Olympus XZ-1, - Olympus does enthuasiast compact

kaystanford
post Jul 11 2012, 12:37 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Jul 9 2012, 11:24 PM)
I just bought the XZ-1 at Maybank Treatsfair in Midvalley last weekend. It cost RM1199 with a-year installment plan (5xtreatspoints); come with 2 batteries, 8GB memory card, a tripod, a carboot box, a SONY case (the merchant ran out of Olympus case) and 2 year warranty. But I needed to add RM10 for a screen protector.

I havent explored the camera yet, too busy with something else. But this thread (now into 47 pages) has given me plenty of tips about the camera. Thanks to you fellas for sharing. smile.gif
New XZ-1 owner here too! Bought at the recent MIDE with underwater housing. Hope to learn from this forum as much as possible for my upcoming Perhentian Dive trip biggrin.gif Kesian my old G7 tongue.gif

Added on July 11, 2012, 1:48 pm
QUOTE(eskimo_bin @ Feb 14 2012, 01:31 AM)
Cheers~! by binztan, on Flickr

Spam spam, out of nowhere, after so long..hehe...Cheers for valentine's... thumbup.gif
My last Dester was at home in Sabah!

This post has been edited by kaystanford: Jul 11 2012, 01:48 PM
kaystanford
post Jul 14 2012, 12:31 AM

67 posts

So I wanted to experiment taking time-lapse. Nope not built in. Looks like I need some other tools to attach to the camera? (intervalom​eter) Anyone got luck with these? Can't seem to find any product online that says clearly XZ-1=yes we can.
kaystanford
post Aug 13 2012, 02:21 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Aug 12 2012, 01:32 AM)
Depends on how you shoot it lo... XZ-1's got its quirks but it still take as well photos (there's always ways around it) as anything in its class.

Maybe except the RX100.

Just a test shot niah... mucking around just a while ago... Bracketing 5 shots to extend dynamic range of the XZ-1

This bracketing thing how it works ah? I know it's like taking a few shots then combine?
kaystanford
post Aug 13 2012, 04:00 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Aug 13 2012, 03:02 PM)
You can use AEB for 3 shots... then use various software like photomatix etc to combine.

But due to the limited dynamic range and for bigger contrast like the pic above... then can manually shoot more than 3 shots.
oo meaning instead of the auto 3 shots thingy, we just manually take say 10 shots each with different contrast then use the software again to combine and adjust ka?
kaystanford
post Sep 3 2012, 11:01 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Sep 2 2012, 09:56 PM)

- Olympus LC-63A Lens Cap is a must.. no more dangling stuff
- Richard Franiec's custom grip
- Some home made custom strap from taiwan ebay.
If only the grip is the type that can be taken out and placed back frequently. My XZ-1 is going underwater so that thing will create a gap when inserted into my underwater housing I believe.
kaystanford
post Sep 7 2012, 08:57 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(taf89 @ Sep 6 2012, 10:21 PM)
what a lucky person... biggrin.gif
all of them for RM1350?
really cheap...
so jealous of you.... cool2.gif

new underwater housing cost 900...  whistling.gif
Kan?? Price went down so fast? You have to share the kedai where you buy lah. Perhaps can make as spare in future. I bought mine with housing during the recent MIDE and cost me 2k+! and i thought that was reasonable already!

Good for ya mate!
kaystanford
post Oct 3 2012, 10:30 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(BrotherHT @ Oct 3 2012, 12:56 AM)
Hello guys,here i found good info settings for XZ-1,
lets try :-)
Setting the camera

Suggestions for new XZ-1 owners --

Start with Program mode instead of i Auto, Aperture, Shutter, or Manual.

On the screen menu that you see after pressing the back OK button --

1. Select Auto-ISO. The XZ-1 will try really, really hard not to go over ISO 200 -- and that extra stop, from, say ISO 100 to 200, will give you super low-light pictures, with a camera-set shutter speed fast enough to handhold.

2. Next, going down the menu, select 1 Vivid. Then press the little Menu button on the back. Go to Picture Mode, select Vivid. Press the right arrow key, and set Contrast to +1, Sharpness 0, Saturation +1, Gradation - Normal. Important: do NOT set Gradation to Auto, or some other stuff will stop working.
3. Next, select white balance - Underwater (the fish icon). On the back-button Menu, go to WB, press the OK button to select the fish icon, then press the right-arrow. Leave A (amber) at 0, in the middle... but set G (green) to -1.
Between this and the Vivid setting above, you'll get beautiful pictures, indoor and out, daytime, twilight, and in the dark.

4. Further down, select 'LF + Raw' as your picture type. This will make both a JPG and a RAW image. In most instances, the JPG will be great... but the RAW backup lets you rescue any image where the JPG isn't good.

5. Further down, select Spot metering, instead of ESP or Ctr-Weighted. After selecting Spot, go out of the menu. The camera will now always meter light from the little circle-area in the center of the screen.

6. Next comes Focus Point selection. Press the left-arrow key and make sure the green focus square is in the center of the screen. Leave it there! The XZ-1 will now start behaving normally. The XZ-1 will always try to focus in the green-square area in the dead center of the screen, which is where you naturally point the camera.
(thanks to echelon2004 for helping me get this straight!)

Imagine that you are taking a picture of a sunset. Point the XZ-1 at the sky, to the left of the sun. Press the shutter button lightly -- it will lock focus and exposure with a beep. If you don't like the preview image on the LCD, move the camera up or down, and try another preview. The screen lets you see right away what you will get!

7. Lastly, further down, select AF instead of Macro or Super-Macro. At the camera's startup wide-angle lens setting, everything's sharp from about 2' to infinity -- like for almost every photo you will take. But play around with Super-Macro... fantastic closeups. Just don't forget to put it back on AF!

That's about it. Now after you set the camera, write these settings down on a piece of paper in case something gets unset, and forget all about it -- time to start taking pictures! From here on out, trust your eye and your camera. Think pictures, not camera settings.

Before you go, get two SD cards, and three spare batteries. You will get about 200 -250 pictures per battery charge... so three charged batteries should be all you need, who knows what kind of electricity they have over there. You can carry the XZ-1 in a shirt pocket, with a spare battery in your other shirt pocket.

Night photography -- if you're on the move, forget the tripod or monopod. Learn to balance the camera on a fence, a railing, or braced against a pole. Or, carry a small beanbag in your pants pocket. Use the camera's 12-sec self-timer to take a good sharp picture of anything that isn't moving too much.

Sunset -- point the spot focus to the sky at the left or right of the setting sun; watch the LCD screen til you see the effect you like.

Water reflections -- spot focus off the reflection in the water, not the sky.

Portraits -- here's an exception to Program mode. Go to A Aperture instead. Turn the lens ring til it says 1.8 Put the lens at full telephoto. Stand about 6 feet away from the subject. The background behind the person should be nicely blurred. Now, if you are doing this in bright daylight, there may be too much light for the XZ-1 to handle. So go into the OK button menu, and change ND Off to on. The built-in Neutral Density filter lets you take pictures at wide open lens settings in bright daylight.

Filters -- Don't bother. You can do any special effects later in Photoshop -- almost anything except a true polarizing effect, and the Vivid settings above will help you avoid the need for polarizing color saturation.

Street scenes -- if you have time, think ahead, about what kind of picture may present itself in the minutes ahead. Or what kind of picture you missed may repeat itself... and when... and be there. This is hard to do!
click here for more...
OMG! So awesome! I almost thought my camera sucks! Now my photos wont be so ugly any more! Thanks buddy biggrin.gif
kaystanford
post Jul 10 2013, 05:08 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Aug 23 2012, 01:47 AM)
Dunno leh... rumor long long time di but XZ-2 still tarak show up.

Anyway, P7700 totally zero lust factor for me biggrin.gif

Spam another snapshot of my kid recently

What's your setting for this shot. Like it a lot!

0.0334sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:24 PM