37 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Movies My Movies Review Thread V2, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

Mov_freak
post Jun 8 2013, 09:28 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

After Earth (2013)

Hmm.... Hate is in the air... laugh.gif

I watched this movie this afternoon, and here is a few observations

The Good

The Production design for this movie is inspirational... All their designs, from the residence to space ship looks "organic" in design (eg inspired by nature)

Jaden Smith survival suit is way cool

The super structure of the space craft look like "bone" structure.

Residential look like termites mount, and the material used looks like things that can be recycled over and over again.

M. Night Shyamalan's work in The Last Air Bender, although huge criticized the world over, kind make the look of this movie work. The digital camera work and the CGI (Earth and fantastic future creatures) is seamless. Very good work.

The Bad

The father and son story is actually not bad, but seems a little.... forced. M. Night Shyamalan made a movie for his kids, in The Lady in the Water (widely hammered). Apparently Will Smith thinks he can write too... Not enough depth, by far...

The Ugly

I'm not gonna say that Jaden Smith is terrible, I think he needs to work at his skills, if acting is truly his passion. Having a famous father does not help. I find myself over picking, because he is Will Smith's son... He has to learn to how to sell the scene. Based on past record, M. Night Shyamalan was able to get an amazing performance for Haley Joel Osment (11 at the time) in The Sixth Sense. But then, he got terrible work from Noah Ringer (The Last Air Bender)

Jaden Smith is 15, and Nada, zilch and nothing...!! It is heart breaking... I can also feel Will Smith pulling back so that his son can shine, but...

I notice people like giving out stars in this column.

If I were to give out stars for this movie, it would be 4.5 stars out of 10...

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Jun 9 2013, 10:56 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Now You See Me (2013)

Ah, Jesse Eisenberg and Woody Harrelson reunion after the Zombieland (2009)!

I'm wondering why Dave Franco gets into so many big films (this and the Fright Night (2011) remake) and originally, I thought maybe he has a great agent.

After a quick search turns out his is James Franco's brother!!

He is under used but good here!! laugh.gif

Louis Leterrier proves that he can make a good movie (Clash of the Titans [2010] *groan*)!!

Alex Kurtzman & Roberto Orci (producers) are fast becoming my favorite producers, being involved in works like Eagle Eye (2009), Star Trek (2009), Fringe (2009), Hawaii Five-0 (2010) & Star Trek Into Darkness (2013) (they are usually J.J. Abrams partners in crime and surprisingly, NOT involved in Star Wars 7)

Let's take notes

1) Story thumbup.gif
2) Production thumbup.gif
3) Casting thumbup.gif (Although I do believe that some characters are under used/develop, you will be very surprise who)

8.5 stars out of ten! rclxms.gif

So, what are you waiting for, run, DON'T walk, to you nearest cinema and watch this.

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jun 10 2013, 12:03 AM
Mov_freak
post Jun 14 2013, 12:16 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Man of Steel (2013)

ohmy.gif This movie has more action in it first 15 mins compare to many other action films!!!

I kid you NOT!!

Casting:

Russell Crowe rclxms.gif
Kevin Costner rclxms.gif
Diane Lane rclxms.gif
Cooper Timberline + Dylan Sprayberry who looks like Henry Cavill only younger!! rclxms.gif biggrin.gif

I feel a few miscast (please refer to peeves)

Story:

I am actually very VERY familiar with the superman storyline, from the comic books (Curt Swan - John Bryne period), TV series from Superman (1941), Adventures of Superman (1952–1958), Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman (1993), Smallville, to the animation to all the motion pictures....

Trust me, I know the superman material....

I actually like Superman Returns (2006) by Bryan Singer (don't kill me), So what do I think of this script!! In a word, EPIC!!

Huge, HUGE storyline.

Planet Krypton never looked so alien. Although homage was paid to the old Curt Swan series (I know most of you young'un have absolutely no idea what I'm talking about).

Director Zack Snyder also paid homage to alot of big movies (Avatar and Matrix comes to mind)... and have to add, it actually added to the movie.

I do have a few peeves about it (please refer to peeves)

Action

One word. Big. really REALLY BIG. Smallville and Metropolis will never be the same...

Peeves

This movie is gong to make so much money, it is NOT going to be funny.

Bring on the Justice League!!!

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jun 14 2013, 02:00 AM
Mov_freak
post Jun 26 2013, 10:43 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

World War Z (2013)

I have chosen a bad time to watch this.

Am in a bit of a rut and this movie is very VERY BLEAK!!

From a script to a movie, there are actually very little wrong with this movie.

It is not creative or original by any sense (eg. you could have plugged this at the beginning of any Resident Evil movies, and it would work), I would however give points to this movie for grounding it to reality!

If a 'viral' outbreak happens, however developed a nation is, things will spiral down very VERY quickly (unless you are living in Japan [Fukusima anyone??])

Surprisingly, this movie is not as gory as I thought it would be. Maybe Brad Pitt is going the way of Mark Walhberg. He is now a family man and he wants to be in movie that would not shock his children too much.

Even the solution of the movie, isn't terribly original, but have to emphasize it is grounded in reality...

Good movie, bad timing (for me)

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Jun 28 2013, 11:21 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(tjayy09 @ Jun 28 2013, 01:31 PM)

Freaking love this movie, even watching the trailers multiple times since early 2013, still managed to be good. Sad  that TGV cut off pretty early. Only bad part was the script, it was down-right a nightmare. 9/10 and Isla Fisher is hot! And i was waiting for you to add the movie quote.  sweat.gif
Sorry... movie quote...

You must understand, I'm old and infirm... what movie quote...
Mov_freak
post Jun 28 2013, 11:27 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Olympus Has Fallen (2013)

Calling this movie a piece of turd is an insult to turd...

Avoid at ALL cost...

You've been warn kiddies. YOU'VE BEEN WARN....

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Jun 29 2013, 09:36 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(tjayy09 @ Jun 29 2013, 12:19 AM)
Lol sorry I didn't know. the movie told it like 12 times made me remembered it.  How old are you anyway?

Oh THAT movie quote... tongue.gif

As for my age... Let me put it this way... I was there when the built the great pyramids on the Giza Plateau... nod.gif
Mov_freak
post Jun 29 2013, 04:03 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(Damonzero @ Jun 29 2013, 10:17 AM)
In the end do u like this movie? After all the hype i was disappointed as mentioned in MoS thread. How do u rate this film?
I actually give is a 8.5 out of 10...

May I inquire what disappointed you about the movie?
Mov_freak
post Jun 30 2013, 11:10 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(Damonzero @ Jun 29 2013, 04:28 PM)
Months before the movie, there were so many trailers and TV spot, most of them are so great, it almost guaranteed an epic movie, just like The Dark Knight.

The flashbacks were OK in the beginning but almost mid-end of the movie still got flashbacks, some are really unnecessary.

General Zod was overshadowed by Faora, it seems that she got better moves and fight cooler than Zod.

Some questionable scene, like why is Lois ordered to aboard the ship? It serves no purpose and it doesnt explain in the movie.

The fight sequence dragged too much it became boring at times, repetition at its best.

The list goes on and on, sorry for my rant, im just a disappointed fan.
No, no, please do not apologise for 'ranting'. Everyone has the right to speak.

You have made some very good observations and I can see where you are coming from.

If you can understand that in Superman Return, Bryan Singer being a rabid fanboy of the Christopher Reeves superman, made a 154 mins homage to it. Warner Brother claims THAT movie cost them 260,000,000 (yes, you read right) to make and Bryan Singer swore UP and Down it did not (more like 180,000,000).

What really happened was, Superman was in development hell from 1987 to 2005. So many version was planned. I can think of at least two version with script and pre production cost, namely a Tim Burton/Nicholas Cage version and a Brett Ratner/Matt Bomer (interesting fact, he would have been the first openly gay actor to play the role) version. Warner Brothers lumped all this development hell cost into Bryan Singer's movie. Which I think is unfair... Bryan was suppose to make another Superman movie for 2009, but they opted not to go that way.

Truth to be told I actually love Superman Return, but Warner Brothers was disappointed with the 385,000,000 return in investment...

Which brings us to this version. Warner brothers believe a very action oriented version would bring in the moo la and they are right.

And as I had stated your rants are justified.

My suggestion to you would be to IGNORE all the "propaganda" studios put out before the movie. I believe I have stop digging for all the information I can about the movie, since the Batman & Robin debacle!!?! I really find I enjoy movie much better that way. I can actually be surprise by the movie!!

As all the stuff I put in here, this is merely my opinions.

Thank you for reading.
Mov_freak
post Jun 30 2013, 11:11 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Warm Bodies (2013)

Zombie Movie + Frankenstein Monster + Romeo & Juliet??? (I kid you NOT)

And you know what, I actually like THIS!!

Okay, okay, it is actually a Rom Com!!

And a very VERY well done Rom Com!!!

It is original and it is very VERY well done?

Nicholas Hoult is really getting around, Jack from Jack the Giant Slayer, Hank/Beast in X-Men: First Class and he is going to be in the reboot of Mad Max!!

As I said, this guys is getting around and no wonder, for a young dude, he acting skills is actually pretty versatile!!

Watch out for Rob Corddry's M, he almost steals the show!! He may just be the next Simon Pegg!!

I think this is great and I should NOT spoil it for you guys.

If you want a feel good movie with a different twist, give this a try, why don't youse. Youse know youse want to...

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Jul 2 2013, 01:01 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(lerijiso @ Jul 1 2013, 01:09 AM)
Nice. I might watch this.

Initally, I really dont want to watch this because my first impression was that it's just another twilight, only zombies instead of vampires.
Enjoy! nod.gif
Mov_freak
post Jul 2 2013, 11:38 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Host (2013)

A waste of celluloid and paper...

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Jul 7 2013, 12:31 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Despicable Me 2 (2013)

If movie be the food of humor, let the movie play on... (sorry Shakespeare, but imitation is the best form of flattery tongue.gif)

I feel that it aptly describe this movie.

It is well scripted.

A worthy sequel to the first, and that ladies and gentleman, it a feat!!

I tried hard not to, but I laughed...

There I said it, happy!! nod.gif

On another note, there are MORE adult in the cinema then there are children... I kid you not... laugh.gif

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Jul 7 2013, 12:44 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Father Goose (1964)

Wow, there is no business like show business!!

In this movie Cary Grant is at his MOST un Cary Grant!!

He is neither suave nor debonair. His character is a drunk and also in certain way ruffian!! And he has to take care of 7 your school girl and their caretaker (Leslie Caron), during WWII with the Japs at their tail!!!

Very unlikely, and have to add very funny.

I have forgotten how funny classic movies can be.

And have to add, a breath of fresh air really!!

One for a lazy Sunday afternoon.

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Jul 11 2013, 02:01 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Monsters University (2013)

Smart. Really Smart.

Monsters, Inc. (2001) was made 12 years back... Well at least released 12 years back, so if a kid was 6-8 yo then, they are in college and now we have Monsters University. Marketing department at it's BEST!!

I watched Despicable Me 2 during the weekend and Monster's University yesterday and you know what, the storyline blows DM 2 out of the water.

Even the short at the beginning... (Stop toying with my emotions PIXAR!!)

We have Paperman (2012) short at the beginning of Wreck-It Ralph. It is a Disney product, although paperman was 2D like, it was a 3D product made to look 2D... Paying Homage to Disney's pass

The Blue Umbrella LOOKS PHOTO REALISTIC!! Paying homage to the fact that Pixar Pioneered 3D full feature movies... Wow...

Hollywood, a good script. A GOOD SCRIPT is EVERYTHING!!!

The ending, my goodness the ending...

I am currently in a funk and have to add, I have NO regret watching this!!

If you had not had the chance to watch this in the cinema, PLEASE RECONSIDER.

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jul 13 2013, 12:19 AM
Mov_freak
post Jul 14 2013, 07:59 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jul 13 2013, 09:03 PM)
G.I. Joe: Retaliation.

They made it grittier and more serious and took out almost all the camp and cheesiness in the first movie. Basically, they took out all the stuff that made the first movie so fun.

2.5/5
Thank you.

Apart for the mindblowing cliff scene in 3D there isn't much going for this movie.

Also the fact that G.I. Joe is an Elite American Marine team rather an international peace keeping force....
Mov_freak
post Jul 14 2013, 09:07 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jul 14 2013, 08:34 PM)
Indeed! They're just a faceless bunch of SWAT team now. Where's the campy but cool gadgets from the first movie? There's nothing here that comes anywhere close the fun of the paris chase sequence.

And I also miss Marlon Wayans. He and Tatum made a fun duo. I used to like the Rock, but he's getting a bit too serious in his roles.
Wow, us agreeing twice in a day...

I think I should go out and buy a lottery ticket.... laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Jul 14 2013, 09:08 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Lone Ranger (2013)

Before we even talk about Johnny Depp, lets talk about Armie Hammer.

I first notice him, playing The Devils's son (I kid you not), in the short lived TV series, Reaper.

Then he was in a little film production called, Mirror Mirror. He played Price Charming (Prince Alcott).

Now he is The Lone Ranger?

Frankly, on some level, he works. He looks the part and in some of the action scenes, he looks like he knows what he is doing.

The problem is the rest of the movie, he played the role... fairly goofily... and I'm not sure it works...

His back story is also disjointed!!

They should have made him the serious guy and left the goofy stuff to Johnny (Tonto), but no....

The film looks gorgeous! (With a budget of $250,000,000)

The script was okay, but the pacing... At 2 hours 30 minutes, it was a tad long and and at some parts were a little tedious...

Johnny Depp is Johnny Depp, he took the Tonto role and made it his own. Much MUCH better back story (he is after all the star)

For me, the real star of the show is Silver, the horse.

He is the Great Spirit and the protector of The Spirit Who Walks!!

Remember the horse from Tangled?? Not so "canggih" but almost!! laugh.gif

I do hope that Disney recoup their investment. It is NOT so much a bad movie, pacing could have been much MUCH tighter...

Gioachino Rossini's William Tell Overture, I waited and waited for it to appear, and when it did, what a RIDE!! laugh.gif

This might be the second BIG BUDGET Disney movie in two years that bomb during the summer...

Inconceivable....

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jul 15 2013, 01:17 PM
Mov_freak
post Jul 15 2013, 06:36 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Psycho (1960) (50th Anniversary)

For some odd reason, I keep watching this???!

I have watched this on TV, DVD and a couple of times on HD and now Bluray format.

The 50th Anniversary bluray is JAM PACKED with all kinds of wonderful special features!!

They'd interviewed Janet Leigh (Shower scene anyone?). They interviewed Joseph Stefano (screenwriter). They also interviewed Patricia Hitchcock who is Hitchcock's daughter, who has a small role in the movie.

Lots and LOTS of P.O.V. from them and interesting too.

For example, Hitchcock actually hired a nude model (people who poses naked for art classes) to stand in the shower so they can figure out how dense the water from the shower needs to be so Janet Leigh's naughty bits will not show up in the movie!! Also how some of the special effects were done practically (films as it happens). For example, Martin Balsam (Det. Milton Arbogast) fell down the staircase (without actually falling down the staircase) etc.

Having watched the movie Hitchcock (2012), about a month and a half to two months back, surprisingly, only heighten this viewing for me!!

I still feel that the opening credit is a little "soft" (video quality wise) but once the movie opens, everything is crystal clear. Beautiful, BEAUTIFUL black and white movie. One tidbit I learned from the special feature was, Hitchcock consciously made this movie in Black and White. There are two reason to this.

1) He had to finance this movie personally, because he contractually still owe Paramount Pictures one more picture before moving over to Universal and Paramount had out right refuse to budget the movie because of the subject matter. Filming it in Black and White would reduce the cost of production.

2) He did not believe the movie could pass the censorship board if it was filmed in color!!

(I told you, major tidbits)

I was having a conversation with an English gentleman a couple of weeks back. He is a self profess movie lover. And the conversation steer to Alfred Hitchcock where he expresses, 'Psycho?... I have watched it and it was meh...' I had to explain to this self professed movie lover how movies were like before Hitchcock and how he change the game and movie had never been the same... Forgive him, he is young (only 35 yo)

I really wonder, is there really an Alfred Hitchcock fan out there that has never seen this movie??

If there is, here is my challenge to you. Watch Hitchcock (2012) and then Psycho (1960) and then tell me honestly that Psycho had not influence cinema for the past 53 years. Think about that.

Again, as always, the above is merely my opinions. Everyone is entitled to their own.

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Jul 17 2013, 10:27 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Pacific Rim (2013)

Wow...

Ultraman + Transformers + Godzilla!!!

And you know what? AWESOME!!!!!!!

I'm a fan of Guillermo del Toro. He... understands darkness... Not darkness as in negative, but darkness as in, it is part of life and sooner or later everyone has to face certain form of darkness in our life. Lost, death, "a can of whoop-a$$" that seems insurmountable at the time.

And this movie, my fellow movie fanatics, dishes out in spades!!!

I'm actually NOT surprise it is not making money in the States (well, not the numbers that they would like) because, this movie is not "American Centric". And I'll leave it as that, before people thinks I'm being political again.

I do have an issue with the movie and

Charlie Hunnam (Raleigh Becket)!! What a difference 11 years make!!?! I remember him from Nicholas Nickleby (2002) & Abandon (2002). He was more of a Peter Parker back then, and NOW!! He looks like he can pick up Mjournir and is THOR!!!! laugh.gif

And Idris Elba, I'm really glad he decided to go into acting, instead of remaining being a factory worker, like his father!!

If you think the destruction was bad in Man of Steel, what until you see what is in store fore you here!

Do I recommend this? HECK YES!!!

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jul 17 2013, 10:59 PM

37 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0823sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:38 AM