☆Fellowship of the Strings☆Violin,Viola,Cello etc., ~String Instruments Lovers are welcome!~

infensus87
post May 1 2011, 08:06 PM

18 posts

hey guys, noobie speaking here smile.gif

i've been following this thread for quite some time, since i embarkd my journey (early this yr) on fulfilling a promise i made to someone that i m gonna learn an instrument once i work. it has been a year and i finally resolute enough to choose cello (loved oboe but i heard it's too hard for a complete noobie like me, and partly because i felt in love with handel-halvorsen passacaglia). i've been learning traditional music (gambang in gamelan) before so my modern music knowledge is very limited (bass cleft sight-reading a bit, and maybe some theories like ornamentals etc. - dunno why gamelan teacher even bothered to teach these)

enough digressing, can someone recommend me a good cello for beginner? with budget of 1500++, these are what i found on the net :-
1)Hand Schueller Intermediate (http://www.musicshop.com.my/cello-hans-schuller/)
2)Aldini (http://www.houseofviolins.e2pages.com/products.asp)

anyone with exp with these can advise?

also i m looking for a complete beginner adult cello class near wangsa maju setapak area. apparently the teacher at LS wangsa walk is no longer there and athilia concentrates on piano and violin. next in my mind is pianissimo but that'd be kinda far (guess that's the sacrifice i've to make).

TIA guys. btw you guys rock (or classic)!
infensus87
post May 1 2011, 09:49 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(liez @ May 1 2011, 09:30 PM)
Cant really help you on cello's brand as I don't have exp on that but you can look at Euro music's cello maybe?

about cello teacher....Have you tried on friends of string's music(or some sort like this)...just few blocks down from Athilia.
thx liez, i guess ill check euro music's once i m back to klcc..

on cello teacher, i havent check there yet, it'd be gr8 if they hav cello teacher :|
infensus87
post May 2 2011, 12:30 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(ryanconferido @ May 1 2011, 11:17 PM)
you may go to look at cello by yourself.
As i mentioned before, it really depend on your personal taste.
Maybe you can ask Euro Music when you go there whether they got any recommend or suggestion for cello's teacher. Because like a network, thought!
Every strings students/teachers being there...

House of Violin...
Feel like advertising...
I bought my violin there.
Got many range or choices you can look for.
They also give waranty on your instrument, as well as like an investment. When you want to upgrade your instrument, they accepts trade in.

Well, just get started to play.
Hope to hear from you once you get your cello^^
sure ryan, thx for the suggestions smile.gif i am planning to strt taking classs in july tentatively (due to several outstations in june sad.gif ) but gotta start looking around since now right smile.gif
infensus87
post May 2 2011, 01:15 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(ryanconferido @ May 2 2011, 12:53 AM)
make sure you get a teacher, than you buy a cello.
Also, you can do some research the study of cello, do some preparation, it'll make you move more further as adult student.
Beside, you also make sure have time to pratice.
Seem, we need to work & back home late, etc.
And, most concern is the place for you to pratice, which won't distrubing other people when you pratice at home.
If you don't have any music theory, normally teacher would starts the lesson for you on these topics.
When you attend first lesson, you could seek advise from your teacher to get the instrument.
Well, the cello, you no need to rush on this.
yeah, i m gonna need to find a good mute (not sure about clothespins :|) as well now you mention about practising smile.gif but since my area really close to MRR2, i guess all the honkings and rich brats showing-off their powerful engines might hav made the neighbours ears immune ady
thx again for the tips friend

infensus87
post May 2 2011, 09:50 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(liez @ May 2 2011, 09:28 AM)
you are a grade 8 cello student?
juz like what karenalvin said~
infensus87
post May 2 2011, 12:34 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(liez @ May 1 2011, 09:30 PM)
Cant really help you on cello's brand as I don't have exp on that but you can look at Euro music's cello maybe?

about cello teacher....Have you tried on friends of string's music(or some sort like this)...just few blocks down from Athilia.
asked a friend to check juz now, and unfortunately it's closed (well, labor day right)..but the poster said there's cello (so did LS wangsawalk tongue.gif) gonna check myself next week or 2..very near to my house in tmn melati, so thx liez for suggstion smile.gif
infensus87
post Jun 6 2011, 11:04 PM

18 posts

finally today i've the courage, time and money to attend my very first cello class icon_rolleyes.gif
and when my teacher played my cello so beautifully, my love for it grew sevenfold wub.gif . dunno it can sound that good considering it's a standard student model (sarasate by j.x young <-- got it from a friend)

the class was fun, the teacher was gr8, i cant ask for more biggrin.gif now i hope i could play it at acceptable level real fast
infensus87
post Jun 20 2011, 08:38 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(shininn @ Jun 19 2011, 06:12 PM)
Ah I see most of you are violinst.
Any Cellist keen on sharing? Is this rather uncommon in our country?

What are the difference to play a violin and a cello? I know cello sound lower. and fingering difference, longer bow? Any insight to share?

Cheers to all the music lovers wink.gif
not exactly a cellist since i hav juz only finished my 3rd lesson (yeay! icon_rolleyes.gif ) but the most noticeable difference is in the posture..you hold the cello in between your legs and play it a bit slanted (not to0 upright)

the tuning is difference (ADGC).. as an adult beginner with cello as my 1st classical instrument it's lotsa fun especially with my great ( and patient!) teacher..

i love cello for the mellow sound, and like ryan said, cello can play high notes even tho u might have to go off the fingerboard! shocking.gif my favorite =

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vdwgz98d_6I

yo-yo ma plays this better to some, but i still love his version (after Heifetz's version on violin of coz)
infensus87
post Jun 20 2011, 10:43 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(shininn @ Jun 20 2011, 09:33 PM)
Go off the fingerboard??
Thanks for all the sharing.  thumbup.gif

I have one too, my current favourite.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ry4BzonlVlw
I heard the original played by Yo Yo Ma, and stumble upon this.
I'm kind of more to New Age, but I still love classical.

Bach's Cello Suite (at least the Prelude) is like a must learn to all the cellist.. Don't you agree?

Anything go funny in your new lessons?
I remember my first time bowing the violin and it goes "screeeechh~~" AW. >.<
wow that's juz cool, and yes Bach's cello suite ( at least Prelude biggrin.gif) IS a must learn, but i am not rushing it hehe (although i secretly learnt Ode to Joy behind my teacher while practicing the finger spacing tongue.gif ) what really brought me into learning however was actually Handel-Halvorsen Passacaglia by the guy up there
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NseBdxfHk5k...=watch_response
..it might take decades but i hope i could play this duet ( hopefully not by myself!)

lotsa funny things but in my first class i sorta 'spiccato'ed on my very 1st bow! sweat.gif
infensus87
post Jul 18 2011, 10:34 PM

18 posts

wow yeah, it really is silent these days :|
anyways, it has been my 7th week learning the cello..quite an enjoyable journey especially this week since i m learning extended positions, melodic vs. harmonic, major vs. minor ( even tho i might be a lil slow tongue.gif )..and 3/4 bowing :|
now i gotta find a really good mute, better than my metal 3-pronged mute that constantly moves when the strings vibrate..anyone knows where in kl i can get it ( i checkd chamber in sg wang, no luck)..start to worry i might be bothering my neighbors even tho there's yet any complaints
infensus87
post Jul 23 2011, 10:32 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(shininn @ Jul 23 2011, 04:31 AM)
How's your bow hold now after these time?
I started my Cello classes like 3 weeks ago... I still find the bow rather.... heavy?  blink.gif it does not seems as effortless as I thought, my teacher commented my bowing sounds not loud enough because I didn't apply enough pressure. And it's not stable enough across the tip towards the frog...
I need to concentrate to my pitch, then the bowing, then the notes, phew!  rclxub.gif

Honestly, I still haven't been able to get a Cello for my daily practice....
last week my teacher said my bow hold is kinda ok now..followed exactly what my teacher's said:-
1)hold the bow, do not grip do not lift the bow, just pull and push thru index and thumb (i.e. ring n pinky juz sit there resting, maybe helping during bow nearing frog)
2)put the whole arm weight on the string (through the bow) - i had the not loud enough problem previously cuz i ignored the forearm weight (meaning i kinda liftd my forearm a bit - wrong)
3)do not force a pressure or it'll be screeching sound for ya - constantly reminded of this smile.gif

result of this my bow now feels kinda effortless hehe less tiring i'd say

on the stability, it's where the thumb plays its role, juz use the tip of it + 2nd part of index (not the one with nail, dunno how to say lol) to prevent the bow from dropping while my whole arm weight resting on the string. maybe still got many flaws but definitely better than few weeks ago~

lol i felt the same before, too many things to concentrate but believe me, it will come with time..still learning myself (especially on the waltz bowing, differing bow speed and length tongue.gif) but i assure the Ah-ha moments are very rewarding! i am finally learning my long time favorite shostakovich waltz no 2

anyways, good luck with learning cello to both of us biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by infensus87: Jul 24 2011, 02:39 PM
infensus87
post Nov 8 2011, 10:34 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(suheng @ Nov 8 2011, 03:57 PM)
hi ~~ i only know how to play piano, i never play any string instrument before... but i'm planning to learn either cello or violin... can anyone give me some idea? which one should i go for?
i found that strings instrument seems hard to learn.. i'm so worry after i bought a violin n cello then i stop the class >.<
btw, anyone know that where can i get the cello class around kl area? or wangsa maju area?
thanks ya smile.gif
hey there, juz reiterating what the pros hav juz said, it all boils down to what you love/look in the instrument you are considering...in my case i have always wanted to learn violin but ended up taking cello instead due to a charming performance ive nvr planned to watch..it was an instant love and it made me wonder all day how come ive nvr come across this instrument all this while!
After my first 5 months now learning, i found cello is very rewarding, even at my stage.. i wouldnt say it's easy but it's not impossible..but dnt worry too much about it, for all you know you are a natural smile.gif juz dont limit your 'love' to 'bcuz it looks cool', try to love it that u want to be great on it..but heck what i know right, i am still a beginner!
For cello, i find it quite forgiving and the learning curve is quite ok..once u get the basics(posture, bow hold, fingering) good, which i am constantly trying to perfect, everything else come easier (according to my teacher)..still on 4th position and g major on 3 octaves, and tons to learn but i am in no rush smile.gif

on cello class, i'd admit it's kinda hard to find one but in wangsa maju u can try look at friends of strings near s2

do give it (cello/violin) a try and dont worry too much whether u can be a pro or not, more importantly u enjoy yourself trying something you always want!
infensus87
post Nov 11 2011, 11:31 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Nov 11 2011, 10:31 PM)
there're many ways to overcome this.

for starting, use "units" to count the beat. say, crotchet, quaver quaver, crotchet, quaver quaver. instead of counting (1 &)(2)(&)(3 &)(4)(&), count as (1 2)(1)(1)(1 2)(1)(1).

or crotchet, quaver quaver, minim, count it as (1 2)(1)(1)(1 2 3 4).

the concept here is to know how many units you'll get for each kind of notes. above example used quaver or 1/2 count as 1 unit. so quaver = 1 unit, crotchet = 2 units, dotted crotchet = 3 units, minim = 4 units.
wow i m having the same problem..and using this method i am already improving biggrin.gif so thanks!..but i still stuck with triplets..like the ones in Bizet's Habanera with all the slurs it just got me confused to even count at all..as of now i gotta memorize the rhythm to make do (even tho i could barely differentiate the rhythm with the 2 variations, i wish i can show it here)..thnks anyways
infensus87
post Nov 12 2011, 12:36 AM

18 posts

i see, thanks gonna try that right away if it's not past midnight..really thanks much
infensus87
post Feb 12 2012, 09:33 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(cocaineEater @ Feb 2 2012, 11:20 PM)
any David Garrett's fan here??  biggrin.gif  hehe my new idol lol!

"The fastest violinist is David Garrett (Germany) who played "Flight of the Bumblebee" in 1 min 5.26 sec on the set of Guinness World Records: Die GroBten Weltrekorde in Germany, on 20 December 2008."
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Q0WGQbJbso
o/ i knew him from the very same video lol.. he's definitely one of the strings players ill alwys youtube for reference! Others being Vengerov, Roman Patkolo for bass and a long list of cellists (since I am cellist beginner tongue.gif)

btw, anyone here using Noteflight? I found it very useful to all level of music lovers in terms of finding music, composing, idea fishing, transcribing etc. etc. As a very new to this music thingy right now i m using it mainly for transcribing and rhythm practice..check out mine ->
http://www.noteflight.com/scores/view/cdcb...b1752378aa89e90

disclaimer: some of the tunes are very crude and harmful to those musically bestowed ears tongue.gif
infensus87
post Feb 22 2013, 08:28 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(dywx07045 @ Feb 21 2013, 06:44 PM)
Hi, hope this post isnt dead yet!!
am a Grade 6 piano student and a zhong ruan & san xian player (similar to japanese Samisen, both are chinese instrument), planning to learn cello start from this coming March!!
Finding a cello teacher thats really good in teaching, and i found this Ms. Jin Loh thats providing individual lessons at RM300/month, 1 hour per week

http://celloteacherinmalaysia.blogspot.com/
Hear that she's quite good but Is it too expensive? coz my piano class fees is only around 200/month smile.gif
I think that's quite ok..I am paying RM80/hr but I personally think it's not that expensive considering the joy cello brought me.. But then again, I might be just me - an adult beginner with little exam expectations e.g. to pass grade x in y time icon_rolleyes.gif
infensus87
post Oct 6 2014, 09:36 PM

18 posts

cool collection dude!

anyways, have anyone been to this store:-

http://www.mystringmaster.com/about-us.html

says they got repair and even rental. I definitely would give it a visit later (cello strings 3 years ady, bridge a bit too high my thumb hurts, bow definitely need rehair or replacement altogether etc.etc), but just asking if anyone have had any experience about it. They don't publish any price for their products/services so yeah, have to go 1st then only know..
infensus87
post Oct 24 2014, 08:17 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(ati radeon @ Oct 23 2014, 12:23 AM)
Hello to all string players,

I have been learning violin for the past 4 years and i have completed grade 3 abrsm exam, and i admit that i am still a beginner. All these while i have been playing alone and solo myself.

Since the exam i find that my drive has been getting lower and more slack off. Im the eldest student at the age of 28 at my learning center while the rest are kids, not that i look down on them, its just that I am advised by my teacher that I could try to find some friends to play along to motivate each other while improving.

I agree with her that I could try that, sadly in my circle of friends I do not have any active musicians. As of my skills, I know I am not qualified yet to join any junior ensembles or performance teams.

I would like to know whether are there any volunteer or practise groups that are active around Klang valley or church musical groups? I have not look around much myself, but I would gladly request to join any.
Or it could be any players who would just like to gather around to practise at some place, I do not mind to travel.

Seems like I have hit some barrier now, and I experienced that 2 years back as well.
Very much appreciated if veterans here could shed some light on my dilemma now.

And thank you in advance for any invitation and advices.
well i have a problem close to what you just described except that I play a bit with a cpl of ofcmates who play violin and piano. But seeing that everyone's bz we hardly had any sessions this year(!). So i also dont mind if got any practice group that could improve my drive.
Oh I am learning cello though.. 3.5 years now but no exams tongue.gif (learnt several movmts from bach cello suites 1-3, but definitely still a beginner). Cheers!

0.0383sec    1.07    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:16 PM