Guys... how's the AF speed at low light on this?
Olympus XZ-1, - Olympus does enthuasiast compact
Apr 20 2011, 05:55 AM
23,414 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Taipei |
Guys... how's the AF speed at low light on this?
Apr 24 2011, 06:12 PM
Apr 24 2011, 07:55 PM
May 10 2011, 11:24 AM
May 12 2011, 03:36 PM
Got 3rd party ones to use with the Oly?
Some poison http://www.mobile01.com/topicdetail.php?f=541&t=1984346&p=1 By the way, does the XZ-1 remember its last setting? For example... set to spot metering, take a couple pics, turn off.... turn on again. Will it stay at spot metering or default? Thanks This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: May 13 2011, 01:02 AM |
Jun 10 2011, 02:19 PM
This thread veli quiet ho.. wonder where all the XZ-1 users went
Jun 11 2011, 12:55 AM
We're waiting for your review sir...
May just get one myself too.. but u first la .... volunteer for the sake of the community? |
Jun 12 2011, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(47ronin @ Jun 12 2011, 07:14 PM) Not really a fan of nissan too but you're right.. if the XZ-1 is a Canon or Nikon .... then the fanboys will buy them in throves.Having said that... I went on a jalan jalan session here in Taipei and I notice a steady stream of XZ-1 users. |
Jun 13 2011, 02:03 AM
QUOTE(Valentino46 @ Jun 13 2011, 01:34 AM) actually partly its olympus fault in bad decision making as well,for example the adopting four third format for their SLR is a bad one,when every single major player is out with their larger format sensor Even their PEN's... some of the things like slow AF and a downright ancient LCD (on the E-PL1) is just downright offputting.remember olympus is fame for their lens design and body construction like nikon,not electronics,and they are not utilizing this asset very well,unlike panasonic which ride along the leica brand name for their compacts,olympus did exactly the other way round,going into digital world without much of the electronics experience,and not utilizing their optics prowess in making/advertising their product at the same time i hope xz-1 and pen series would be the resuscitation point for this once flamboyant company and pushing the other competing company in the market for innovation,i still miss their all analog OM800 used by my dad for our family photos so many years ago Btw... did you get your XZ-1? |
Jun 13 2011, 08:12 PM
QUOTE(Valentino46 @ Jun 13 2011, 06:42 PM) will update you regarding the deal i get this weekend I've downloaded some high iso XZ-1 RAW's from the web. Quite usable lor and more headroom than the S90 (which I have) output.actually i do observe many high iso shots taken by this olympus, their noise reduction algorithm is that in someway,under certain condition and certain kind of detail it actually doing better job that the others,but not so good result under other situation.from what i can see the noise reduction is optimize to preserve larger detail and maintain edge contrast,it does this better than s95 where s95 tend to blur the edge more but preserve more detail within the edges,and s95 seems to preserve the color integrity better than olympus at higher iso |
Jun 13 2011, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(afizzat @ Jun 13 2011, 09:34 PM) bro, it remembers the setting but for one mode only. for example, if i set super macro focus on A mode, change to P mode, the focus mode also change to default.turn off then turn on to A mode again, it stay at super macro. hope that help.. Thank you so much. Really appreciate this. i still got lot to learn from this camera..currently learning to shoot RAW and edit in Lightroom..oh, and i'm still a beginner.. The same goes with metering mode and manual focus distance right? Please do share some photos from your XZ-1. |
Jun 16 2011, 07:36 PM
New XZ-1 user reporting into an empty thread
Unlike somebody say wanna buy last week until now also haven't bought |
Jun 16 2011, 09:01 PM
Jun 16 2011, 09:15 PM
Jun 17 2011, 01:22 AM
It's gonna take a while to get used to the camera and since so many reviews are out there but here's preliminary thoughts:
- AF and shutter lag is fast.. I feel that its much more responsive than the S90. Works well in dark situation too - Overall performance feels good but the responsiveness of the menus are slower than the S90 though not painfully so. - Metering is weird and its got a tendency to underexpose to avoid blown highlights. At the moment, I think no need AEL button also since the matrix (ESP) metering takes into account the whole screen without prioritizing the focus point. - RAW is better than expected. Surprising amount of headroom - Despite all the blah blah blah over the internet... I find it quite user friendly so far in terms of menu. ISO is just a click of the OK button and then select secukup rasa. - I don't find that auto ISO to 200 issue too annoying since I don't use auto ISO - The mode dial is in a lousy location... easily ter-switched. - The USB charging with a power cord... the usb thingy... AND a USB cable is stupid. Gonna change it to those USB charge thing that plugs directly into the socket. Edit: Now I'm using the iphone adaptor to charge it. - Not that pocketable... ok with cargo pants but definately need a bag for others. - Potential to lose the hotshoe cover. - And I'm not impressed by the battery life so far. Thus far, it seemed like a worthwhile upgrade over the Canon S90. Some test shots. ![]() P6160015 by vmwt, on Flickr ![]() P6160076 by vmwt, on Flickr ![]() P6160084 by vmwt, on Flickr ![]() P6160043 by vmwt, on Flickr This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Jun 18 2011, 01:04 AM |
Jun 17 2011, 07:18 PM
Jun 17 2011, 08:26 PM
Jun 18 2011, 12:58 AM
Jun 18 2011, 07:46 PM
Jun 18 2011, 10:31 PM
QUOTE(merajey @ Jun 18 2011, 08:00 PM) @sniper: do the camera still have some kind of firmware issue when shooting bright light scene, there is a line in a lcd?i guess i read in somewhere about this issue...still now don't whether Oly rectify it with the new fw yet.. Not sure if we're talking about the same thing... but when there's lens flare (look above... scooter picture... the flare on the streetlight).. there will be pinkish lines or when shooting wide open into the sun, the screen turns pinkish for a sec and then I think the ND filter snaps in to protect the sensor... I find it ok lo... think of it as flare warning function Thus far... in addition to my earlier post... the following are annoying: - In aperture priority, the camera will not allow shutter speed lower than 1/2 sec. This one is really wtf... have to go around it in shutter priority or manual. - The manual focus borders unusable. These posted in other threads di... but some shots from today's get-to-know-the-xz1 jalan jalan session. ![]() P6180263 by vmwt, on Flickr ![]() P6180248 by vmwt, on Flickr ![]() P6180225 by vmwt, on Flickr This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Jun 19 2011, 02:00 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0377sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:13 PM |