University Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP) Thread, A warm welcome to the new intakes!

kelvinkhaw01
post Jul 12 2013, 02:00 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(ErgoProxi @ Jul 12 2013, 12:47 AM)
expect shitty internet connection.
How shitty is the connection?? @@
kelvinkhaw01
post Jul 12 2013, 06:43 PM

178 posts

ok, am helping my fren to ask this.

Anyone has any info on Civil Eng(Construction) courses[RY11]**New courses in UniMAP** ?? (QuanSheng dun hv any data yet) sad.gif

He got the offer and now he is uncertain unsure.gif whether that this course will lead him to further his study for master/phd in geotechnical engineering??

Any thought on that??? (*Nt sure if i post in the right section*) icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
As i know, there is another Civil Eng(Building) courses in UniMAP, IF he get that one he certainly can.
kelvinkhaw01
post Jul 16 2013, 08:11 PM

178 posts

Reporting in for Material engineering icon_rolleyes.gif Anything that i need to know about this course?? etc lecturer, facilities/lab. How was the campus for mat eng student? Hostel etc...
Thanks smile.gif notworthy.gif

Ah..so many ppl from my school r going uniMAP. 7 of them already same course with me !!! ohmy.gif Dunno if this a good or bad things unsure.gif
kelvinkhaw01
post Jul 17 2013, 10:48 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jul 16 2013, 08:31 PM)
lol. welcome. =).... anything in particular u want to ask?
=)
Is mat eng a good choice?? unsure.gif
As far as i know, Mat eng more on chemi > physics ( My chemistry weak ==)
Am actually gear towards physics,mathematics n electronic/electric stuff more but too bad la nasi sudah menjadi bubur UPU gave me this course, cannot change/rayu d. sad.
But heard that mat eng can go for electronic path right,somethings like ''electronic material''? correct me if im wrong
icon_rolleyes.gif

kk Besides that, anything regarding this course in UniMAP i need to know????

Like for example, do unimap hv their own campus for material eng stdu there? Or we will be going to labs and lectures in a rather "not-so-campus-like" environment ? How is the campus area look like?

How was the lecturer there for my course, exp or not ?? Lol i viewed page by page till page 40 d in this thread..someone mentioned that some of the lecturers vry strict one...will halau you out of class if you din wear formal attire shocking.gif Hmm...everyday must wear formal to class ar, cannot jean with tshirt without collar @@?

Aha about the internet connection in hostel/campus....conclusion i get from this thread : Slow Slow Slow.

Hostel wise...which hostel r we mat eng stu going to stay??? Seem like we will be hving diff housemates/roommates every year...correct me if im wrong. blink.gif . And ok i saw exquisite_markas mentioned about the shift table in hostel to room incident bcoz of his housemates smoked like chimneys blablabla... Student allowed to smoke inside hostel??? shocking.gif Sry, Im allergic to cigarettes. shakehead.gif
Thanks smile.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
kelvinkhaw01
post Jul 19 2013, 02:45 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jul 17 2013, 11:21 PM)
A misconception.... Chemi> Physics..... You will rely heavily on physics. That is for sure. But it is physics of materials....

What is materials eng. Give you example. One of my friend in other uni, but specializes in Materials. He is pursuing further studies. His topic is related to growing artificial bones made from ceramics for the skull.
Yes. Finding/Designing suitable materials for use in this application. Just to give u an idea what is BEng. Materials.

The course holds relevancy almost everywhere in industry, as long as it is the right position.

Materials have their own campus/faculty. =)....

Lecturers?
i have no comments, imma not form materials. as normal, there will be good apples and bad apples.
For safety, first wekk or days just wear formal bah. Until u get to know ur lecturer's temperament, his dos and don'ts. It will be different for each lecturer.
Internet connection? : Shitty (except during non peak times. lol.)

Hostel wise, it is divided into a couple of Colleges. New intakes normally will go into Wang Ulu. That was then. not sure about now. Roommates will be same race, but not the house. This is the case, unless stuffs change this intake. Get to choose roommate or not, also depends on the current management. normally cannot. lol

Smoking? erm. .. .. .. .. this can be reported, or better, settled amicably between own guys first la. Like i had a housemate that smokes. But we came to agreement, he will not smoke in house. He goes out the roadway to smoke.
Yea, glad to know that materials hv their own campus.
Hehe for internet connection, i guess i will be bringing mifi there icon_rolleyes.gif Which broadband better?? Celcom or Maxis? haha Digi seems out to me le judge on the feedbacks from this thread.

Er one more things i wana ask, do we still hold a place in hostel after 1st year?? Or second yr must move out edi??

kelvinkhaw01
post Jul 19 2013, 02:50 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Jul 18 2013, 12:19 AM)
I'm sure you can spot many physical objects around you no matter where you are. In the context of physical product design, which you'll be taught in Year 4 (EBT423/4: Materials Selection & Design), material engineering plays a very important role in material selection to minimize the cost while meeting the product performance goals. For that reason, make yourself as comfortable as possible to learn about the Ashby Charts.

A number of common property combinations have been plotted and here are two of them. In fact, you'll learn the properties of many material classes throughout Year 2 to Year 4.

It seems that your source is unreliable. If you take a look on the Curriculum Structure for Materials Engineering, you'll learn that this is untrue.
At higher level, you can learn about Solid-State Materials (maybe partially covered in EBT421/3: Advanced Material Engineering), which has a strong overlap with solid-state physics, mineralogy, crystallography, ceramics, metallurgy, thermodynamics, materials science and electronics.

For your academic plan, your final year project should involve a contribution to knowledge that utilizes Smart materials, such as Self-repair materials, Self-cleaning materials, Shape-memory alloy (SMA), Shape-memory polymer (SMP), Dielectric elastomers, Ferrofluid, Halochromic materials, and energy-convertible corrosive materials. There are many other *HOT* & *SMART* materials which are not listed here.

Good luck! icon_rolleyes.gif
wow, thanks for the reply smile.gif ,appreciate it. haha you make me looking forward to it.
That Ashby Charts shocking.gif , btw are you a Material Eng student?
kelvinkhaw01
post Jul 19 2013, 03:20 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Jul 18 2013, 12:27 AM)
Finally an intake for Materials Engineering.  rclxms.gif

You can expect nothing other than the study of material properties, material processing and characterisations. Basically, this course is a snergy of three large fields; chemistry, material science, and engineering.

I am not very sure about its facilities and lecturers, though. But I heard the teaching staffs are very competent.
Haha, why you r so excited that finally theres an intake for materials eng reported in?? tongue.gif
Hmmm, you said that this course is a snergy of three large fields; chemistry, material science, and engineering. Can u elaborate on engineering?

Arrr, u did mention about nanomaterials rolleyes.gif !!!! i fancy those kind of stuffs o, nanotech/nanoelectronics, G.I.JOE laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif Dunno if my course got chance to study that bo. heh

QUOTE(bb100 @ Jul 18 2013, 01:38 PM)
Of course that's a good thing man! At least you will have some old pals to hang around with during your first week. Anyway, congrats in getting a place in an IPTA and WELCOME TO UNIMAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! rclxm9.gif

The School of Material Engineering has many girls yo! Especially Polymer Engineering. biggrin.gif I think they are the School with the most female students. rolleyes.gif
Wa,you already foreseen what im going to ask.... brows.gif
Oh, I saw someone post saying he n his fren forced their way out to stay tgt on 1st yr. Now still can? or its up for the management to decide,cannot choose now. haha
kelvinkhaw01
post Jul 19 2013, 08:15 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Jul 19 2013, 03:46 PM)
No, I'm not, but I learned about Materials by chance. happy.gif
QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Jul 19 2013, 04:32 PM)
I wish to be one. laugh.gif I recognize UniMAP as one of the best engineering universities in Malaysia.
!!!! ohmy.gif shocking.gif

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jul 19 2013, 07:26 PM)
not ... to..... burst your fantasy bubble.... but do keep in mind movies, tend exaggerate.. =)...  reality is much less exciting. lol...
but nonetheless , it helps u keep ur future vision strong. =)... Envision a nano-bot. XD
anyway. @Crtitical_Fallacy , @bb100 , and @exquisite_markas ..... I almost tumpah my milo horlick teh si cham ping... ~~..... You guys... are. HILARIOUS. lol
Anyway. demi-gods>? nah....we're just plain old humans with everyday problems. lol
kk noted smile.gif..... @ivanwong1989 will u be there on the orientation week? hmm.gif
kelvinkhaw01
post Jul 19 2013, 09:11 PM

178 posts

laugh.gif bxfl, nvm my fren jz taught me IvanWong1989 btw is there any group for unimap student on Fb???
kelvinkhaw01
post Jul 30 2013, 11:28 PM

178 posts

Each yr diff roommates or same eh?? btw i wana ask hostel laptop hilang case serious bo ?? ohmy.gif ==... vry scared my laptop hilang sweat.gif

IvanWong1989 jz happened to chat with ur ex roommates on FB laugh.gif icon_idea.gif
kelvinkhaw01
post Jul 31 2013, 10:53 PM

178 posts

wen jun. Not a lowyat user thou.
kelvinkhaw01
post Aug 1 2013, 10:24 PM

178 posts

wait help me on this first !! ivanwong1989

QUOTE(kelvinkhaw01 @ Jul 30 2013, 11:28 PM)
Each yr diff roommates or same eh?? btw i wana ask hostel laptop hilang case serious bo ??  ohmy.gif  ==... vry scared my laptop hilang  sweat.gif

And for ptptn document preparation, all document in ur guide list need to be certified??

kelvinkhaw01
post Aug 14 2013, 10:43 PM

178 posts

Hey may i know is there any dreamspark program in UniMAP??? Heard that we can get windows 8 activation code free.

''You can even get it free via dreamspark that is if youre a student, staff or lecturer from recognized college/uni.'' --abidgreen93
kelvinkhaw01
post Aug 21 2013, 01:13 AM

178 posts

Wa...@@
kelvinkhaw01
post Aug 29 2013, 11:35 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Aug 29 2013, 12:13 PM)
It's ok. I will provide the drills. But only one. So it's drill.  rclxms.gif

walao table inside room one...this is more appropriate.....got any wang ulu drillz? i think i'll be staying there this coming sunday
kelvinkhaw01
post Sep 7 2013, 12:15 AM

178 posts

Life without steam, qvod and youtube. doh.gif sweat.gif mad.gif
kelvinkhaw01
post Sep 12 2013, 10:28 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(ErgoProxi @ Sep 10 2013, 12:25 AM)
why not both?
I know u skmm celcom user haha....i in blok 3 WU...my housemates gt ppl use too, but not stable, sometimes 1mb/sec sometimes 100b/s LOL
kelvinkhaw01
post Sep 12 2013, 11:09 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(ErgoProxi @ Sep 12 2013, 12:33 PM)
wang ulu?
celcom internet sucks @ there.
== then what good here?? pekcek with the line d....load google need 5mins
kelvinkhaw01
post Sep 14 2013, 06:11 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(ErgoProxi @ Sep 13 2013, 08:32 AM)
It's been awhile since I on9 @ wang ulu.
So, I can't really say.
check ur pm
kelvinkhaw01
post Oct 5 2013, 03:27 PM

178 posts

Hey wana ask how can we access to our university provided email address?? and also how to check which one is our email address? for example, xxx@student.unimap.edu.my ......i need to get verification for the dreamspark programme. Thanks

0.0567sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:45 AM