TSowikh84
post Apr 19 2012, 11:35 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(torino @ Apr 19 2012, 11:16 AM)
ya..i did checked it twice...its enabled and auto...but still the monitor reads the frequency as 3.50Ghz..its just happen after i make a OC test on it... icon_question.gif
CPU-Z?
TSowikh84
post May 6 2012, 02:08 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

Core temp is not the same as CPU temp.
Asus like other brands of mobos usually will report CPU temp. Core temp is more important here.
TSowikh84
post May 6 2012, 07:17 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

Sounds abnormal. By rights the BIOS wont down multi to 49x automatically for you if failed OC. Try updating BIOS, uninstall MSI OC Utility or put the CPU on other mobo and see how.

It's an ES maybe a rejected chip & capped at 49x LOL. I also saw someone selling 2600 but unlockable like 2600K.
TSowikh84
post May 7 2012, 07:42 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(lengchai86 @ May 7 2012, 02:26 AM)
update : didn't try using fatal1ty board as oredy success boot to windows with higher multi (52)
enable Cstate setting> no limit

what is the max safe Vcore. just wanna try how high this 2700K ES chip can go with safe voltage.
end up with setup in WC casing  sweat.gif
very lazy to change the waterblock at first but when i saw the temp i was like  shocking.gif
pretty low (40'C) compare to previous air cool (61'C)

Good to hear that you have found the culprit. I wouldnt change anything that i dont know.

Safe vcore? I think i'm the wrong person to answer this question lol. Dont go over 1.55v. Let it stay below 1.5v if possible. Stop stressing it at 1.52v on air cooling/ regular wc & try to keep temps below 80C to prevent degradation.

TSowikh84
post May 26 2012, 09:03 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ May 26 2012, 01:10 PM)
Just a quick Intel noob question since I just couldn't find anything related to what I want to know.

Can a locked SB use faster memory divider? For example i5-2400, can it be run at faster memory speed, or is the memory divider also locked? I know running faster memory speed barely does anything to improve performance, just asking though.
non-K like 2400 has limited unlocked multi, with unlocked mem OC

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/displ...00-2300_11.html
TSowikh84
post May 27 2012, 10:40 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(zeipher @ May 27 2012, 09:21 AM)
Hi Sifus,

Am facing a weird scenario here. OC-ed my proc to 4.0GHz with vcore of 1.150V. While running prime95 for awhile, everything looks good and temp max at 60c. But after that, I saw a big increase of temp until 85c and vcore at 1.360V. Kinda worried on the sudden increase of vcore and temp. Is this cause by the CPU LLC? I have the CPU LLC on level 2. Or any other possible cause?

Below is my specs:

i5 2500K @ 4.0GHz at 1.150V
Asrock z77 Extreme4
Seasonic S12MII 620W
2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1333 RAM

The vdrop (vcore increased while on load) is indeed caused by LLC.
Higher LLC level is degradation level
Lower is safer & suitable for 24/7 operation
I'm not sure how ASRock LLC works but you use the LLC level 1 and vcore 1.36v then start start lowering the vcore notch by notch until a stable vcore is determined.
Stress test like prime95 does generate a lot of heat so a good cooler is recommended to prevent overheat issue.

This post has been edited by owikh84: May 27 2012, 10:42 AM
TSowikh84
post May 27 2012, 12:21 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(zeipher @ May 27 2012, 12:02 PM)
From what I read, Asrock's LLC works the opposite way from the other mobo makers where level 5 nets you the least voltage compensation and level 1 the most. So, you're suggesting to lower down the LLC (Asrock's case, up the level)? Oh, forgot to mention that my temp and voltage only shoots up after the 7th hour of priming. That's why I feel it's a bit weird since for the 1st 7 hours, there is no voltage increase.

As for my cooler, I have 212 Evo with push pull fans.

LLC level which will give you lower vcore (vdroop) at load.
By rights as early as 20s you should see the core temp shoot up to its max (in your case 80c).
Be sure to use the latest prime95 + win7 SP1 and monitor the CPU usage thru task manager, should be full 100% load on all cores.
And next time pls post screenshot of the test to give some hints and info of your claim so that we could discuss further.
Good luck
TSowikh84
post Jun 10 2012, 01:41 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(pspslim007 @ Jun 10 2012, 01:39 PM)
can anyone tell me guide to overclock ?

I think you should read post #1.
TSowikh84
post Jun 24 2012, 10:02 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(Qavs @ Jun 24 2012, 08:33 PM)
I'm very very new to water cooling.
I don't OC in the past, and since I recently got hook up to WC I tell myself why not try how far I can go.

Purpose : Other than benchmarking / showing off, I do 3D rendering a lot (Interior Designer here)

Ok, cut the crap short.

My water cooling setup is as below

RASA 750 RX240X KIT | EX240 RADIATOR
SCYTHE GENTLE TYPHOON x 4 | XSPC TUBING
ENZOTECH COMPRESSION FITTINGS | RAYSTORM CPU & GPU WATERBLOCK

Loop design :
In my room I have air-con set to 21c - 24c

Result, which I think it's the max I can go.
1.46v @ 4.8ghz (passed 1 hour Prime95 small FFT.

Will do a 24 hour test after getting advice here.

Photos :

Okay, so here's the problem.
1.) I think I either got a bad chip or something is wrong with my loop.
My CPU idle @ around 37-40 (PLEASE CONSIDER MY AMBIENT TEMP)
When it's full load on 4.8ghz @ 1.46v it goes up to 70c - 80c

Can anyone of you help me identify the problem? Or that's the max I can go with the radiator I'm having now. (I'm still new so I tell myself to upgrade slowly in the future)

Another question is, why do core #0 get so much lower temp than the other 3, around 10c lower if you notice in the picture provided.

I will appreciate your input here!

Full specs on my sig!

oops something wrong with your wc setup the idle temps look too high
Pls resit the CPU wb & check whether your loop is fully out of bubbles

alright as per PM conversation it is known that you initialized the realtemp late so the load temps look quite normal.
nothing wrong with the core0 vs others as I believe all of us getting the same reading.
Reducing CPU PLL to 1.5-1.75v would decrease the temp abit
get another set of fans for push pull setup.
add some rads or upgrade to triple/quad rad.

This post has been edited by owikh84: Jun 24 2012, 10:38 PM
TSowikh84
post Jun 24 2012, 10:56 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(Qavs @ Jun 24 2012, 10:42 PM)
Hmm, so regarding the idle temp it's pretty normal for my WC setup?
Only fan? I have both typhoon pushing air out.
Using 1,48 to achieve 4.8 consider a bad chip or not?

Sigh, I've seen people getting to 4.8 with much lower voltage in OCN.
don't know how's the airflow of your casing but i believe you should get as low as 30-35C under that ambient temp.
that's an average chip i got like 9 out of 10 of CPU like this smile.gif
my golden 2600K chip could do 5.0 @ 1.42v on load. smile.gif
you're actually running at degradation zone
better find a suitable clock stable as low as 1.4v & load temp less than 80C to prevent degradation.

This post has been edited by owikh84: Jun 24 2012, 10:57 PM
TSowikh84
post Jun 25 2012, 06:57 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(Qavs @ Jun 24 2012, 11:10 PM)
I'm actually pretty new to this OCing and WCing thing.

I think you can see my loop design from the picture above,
airflow I think should be ok-good. Since cable are well managed by Cyntrix, exhaust fan at the back of casing (stock from CM Storm Trooper)
Both rad using push style.
I'm thinking of upgrading to 360 or 480 as you suggested, but did some google and 480 require modding of the case and I don't think I'm capable of doing it.
Took a peek from the top and I see there's a little bit space left to put fan for push-pull.

Anyway your 2600k still available? tongue.gif

The golden 2600K was sold to a forumer long2 time ago.
wc is seriously poisonous you will not stop upgrading. biggrin.gif
just don't expect too much on a kit that's worth below RM1k.
Get a quad rad & mount it at the rear of casing.
TSowikh84
post Jun 25 2012, 09:29 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(Qavs @ Jun 25 2012, 08:29 AM)
Haiya  doh.gif  no luck
Anyway, I lowered my core speed to 4.7ghz with 1.43v getting temp MAX 78 after 40min of prime small fft.
Should I stick to this or lower more for 24/7 usage?
It's still an improvement over the high voltage and >80 temp previously @ 4.8

Daily usage you wont hit 78C actually this core temp only apply to stress test like LinX and Prime. I would stay with 1.4v on load just because SB will degrade very fast. smile.gif
TSowikh84
post Jun 25 2012, 09:51 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(Qavs @ Jun 25 2012, 09:40 AM)
<1.4 Can only hit 4.6ghz
Kinda disappointing as this is my first WC rig and didn't even hit good result. Probably a bad chip I guess, the chip is very power hungry. Anything below 1.3 won't even load pass bios.

agreed on the luck part you must be the luckiest guy to get the golden chip from retail in which i am not that's why i am willing to fork out RM2.3k to buy the golden 2600K from a UK guy. smile.gif

And dont be so upset about the performance of your wc as it is still better and look sexier than the air cooler. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by owikh84: Jun 25 2012, 09:53 AM
TSowikh84
post Jun 25 2012, 09:58 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(Qavs @ Jun 25 2012, 09:51 AM)
Now trying 1.37 @ 4.6ghz, temp stays around 65. If everything is stable might as well just stick with it and wish for better luck of winning the lottery of golden chips in the future.
It's pretty crazy this chip need additional of 0.6v to move 100mhz more.
The relationship between vcore vs speed is more like exponential rather than a linear proportion. Same like other platforms & DRAM clock vs vdimm.

This post has been edited by owikh84: Jun 25 2012, 09:59 AM
TSowikh84
post Jun 25 2012, 10:43 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(Qavs @ Jun 25 2012, 10:14 AM)
Yeah, I guess that's the case.
Anyway, does a SB degrade over high voltage or high temp? Or both? and how much improvement will I see if I upgrade my pump to MCP-355 from rx240kit stock pump?
Looking forward to learn a lot from you man, initially just wanted to get a rig from Cyntrix, let him OC for me to the max and learn how to maintain the WC system just for the sake of look.
After getting the rig not more than 1 day already gatal to play around with OCing and benchmarking. Well I guess I'm more to a 'learn how to fish' than a 'give me a bucket of fish' thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Everbody including me is still learning smile.gif

Degradation happen when high vcore applied and sky high temp, especially when stressed.

MCP355 is a stronger pump having higher head pressure so expect it to move more coolant at faster way and improve your overall loop performance.
TSowikh84
post Jul 9 2012, 10:35 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(zain_azmira94 @ Jul 9 2012, 08:48 PM)
can someone teach me how to overclock my CPU  icon_question.gif
can teach me step by step ? icon_question.gif
thank you ! smile.gif
Then you should let us know what's your PC specs.
ohh there are some OC guides in the post #1 so you should go through it.

This post has been edited by owikh84: Jul 9 2012, 10:38 PM
TSowikh84
post Jul 10 2012, 11:55 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(unequalteck @ Jul 10 2012, 11:46 AM)
im using almost the same spec as him, but my PSU is gigabyte powerock 500w, now im using 4.0ghz, but my vcore still set it as auto.

Good for you. Apparently vcore is really depends on the chip. Every CPU has different VID, hence different vcore. It's up to user to try and error the vcore until you found the lowest one stable for that particular clock. I have seen a good chip could do 4.5 with just 1.2v on load. Set it manually instead of auto as you might find a lower vcore than auto set. Thus can shave off some heat.
TSowikh84
post Aug 7 2012, 06:29 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(hackcremo @ Aug 7 2012, 06:17 AM)
Guys...i need help here...my 2700k need high vcore in order to make it stable when prime...i bought 2700k because thought it are the binned 2600k which can overclock pretty well..
currently i had run 12hour prime @4.5ghz/1.34vcore in BIOS..
when i try to oc 4.6ghz/1.36vcore it BSOD...
can any sifu guide me to overclock this chip..

Looks like you got a dud chip. Increase vcore to 1.4v if cooling still allowed.
Test then slowly down to 1.39v, 1.38v, 1.37v etc...
The 2700K is not really a better binned silicon of 2600K. It is clocked 100MHz faster than the 2600K but might be worse in terms of OCbility and loves voltage.
TSowikh84
post Aug 7 2012, 06:54 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(hackcremo @ Aug 7 2012, 06:46 AM)
ohh..my bad..if i know this thing earlier i will buy 2600k instead..just try prime 4.8 @ 1.4vcore..BSOD 101.. doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif

It's all about draw of luck biggrin.gif
4.7GHz @ 1.4v how? Don't gopoh-gapah.
TSowikh84
post Aug 7 2012, 10:27 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(hackcremo @ Aug 7 2012, 08:34 AM)
BSOD also..just pass 10 minute prime blend.. doh.gif

No choice have to look for a better chip or upgrade your cooling gear.

PS: BSOD code 101 & 124 are related to insufficient vCore.

26 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 >Top

0.0249sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:02 PM