Pet Help Planted Aquarium V6, a garden inside a glass cube

SweetPuff
post Dec 28 2010, 12:27 AM

2,021 posts

Anyone know any LFS in Klang Valley that sells fine brown sand? Similar to Shirui sand, but light brown / brown in colour. Looking for about 2-3kg.
SweetPuff
post Dec 28 2010, 10:43 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(michanz @ Dec 28 2010, 01:36 AM)
somehow it looks nicer with white sand infront
Bored of white sand already smile.gif

Anyway, not much problem keeping my sand white since I always have a bunch of corydoras and dwarf loaches.

Recently, I noticed in my tank that there's actually a group of cherry shrimps that are not 'red'. Looks like those wild caught cherry shrimps. They're smaller sized compared to the cherries.

This post has been edited by SweetPuff: Dec 28 2010, 10:45 AM
SweetPuff
post Dec 29 2010, 12:23 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(crewmy @ Dec 29 2010, 11:12 AM)
Guys..whats the easiest way to get some fish fries into my shrimp tank. Just wanna have some additional lifes inside it besides the snails and the RCSes. I would like tiny tiny fish babies, can i just go and buy them rather than breeding?
They'll end up snacking on your poor little shrimplets as they grow bigger, unless you have sufficient plant mass for shrimps to hide.

Added on December 29, 2010, 12:26 pmFor small fish fries, they are quite vulnerable though.

Easiest for me is to get 1 male guppy + 3 female guppies. Eventually babies will come. But if not enough hiding places for the fries, the parents will eat the babies.

This post has been edited by SweetPuff: Dec 29 2010, 12:26 PM
SweetPuff
post Jan 10 2011, 11:43 AM

2,021 posts

Sakura shrimplets in my 1ft tank:

See how tiny they are compared to the 10sen coin. smile.gif
SweetPuff
post Jan 17 2011, 11:16 AM

2,021 posts

Sharing is caring. Macro shot of my sakura shrimplets. The size of the food pellet is actually about 1-2mm.

This post has been edited by SweetPuff: Jan 17 2011, 11:17 AM
SweetPuff
post Jan 17 2011, 01:25 PM

2,021 posts

Mini puffer guarantee will tiong other fishes. Even fishes that are bigger than it.

When your tank runs out of snails, then you'll start to see your other fishes will have nipped fins and tails.

Added on January 17, 2011, 1:26 pm
QUOTE(Superdude @ Jan 17 2011, 01:10 PM)
I don't see my mini puffer do that because other fishes are bigger than it.  brows.gif

Added on January 17, 2011, 1:11 pm
wow , your moss so healthy.
Water temperature is 27C mah. With fan. Mosses look much greener in lower temperature.

This post has been edited by SweetPuff: Jan 17 2011, 01:26 PM
SweetPuff
post Jan 18 2011, 01:19 PM

2,021 posts

Notice any LFS in PJ selling rotala sp green?
SweetPuff
post Jan 18 2011, 03:43 PM

2,021 posts

How much space you can accomodate? With that budget, you'll only have the option for either a low-tech 1ft or 2ft tank with plants like ferns, moss, marsilea or sagitaria subulata.

For a complete beginner, best you go for a 2ft. It's easier.
SweetPuff
post Jan 19 2011, 10:19 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(radver @ Jan 18 2011, 09:39 PM)
Since you've rear fish before, why don't you list down the gears you have and we'll tell you which one can be reused and which need to buy new.

The plant die cause no fertilizer...
+1

With a RM200 budget, you'll definitely won't be getting a CO2 tank. Do list down your current equiptment.

Your plants died most probably because you didn't have the right lights, water temperature or even fertilization.
SweetPuff
post Jan 19 2011, 02:06 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(ryzzal @ Jan 19 2011, 11:03 AM)
demn... already 2 weeks my new set-up tank still having yellowish water... 4 times wc already still d same... arrghh...
Tell us more about your tank. Like what sort of filter are you using, etc.
SweetPuff
post Jan 19 2011, 06:05 PM

2,021 posts

Actually, kinda hard to get surface oil when you're using a HOB, unless it really doesn't have enough power.
SweetPuff
post Jan 25 2011, 11:30 AM

2,021 posts

Any LFS in PJ selling 2x36 PL light sets for 3" ? Looking for 2.

My 4x39w T5HO rosak liao.
SweetPuff
post Jan 25 2011, 04:33 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(Oxburg @ Jan 25 2011, 02:20 PM)
replace with new bulb?
Nope. Whole thing cannot use any more. Looking for a new set.
SweetPuff
post Jan 25 2011, 04:47 PM

2,021 posts

Erm... what gravel did you buy? If your tank is just being set up, it's possible to be due to trapped air pockets.
SweetPuff
post Jan 27 2011, 12:41 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(Superdude @ Jan 26 2011, 12:03 PM)
My orange and tiger shrimp jump out from my tank in mid night and go to heaven. When I found them on floor at morning, it already become dry shrimp. Any of you 's experience same situation?

The orange shrimp is with me more than 6 months. i still don't know why it jump out from the tank.
It is because chasing by fish?
Something could have frightened the shrimp. Even lights turning on/off will sometimes scare them. Or there could be some sort of change in the water.

Added on January 27, 2011, 12:41 am
QUOTE(ProX @ Jan 26 2011, 09:22 AM)
HC still can grow in medium lighting but require colder water.

Update on my tank.
Day 25

WC every 3 days - 30-50%
1ml of BorneoWild Growth & ADA Brighty K everyday
Bro, what's your lighting and tank size?

This post has been edited by SweetPuff: Jan 27 2011, 12:41 AM
SweetPuff
post Feb 13 2011, 10:39 PM

2,021 posts

I have a 2213, 2215 and 2217. I only clean them between 6-12 months or when the flow slows down tongue.gif

But then again, my tanks are pretty established and mostly running low maintenance setups smile.gif So less for me to worry.

Added on February 13, 2011, 10:41 pm
QUOTE(radver @ Feb 13 2011, 06:17 PM)

Added on February 13, 2011, 6:23 pm

Is the inlet clogged up??? Got put any sponge or netting at the inlet??? You keep shrimps???

Using glass co2 diffuser??? You put it too near the inlet???

What about your double taps, got open full or you keep it half closed???
Do you have surface skimmer installed?

This post has been edited by SweetPuff: Feb 13 2011, 10:41 PM
SweetPuff
post Mar 1 2011, 10:59 PM

2,021 posts

Anywhere I can find drop checker in PJ? Looked in 3 shops and the people also dunno what that is. Too lazy to drive to Subang tongue.gif
SweetPuff
post Mar 2 2011, 04:40 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ Mar 2 2011, 10:12 AM)
fuhhh... 30'c ?? is it fully red one ? how much one ekor ?  tongue.gif
I managed to breed fire red in my 1ft tank at around 27-28C. Just need an aquarium fan. It cost me RM8 per ekor when I bought it last year.
SweetPuff
post Mar 2 2011, 05:09 PM

2,021 posts

You got cardinals means very hard to breed shrimps liao. Shrimplets will become snacks unless you got lots of hiding places for them. They're pretty easy to breed since they're similar to cherry shrimps.

I got it from ggMing. I think he posts things in LYN too.

This post has been edited by SweetPuff: Mar 2 2011, 05:28 PM
SweetPuff
post Mar 2 2011, 06:15 PM

2,021 posts

Got them directly from ggMing's shop in OUG.

0.0387sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:37 AM