Headphones Jaben Malaysia v3, The Most Complete M'sia Headphone Store

dexth
post Jul 31 2012, 10:17 AM

159 posts

Hi sifus,
I'm planning to get a headphone for pc use (gaming 70%, movies 30% mostly, music occasionally). I currently have steelseries siberia which I rarely used, it sounded ok but not what I would call nice sounding...i know, it's gaming gear not meant for audiophile. Most of the times, I prefer my HT setup - combo of monitor audio BR2 fronts, acoustic energy aego T sat 7.1 setup, Rythmik F12 sub powerd by Denon AVR1912 amp. Compared to Siberia rm300+ cans, it's just unacceptable sound.
Now, i've heard people saying how good a pair of good cans can be, some even prefer to HT setup. is it true?
I was at Jaben the other day and dont have much time but tried the highly recommended Bayerdynamic DT770Pro w/ Govibe Martine+. Based on my short listening experience from my smartphone, it doesnt sound all that different from Siberia. I mean, it's better but just slightly (i'm not sure if the 770Pro has been burn in sufficient enough though).
Thus, need some advise from sifus here. Which pair of cans would suit me. looking for a pair of can which would go deep down on low freq with impactful bass. Clarity is secondary & not too bright. Any recommendation? My budget ~rm1K to 1.5K, not planning to spend too much as I doubt I will use headphone regularly unless it sounds as good as the home theater, mainly late night use as not to disturb sleeping family members. thanks in advance smile.gif

This post has been edited by dexth: Jul 31 2012, 10:19 AM
dexth
post Jul 31 2012, 11:45 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 31 2012, 11:33 AM)
considering the gaming 70% requirement, can opt for AT AD900 or AD2000 for their soundstaging and being open cans you'll be as close as it goes for a speaker setup that you prefer (hey im more of a speaker person too wink.gif ), and get a govibe peak for the bass boost smile.gif
additionally, if you're getting the ad900 instead, opt to mod/replace the default earpads to the w5k leather ones.

you can read up my reviews etc on my site smile.gif
thanks bro, i'll check them out. however, a quick search on reviews indicate these are not very good with bass. You are spot on with the soundstage.
dexth
post Jul 31 2012, 01:46 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 31 2012, 11:52 AM)
yeap by default they are HORRIBLE when it comes to bass. hence my additional recommendation on either going the ad2000 flagship, or ad900 with w5k ear pads, and of course, the govibe peak amp with bass boost. (if you want to spend more, i also recommend the ALO audio mk3, but thats more than twice the price of govibe peak sad.gif )
Anymore suggestion? I'm new to headphone, so looking for the best bang for the buck biggrin.gif

0.0157sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:57 PM