MOUNTAIN BIKING HEAVEN V18, ~ALL WE NEEDED IS FOX~

kaizer
post Feb 27 2011, 02:23 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(Shawnzz @ Feb 27 2011, 01:55 AM)
quite new to the cycling sport, so i wanna check out from the internet 1st, instead of getting chop from shops. I checked out joo ngan , they recomend me a few bikes around 2-3k. But im still a student, still can't afford that much. heh. So im looking for 2nd hand bikes, thats why i asked if the T-bolt(proton) bike suites my requirement anot
im currently training my stamina at kiara tarmac and at the gym.  smile.gif Btw, where is bukit ramli? got pickup means? got transport for going all the way uphill then u ride all the way down? niceeeeee drool.gif

Added on February 27, 2011, 1:57 am

what do you mean by the bob is quite pronounce? still new into all these cycling terms and stuff  blush.gif Hope u don't mind explaining. smile.gif
At your budget, best bet would be to get 2ndhand. Try BBS, can find good deals there. Bicycle bobbing means d suspension is moving hence sapping your leg pawa. Seen a pogo stick in action? That's extreme bob. LOL

Although you can train stamina by riding Tarmac, ya gotta ride dirt to sharpen the skills. Otherwise you'll be like PG rider... Use mtb to ride Tarmac and cement road.

If u got a bike, just join the lyn getup rides la. You'll learn a lot more than riding alone. Dun worry... They don't bite. But Kiara does. whistling.gif
kaizer
post Feb 27 2011, 12:51 PM

60 posts

XC + FR = AM

Trance & Reign is the best bang for buck IMHO.
kaizer
post Feb 27 2011, 01:34 PM

60 posts

Kekekeke... 7k can only buy the ibis frame wo?
kaizer
post Feb 27 2011, 10:50 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(Derwyn @ Feb 27 2011, 10:11 PM)
Thanks for the link  rclxms.gif

Im curious has anyone repainted their bike before? My bike is bout 10 years old, originally chrome colour but now its full of scratches and oxidation scars, its dull n looks like cr*p now.haha...is there any solution to at least bring the shine back and undo the oxidation?hehe
Removing paint...

I've just finish paint striping my frame. Goin for the raw look. Easy method, but tedious work. Get yourself a good can on paint remover. Best to spend abit more for those extra powerful ones as it will save you a lot of elbow grease. Fully disassemble your frame, clean it throughly for any grease. Then apply those paint remover and see the paint bubbles... It's a good idea to get a metal brush to help you gently scrape the paint off. Reapply where necessary and repeat.

The raw look will be abit dull, so you can choose to wet sand it down with some medium grade sandpapers. Corser if you're goin for 'brushed aluminum' look. Remember, directional sanding.

If you're going for the polished look, gradually go to finer and finer papers until you achieve the polished look you're after.

Raw look...
If your frame's aluminum, you can just leave it as it is. If it's chromoly, do paint it up with a few layers of clear coats to avoid oxidization and rust.

Repaint...
You can now custom paint your frame up to your fancy.

Chrome finish and refinish...
The above doesn't work If it's chromed finish in the first place. Guess the only way to mask the oxidization would be to lightly sand, then paint it up. I'm not sure if there's aftermarket chroming shop around. But anyway, it's gong to be expensive.

Added on February 27, 2011, 10:51 pmSince we're on the topic of refinishing surface, anybody know where I can send a frame to powder coat or anondization? Tks in advance.

This post has been edited by kaizer: Feb 27 2011, 10:51 PM
kaizer
post Feb 27 2011, 10:56 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(Raju @ Feb 27 2011, 10:52 PM)
Then everyone goes
It depends really. I'll usually just wear some gaypants and tight T shirt with my xc lid if I'm reading MBUK. As per the pix if it's DIRT or Decline though.
kaizer
post Feb 27 2011, 11:58 PM

60 posts

If you wanna save some elbow grease, you can always pay an automotive detailer to do the work, but it'll cost ya.
kaizer
post Feb 28 2011, 12:30 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(RayKazansky @ Feb 28 2011, 12:19 AM)
Looks like you are not going to ride this weekend due to this topic?
Nah... The Jamis' good to go. I didn't ride this week due to a heel injury inflicted last week. Hence got some free time to work on the frame the bike I'm building now. Working on a beater bike.

Where you guys riding the coming Sunday? Kiara? My heel should healed up by then I hope. LOL sweat.gif
kaizer
post Feb 28 2011, 12:58 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(RayKazansky @ Feb 28 2011, 12:42 AM)
Better rest kow kow or else, longer time to heal. Most probably, I can only ride on Sat. No plan yet, have to wait for others...
Yaya.. That's why this week opt for MIA lo... Wife bising liow. LOL

QUOTE(Derwyn @ Feb 28 2011, 12:44 AM)
yea but i think i'll try to do it myself to avoid burning another hole in my pocket...anyway im not sure whether the scars on my frame is signs of oxidation or the lacquer coating cracking up...there are no bubbles thou, its like random white lines appear on the chrome frame but it feels rough when touched...do u think scrubing the whole bike with strong metal polish will help?
Err... Without knowing the type of material your bike's made out of and the condition you're refering to, it's pretty hard to guess wo?

Anyway, metal polish = polish. So you wanna polish your bike? Not much experience with metal polish except for BRASSO and stuff. It tends to leave a yellowish tan on the bike after a while.

The method I mentioned before, took round 1 day or 2 to do, depending on your own acceptance level.

IMHO, ride it as it is... Nothing shouts louder than 'MAD SKILLZ' when you're riding a rusting beater bike and be the one who is faster than a boutique bike. Bragging rights... thumbup.gif

On the recent RRI Hash, saw a rusting bangla bike being ridden by a Mat Salleh. Boy... Having a hard time chasing that fella wei! LOL
kaizer
post Feb 28 2011, 11:57 AM

60 posts

Tapered HT... Damn it's nice. Can get the CC angleset to slacken it out quite abit. Then can make Anthem slopestyle liow... LOL
kaizer
post Feb 28 2011, 02:25 PM

60 posts

It would be epical propotions to have a Morewood FR machine in a hash...
kaizer
post Feb 28 2011, 02:45 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Feb 28 2011, 02:25 PM)
hahahaha.
later my knee tertinggal at the top...
sweat.gif
Ya don't need knees when descending... It's all in the hips... whistling.gif
kaizer
post Feb 28 2011, 02:49 PM

60 posts

I am unFIT, hence I am overweight... :'(
kaizer
post Feb 28 2011, 02:55 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(RayKazansky @ Feb 28 2011, 02:50 PM)
Solution = ride moar  rclxms.gif
That's what I'm trying to do... Alternately like Chamelion said, buy from FOX lo... sweat.gif
kaizer
post Feb 28 2011, 02:57 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Feb 28 2011, 02:56 PM)
raju...silap d...
the inverted FIT is for F40...
kekekeke...

the 2009 and 2010 fox 36 is sticker only different...
Well, it's quite obvious now doesn't it. Raju is trying to poison you then!
kaizer
post Feb 28 2011, 03:02 PM

60 posts

Hahaha... Sell the old for the new. tongue.gif
kaizer
post Feb 28 2011, 03:17 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Feb 28 2011, 03:05 PM)
the old one...
ppl offer stupid prices man!
how to cover new one la!
doh.gif

Guess u gotta sell more of the old to make way for a little new one lor. Janji got new one. thumbup.gif
kaizer
post Feb 28 2011, 03:36 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Feb 28 2011, 03:30 PM)
i have to sell frame to get new fork...
then new fork put where?
hahahaha....
Put on the new frame where you sold your old complete bike for... Geez! hmm.gif
kaizer
post Mar 1 2011, 12:18 AM

60 posts

Aiya... straight away go for Honda Accord la Tim Ko. Sekali pain mah.
kaizer
post Mar 1 2011, 10:25 AM

60 posts

zerohour... Where's the trail you're refering to?
kaizer
post Mar 1 2011, 03:31 PM

60 posts

Added on March 1, 2011, 3:34 pmOkok... Serious now.

V10 glory!!!

Carbon love?

This post has been edited by kaizer: Mar 1 2011, 03:34 PM

11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0476sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled