HTC Wildfire V4, Hello, Froyo! Guide to updating to Froyo

phantomash
post Dec 25 2010, 10:12 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(someone_cs @ Dec 25 2010, 10:05 PM)
eh guysi using handcent sms
i set always perform task by using handcent sms but why there is still 2 notfication when there msg in ? both stock and handcent
help plz biggrin.gif
just disable the stock message notification,
go to message app -> settings -> untick "Received notification" smile.gif
phantomash
post Dec 26 2010, 04:57 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Snowguy2068 @ Dec 26 2010, 04:12 PM)
is it worth rooting? D:

and me too not yet update LOL
don't have to ask whether is it worth rooting,
instead you should ask is it worth NOT rooting laugh.gif
phantomash
post Dec 26 2010, 05:46 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(xngjn @ Dec 26 2010, 05:09 PM)
erm. if u dont need htc sense then worth to root. cos able to overclock yours phone like u have admin account on yours pc. can do whatever u like. if u prefer htc sense then use official froyo. i prefer htc sense stock apps. so i want official froyo. if u not gaming much u dont need overclock yours phone.
even if you root you can still have the stock HTC sense apps,
rooting only grants you the superuser permission
as long as you don't flash to non Sense based ROM, you will always have Sense apps,
but you can remove some of them if you prefer to,
however some are not removable even if you've rooted, such as the dialer

QUOTE(Snowguy2068 @ Dec 26 2010, 05:19 PM)
I just want smooth texting and calling and going to the internet
smooth smooth can d
LOL
should I root then?
whatever you're doing, its always worth rooting
reason for not rooting is ONLY the warranty,
besides that whatever reason it is, it is a stupid reason for not rooting.
hence why I said "is it worth NOT rooting"
phantomash
post Dec 26 2010, 06:03 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(xngjn @ Dec 26 2010, 05:53 PM)
but i want froyo. tongue.gif
only official froyo have nice htc sense.
lol, no, that's why I quoted you to explain. tongue.gif

I've a rooted phone, a Desire,
flashed with a custom Froyo Sense ROM,
it works like any other Sense ROM, except better,
its smoother, faster, plus save more battery due to all the optimization tweaks done by the custom ROM developers.
besides that I'm able to flash custom icons, themes, fonts, animations on top of the Sense ROM.
the official Froyo has nothing compared to custom Froyo,
the downside is only that you need to learn how to root and flash a custom ROM. happy.gif
phantomash
post Dec 26 2010, 06:09 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Snowguy2068 @ Dec 26 2010, 06:05 PM)
rooting=warrenty gone? D:
yup, rooting does void the warranty,
you can unroot it back when you want to claim for warranty,
that is if you know how to
phantomash
post Jan 8 2011, 10:18 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(harryfoo @ Jan 8 2011, 10:02 PM)
First Android, first smartphone, first HTC, first touchscreen.  tongue.gif
same for me tongue.gif

QUOTE(harryfoo @ Jan 8 2011, 10:10 PM)
The thing is, Android smartphone improve too fast already. Middle of last year, there's 1Ghz processor on smartphone, now beginning of 2011 dual core coming out very soon. Even Apple hard to catch up.
true..
if iPhone 5 is not coming out with at least a dual core processor in the future..can say bye bye to Android
phantomash
post Jan 11 2011, 10:40 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(BLKH @ Jan 11 2011, 10:36 PM)
Ya la, but to use papago, u need GPS. Digi or Maxis or whatever telco u r using will charge $ right? I mean, they can't let u use GPS for free, right?

Added on January 11, 2011, 10:37 pmSorry la, I never used navigation things before la. Besides, I am a WF noob. Kindly forgive me ignorance, sifu.
its free
phantomash
post Jan 16 2011, 10:18 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(someone_cs @ Jan 16 2011, 10:16 PM)
i press home noting wo =.=
did you install other launcher already?
if yes, and there's still nothing,
go to manage application and clear default,
then press home again, it should prompt you to choose a launcher
phantomash
post Jan 20 2011, 07:46 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(iamloco @ Jan 19 2011, 10:10 PM)
htcsense..
I'm not on sense rom now, so I could be wrong, but iinm go to message app > settings > untick notification

QUOTE(zyphron @ Jan 19 2011, 09:05 PM)
typin with Smart KEyboard Pro in Handcent SMS...is kinda sluggish btw..=[...any other keyboard for me to try on?
Swype keyboard, SlideIt keyboard, SwiftKey keyboard, ThickButtons keyboard,

This post has been edited by phantomash: Jan 20 2011, 07:55 AM
phantomash
post Jan 20 2011, 02:30 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(BLKH @ Jan 20 2011, 02:18 PM)
Everyday I come across news of new smartphones coming out, my Wildfire becomes more and more obsolete... (Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc, Sony Ericsson Xperia Play, Samsung Galaxy S2, HTC this, HTC that... *sigh*) obsolete so fast...
if you're looking for the best tech,
no matter what its going to be obsolete fast, because technology itself evolves too fast.
and to be fair, if you care much about having the best tech, you shouldn't get a Wildfire in the first place.
its targeted for the low end market.

plus, you do realize there are still a lot of people who are still using cheapo feature phones out there?
those phone are even more obsolete compared to WF smile.gif
and I think using 'obsolete' is too harsh, its not like WF is totally unusable
phantomash
post Jan 20 2011, 06:05 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(iamloco @ Jan 20 2011, 05:58 PM)
i've unticked the notification. but the message alert still appear on screen.
you sure you unticked the one in the message app?
if you have by right there should be any notification anymore.
phantomash
post Jan 22 2011, 11:49 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(modskywalker @ Jan 22 2011, 11:33 PM)
Is it anyway to delete gmail account which is enter at the phone first start without doing the factory reset?
go to settings > account & sync > choose your gmail account > remove account

is that what you mean?
phantomash
post Jan 24 2011, 09:11 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(zyphron @ Jan 24 2011, 08:43 AM)
whenever i click on d start tutorial..it'll brings me to select which keyboard i wanted to and i dont c any SWYPE  keyboard as option..or i need to activate d BETA thing?
after you've installed the keyboard,
you need to enable it first in settings,
go to settings > language and input > tick swype
after that you'll be able to choose swype as input method

0.0415sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:42 PM