Headache in choosing the right Audio equipment., For Home Theater.
TSxcen
Jan 4 2011, 03:33 PM, updated 15y ago
Hi, I'm planning to set up a Home Theater.
Now, before I start anything else, my budget is RM1000 for the Home Theater, including the source (ie: Media Box/HTPC), excluding the TV.
Ok, now...
I'm very interested in a 5.1 Speaker setup for my HT, but from what I found out, AV Receivers cost a bomb. From what I understand, most Media Box like Western Digital and HDPro and Eaget does not support 5.1 speaker setup and therefore an AV Receiver is needed.
If I opt for a HTPC, will the cost be less, about the same, or more expensive?
If 5.1 speaker setup is out of the question for my budget, are there any 2.1 or any other setup that is highly recommended? (considering about rm350 is used for the Media Box, RM650 is left for the speakers.)
Note: I use my Home Theater primarily for movies and TV channels only. No web surfing, no gaming.
This post has been edited by xcen: Jan 4 2011, 03:34 PM
heinlein
Jan 4 2011, 03:40 PM
I suggest you go to the hifi shop and ask better. They can build up a system based on your budget and you can have audition on the spot to decide
TSxcen
Jan 4 2011, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(heinlein @ Jan 4 2011, 03:40 PM) I suggest you go to the hifi shop and ask better. They can build up a system based on your budget and you can have audition on the spot to decide I have bad experiences with shop people... they tend to push models that they want to sell fast or recommend me to buy something that can be bought at a cheaper price with the same quality. So I figured it's better to ask the experienced people online.
heinlein
Jan 4 2011, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(xcen @ Jan 4 2011, 04:41 PM) I have bad experiences with shop people... they tend to push models that they want to sell fast or recommend me to buy something that can be bought at a cheaper price with the same quality. So I figured it's better to ask the experienced people online.  From what I see, Rm1k for a home theater system seems scarce. If you enjoy good system, it would have cost more. Just my 2 cents... Budget wise speakers, I would recommend PSB Speakers.
TSxcen
Jan 4 2011, 03:51 PM
From what I understand, good 5.1 speakers can be gotten at less than RM500. It's just that in order to 'connect the speakers together' need to buy expensive AV Receivers... which is a big headache budget wise.
I wonder if there is any way around the AVRs.
heinlein
Jan 4 2011, 03:54 PM
Not really... The actual things are more complex than it seems. You also need good cable to traverse the signal to the speakers too as well as management of the power cable cuz you know Malaysia electric is not stable and it fluctuate like nobody business. You need to protect your system too.
SUSchokia
Jan 4 2011, 04:12 PM
Buy the dvd home theatre set with optical input or hdmi input if u can find.
Connect your media player to it thats all. Should be cheap but u have to ensure the dvd player have INPUT not OUTPUT (be it hdmi or optical)
mpyw
Jan 4 2011, 04:22 PM
for 1k budget, get a HTiB and it's the best that u can get
TSxcen
Jan 4 2011, 04:24 PM
HTiB, and then connect my Media Box with the HTiB, correct?
I just need to make sure that they have optical or HDMI input.
Any HTiB to recommend?
SUSMatrix
Jan 4 2011, 04:34 PM
RM1K...HTPC/Media player...+ AVR..+speakers...is Mission impossible.
RM 1k can either get you ONE of the following: 1) A low end HTIB. 2) A good media player. 3) A very low end HTPC with normal PC casing. No fancy small HTPC.
TSxcen
Jan 4 2011, 04:35 PM
I see...
I really like a 5.1 setup, but with a 1k budget, is it better to opt for a good 2.1 setup or a low end HTiB 5.1 setup?
azbro
Jan 4 2011, 04:41 PM
I got myself a Home theater at less than RM1K...branded AVR, floor standing speakers, and even a Sub....but all 2nd hand...worth it..of course sound is much better than my RM888 Philips HTiB.
So, if you got a shoe string budget and want a decent Home theater...used stuff is the way to go....do a search...and never trust ppl or the pictures.
Always test the stuff yourself...and when you bring the AVR back home, make sure less vibration during transportation. And ask for at least a weeks personal money back warranty.
This post has been edited by azbro: Jan 4 2011, 04:42 PM
SUSMatrix
Jan 4 2011, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 4 2011, 04:41 PM) I got myself a Home theater at less than RM1K...branded AVR, floor standing speakers, and even a Sub....but all 2nd hand...worth it..of course sound is much better than my RM888 Philips HTiB. So, if you got a shoe string budget and want a decent Home theater...used stuff is the way to go....do a search...and never trust ppl or the pictures. Always test the stuff yourself...and when you bring the AVR back home, make sure less vibration during transportation. And ask for at least a weeks personal money back warranty. Good deal. :clap.. ..but need patience and hunting. If TS can up budget a bit, still can but media player + HTIB...RM1.3k at least. RM299=WDTV Live, RM1K=HTIB. But seriously, a good 2.1 speakers like Creative T3 2.1 will pawn any RM1K HTIB....but not sure if WDTV Live can do DD5.1 downmixing or not...i think it can do DTS down mixing though.
TSxcen
Jan 4 2011, 04:52 PM
@azbro: That's a very good deal there. I doubt I can find a deal as good as yours. For these kind of things, I am too inexperienced to hunt for any good deals because I don't know how to judge which is truly good and which is not.
@Matrix Yes, I can up my budget to RM1.3k to accomodate HITB and Media Player.
But, considering that 2.1 speaker setup may be better... hmmm..
I use my HT primarily for movies, and I don't really care about bass for music or anything. I just need an immersive speaker that makes me feel like I'm there. That's why I want 5.1 speakers. But if even 2.1 speakers can achieve that, then I will consider 2.1 speakers.
2.1 speakers no need AVRs right? Can straight plug in to the Media Player right?
SUSchokia
Jan 4 2011, 05:08 PM
2.1 only good for music listening not movies
SUSMatrix
Jan 4 2011, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(xcen @ Jan 4 2011, 04:52 PM) @azbro: That's a very good deal there. I doubt I can find a deal as good as yours. For these kind of things, I am too inexperienced to hunt for any good deals because I don't know how to judge which is truly good and which is not. @Matrix Yes, I can up my budget to RM1.3k to accomodate HITB and Media Player. But, considering that 2.1 speaker setup may be better... hmmm.. I use my HT primarily for movies, and I don't really care about bass for music or anything. I just need an immersive speaker that makes me feel like I'm there. That's why I want 5.1 speakers. But if even 2.1 speakers can achieve that, then I will consider 2.1 speakers. 2.1 speakers no need AVRs right? Can straight plug in to the Media Player right? if u care more about immersion, then it's better for u to get a 5.1 HTIB. (but the bass and sound quality will still b inferior to a high quality 2.1 like T3). Since u can up budget, i think u should buy a HTIB + WDTV Live. Maybe u can buy something like this: http://www.sony.com.my/product/ht-ct150It's only 3.1, but if u don't have proper spacing/positioning for 5.1 speakers, it should be fine. Furthermore, this will be better quality than those HTIB with DVD players coz it's purely HT component.(if u don't need a DVD).
azbro
Jan 4 2011, 05:11 PM
Yes, its not easy to hunt for stuff, things can be in Malacca or Penang or even Trengganu (Sabah Sarawak i dun dare). First need to do a lot of homework, then need to bargain, also need to check even neighborhood electrical shops, you will need to check the stuff yourself also, ..sometimes can get good deal..but most of the time not. Mudah.com has a bad reputation, but the good stuff are mostly there..so there are risk involved threading on dangerous grounds. Takes a lot of effort buying 2nd stuff...worthwhile or not?...It depends
This post has been edited by azbro: Jan 4 2011, 05:13 PM
SUSMatrix
Jan 4 2011, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 4 2011, 05:11 PM) Yes, its not easy to hunt for stuff, things can be in Malacca or Penang or even Trengganu (Sabah Sarawak i dun dare). First need to do a lot of homework, then need to bargain, also need to check even neighborhood electrical shops, you will need to check the stuff yourself also, ..sometimes can get good deal..but most of the time not. Mudah.com has a bad reputation, but the good stuff are mostly there..so there are risk involved threading on dangerous grounds. Takes a lot of effort buying 2nd stuff...worthwhile or not?...It depends Mudah.com=Mudah kena con.
TSxcen
Jan 4 2011, 06:00 PM
For HTiB, I just have to connect the HDMI from Media Box to HTiB, then connect the HTiB to my TV right?
Don't need any fancy AV Receiver or anything of that sort?
Don't wanna get a shock that I need to have another few thousand ringgit 'investment' once I get a HTiB.
SUSMatrix
Jan 4 2011, 06:08 PM
QUOTE(xcen @ Jan 4 2011, 06:00 PM) For HTiB, I just have to connect the HDMI from Media Box to HTiB, then connect the HTiB to my TV right? Don't need any fancy AV Receiver or anything of that sort? Don't wanna get a shock that I need to have another few thousand ringgit 'investment' once I get a HTiB. Yes. Either: 1) WDTV live->HTIB->TV (via HDMI) 2) WDTV live->TV (HDMI), WDTV live->HTIB (digital coaxial/optical) For 1), make sure ur HTIB has HDMI-in and able to passthrough to HDMI-out.