonder someone can help customize it or not Hahah!
Don't want lil kiasu's!!!
kira-kun
post Apr 9 2011, 09:22 AM

161 posts

Let's have an outing when Paul the movie is out hehe!!
kira-kun
post Apr 10 2011, 07:23 PM

161 posts

Anyone looking for tron mouse and mousepad, I saw some I'm lowyat for 399.
Sri jaya I think... Sri something haha
kira-kun
post Apr 10 2011, 09:36 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(Lil Kiasu @ Apr 10 2011, 07:35 PM)
Sri Computers la~  whistling.gif
Yea that lol!!!
Sri computer...
Always Sri jaya or Sri maju in my head...

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0438sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:51 PM