Clinique 3 step skin care allergy, Anyone else with the same problem?

TSmeburntsoap
post Dec 28 2010, 09:58 AM, updated 15y ago

Hi ladies,

I was previously using dermedex then decided to switch to Clinique due to lack of supply for the refining cream for dermedex. I heard good reviews from other clinique users and didn't find any reviews that had any bad reactions.

So i bought the 3 step skincare on 20th Dec, start using on 21st Dec. On 24th Dec (xmas eve cry.gif) my face started itching. So I was patting patting my face to relieve the itchiness. I blamed mosquitoes, then my hubby said to me what's wrong with your face, it's so red. When we got back home, I was shocked to find rashes on my cheek. The rashes looks like small red irregular bumps. So I stopped using the products straight away. I washed and rinsed my face with plain water until the itchiness subsided. The next day on Christmas day, I saw the rashes are on my cheeks, forehead, neck (where ever I had applied the product). I went back to whatever was left of my dermedex. I found my skin to burn when I wash it so I don't dare put toner or moisturiser. I've been using Cetaphil since then as a mild cleanser to reduce the itchiness and flaking of my skin. It seems to help. But now some of the rashes and blackish and it's drying out and my skin is peeling and so rough to the touch. I look like a snake. It still itches till today and my skin still feel rough with bumps. My previous skin concerns were only enlarged pores and occasional breakouts. I used to have pretty smooth skin, now it feels like sand paper.

Are there anyone else out there who has the same problem? Did you manage to get back your original skin? How did you fix the problem? What is the specific ingredient that can cause the rash if any of you have any ideas? I have not seen a doctor. Any ideas on what is the remedy? It has been 4days since I stopped using the product. The redness and bumpiness is still there. I'm worried that it's permanant.

Thanks in advance ladies.

soraya s
post Dec 28 2010, 11:15 AM

FYI, I had the same problem because the toner is too strong for my skin...
it would be better for you to see dermatologist....
But there are many people out there who has been using clinique and very happy with the results...
it all depends on ur skin type.
you may perhap try placenta gel that normally to heal wounds due to sunburn, skin peeling or any related issues to skin-burning.

TSmeburntsoap
post Dec 29 2010, 07:45 AM

thanx soraya...

ya i suspect its either the toner or moisturiser. cos those are the things that you keep on your skin without washing off.

my mom used to use clinique so i thought i was safe. mana tau their product go goreng my face kaw-kaw.

thanx for the advice. planning to see a doctor this weekend if the itching doesn't subside.
amoeba2
post Dec 30 2010, 11:41 AM

use aloe vera gel as a mask where u can simply purchase from the pharmacy outlet.
best to know heal sunburn, itchiness & redness . hope it helps.
bombshellx
post Jan 3 2011, 11:56 AM

22 posts

i'm allergy to clinique as well... i stop using all the cosmetics product till my face recover back to normal... it took me at least a year sad.gif but tat was like 5 years ago... phewww now my skin is as good as it is
TSmeburntsoap
post Jan 5 2011, 07:24 AM

thanks amoeba for the tip. my facial lady also said the same thing. she scolded me for changing products when my existing product was doing well with my skin. at the same time i'm also using ampoules to help the healing process.

bombshellx: good to know that your skin has gone back to normal. my face is still reddish in patches. and it still itches sometimes, especially near my eyebrows. i'm still on a no makeup regime to let my face get back to normal.

i actually complained to clinique Malaysia and insist on a refund. they were ok with an exchange of products but they didn't want to refund my money. initially they wanted to trial and error my skin reaction with other products. they mentioned the type 3 toner containes alcohol for exfoliating. so they suspect its the toner. i tried a sample toner before but the counter only gave me samples enuf for 2 days. i reacted on the 3rd day. so i'm still inclined to suspect the moisturiser. but anyway, i refused to be a test subject for the trial and error so they asked me to exchange with other clinique products. i didn't want anything to do with their skincare or anything that involves putting anything on my face but the only non skincare they have is the perfume. becos of the diff in price (perfume was cheaper than what i bought) i refused. so then cos i got the product from parkson, i was allowed to exchange with anything is parkson and not limited to the fragrance and cosmetics section.

i'm impressed with the after sales service of clinique and parkson. i was expecting to be just brushed aside and to be ignored but they came through. although clinique knew i was not going to be a returning customer, they still helped me. so kudos to them!

but it was required that you keep the original receipt of parkson, i thought i threw it out but i was lucky to have kept it. if not, i think i wouldn't hv been able to exchange with parkson's merchandise.

pingubabe
post Jan 6 2011, 10:51 AM

169 posts

oh dear.. i am just in the midst of deciding whether I should use clinique products again. shocking.gif
I was a Clinique user 5 years ago. I stopped and changed to another products after using for 2 years.
Cos I find that Clinique products are not as effective anymore compared to when I first use them.
Well, after hearing what you have gone thru, I'm worried.

Actually I am looking for something mild for my skin at the same time can control acne..
my current skincare can control acne but it seems to .. dry up my skin and enlarging my pores. cry.gif
I dunno what other products that I can consider if I wanted to refine my pores and control my acne.

TSmeburntsoap
post Jan 7 2011, 08:55 AM

hi pingubabe.

if you want to go back to clinique, you can ask for samples from the counter. you can explain to them that you are worried about bad reaction. that's what the sales lady told me. sometimes they can seem abit kamsiap dun wanna give samples cos they're not sure if you're really interested in buying. but it's basic consumer rights. i had to practically beg for the samples before and she didn't give me the full 3 step skincare, just the cleanser and toner and only enough for 2 days. if you feel after sampling you're still not confident, they are some ladies in the garage sales selling small size bottles.

just to share, i'm currently using dermedex. it does well with my breakouts and pores but it's a bit drying. so my beautician proposed me to use hydrating essence to 'lock in' moisture better. if i use the full hydrating line it'll cause me to breakout. so just use the essence is good enough she said. she also told me to stay away from skincare for mature skin cos it's too rich. i'm in my late 20s. she said later on la.. when u really need it.

i also have pores problem. but i still have not found the perfect solution for it. the pores on my cheeks have reduced significantly but the ones on the forehead still can poke 0.5 pencil lead.

so now, apart from the rashes, my skin is smooth but not flawless becos of the pores.

i'm still using ampoules to help heal my skin. it's been two weeks since the rash broke out. the bumps are slowly going but my cheeks are still red. the flaky skin also has dissapeared. the itchiness has subsided and i can go back to my original skincare now cos it has stopped burning. rclxms.gif

pingubabe
post Jan 7 2011, 12:14 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(meburntsoap @ Jan 7 2011, 08:55 AM)
hi pingubabe.

if you want to go back to clinique, you can ask for samples from the counter. you can explain to them that you are worried about bad reaction. that's what the sales lady told me. sometimes they can seem abit kamsiap dun wanna give samples cos they're not sure if you're really interested in buying. but it's basic consumer rights. i had to practically beg for the samples before and she didn't give me the full 3 step skincare, just the cleanser and toner and only enough for 2 days. if you feel after sampling you're still not confident, they are some ladies in the garage sales selling small size bottles.

just to share, i'm currently using dermedex. it does well with my breakouts and pores but it's a bit drying. so my beautician proposed me to use hydrating essence to 'lock in' moisture better. if i use the full hydrating line it'll cause me to breakout. so just use the essence is good enough she said. she also told me to stay away from skincare for mature skin cos it's too rich. i'm in my late 20s. she said later on la.. when u really need it.

i also have pores problem. but i still have not found the perfect solution for it. the pores on my cheeks have reduced significantly but the ones on the forehead still can poke 0.5 pencil lead.

so now, apart from the rashes, my skin is smooth but not flawless becos of the pores.

i'm still using ampoules to help heal my skin. it's been two weeks since the rash broke out. the bumps are slowly going but my cheeks are still red. the flaky skin also has dissapeared. the itchiness has subsided and i can go back to my original skincare now cos it has stopped burning. rclxms.gif
Thanks for sharing.
Well, just bought Kanebo trial kit. so i'm trying out on that.
Hope it is less harsh to my skin. Usually acne control skincare will tend to dry out the skin. That's from my experience.
I'm now in mid 20s brows.gif
not time for me to try mature skin care also .. but i guess something mild should be fine.

Glad to hear your skin is healing soon rclxms.gif

Hwee
post Jan 13 2011, 07:01 PM

90 posts

Hopefully your skin is ok now smile.gif

This post has been edited by Hwee: Jan 16 2011, 02:21 AM
cecilian
post Jan 17 2011, 03:22 AM

hi there, i had the same problem too.

After using the clinique 3 step skin care for about just a week, my face started itching and also became allergy, and my pore became bigger and my face suddenly grew many many pimples. then i faster went to the beauty shop which i almost visit everymonth to do facial and try to check and save my face back. The beautician also felt shock when she saw my face...then after i telling her about the case, she said that, some of her customers (included her own sister) also having the same problem after they had tried Clinique 3 step...she suggested me to continue using the cleasing soap, but the toner and moisturizer maybe not suitable for our skin...

walao yeh....RM2xx something skincare products i juz used them for 1 week, heart pain ==....

really curious why this type of thing happened, clinique is an international brand ehhhh..besides, when i bought the 3step set that time, i have told the counter aunty about my skin type, then? why still like that?

and the alcohol smell of the toner is really strong!!!

Added on January 17, 2011, 3:28 amoh ya...my beautician also sold me a trial set of dermedex and told me to use them until my skin become back to normal skin.

i like the yellow cream...after using this yellow cream, the itch reduce..

luckily i can save my face back before CNY, if not? how do i meet my relative during CNY? i will hate clinique forever ==

oh ya, by the way, i juz bought clinique 3 step last month, Dec 2010.

This post has been edited by cecilian: Jan 17 2011, 03:28 AM
wennn
post Sep 4 2011, 01:01 AM

i also have the same problem. Clinique 3 step product make my skin become more sensitive and now my skin still sensitive although i stopped the product for almost one and half year.

0.1902sec    1.16    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:18 PM