Wrist pain, during and after pregnancy

TSmerchant9
post Dec 30 2010, 10:18 AM, updated 15y ago

628 posts

I am not sure if I've hurt my wrist but during pregnancy, my wrist started to hurt. I asked around and people told me it was the water retention. Even the doctor said so. That gave me the feeling that nothing can be done until I have given birth. Our baby is about 5 weeks old now and I'm still on my confinement break. My wrist still hurt. I visited a chinese-sensei recently who told me that my veins around the wrist is inflamed.

I am worried. My relative who frequent a chinese-sensei (whom, I've also visited previously) suggested to do acupuncture. I would also like to know what options do I have with the western medicine.

Does anyone else feels the same wrist pain as I mentioned? The pain is around the place where we wear our watches, nearer to the palm rather than the arm. My husband told me, I probably used the computer mouse too much. I'm not sure because everyone said different things.

Please help!
abubin
post Dec 30 2010, 12:26 PM

10,429 posts

it is probably the combination of water retention and usage of computer in bad posture.

Try stop using the computer for a week and see if the pain go away. If you cannot afford to stop using computer then make sure you are sitting in the right posture and using the mouse or keyboard with correct angle. Try to use arm/wrist rest. Get a good quality mouse with good grip and keyboard that provides good feel when pressing.

If you do not take car of this, you might end up getting karpal syndrome. But that is only for extreme cases. It can easily be avoided with the suggestions I mentioned above.
beyond
post Jan 2 2011, 11:10 AM

280 posts

Common issue. My wife and my cousin s wife. Same issue. It has something to do on how you carry the baby too. Your hand and arm are curved up like holding a bowling ball when carrying the baby.

Western med. Only available option. Paiinkiller/muscle relaxant/anti inflammatory. But I ll suggest not to take. Try to change the holding hand.
auhckw
post Jan 3 2011, 10:49 AM

1,008 posts

I am not sure whether there is placebo effect, but my wife has wrist pain but it went away after wearing Phiten (titanium) bracelet.

She don't wear it all the time, but when wrist pain happens (couple of times), wearing it makes it goes away.

Unfortunately she dropped it last week thanks to my son struggling, I think have to buy her a new one soon.
abubin
post Jan 3 2011, 11:31 AM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(auhckw @ Jan 3 2011, 10:49 AM)
I am not sure whether there is placebo effect, but my wife has wrist pain but it went away after wearing Phiten (titanium) bracelet.

She don't wear it all the time, but when wrist pain happens (couple of times), wearing it makes it goes away.

Unfortunately she dropped it last week thanks to my son struggling, I think have to buy her a new one soon.
It's possible that when wearing the bracelet, it subconsciously caused her hand to bend or not bend in the wrong direction. To know if this is placebo, try getting a normal bracelet but with built material as close to this Phiten as possible. Wear it when problems arises again and you will see. Best is, tell her it's another brand of Phiten but have similar effects so that wearer do not notice the attempt at busting the myth. smile.gif
Syd G
post Jan 3 2011, 11:34 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Wrist pain?

I had De Quervain's tenosynovitis - http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/de-querva...novitis/DS00692 from 7th month's pregnancy till I finally saw the doc.

Added on January 3, 2011, 11:34 amBtw the condition is also known as 'mommy thumb' tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Syd G: Jan 3 2011, 11:34 AM
TSmerchant9
post Jan 3 2011, 03:28 PM

628 posts

I will give the titanium bracelet thing a try to see if it works. Problem is, my wrist are quite small so worry I cannot find a size that fit. Heard they are quite expensive, >RM100?
auhckw
post Jan 3 2011, 03:59 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(merchant9 @ Jan 3 2011, 03:28 PM)
I will give the titanium bracelet thing a try to see if it works. Problem is, my wrist are quite small so worry I cannot find a size that fit. Heard they are quite expensive, >RM100?
You can get the bracelet for about RM99. Eg
http://www.phitenmy.com/product_info.php?c...mhrklvbmvkp2v16

I'm planning to get this (maybe on valentine) for her to replace her lost Phiten Hello Kitty Bracelet...
http://www.phitenmy.com/product_info.php?c...mhrklvbmvkp2v16
We have seen the real thing and it is beautiful as an accessory, just the price is also beautiful...

This post has been edited by auhckw: Jan 3 2011, 04:00 PM
TSmerchant9
post Jan 3 2011, 05:20 PM

628 posts

I thought it was very nice until I saw...RM880? NO!
Hahahaha... right now we cannot afford this kind of luxuries.

This post has been edited by merchant9: Jan 3 2011, 05:21 PM
beyond
post Jan 5 2011, 07:45 AM

280 posts

Hahahah. Yeah. Expensive.
animeme
post Jan 11 2011, 12:05 PM

34 posts

i got this problem too on my left wrist. Some years back.

no doctor can tell me what is wrong with it. A chinese sinseh uses Electronic device thing or what, attaching cables with pulses to my wrist. Made it worsen by double and my wallet weight halved.

it is tinkling pain, may be because near the artery.

I figured out may be it is the inflammation thing, so i stopped using my left wrist.

Then it healed by itself.

TSmerchant9
post Jan 12 2011, 09:41 AM

628 posts

Ok, thanks for sharing. I will try to reduce the usage of my wrist... quite hard since I am having it both hands. Like having to not use my hand at all but still need to carry baby when feeding him.
joliana
post Jan 12 2011, 10:55 PM

Try using this device...PainGone pen. Don't take too much pain killer.
It is an effective pain relief device from Uk. Got it from my dr but I found that it's also available online at www.vpharmahealth.com
faceless
post Jan 13 2011, 09:16 AM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

I understand from friends who were pregnant that whatever pain suffered during pregnancy will go away after pregnancy.
QUOTE(merchant9 @ Dec 30 2010, 10:18 AM)
I am not sure if I've hurt my wrist but during pregnancy, my wrist started to hurt. I asked around and people told me it was the water retention. Even the doctor said so. That gave me the feeling that nothing can be done until I have given birth. Our baby is about 5 weeks old now and I'm still on my confinement break. My wrist still hurt. I visited a chinese-sensei recently who told me that my veins around the wrist is inflamed.

I am worried. My relative who frequent a chinese-sensei (whom, I've also visited previously) suggested to do acupuncture. I would also like to know what options do I have with the western medicine.
As I know it traditional chinese medicine prescription for inflammation is constant rubbing to get blood circulation going again in the affected area. Taking tian qi 田七 helps in removing the inflammation provided you rub/massage it. I guess the sensei recommended acupuncture because it was his area of specialty. A specialist had a tendency to lean to his area of specialty even for minor stuff.

Listen to Abubin here if you want a no cost solution.
QUOTE(abubin @ Dec 30 2010, 12:26 PM)
it is probably the combination of water retention and usage of computer in bad posture.

Try stop using the computer for a week and see if the pain go away. If you cannot afford to stop using computer then make sure you are sitting in the right posture and using the mouse or keyboard with correct angle. Try to use arm/wrist rest. Get a good quality mouse with good grip and keyboard that provides good feel when pressing.

If you do not take car of this, you might end up getting karpal syndrome. But that is only for extreme cases. It can easily be avoided with the suggestions I mentioned above.
You can buy die da jiu 跌打酒 and get your hubby to massage the affected area for a low cost solution. I had similar wrist pain cause by wrong posture when using the keyboard and mouse. Sometimes it also comes form playing the guzheng (chinese musical instrument) as I use a lot of wrist work. I had stop the activity for a week, massage and take tian qi pills and I am okay. Every now and then the pain comes again especially when I get over passionate when plucking the guzheng.

This post has been edited by faceless: Jan 13 2011, 09:18 AM
TSmerchant9
post Jan 14 2011, 10:55 AM

628 posts

joliana,
Does that Paingone pen works for you? How does it work actually?

faceless,
Thanks for sharing your methods. I'm also leaning more towards chinese herbs but am not very knowledgeable. I will go to the medicine shop and speak to those people based on your suggestion.
faceless
post Jan 17 2011, 10:43 AM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

I forgot to mention wrap with bandage. It helps to restrict wrist movement. You can use the wrist bands but they are costlier.
eupho
post Mar 18 2011, 04:32 PM

i got this too, but then it automatically goes off after some time..so dun worry
HonMun
post Mar 18 2011, 04:58 PM

Professor
1,052 posts

Wrist pain still use computer ?

0.0187sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:34 PM