4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Things you dislike/hated the most in RPGs, Things that turn you off in RPGs

TSgreyshadow
post Jan 4 2011, 11:44 AM, updated 15y ago

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Being a RPG player since the days of FF1, the basic RPG with a very basic turn base battle system.
I did enjoy it very much during that time, albeit my understanding of Jap at that time is zero.

But over the years, RPGs has evolved into something new, complicated story, complicated battle, beautiful CGs & etc
which I find myself attracted lesser & lesser to them, bought, played for a while, bored & sold them off.
Now I'm getting lesser faiths in RPGs, especially the JRPGs.

So let's share what annoys you the most in RPGs
gundamalpha
post Jan 4 2011, 11:46 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Non-linearity, hate games that's not linear, even JRPGs like Saga series.
TSgreyshadow
post Jan 4 2011, 12:10 PM

1,844 posts

LOL, forgot some prefer linear story than open world tongue.gif
Dark NT
post Jan 4 2011, 12:38 PM

1,006 posts

I voted the endless maze - not knowing where to go, especially in the dark, go round and round and ended where it begins.. its a super waste of time.

furthermore if no save points in the maze i will go crazy.

Its a nice voting list you have, in fact i feel like all of them drive me away from JRPG.
alpha0201
post Jan 4 2011, 01:23 PM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

I was quite disappointed with the FF13's battle system. It's almost as if the game play itself.
TSgreyshadow
post Jan 4 2011, 03:24 PM

1,844 posts

Well, seems like JRPGs is already way past it's golden age, entering it's dawn of an era
gundamalpha
post Jan 4 2011, 03:32 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

As long as they are still being made, I'm still gaming laugh.gif
alpha0201
post Jan 4 2011, 04:26 PM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

I don't really mind linear story line but for a rpg (depending on the gameplay), non-consequential action kinda reduces the desire of replaying the game again. Which pretty much covers most jrpg.

Unlike Mass Effect series, every action has its consequence Gender you chose, people you make friends & enemies with, & etc...

I already have Mass Effect 2 on my PC & I still will get on PS3 & replay again, creating multiple scenario for later Mass Effect 3.
Mgsrulz
post Jan 4 2011, 05:00 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

japanese rpg dubbed in english.
it's such a huge turn off
afeeq
post Jan 4 2011, 06:33 PM

237 posts

the harder it is,the more i like the games.
but what turn me off is crappy battle system.
i can play like 1k hours if the battle system is good.
lilko
post Jan 4 2011, 06:59 PM

95 posts

Actually what I dislike most about JRPG which is not listed.. is the random monster... I hate very much. I cannot see and they force me into this stupid battle.. But luckily nowadays dun have liao..

Anyway, The complexity is really one thing.. Sometime, you wan to see all of the side story in the game oso hard.. You have to trigger this trigger that.. And its not even easy to find.. Must see luck oso.. and run here and there like tales of vesperia.. but, luck is really random.. so i practically hate random-ess in a game... tats why i like persona 3 and 4..

Then now, I find one annoying thing in gaming.. literally all of it.. Its the trophy and the award points... Its really some motivation to let player go on.. but, for people who are not as dedicated or not so much time then is really a pain... Some is just stupid and tedious to get.. Dun get oso ok.. But that feeling of incompleteness is really bugging tat time..

Nevertheless, I will still play RPG.. Game that does not require me to think and no moral story, is abit too boring.. and game that got not that many extravagant cutscenes doesn't excite me..

This post has been edited by lilko: Jan 4 2011, 07:06 PM
Sey
post Jan 5 2011, 12:53 AM

164 posts

1) Art Direction. Call me biased towards Asian aesthetics but this is one of the reasons why jRPG > wRPG . You get these bright colorful worlds and well "colorful" characters in jRPGs as compared to what i consider generic looking worlds/characters in wRPGs . A good example is Fallout 3 / NV , i simply could not stand the art direction in that game.

2) Storyline . Cliched plots are fine. Every game essentially is a cliche of one another and this is unavoidable. What turns me off is a stupid story which makes no sense . Personally i play a game for its story first and gameplay second.

3) Characters . Annoying characters . I have no idea what is it with jRPGs but for some reason or another they have to include some annoying character in the game. More often then not its always some child character.

4) Gameplay - All i can say is lol @ FF13. All style and no substance.
sjneow
post Jan 5 2011, 09:45 AM

82 posts

lol TS the vote only allow to pick one, While I have so many to say. I don't mind the linearity, I don't mind grinding, I don't mind uber-boss, I don't mind cutscenes(they are beautiful).

What I have a problem with is when the story drag on with unrelevant stuff. When the main story quest feels like a side quest to you. There is a big problem right there.
alpha0201
post Jan 5 2011, 09:49 AM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(Sey @ Jan 5 2011, 12:53 AM)
1) Art Direction. Call me biased towards Asian aesthetics but this is one of the reasons why jRPG > wRPG  . You get these bright colorful worlds and well "colorful" characters in jRPGs as compared to what i consider generic looking worlds/characters in wRPGs . A good example is Fallout 3 / NV , i simply could not stand the art direction in that game.

2) Storyline  . Cliched plots are fine. Every game essentially is a cliche of one another and this is unavoidable. What turns me off is a stupid story which makes no sense . Personally i play a game for its story first and gameplay second.

3) Characters . Annoying characters . I have no idea what is it with jRPGs but for some reason or another they have to include some annoying character in the game. More often then not its always some child character.

4) Gameplay - All i can say is lol @ FF13. All style and no substance.
To be fair for Fallout 3, post-apocalyptic nuclear war country isn't exactly smurf land. But I do agree with you on the generic characters & lacking personality.

I was expecting New Vegas to be some sort of futuristic post apocalyptic nuclear world. Golden age 60's of America set in the future isn't cut out for me.

Well that's wRPG for you. Its either post apocalyptic war or ancient medieval time.

This post has been edited by alpha0201: Jan 5 2011, 09:53 AM
ajis
post Jan 5 2011, 10:00 AM

plastic love
3,554 posts

dumb npc
eg;
''hey I lost my precious magic ring, can you find it for me?''

*search inside his house and found it

doh.gif
TSgreyshadow
post Jan 5 2011, 10:11 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Jan 5 2011, 09:49 AM)
To be fair for Fallout 3, post-apocalyptic nuclear war country isn't exactly smurf land. But I do agree with you on the generic characters & lacking personality.

I was expecting New Vegas to be some sort of futuristic post apocalyptic nuclear world. Golden age 60's of America set in the future isn't cut out for me.

Well that's wRPG for you. Its either post apocalyptic war or ancient medieval time.
well, that's the differences between the west & east lor...

east already used to anime style, they can't get used to western style of realistic "ugly" characters
same thing with the west, they can't get used to underage kids with huge eyes, spiky hair waving huge sword saving the world with loli and a 40" D cup bombshell laugh.gif

Well, since I basically grew up playing both west & east RPGs, so I dun hav issues with the character/world designs

anyway, wRPGs not only post apocalyptic war or ancient medieval time lar...
KOTOR and Mass Effects are futuristic mah, and since most of the wRPGs are based on D&D style, hence mostly are ancient medieval or fantasy themed wink.gif

alpha0201
post Jan 5 2011, 10:18 AM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Jan 5 2011, 10:11 AM)
well, that's the differences between the west & east lor...

east already used to anime style, they can't get used to western style of realistic "ugly" characters
same thing with the west, they can't get used to underage kids with huge eyes, spiky hair waving huge sword saving the world with loli and a 40" D cup bombshell  laugh.gif

Well, since I basically grew up playing both west & east RPGs, so I dun hav issues with the character/world designs

anyway, wRPGs not only post apocalyptic war or ancient medieval time lar...
KOTOR and Mass Effects are futuristic mah, and since most of the wRPGs are based on D&D style, hence mostly are ancient medieval or fantasy themed wink.gif
Fortunately for Bioware, they manage to break out from that mold. Then we have Deus Ex game coming up soon...that's about it really for wRPG...I can't think of anything else other than those...

This post has been edited by alpha0201: Jan 5 2011, 10:22 AM
TSgreyshadow
post Jan 5 2011, 10:31 AM

1,844 posts

I see some guys dun mind uber hard boss

for me, uber hard boss in jRPG is one of the major turn off,
after days of grinding to level max already to challenge the boss, then only kena wipe out in a few seconds doh.gif
if didn't kena wipe out then you need hours just to defeat that boss yawn.gif

good examples are the Ultima weapons from the FF doh.gif
PhoenixByte
post Jan 5 2011, 11:35 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

i dun like bosses that give out ultimate attacks just as u're about to win tongue.gif..and the battle usually takes more than half an hour T_T
sjneow
post Jan 5 2011, 02:54 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Jan 5 2011, 10:49 AM)

and Western games are more grounded in reality or established legends or logical future. While JRPGs like to create their own world settings.

I do find myself a bit tired from the many similar settings of WRPG. the only one that is keeping me going is Bioware. Where their story is consistently interesting.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0480sec    1.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:08 AM