Headphones Jaben Malaysia v3, The Most Complete M'sia Headphone Store

tunertoobe
post Jan 9 2011, 02:29 PM

9,309 posts

Fourth dry.gif
Okay let's start discussion. Earsonics SM2, Shure SE425, UM2 or DBA-02? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Jan 9 2011, 02:29 PM
tunertoobe
post Jan 9 2011, 02:44 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(boomber @ Jan 9 2011, 02:35 PM)
Maybe you can audit it at Jaben, music is very personal and we might have different point of view.
One thing is, DBA-02 is very sensitive to hissing, you better test it with your music collection before you go for it. It is a very detail IEM indeed.
Wait, are you replying my post? Seems like it. laugh.gif
Yeah, I changed my mine about the DBA-02 when I also read that it is prone to hissing. I'm looking for something a little bright.
Although I do look for a particular sound sig, I actually don't mind at all if its the exact opposite of what I'm looking for, as long as it sounds good. I do look for adequate, articulate and fast bass, but if you throw at me a mid-rich and sparkly ones, I wouldn't mind at all. In fact I can find stuff in my music collection that will suit it. Oh and I don't mind diff POV, as long as you say it's good, they might as well be for me. I'm not THAT critical, I just enjoy music at a quality. Part of the enjoyment of being in this hobby is discovery. You can say I'm not an audio purist, but an audio explorer. tongue.gif I like hearing variety, that's why I'm looking for 2 COMPLETELY different sounds.

I'm actually looking for a contrast of DDM, if that helps. So which represents a BA driver sig the most? Who among them defines what a BA is?

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Jan 9 2011, 02:47 PM
tunertoobe
post Jan 9 2011, 08:21 PM

9,309 posts

Very expensive indeed. I think the price is close to a Future Sonics custom.
tunertoobe
post Jan 9 2011, 09:46 PM

9,309 posts

Have a look at Fiio.
tunertoobe
post Jan 10 2011, 10:33 PM

9,309 posts

I want to ask also.
What IEM can give good bass(i.e punchy but not muddy) at low volumes? I'm getting sick of pumping out volume to get bass. I see Future Sonics can do it but I want to know of other alternatives, reviews on these are rather mixed(some say good bass with only slightly lacking detail, some say muddy and lack soundstage, some say brings out hidden details rclxub.gif ) And preferably under RM1000.

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Jan 10 2011, 10:36 PM
tunertoobe
post Jan 10 2011, 11:32 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(windboy @ Jan 10 2011, 10:36 PM)
Earsonic SM2
Westone UM2
radius DDM2
Owh, Earsonics SM2 good at that also ka?
Hmmmm......this is good. It's still around 1k though....but maybe I can live with that.
DDM 2 is a certain purchase. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Jan 10 2011, 11:34 PM
tunertoobe
post Jan 11 2011, 12:17 AM

9,309 posts

Does SM2 come with a clear shell?
tunertoobe
post Jan 11 2011, 07:39 AM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(MrJinggles @ Jan 11 2011, 12:33 AM)
Yea it does :

[attachmentid=1988285]
Nice...real nice. biggrin.gif
tunertoobe
post Jan 11 2011, 05:57 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(wongpeter @ Jan 11 2011, 11:44 AM)
Are the above IEM's in the RM1K range and if they are, is the Sony MDR-EX700SL (I thought they got a good reputation for bass) @RM1,099.00 totally a non-contender?

I am just curious not that I can afford a RM1K headphone.

Thanks for any info.
The ones mentioned are dual drivers. The Sony has only a single driver but if I'm not mistaken, is the largest IEM driver in the world. I've tested it once. It does have a fun thumping bass, but mid-high freq tends to be a bit harsh and slightly piercing. It's a new unit out of a package so dunno how it'll perform after burn-in. Reviews all over state that it does improve but the harshness remains.

I thought it was a bit overpriced, since you can get dual-drivers for a cheaper price, and in the case of the DDM, almost half the price.

Added on January 11, 2011, 6:44 pmAiyak, just looked at SM2's included accessories. I'd rather ditch the cleaning tool kit for a bit more tips choices. So that's out. dry.gif

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Jan 11 2011, 06:44 PM
tunertoobe
post Jan 12 2011, 07:55 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(i_bony @ Jan 12 2011, 07:10 PM)
no wonder no one reply at jaben thread v2. hahaha.
close already. cehh. congratz jaben!

btw,the sony MDR EX1000 and 700SL looks quite good!
is it already release in malaysia?
Tried the 700 a while back.
tunertoobe
post Jan 13 2011, 06:35 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jan 13 2011, 06:28 PM)
this thread is pure poison!
never ask for suggestions....u sure mati one...

anyway...
i know i dun fancy headphones...
and i have the ES3x and UM3x...
any suggestions for my next IEM? brows.gif
u know when the gatal comes...nothing can stop it... biggrin.gif
Another reason I don't go straight to triple drivers.....upgrading from those is a killer for my wallet. tongue.gif
Westone 4 is coming. brows.gif
tunertoobe
post Jan 13 2011, 06:52 PM

9,309 posts

haha, not much else than to go to customs.
tunertoobe
post Jan 13 2011, 07:55 PM

9,309 posts

Why not try headphones, maybe with an amp combo?

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Jan 13 2011, 07:55 PM
tunertoobe
post Jan 13 2011, 09:02 PM

9,309 posts

Owh.....then there;s just none other that I can think of. Maybe you can try Earsonics SM3 but I'm guessing you're not going go for another similar product since you've gone through three triple drivers(and one of them is a custom).
So......that just leaves an 8-driver custom in my list. laugh.gif
tunertoobe
post Jan 25 2011, 07:04 PM

9,309 posts

Heheeh, decided to buy a second hand DDM while waiting for the newer version to hit our shores. Hopefully it'll arrive this week. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Jan 25 2011, 07:05 PM
tunertoobe
post Jan 26 2011, 12:43 AM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(walabies @ Jan 25 2011, 07:16 AM)
I am guessing that might be the firmware problem. If u can't flash it do bring and let us do them.
by the way guys we have an auction today! Don't forget to attend it and bring home a lot of goodies. Details can be found on headjam forum
That auction was awesome!
Got myself a Hippo Box+. laugh.gif
But need to wait at least a week before I can pay....no money already. blush.gif
tunertoobe
post Jan 26 2011, 01:29 AM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(beederbest @ Jan 26 2011, 01:23 AM)
Btw I have not ventured into amplifier stuff. Why is it called Hippo Box+amplifier?
is it amplifier only or got other functions too?
It's a newer version, and supposedly an upgrade over the older one, the Hippo Box. That's why there's a +.
tunertoobe
post Jan 26 2011, 02:15 AM

9,309 posts

Didn't get as low as I want to, but still pretty good. RM255. biggrin.gif
Everyone were like rabid predators, going after the amp! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Jan 26 2011, 02:17 AM
tunertoobe
post Jan 26 2011, 02:25 AM

9,309 posts

Hahaha.....well, I just got lucky then didn't I? laugh.gif
There's another auction later they say.....I can't possibly join then since I've already maxed out my expenditures for audio stuff, and I have a final semester project to think of.....and the new version of DDM. tongue.gif
tunertoobe
post Jan 26 2011, 02:38 AM

9,309 posts

Search for radius HP-TWF21.

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0418sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 08:58 PM