LG Optimus 7

fulat
post Jan 27 2011, 03:02 PM

8,472 posts

QUOTE(zildj @ Jan 27 2011, 11:31 AM)
CELCOM ler.. dunno why, when received it says click to view content, then nothing happen.. if i type mms, then it says fail to send..
i have to ask the below question first before i post u a "might be" solution.

1. are your optimus 7 a branded(T-Mobile, Vodafone, Starhub... etc) but unlocked(telco SIM unlocked) set?

2. Did you enable cookie at IE setting??

marauderz
post Jan 27 2011, 05:29 PM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

Oh yeah, mine is Singtel branded but it works.
zildj
post Jan 28 2011, 09:58 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Jan 27 2011, 03:02 PM)
i have to ask the below question first before i post u a "might be" solution.

1.  are your optimus 7 a branded(T-Mobile, Vodafone, Starhub... etc) but unlocked(telco SIM unlocked) set? CELCOM SET

2.  Did you enable cookie at IE setting?? NOT SURE
fulat
post Jan 28 2011, 08:16 PM

8,472 posts

try this

1. Go to the phone app
2. Dial ##634# and click Send
3. When prompted for a password type 277634#*#
4. You should now be at "Factory Menu"
5. Choose "Engineer Menu"
6. Choose "Other Setting"
7. Verify that "Set ADC" is set to Enable
8. From the "Other Setting" page, choose "Set network profile"
9. You should now be on the "Set network profile" page and in the bottom half of the window you should see a list of *.xml files. These appear to be the network configuration files.
10. Look at the filenames for the config files and take your best guess at which one to choose for your provider. if you are on CELCOM. try to find a xml file which have CELCOM in it.

After you choose that *.xml profile, your MMS should be working.

lastlion
post Jan 29 2011, 09:37 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Jan 28 2011, 08:16 PM)
try this
1.  Go to the phone app
2.  Dial ##634# and click Send
3.  When prompted for a password type 277634#*#
4.  You should now be at "Factory Menu"
5.  Choose "Engineer Menu"
6.  Choose "Other Setting"
7.  Verify that "Set ADC" is set to Enable
8.  From the "Other Setting" page, choose "Set network profile"
9.  You should now be on the "Set network profile" page and in the bottom half of the window you should see a list of *.xml files.  These appear to be the  network configuration files.
10. Look at the filenames for the config files and take your best guess at which one to choose for your provider.  if you are on CELCOM. try to find a xml file which have CELCOM in it.

After you choose that *.xml profile, your MMS should be working.
tried it... and is CLM_MY stands for celcom malaysia?

however, i've accidentally click other provider from which country i dont know..and cant change it back at the "set network profile" area.
Even clicking CLM_MY and some other give me an error message. doh.gif

But setting it back at the "Network Profile" in "Setting" menu seems to get my celcom network back. sweat.gif

if the CLM_MY stands for celcom..then will try it again. for now cant send MMS.
fulat
post Jan 29 2011, 09:53 PM

8,472 posts

QUOTE(lastlion @ Jan 29 2011, 09:37 PM)
tried it... and is CLM_MY stands for celcom malaysia?

however, i've accidentally click other provider from which country i dont know..and cant change it back at the "set network profile" area.
Even clicking CLM_MY and some other give me an error message.  doh.gif

But setting it back at the "Network Profile" in "Setting" menu seems to get my celcom network back.  sweat.gif

if the CLM_MY stands for celcom..then will try it again. for now cant send MMS.
not sure... u can give it a try tho.
lastlion
post Jan 29 2011, 10:06 PM

151 posts

Will do..and will give feedback later.

I've emailed Celcom about this MMS problem yesterday..but they hv not yet call/reply.

Added on January 30, 2011, 12:11 amtried the _PROV_CLM_MY_502_19.xml ... but to no avail. still unable to send mms.

maybe this is not the xml..but i cant find any other which resemble Celcom than this one.

will wait for Celcom technical person to call me then. if they call that is....

Added on January 30, 2011, 2:33 pmHi all, i was wondering what is the best cover/ casing for protecting optimus 7? Is there any zagg invincible cover for this phone? And what do you all use as the phone physical protection?

This post has been edited by lastlion: Jan 30 2011, 02:33 PM
zildj
post Jan 30 2011, 03:58 PM

244 posts

tak boleh la broo.. still cannot send
2BorX2B
post Feb 17 2011, 11:24 PM

A) MMS Settings for Celcom LG Optimus 7

When I read first this thread, I did not try it b'cos of other comments said it did not work. Today I went to another forum and they suggested the same instructions. Decided to give it a try today and ..... whollaa ... been using my LG Optimus 7 since Celcom launced it last year ... I finally sent my first MMS rclxms.gif

As my own personal record I changed the last instruction as follows:

10. Look at the filenames for the config files.
For Celcom, use "_PROV_CLM_MY_502_19.xml" (there are two xml files with CLM_MY ... do not use the other one)
Note: Once selected the xml file turns into green color or whatever color you selected as Accent color under theme setting.

Having completed instructions 1 until 10, try send MMS. When sending make sure your phone does not go into sleep ... keep on pressing the screen (just to make sure since I disable the notification) ... I sent 3 x MMS to 3 friends ... 2 x MMS were successful and 1xMMS did not go through even after several retries ... must be network ... not sure hmm.gif

B) Forwading SMS for LG OPTIMUS 7

In case someone is still trying to figure out how to forward sms ... it is in the manual. It stated as follows:

1. On the Start screen, tap Messaging and then tap the conversation that has the text message you want to forward.

2. Tap and hold a message and then tap Forward.

3. Type the person's name, mobile phone number or email address in the To: box.

4. Tap the message box, type a message if you'd like, and then tap Send

Hope this helps brows.gif

ps
Can't wait for WP7 update in Mar'11 thumbup.gif

endless
post Feb 19 2011, 07:43 AM

-Ignorant ppl are fodder for politicians-
1,316 posts

Anyone here has issues pairing using BT?

The BT just keeps on searching but doesn't detect anything.
lastlion
post Feb 19 2011, 02:10 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(endless @ Feb 19 2011, 07:43 AM)
Anyone here has issues pairing using BT?

The BT just keeps on searching but doesn't detect anything.
Pairing with what? if with PC i dont think WP7 can through Bluetooth (I also hv tried..and fail). U hv to use cable of wifi. Though I still dont know how to make it work with Wifi (any help would be grateful too... biggrin.gif )

IF pairing with devices such as BT headset...I see no problem with mine. It straight away detect and connect. Ironically it does not ask for the headset pin number, whereas when using WINmo..a first time connection it will ask for a pin code.
endless
post Feb 19 2011, 02:29 PM

-Ignorant ppl are fodder for politicians-
1,316 posts

QUOTE(lastlion @ Feb 19 2011, 02:10 PM)
Pairing with what? if with PC i dont think WP7 can through Bluetooth (I also hv tried..and fail). U hv to use cable of wifi. Though I still dont know how to make it work with Wifi (any help would be grateful too... biggrin.gif )

IF pairing with devices such as BT headset...I see no problem with mine. It straight away detect and connect. Ironically it does not ask for the headset pin number, whereas when using WINmo..a first time connection it will ask for a pin code.
With a BT headset.

I read thru a few problems and it seems that the BT failing to connect is quite a prevalent issue. Apparently due to a faulty motherboard.

I will just claim warranty then.
chunwai210
post Feb 23 2011, 02:47 PM

solved =)

This post has been edited by chunwai210: Feb 23 2011, 06:36 PM
TStopsword
post Feb 23 2011, 03:09 PM

85 posts

Dear All,

There has been some kind of updates yesterday. What does this update do to the software?
marauderz
post Feb 23 2011, 06:10 PM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

nothing yet, more like testing than anything
2BorX2B
post Feb 24 2011, 12:30 AM

QUOTE(topsword @ Feb 23 2011, 03:09 PM)
Dear All,

There has been some kind of updates yesterday. What does this update do to the software?
I read it on the Internet that it is not OTA. It has to be done through Zune, of which I tried and would like to share my experience.

After connecting my LG Optimus 7 to Zune and pressing update for phone in Zune, it prompted that update is available. Owners' of Samsung WP7, please do a research in the Internet as several Samsung phone owners had some serious bad experiences. But for LG Optimus 7 owner ... please read on biggrin.gif

1) 1st attempt
After I pressed update, Zune displayed ongoing process, there were 10 stages all together. It was all fine until stage 6 and I remembered reading those who had bad experience their update stopped at stage 6. Somehow after short while my LG Optimus 7 bounced back, it did a soft reset and recovered. At that time, Zune displayed message saying my phone was not updated. Escaped from almost bad experience, I quickly tested my phone and it seemed to be working normally.

2) 2nd attempt
Knowing my LG Optimus 7 could recover, I decided to give it another go. Wholla ..... it completed stage 6 and advancing into stage 7 and this took a while. I think this was the time when the firmware was transferred from my notebook to my wp7. It showed the progress from 0% until 100% ... I did not time it but I think around 20mins or more. After the completion of stage 10 ... my LG Optimus 7 was updated and ready thumbup.gif

Under Setting > About > more information

OS version: 7.0.7008.0
Firmware revision number: 1.0.2.10
Hardware revision number: 1.0.0.0
Radio software version: 1.0.2.10
Radio hardware version: 0.3.5.0
Bootloader version: 1.5.0.0
Chip SOC version: 0.30.2.0

Don't take my words for it ... this is just my personal observations.

1) Opening up video file on my phone seems slight faster.
2) Still trying to get my phone frozen when browsing Marketplace ... that is the only way I know to get my LG Optimus 7 to freeze. Oh, btw ... with my HTC Touch HD WM6.1 ... I had a long list to achieve this.
3) Accessing Internet seems faster ... did a bandwidth test ... never achieved before 3.41Mbps for downloading speed using "S" Bandwidth apps... yeah, I know you guys probably could get better speed with the other operators using better data plan ... but I just simply compared with previous data using same phone and same carrier except the new tiny update from Microsoft.

Well, that's all ... merely sharing because one dude asked the above quoted question. icon_idea.gif
lastlion
post Feb 24 2011, 01:11 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(2BorX2B @ Feb 17 2011, 11:24 PM)
A) MMS Settings for Celcom LG Optimus 7

When I read first this thread, I did not try it b'cos of other comments said it did not work. Today I went to another forum and they suggested the same instructions. Decided to give it a try today and ..... whollaa ... been using my LG Optimus 7 since Celcom launced it last year ... I finally sent my first MMS  rclxms.gif

As my own personal record I changed the last instruction as follows:

10. Look at the filenames for the config files.
      For Celcom, use "_PROV_CLM_MY_502_19.xml" (there are two xml files with CLM_MY ... do not use the other one)
      Note: Once selected the xml file turns into green color or whatever color you selected as Accent color under theme  setting.

Having completed instructions 1 until 10, try send MMS. When sending make sure your phone does not go into sleep  ... keep on pressing the screen (just to make sure since I disable the notification) ... I sent 3 x MMS to 3 friends ... 2 x MMS were successful and 1xMMS did not go through even after several retries ... must be network ... not sure  hmm.gif
B) Forwading SMS for LG OPTIMUS 7

In case someone is still trying to figure out how to forward sms ... it is in the manual. It stated as follows:

1. On the Start screen, tap Messaging and then tap the conversation that has the text message you want to forward.

2. Tap and hold a message and then tap Forward.

3. Type the person's name, mobile phone number or email address in the To: box.

4. Tap the message box, type a message if you'd like, and then tap Send

Hope this helps  brows.gif

ps
Can't wait for WP7 update in Mar'11  thumbup.gif
Tried again with your instruction..but still unable to send MMS. sad.gif
2BorX2B
post Feb 24 2011, 04:03 PM

QUOTE(lastlion @ Feb 24 2011, 01:11 PM)
Tried again with your instruction..but still unable to send MMS. sad.gif
Sorry to hear it didn't work for you. cry.gif

Hope the next wp7 update will help you with the issue.

Anyway ... here's what I have under Settings:

i) mobile network -> MY CELCOM
ii) region & language > Malaysia

Pls check again, under Engineer Menu > Other Setting > Set network profiles.

When you enter Set network profiles ... it will show message, "Please wait a few seconds. Reading data..." After that verify "_PROV_CLM_MY_502_19.xml" is in different color than the other xml files. This is the indication of current xml in use by your phone. For my case it is in green color following the accent color which I set up under Theme setting.
DO NOT use, "_PROV_V100_CLM_MY_502_19.xml".

It this doesn't help ... you have to wait for the Celcom guy to call you, I guess. blush.gif
lastlion
post Feb 24 2011, 09:00 PM

151 posts

Hehe..will try again. Btw, celcom customer centre didnt call me. sad.gif Not that they didnt call me at all, but i've missed their call 1 time, and they didnt bother to call again.

zildj
post Feb 28 2011, 11:57 PM

244 posts

ive updated and my mms seem to worked!!! haha.. now i can receive and send mms

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0227sec    1.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:07 AM