simpleLinux, A Malaysian Linux-based OS, Since 2007

TSfarizluqman
post Dec 22 2010, 05:37 PM, updated 14y ago

271 posts

What is simpleLinux GNU/Linux
simpleLinux is a GNU/Linux distributions that uses LZMA compression to compress its system files. The project started on year 2007 by a group of Malaysian developer. simpleLinux is a Slackware-based distribution that comes in both Live CD or Persistence version that can be installed to a medium. simpleLinux GNU/Linux comes to be a multi-tasking operating system that runs the X Window.

A Malaysian Linux Distro
simpleLinux developers always gives a tonne of hopes that simpleLinux would one day become widely known and widely used. We are one of the Malaysian linux distro which is still strong and actively distributing. Nevertheless, simpleLinux tends to be one of the most proud Malaysian-based linux distribution.

Together with the unbelievable support as well as a tonne of help from the open source community makes we put the best foot forward. We arise when we fall, and being forth when we are left behind! It's been 6 years we are struggling but, what we are struggling for has gained a momentum from the community to be on the top. simpleLinux GNU/Linux should join the insanity of the technology to become the best of the best. Maybe simpleLinux attained as the most reliable mobile operating system, or versatile tablet operating system etc. Who knows that, simpleLinux might be used widely with a great support of cross-platform applications.

The Community
The more the social activity, the more the fun! Developers and contibutors are always wanted in simpleLinux developments. Together let's bring the fun in computing by learning new things, helping each other, and the more important thing is, to make something beautiful and eye-candy. We put simpleLinux GNU/Linux on the top of the priority list for participation, just because we loved to have more developer. In deed, we would like to make simpleLinux GNU/Linux the best place to learn, or to teach! We want an entity to collaborate, discuss, share and gather in a function to spread simpleLinux GNU/Linux!

What is unique about simpleLinux
a) Small in size [other's cannot beat us, they usually sized 500 MB etc etc]
b) Loaded with XFCE, or KDE, or LXDE, or Openbox [you choose]
c) Convert Ubuntu, Redhat or Fedora apps to simpleLinux.
d) The KDE 3.5 is lightweight [already] with just 9 MB took for the desktop.
e) Install to USB key, pendrives, camera [seriously], mp3 [seriously] or even to your hard drive [for sure]
f) It's created by a sincere Malaysian to those who loves "small in size" and "simplicity".

Changes
a) We have updated the official repo: http://mirror.simplelinux.my
b) All application packages can be downloaded at: http://mirror.simplelinux.my/pub/mirror/lzms/opts/
c) Added an rsync server for the project: http://wiki.simplelinux.my/rsync
d) Beautified the official wiki page

Please download the distribution from the nearest to your location:
Official Mirror - http://mirror.simplelinux.my/pub/
http://us.mirror.simplelinux.my/mirror/ - US Mirror
http://mirror.simplelinux.my/pub/ - Malaysian Mirror
http://mirror.yandex.ru/simplelinux/ - Russian Mirror
http://mirror.averse.net/simpleLinux/ - Singapore Mirror
http://ftp.cc.uoc.gr/mirrors/linux/simpleLinux - Greece Mirror
http://www.osst.co.uk/Download/simpleLinux/dist/?id=9 - UK Mirror

Thank you biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Sep 25 2012, 10:05 AM
cocooh
post Dec 22 2010, 05:47 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

Nice O.O

But why is the size are relatively small ?

TSfarizluqman
post Dec 22 2010, 05:54 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(cocooh @ Dec 22 2010, 06:47 PM)
Nice O.O

But why is the size are relatively small ?
The LZMA technology la... tongue.gif It have a very high compression rate

Size is important. Will get less attention if the size is so big for a small try. in simpleLinux, usage and functionality is bigger than it's size.. this is what unique about simpleLinux..

simpleLinux Mini Alpha 1 90MB, simpleLinux Codename Ginkgo 123MB, simpleLinux Codename Ginkgo Install to HD/USB 256MB, simpleLinux Codename Felix101 297 MB, simpleLinux EXT3/2/1 300MB, simpleLinux X pre-release 1 600MB, simpleLinux Codename Acantha [ultimate] 700 MB...

smile.gif give a try

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Jan 4 2012, 07:10 AM
cocooh
post Dec 22 2010, 06:04 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

Sure drool.gif its small size and well , doesnt hurt my DiGi much laugh.gif

BTW , do you provide free cd's ? blink.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 22 2010, 06:08 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(cocooh @ Dec 22 2010, 07:04 PM)
Sure  drool.gif  its small size and well , doesnt hurt my DiGi much  laugh.gif

BTW , do you provide free cd's ?  blink.gif
no, not yet, but you given my an idea to do so... great!!!!!!!!! brows.gif
cocooh
post Dec 22 2010, 06:15 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

Actually , im giving FREE Ubuntu n its derivatives at the moment , the thread is still @ here laugh.gif

Added on December 22, 2010, 6:20 pmhttp://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1612871

This post has been edited by cocooh: Dec 22 2010, 06:20 PM
phoenixstudio
post Dec 22 2010, 06:20 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 22 2010, 06:08 PM)
no, not yet, but you given my an idea to do so... great!!!!!!!!!  brows.gif
it seems like farizluqman kinda backbone for this OS developement..good job bro.. thumbup.gif
this OS is in malay or english?
farkinid

997 posts

Mmmm... ext4 yet or still ext3?
TSfarizluqman

271 posts

QUOTE(cocooh @ Dec 22 2010, 07:15 PM)
Actually , im giving FREE Ubuntu n its derivatives at the moment , the thread is still @ here laugh.gif

Added on December 22, 2010, 6:20 pmhttp://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1612871
via post right? great... I have 200 blank cdr, so how about it's casing and cd skin?
cocooh
post Dec 22 2010, 06:24 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 22 2010, 06:20 PM)
via post right? great... I have 200 blank cdr, so how about it's casing and cd skin?
Well , casings and cd skins are totally out of budget , but im gonna print A4 poster for Ubuntu XD
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 22 2010, 06:25 PM

271 posts

Mmmm... ext4 yet or still ext3?

ext4 just finished upload now.... wait a few hours for it to be appear [we should try it 600% to make sure it is really working. need to redownload it before available to the world]

it seems like farizluqman kinda backbone for this OS developement..good job bro.. 
this OS is in malay or english?

I'm not the creator of simpleLinux, the original creator is from Malaysia to but left the development without any sign. during the moment, there is NOTHING big deal about us. until one day it hit the wall of distrowatch and we began to work hard. till now.... so, I'm a backbone of sL

Added on December 22, 2010, 6:26 pm
QUOTE(cocooh @ Dec 22 2010, 07:24 PM)
Well , casings and cd skins are totally out of budget , but im gonna print A4 poster for Ubuntu XD
rite... so just let the skin of the blank cdr, and just include an A4 paper along with the cdr... I WILL do what I say.. Poslaju, dijangka sampai dalam masa sehari

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Dec 22 2010, 06:26 PM
farkinid
post Dec 22 2010, 06:28 PM

997 posts

Just out of curiousity, what is your main claim? Every distro has got to have some sort of claim to fame. Ubuntu is famous for bringing linux to the desktop. BSD-s are supposedly the most secure out of the box.

Also, can simple linux run as a frontend for MythTV?
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 22 2010, 06:31 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(farkinid @ Dec 22 2010, 07:28 PM)
Just out of curiousity, what is your main claim? Every distro has got to have some sort of claim to fame. Ubuntu is famous for bringing linux to the desktop. BSD-s are supposedly the most secure out of the box.

Also, can simple linux run as a frontend for MythTV?
so, we are very special in the size over the functionalities. A worth DVD-size in just Mini-CD size...

we claimed to be "the distro that suit enough user's needs" with just "a simple size". easy, plug your USB and run.
Instant_noodle
post Dec 22 2010, 06:36 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

i'm guessing stuffs from slackware would work well here

i'll grab one for testing

off topic:

thx to muyyaqdhom for mentioning this in another post.
cocooh
post Dec 22 2010, 06:37 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 22 2010, 06:25 PM)
ext4 just finished upload now.... wait a few hours for it to be appear [we should try it 600% to make sure it is really working. need to redownload it before available to the world]
I'm not the creator of simpleLinux, the original creator is from Malaysia to but left the development without any sign. during the moment, there is NOTHING big deal about us. until one day it hit the wall of distrowatch and we began to work hard. till now.... so, I'm a backbone of sL

Added on December 22, 2010, 6:26 pm

rite... so just let the skin of the blank cdr, and just include an A4 paper along with the cdr... I WILL do what I say.. Poslaju, dijangka sampai dalam masa sehari
Post Laju expensive rite O.O
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 22 2010, 06:39 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(cocooh @ Dec 22 2010, 07:37 PM)
Post Laju expensive rite O.O
don't know, never send things over Poslaju, but twice send a mail.... it should be 50+ cents for domestic and RM2+ for international, I guess
cocooh
post Dec 22 2010, 06:44 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

Well , 50 cent is quite enough to send around Msia laugh.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 22 2010, 06:52 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(cocooh @ Dec 22 2010, 07:44 PM)
Well , 50 cent is quite enough to send around Msia laugh.gif
well, simpleLinux EXT 4 is now available, get it now!
http://www.simplelinux.tk/2010/12/simpleli...nd-of-2010.html
-Hzu-
post Dec 22 2010, 06:54 PM

944 posts

Nice one, Fariz! I'll download this once I'm not capped. BTW, why don't you use places at Malaysia for the codenames instead of filesystem formats? laugh.gif simpleLinux Kuala Lumpur. xD

This post has been edited by -Hzu-: Dec 22 2010, 06:54 PM
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 22 2010, 06:56 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(-Hzu- @ Dec 22 2010, 07:54 PM)
Nice one, Fariz! I'll download this once I'm not capped. BTW, why don't you use places at Malaysia for the codenames instead of filesystem formats? laugh.gif simpleLinux Kuala Lumpur. xD
I got simpleLinux Codename Penyelamat next year for the Rescue CD, whee icon_rolleyes.gif
-Hzu-
post Dec 22 2010, 06:58 PM

944 posts

Suits the version well. laugh.gif

Added on December 22, 2010, 6:59 pmBTW, your website is too heavy, maybe a bug in the theme or something. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by -Hzu-: Dec 22 2010, 06:59 PM
cocooh
post Dec 22 2010, 07:06 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

O.O rescue disc , i'll sure download XD

Needy for it
powerwoot
post Dec 22 2010, 07:47 PM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

Still using KDE 3.5, even a bit outdated but these 3.5 is far stable compared to plasma in 4 series.
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 22 2010, 07:58 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Dec 22 2010, 08:47 PM)
Still using KDE 3.5, even a bit outdated but these 3.5 is far stable compared to plasma in 4 series.
same here. I just got gnome running in simpleLinux. should it be official?

Added on December 22, 2010, 10:10 pmsimpleLinux codename Felix101 Extended 4 is out now
http://www.simplelinux.tk/ come, give a try

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Dec 22 2010, 10:10 PM
scorps
post Dec 22 2010, 11:17 PM

Something you call love, but I call sex
9,572 posts

so, can use openoffice and others multimedia software? it's not comes with the simpleLinux iso ?
fat16
post Dec 22 2010, 11:24 PM

4,582 posts

simpleLinux base on slax not slackware
slax itself no longer update.
root user only. remind me of puppy.
GameSky
post Dec 22 2010, 11:50 PM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

QUOTE(fat16 @ Dec 22 2010, 11:24 PM)
yeah, first thing came into my mind as well, the puppy linux laugh.gif

nice, might get one for testing later too nod.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 23 2010, 01:31 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(fat16 @ Dec 23 2010, 12:24 AM)
wrong, slax is a slackware, and our apps is based from slackware. We are courage enough to convert any apps to slackware package (tgz a.k.a lzm) so any apps [including slackware tgz] works well... our xfce is from slackware smile.gif
cocooh
post Dec 23 2010, 01:37 AM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

Does simple linux has a logo @@?

Maybe i can make a userbar for it XD
khairilyazit
post Dec 23 2010, 02:52 AM

406 posts

hihi..
just said waiting for ext4 to release to try
well2.. farizluqman is very fast.. nice job bro..

i'll try it out..
n how do u convert the apps for free linux?
do u recompile them or use alien?
cocooh
post Dec 23 2010, 05:43 AM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

Made a bunch of icons and userbars yesterday including some for simpleLinux laugh.gif

I wonder if i should change the style of creating icons for while shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif
farkinid
post Dec 23 2010, 08:57 AM

997 posts

QUOTE(cocooh @ Dec 23 2010, 05:43 AM)
Made a bunch of icons and userbars yesterday including some for simpleLinux  laugh.gif

I wonder if i should change the style of creating icons for while  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
fuah, nice.

But I'm not familiar with slackware and/or slax. Only debian and its deriatives for me so far. How hard would it be for me to jump into this?
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 23 2010, 10:43 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(cocooh @ Dec 23 2010, 02:37 AM)
Does simple linux has a logo @@?

Maybe i can make a userbar for it XD
userbar, sure, we need some creative contributors and now we just find it.

Made a bunch of icons and userbars yesterday including some for simpleLinux  

wow, that's fast, thanks... I'll adapt it's use on the next version in KDE 3.5 smile.gif

the sig looks so cool!!! thanks

hihi..
just said waiting for ext4 to release to try
well2.. farizluqman is very fast.. nice job bro..

Actually, all release is 5 days earlier before it is available on the net. we will use the release until we are sure it's should be available to others

i'll try it out..
n how do u convert the apps for free linux?
do u recompile them or use alien?

I convert it using deb2lzm to any debian/ubuntu package, and rpm2lzm [not available in official releases] to convert red hat based apps. I simply extract the tgz file in slackware and just make it lzm package, for use in simpleLinux

Added on December 23, 2010, 10:44 amhow do I change the K icon.. is there any directory containing it? I can only change the big version [64x64] by replacing all K icon in /usr/share/icons... buntu now

Added on December 23, 2010, 10:47 am
fuah, nice.

But I'm not familiar with slackware and/or slax. Only debian and its deriatives for me so far. How hard would it be for me to jump into this?

It's just like other distro, but this slackware is good it size and simplicity

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Dec 23 2010, 10:47 AM
farkinid
post Dec 23 2010, 11:49 AM

997 posts

I will download and test on a test pc after new year. Now alot nonsense happening. Many drink to be drank, many songs to be song and many women to....... well... ignore me.
-Hzu-
post Dec 23 2010, 12:35 PM

944 posts

Ah, I remember Slax. I thought it was still active? Guess not huh.
cocooh
post Dec 23 2010, 05:35 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

Hmm hmm.gif

Gonna do some research on Slax n Slackware laugh.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 23 2010, 09:29 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(farkinid @ Dec 23 2010, 12:49 PM)
I will download and test on a test pc after new year. Now alot nonsense happening. Many drink to be drank, many songs to be song and many women to....... well... ignore me.
well, it's kinda supportive, we need more users like you, then we'll be more successful than Ubuntu.

Ah, I remember Slax. I thought it was still active? Guess not huh.

I just took
a) Linux Live
b) Linux kernel
c) Linux drivers
d) Templates-on-boot

thats all.. others, compile it from source to get it up to date, for example, we have the 260.19 Forceware NVIDIA drivers to-work.. it can be "optional"

Hmm 

Gonna do some research on Slax n Slackware 

the hardest thing to do is remastering Slackware. because it require so many dependencies for your system to works, here is the simpleLinux package listing icon_rolleyes.gif

As the conclusion, all of them are just 300MB in size, or 123 or 256... enjoy.......................
cocooh
post Dec 23 2010, 09:42 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

Eye dropping list shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 23 2010, 09:53 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(cocooh @ Dec 23 2010, 10:42 PM)
Eye dropping list  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
cm'on, let's be courage.. lalalala it's so easy if you know how to remaster it. simple, dvd-worth size just in a mini-cd size
cocooh
post Dec 23 2010, 10:14 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

XD well , ok
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 23 2010, 10:22 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(cocooh @ Dec 23 2010, 11:14 PM)
XD well , ok

GNOME Desktop hit 44% on Poll, as we love people's opinions, followed by KDE 3.5 with 20%, KDE 4 16%, both XFCE and LXDE with 8%. So, we will think about releasing GNOME Desktop version of simpleLinux, and still the size is just a half size of ordinary distro. Love it? Try it? and Use it!

As the promises will be ever-ever kept, the GNOME version is on-development. Get up-to-date from day to day smile.gif
icon_idea.gif

cocooh
post Dec 23 2010, 10:28 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

KDE O.o gonna try it too ~ not so familiar wif it XD
badutman
post Dec 23 2010, 11:11 PM

307 posts

eh mini ginko guna bbox ke? tgk screenshot mcm bukan je..
btw will dl n compared it with DSL. looking 4ward on ur sLPenyelamat smile.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 23 2010, 11:13 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(badutman @ Dec 24 2010, 12:11 AM)
eh mini ginko guna bbox ke? tgk screenshot mcm bukan je..
btw will dl n compared it with DSL. looking 4ward on ur sLPenyelamat smile.gif
usually, what apps did user used for recovery? I got gParted... ideas... links...
masokis
post Dec 23 2010, 11:14 PM

72 posts

Fariz now you got it! promote more.. they want to know smile.gif
//hehe..my1os should be jelous right know.....
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 23 2010, 11:17 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(masokis @ Dec 24 2010, 12:14 AM)
Fariz now you got it! promote more.. they want to know smile.gif
//hehe..my1os should be jelous right know.....
ghahaha, it's you... I'm jealous with my1os, because they offers no big deals but still can got into the media, utusan... sad.gif I can only go to Majalah PC
bluesteel
post Dec 23 2010, 11:24 PM

34 posts

Dude, awesome website you've got there rclxms.gif I didn't even know we have a local GNU/Linux project. I'll be downloading a copy tomorrow. I can run it live on a USB stick, right?
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 23 2010, 11:32 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(bluesteel @ Dec 24 2010, 12:24 AM)
Dude, awesome website you've got there  rclxms.gif  I didn't even know we have a local GNU/Linux project. I'll be downloading a copy tomorrow. I can run it live on a USB stick, right?
right!! you can install it with UNETBOOTIN
G-17
post Dec 23 2010, 11:35 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 23 2010, 10:22 PM)

GNOME Desktop hit 44% on Poll, as we love people's opinions, followed by KDE 3.5 with 20%, KDE 4 16%, both XFCE and LXDE with 8%.
So I assume there won't be a dwm, xmonad or scrotwm version. sad.gif tongue.gif

I still don't really understand the appeal of LXDE either. Standalone Openbox is much better, imho.

Anyways, I've started a download and will give it a test drive when I find time this weekend.

Thank you.
GameSky
post Dec 23 2010, 11:45 PM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 23 2010, 11:17 PM)
ghahaha, it's you... I'm jealous with my1os, because they offers no big deals but still can got into the media, utusan... sad.gif I can only go to Majalah PC
dun worry...the "so-called" my1os is nothing like those "No.Action.Talk.Only"... still doesn't heard any much "working products" from them laugh.gif
since it's small and simple, might use it as "recovery" stuff..

oh, just a quick question, does it support ntfs read/write natively?
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 23 2010, 11:53 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(GameSky @ Dec 24 2010, 12:45 AM)
dun worry...the "so-called" my1os is nothing like those "No.Action.Talk.Only"... still doesn't heard any much "working products" from them laugh.gif

ntfs-3g is the-way-to-go...

So I assume there won't be a dwm, xmonad or scrotwm version. 

I still don't really understand the appeal of LXDE either. Standalone Openbox is much better, imho.

Anyways, I've started a download and will give it a test drive when I find time this weekend.

Thank you.

Openbox, hm, it's on the 90 megs version, it seems that I cant find some dependencies, it's something like "pygtk"

and waiting to hear from you how simpleLinux serves u
khairilyazit
post Dec 23 2010, 11:53 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 23 2010, 10:43 AM)
I convert it using deb2lzm to any debian/ubuntu package, and rpm2lzm [not available in official releases] to convert red hat based apps. I simply extract the tgz file in slackware and just make it lzm package, for use in simpleLinux
u could try alien, its all in one converter.. but u would have to resolve the dependencies that came along with the apps..
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 23 2010, 11:54 PM

271 posts

dun worry...the "so-called" my1os is nothing like those "No.Action.Talk.Only"... still doesn't heard any much "working products" from them

so, I think they should stop what they do and continue mine.. hyahahahaha...

Added on December 23, 2010, 11:55 pm
QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Dec 24 2010, 12:53 AM)
u could try alien, its all in one converter.. but u would have to  resolve the dependencies that came along with the apps..
alien! yeah, you remind me to upload the to the app-store haha.. it's available, but I won't use it for official, because rpm is soooo nasty, and "banyak songeh"

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Dec 23 2010, 11:55 PM
khairilyazit
post Dec 23 2010, 11:59 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 23 2010, 11:54 PM)

alien! yeah, you remind me to upload the to the app-store haha.. it's available, but I won't use it for official, because rpm is soooo nasty, and "banyak songeh"
hahaha.. u know it.. i moved from fedora to ubuntu before, and brougt alot of applications with me.. so hard to satisfy its dependencies..
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 24 2010, 12:05 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Dec 24 2010, 12:59 AM)
hahaha.. u know it.. i moved from fedora to ubuntu before, and brougt alot of applications with me.. so hard to satisfy its dependencies..
but thank God that we got all deps can work in any version of Linux. al Hail Linux, what the hell Winblows
badutman
post Dec 24 2010, 12:09 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 24 2010, 12:05 AM)
but thank God that we got all deps can work in any version of Linux. al Hail Linux, what the hell Winblows
nice one! rclxms.gif
khairilyazit
post Dec 24 2010, 12:16 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 24 2010, 12:05 AM)
+1
wanfaris
post Dec 24 2010, 02:37 AM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 23 2010, 11:17 PM)
what edition this os released at majalah pc??

i tak nampak any news about this before..... hmm.gif
badutman
post Dec 24 2010, 09:04 AM

307 posts

Oops! Google Chrome could not find www.simplelinux.tk
Try reloading: www.­simplelinux.­tk

Server not found
Firefox can't find the server at www.simplelinux.tk.
    *  Check the address for typing errors such as
          ww.example.com instead of
          www.example.com
    *  If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
          connection.
    *  If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
          that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.

last nite ok. today morning kenot oredi?
powerwoot
post Dec 24 2010, 09:56 AM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

Must be server down for maintenance.
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 24 2010, 11:40 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Dec 24 2010, 10:56 AM)
Must be server down for maintenance.
read this to see what really happened http://www.simplelinux.tk/2010/12/we-are-f...buy-domain.html

Added on December 24, 2010, 11:51 amstay calm, we just get a cheap dns manager http://cloudflare.com/

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Dec 24 2010, 11:51 AM
GameSky
post Dec 24 2010, 11:52 AM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 24 2010, 11:40 AM)
read this to see what really happened http://www.simplelinux.tk/2010/12/we-are-f...buy-domain.html

Added on December 24, 2010, 11:51 amstay calm, we just get a cheap dns manager http://cloudflare.com/
Can't see the content coz it's unreachable sweat.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 24 2010, 11:52 AM

271 posts

haha, we are migrating a much better dns management, it's happening now

Added on December 24, 2010, 12:21 pmeverything is solved now http://freedns.afraid.org/domain/dnstrace....tk&submit=Trace

let's continue our jouney!

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Dec 24 2010, 12:21 PM
HuntTheTux
post Dec 24 2010, 02:36 PM

41 posts

wow, support local!
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 24 2010, 03:03 PM

271 posts

We will never sell our licence just like my1os did: http://www.simplelinux.tk/p/courtesy-of-gn...sesgplhtml.html
-Hzu-
post Dec 24 2010, 05:07 PM

944 posts

Yay, GPL'ed. Nice move Fariz!
cocooh
post Dec 24 2010, 05:29 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 24 2010, 03:03 PM)
We will never sell our licence just like my1os did: http://www.simplelinux.tk/p/courtesy-of-gn...sesgplhtml.html
What a cheap-ass DOT TK vmad.gif vmad.gif

Must b someone jeolous n ra**** them to cancel ur domain mad.gif

Well , im supporting your OS though laugh.gif Rather than supporting that my1os in its commercialization stage wink.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 24 2010, 05:33 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(cocooh @ Dec 24 2010, 06:29 PM)
What a cheap-ass DOT TK  vmad.gif  vmad.gif

Must b someone jeolous n ra**** them to cancel ur domain  mad.gif

Well , im supporting your OS though  laugh.gif  Rather than supporting that my1os in its commercialization stage  wink.gif
We are GOING to have our own domain name...

at least they'll obey GNU licence and show some respect by making the source code available so I'll recompile and made a My1OS Educational Edition for free with professional support from a very talented developers since 5 years
-Hzu-
post Dec 24 2010, 05:34 PM

944 posts

So what's the new domain is going to be? simpleLinux.my? Sounds good. biggrin.gif
cocooh
post Dec 24 2010, 05:35 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 24 2010, 05:33 PM)
We are GOING to have our own domain name...

at least they'll obey GNU licence and show some respect by making the source code available so I'll recompile and made a My1OS Educational Edition for free with professional support from a very talented developers since 5 years
thumbup.gif wads the domain name

rclxms.gif n who's the hoster

TSfarizluqman
post Dec 24 2010, 06:22 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(-Hzu- @ Dec 24 2010, 06:34 PM)
So what's the new domain is going to be? simpleLinux.my? Sounds good. biggrin.gif
I hope so.. that domain is so nice... my friend are forwarding my message and I'll wait until it is available. I don't choose any domain name yet, simplelinux.my would be great!

QUOTE(cocooh @ Dec 24 2010, 06:35 PM)
thumbup.gif  wads the domain name

rclxms.gif n who's the hoster
hope to be simplelinux.my smile.gif for sure

our friend Hasanuddin Abu Bakar from the OSDC-list
cocooh
post Dec 24 2010, 06:24 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 24 2010, 06:22 PM)
I hope so.. that domain is so nice... my friend are forwarding my message and I'll wait until it is available. I don't choose any domain name yet, simplelinux.my would be great!
hope to be simplelinux.my smile.gif for sure

our friend Hasanuddin Abu Bakar from the OSDC-list
Nice thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

New web layout or default shocking.gif ?
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 24 2010, 06:27 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(cocooh @ Dec 24 2010, 07:24 PM)
Nice  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

New web layout or default  shocking.gif ?
default... I hate wordpress, joomla, etc etc
cocooh
post Dec 24 2010, 06:32 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 24 2010, 06:27 PM)
default... I hate wordpress, joomla, etc etc
wordpress , alot of work setting up @@
-Hzu-
post Dec 24 2010, 06:37 PM

944 posts

Wordpress is easy, but it doesn't suit with your project. Joomla, meh, too confusing. So, by default means? What's the script you're using currently? It's kind of heavy on my Firefox.

Added on December 24, 2010, 6:39 pmIt's Blogger, damn, I forgot about the favicon. laugh.gif The theme is the problem I guess.

This post has been edited by -Hzu-: Dec 24 2010, 06:42 PM
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 24 2010, 06:39 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(-Hzu- @ Dec 24 2010, 07:37 PM)
Wordpress is easy, but it doesn't suit with your project. Joomla, meh, too confusing. So, by default means? What's the script you're using currently? It's kind of heavy on my Firefox.
blogger is heavy? hmm, I think i'll put the default [blogger] at simplelinux.my/blog [wonderful] and at the homepage simplelinux.my I'll made it later... hmm ideas?? icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(cocooh @ Dec 24 2010, 07:32 PM)
wordpress , alot of work setting up @@
wordpress sad.gif nope.. I hate it
-Hzu-
post Dec 24 2010, 06:41 PM

944 posts

A portal would be nice like phpFusion(my fav). biggrin.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 24 2010, 06:48 PM

271 posts

wow looking at the screenshot, it's nice, really

but i want something ultimate like http://www.nossa.pt/#/home
powerwoot
post Dec 24 2010, 06:54 PM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

You are using the blogger template that is abit heavy, try to change it into something simpler.
-Hzu-
post Dec 24 2010, 06:56 PM

944 posts

That's an old screenshot. There are a lot better themes nowadays. But the link you gave, it was Flash right?
cocooh
post Dec 24 2010, 07:05 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Dec 24 2010, 06:54 PM)
You are using the blogger template that is abit heavy, try to change it into something simpler.
if its like elementary website it will b nice shocking.gif

Simple
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 24 2010, 07:07 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(cocooh @ Dec 24 2010, 08:05 PM)
if its like elementary website it will b nice  shocking.gif

Simple
rite...

blogger wil not be used if I got a new domain and a web hosting

Added on December 24, 2010, 7:07 pm
QUOTE(-Hzu- @ Dec 24 2010, 07:56 PM)
That's an old screenshot. There are a lot better themes nowadays. But the link you gave, it was Flash right?
yeah, it's a flash... I love the website very much

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Dec 24 2010, 07:07 PM
pcbase
post Dec 25 2010, 12:18 PM

1,411 posts

No one review simpleLinux Codename Felix101 (EXT4)(25 December 2010) ?
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 25 2010, 01:28 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(pcbase @ Dec 25 2010, 01:18 PM)
No one review  simpleLinux Codename Felix101 (EXT4)(25 December 2010) ?
not yet, but I'll ask 2-4 famous blog author to publish the story of it..
user posted image'

SUSphantomkid
post Dec 25 2010, 01:35 PM

269 posts

Gonna have a look at this. Merry Christmas.
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 25 2010, 01:36 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(phantomkid @ Dec 25 2010, 02:35 PM)
Gonna have a look at this. Merry Christmas.
http://www.facebook.com/simpleLinux

join to get up to date smile.gif

Added on December 25, 2010, 1:36 pmMerry Christmas to you to

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Dec 25 2010, 01:36 PM
pcbase
post Dec 25 2010, 05:17 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 25 2010, 01:28 PM)

where is system tray? the one with kmixer, network manager, etc ?
any package manager like synaptic ?
can i use slackware 13.x repo ?
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 25 2010, 05:35 PM

271 posts

you CAN use slax repo...

the system tray? is the black rectangle on the top right, after the clock

we don't use synaptic yet... we used to download apps manually, but it is easy to install

apps : http://apps.simplelinux.tk
axxer
post Dec 25 2010, 10:05 PM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

is there gonna be a gnome version? would love to have this as liveusb troubleshooter distro.. i'm not really a kde guy tongue.gif

edited: downloading mini 1.0 version now.. cant resist the temptation of it size rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by axxer: Dec 25 2010, 10:16 PM
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 25 2010, 10:14 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(axxer @ Dec 25 2010, 11:05 PM)
is there gonna be a gnome version? would love to have this as liveusb troubleshooter distro.. i'm not really a kde guy  tongue.gif
http://www.simplelinux.tk/2010/12/gnome-de...44-on-poll.html

get up to date, we are in progress of building gnome version brows.gif

Added on December 25, 2010, 10:14 pmhttp://www.facebook.com/simpleLinux our FB page

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Dec 25 2010, 10:14 PM
axxer
post Dec 25 2010, 10:19 PM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 25 2010, 10:14 PM)
http://www.simplelinux.tk/2010/12/gnome-de...44-on-poll.html

get up to date, we are in progress of building gnome version  brows.gif

Added on December 25, 2010, 10:14 pmhttp://www.facebook.com/simpleLinux our FB page
voted icon_rolleyes.gif
no wonder i couldnt see that poll earlier.. me with my flashblock ff ad-ons sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by axxer: Dec 25 2010, 10:21 PM
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 25 2010, 10:41 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(axxer @ Dec 25 2010, 11:19 PM)
voted  icon_rolleyes.gif
no wonder i couldnt see that poll earlier.. me with my flashblock ff ad-ons  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
yeah haha, GNOME Desktop win with 50% [20 Voters]
cocooh
post Dec 25 2010, 11:31 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 25 2010, 10:41 PM)
yeah haha, GNOME Desktop win with 50% [20 Voters]
Prefer Gnome more laugh.gif coz not so familiar wif KDE laugh.gif
-Hzu-
post Dec 26 2010, 12:07 AM

944 posts

Well, actually KDE isn't that hard to use, and in fact, I found it more customizable than GNOME. What do you expect from one of the most mature DE? The founder himself wanted a very, very customizable desktop, without leaving the ease-of-use aspect.
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 26 2010, 12:25 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(-Hzu- @ Dec 26 2010, 01:07 AM)
Well, actually KDE isn't that hard to use, and in fact, I found it more customizable than GNOME. What do you expect from one of the most mature DE? The founder himself wanted a very, very customizable desktop, without leaving the ease-of-use aspect.
that gives a reason why codename Felix101 exists

Added on December 26, 2010, 12:26 am
Prefer Gnome more  coz not so familiar wif KDE 

hmm smile.gif GNOME version will be available 15 January 2011, because we release new version every 15-30 days

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Dec 26 2010, 12:26 AM
-Hzu-
post Dec 26 2010, 12:33 AM

944 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 26 2010, 12:25 AM)
that gives a reason why codename Felix101 exists

Added on December 26, 2010, 12:26 am

hmm smile.gif GNOME version will be available 15 January 2011, because we release new version every 15-30 days
Lol, I never knew that's the reason why Felix101 exists, nor what it is. If I Could Fly on Felix101. And btw, new release every month? Lol. LOL. laugh.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 26 2010, 12:45 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(-Hzu- @ Dec 26 2010, 01:33 AM)
Lol, I never knew that's the reason why Felix101 exists, nor what it is. If I Could Fly on Felix101. And btw, new release every month? Lol. LOL. laugh.gif
must confirm that it can be used by user, else, BSOD that never exist in Linux will exists in simpleLinux hahahaha

new version is for each edition
mini, dvd, extended, rescue cd.. so we will wait the next 15 days - 30 days before new version is available for each of them

Added on December 26, 2010, 1:44 amhttp://www.facebook.com/notes/the-simplelinux-gnulinux/milestones-for-simplelinux-starting-from-2011/187396931275206 What will be available next

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Dec 26 2010, 01:44 AM
-Hzu-
post Dec 26 2010, 10:38 AM

944 posts

Penyelemat looks awesome! Especially the background image. Now we can selamatkan our computer with ease, because of the background image. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by -Hzu-: Dec 26 2010, 10:39 AM
powerwoot
post Dec 26 2010, 10:50 AM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

simplelinux has gained some roots and started to growth steadily here in LYN. Congrats to the developers.
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 26 2010, 02:33 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Dec 26 2010, 11:50 AM)
simplelinux has gained some roots and started to growth steadily here in LYN. Congrats to the developers.
yeah.. we grow steadily and slowly gains users until we reach how successful a famous distro that is available [like Ubuntu ]

QUOTE(-Hzu- @ Dec 26 2010, 11:38 AM)
Penyelemat looks awesome! Especially the background image. Now we can selamatkan our computer with ease, because of the background image. laugh.gif
The background image is a trick to eyecandy the desktop... imagine we have black background, people will not find it useful...

let's wait 15/1/2011 for the release of the rescue.cd [codename penyelamat]

maelzx
post Dec 26 2010, 10:40 PM

isha.my
860 posts

farizluqman - any guide on setting the resolution to be 1024 * 768 ? (ya ... noobie) ... had it run in virtualbox ... the resolution is too big (so need to scroll up and down, left and right)... and i cant set it ... (empty)
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 27 2010, 01:13 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(maelzx @ Dec 26 2010, 11:40 PM)
farizluqman - any guide on setting the resolution to be 1024 * 768 ? (ya ... noobie) ... had it run in virtualbox ... the resolution is too big (so need to scroll up and down, left and right)... and i cant set it ... (empty)
easy, choose the Failsafe mode at the bootscreen. choose Failsafe mode also at MS Virtual PC if you have to get it running in full screen
CopyX
post Dec 27 2010, 04:07 PM

317 posts

+1 for this.

im gonna download it for my mini.
wanfaris
post Dec 27 2010, 04:13 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

very noob question.... sweat.gif

i'hv download this n wanna ask,how to install it???

n also,cant use as live cd??i cant found any files to use as live cd yet... hmm.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 27 2010, 04:23 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(wanfaris @ Dec 27 2010, 05:13 PM)
very noob question.... sweat.gif

i'hv download this n wanna ask,how to install it???

n also,cant use as live cd??i cant found any files to use as live cd yet... hmm.gif
nope, it's my fault, you can use UNETBOOTIN to install it to your pendrive
http://www.slax.org/modules/2611/dl/unetbootin-v408.lzm

QUOTE(CopyX @ Dec 27 2010, 05:07 PM)
+1 for this.

im gonna download it for my mini.
definitely .. smile.gif

to install, copy the files in the cd, to your hard disk [formatted with Fat32]. after that, open bootinst.sh in the copied folders in the harddrive with konsole.

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Dec 27 2010, 04:32 PM
wanfaris
post Dec 27 2010, 04:32 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 27 2010, 04:23 PM)
nope, it's my fault, you can use UNETBOOTIN to install it to your pendrive
http://www.slax.org/modules/2611/dl/unetbootin-v408.lzm
then,how to use it...ok,im from windows...wanna test drive first before install...
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 27 2010, 04:39 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(wanfaris @ Dec 27 2010, 05:32 PM)
then,how to use it...ok,im from windows...wanna test drive first before install...
great! from windows is easier..

I do recommend to install to a pendrive.. I never recommend people to install to hard drive

copy all files in the iso file ... open it with winrar is easier.. you see files in the iso file, copy everything to the pendrive [formatted with FAT/FAT32]

after done copying files, open /boot/bootinst.bat on the drive

if you are on 7, open Command Prompt with Admin privilege and open the /boot/bootinst.bat you have copied on the drive

Added on December 27, 2010, 4:46 pmhttp://www.linuxliveusb.com/downloads/?version=stable use this instead.. then load the iso

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Dec 27 2010, 04:46 PM
wanfaris
post Dec 27 2010, 04:52 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 27 2010, 04:39 PM)
great! from windows is easier..

I do recommend to install to a pendrive.. I never recommend people to install to hard drive

copy all files in the iso file ... open it with winrar is easier.. you see files in the iso file, copy everything to the pendrive [formatted with FAT/FAT32]

after done copying files, open /boot/bootinst.bat on the drive

if you are on 7, open Command Prompt with Admin privilege and open the /boot/bootinst.bat you have copied on the drive

Added on December 27, 2010, 4:46 pmhttp://www.linuxliveusb.com/downloads/?version=stable use this instead.. then load the iso
ok,will trying after this...

thx 4 helping... icon_rolleyes.gif
CopyX
post Dec 27 2010, 09:12 PM

317 posts

use the unetbootin.. ive done mine with it smile.gif
fat16
post Jan 1 2011, 02:04 AM

4,582 posts

what happen with http://sourceforge.net/projects/simplelinuxdist/ ?
TSfarizluqman
post Jan 1 2011, 10:36 PM

271 posts

urgh! it's dead and who cares. it's on ftp.kernel.org mirror http://147.52.159.12/mirrors/ftp.kernel.or...st/simpleLinux/
CGLegacy
post Jan 3 2011, 04:20 PM

Buka Sos
2,109 posts

really alluring distro.... I really want to download it but currently nowhere to be installed... my laptop just installed backtrack.... my workstation runs ubuntu sabily version... my homestation runs windows xp.... might dual boot my laptop with backtrack and simplelinux.... patut namakan LinuxMudah/LinuxSenang... bahasa kebangsaan.... biggrin.gif
vearn2000
post Jan 3 2011, 04:47 PM

38 posts

TS, just found this thread today, my question,
does this distro support usb wifi adapter?
TSfarizluqman
post Jan 4 2011, 01:47 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(vearn2000 @ Jan 3 2011, 05:47 PM)
TS, just found this thread today, my question,
does this distro support usb wifi adapter?
work with additional apps, such as sakis3g etc.. same like how to install in ubuntu, but we doesn't support apt.
simworld
post Jan 6 2011, 11:58 AM

Let the music heal your soul
706 posts

for .my I can give for free sub out my name.my...PM me. Thanks.
TSfarizluqman
post Jan 6 2011, 10:29 PM

271 posts

hold up a minutes, we have something to do with the domain smile.gif
funes4_lee
post Jan 13 2011, 03:27 PM

133 posts

good job bro...
muyyaqdhom
post Jan 13 2011, 08:02 PM

735 posts

im still playing with oldversion of simplelinux. new felix hard to download -.-" cause internet kejap2 dc. pto lah sleep.gif" cry.gif

TSfarizluqman
post Jan 13 2011, 08:45 PM

271 posts

it's you... our old user smile.gif haha

Added on January 13, 2011, 8:45 pm
good job bro...

thanks bro

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Jan 13 2011, 08:45 PM
stan001
post Jan 19 2011, 02:03 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 22 2010, 05:37 PM)

What is simpleLinux
simpleLinux is a Linux distribution that based from Slackware since it's first date of creation. simpleLinux foundations has all their developer, hopes that one day Malaysian Open Source Software would become more successful. simpleLinux do exists in 3 different version, namely Extended version [the unique is it's only 300+ MB in size], a Mini version [123MB or less] and a DVD extended version.

[snip]
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif this is good effort to create a Malaysian version of the linux distribution...

Slackware was my first ever linux distribution back on version 0.99 pl12 days...

sevensigns
post Jan 19 2011, 03:07 PM

"Cinta Sempurna"
1,180 posts

1 Question.Does notebook supported this SimpleLinux?
kertaznet
post Jan 19 2011, 07:32 PM

1,219 posts

The interface are kinda nice.. Wanna try it later on.. biggrin.gif
cocooh
post Jan 19 2011, 07:51 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

QUOTE(sevensigns @ Jan 19 2011, 03:07 PM)
1 Question.Does notebook supported this SimpleLinux?
Well of course it supports notebook laugh.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Jan 20 2011, 08:30 PM

271 posts

guys..... we successfully turn into a new domain names... courtesy of the community... without it, we won't be this successful http://simplelinux.my/

Added on January 20, 2011, 9:03 pmhttp://simplelinux.my/screenshot < screenshots

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Jan 20 2011, 09:03 PM
infinity.linux
post Jan 20 2011, 09:30 PM

14 posts

Dear boss,

may i put your distro to my website....

icon_question.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Jan 20 2011, 09:37 PM

271 posts

no prob... as it will gives us some popularity smile.gif
powerwoot
post Jan 20 2011, 09:47 PM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Jan 20 2011, 08:30 PM)
guys..... we successfully turn into a new domain names... courtesy of the community... without it, we won't be this successful http://simplelinux.my/

Added on January 20, 2011, 9:03 pmhttp://simplelinux.my/screenshot < screenshots
ahhh now your website is pretty much speedier than before, looks more pro thumbup.gif
cocooh
post Jan 20 2011, 09:53 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Jan 20 2011, 08:30 PM)

simply nicer laugh.gif
axxer
post Jan 21 2011, 03:46 AM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Jan 20 2011, 09:47 PM)
ahhh now your website is pretty much speedier than before, looks more pro  thumbup.gif
agreed nod.gif now its faster and looks nicer thumbup.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Jan 21 2011, 01:28 PM

271 posts

@everyone... right.... "more pro" and lightweight, just like the distribution smile.gif
nxgame
post Jan 24 2011, 09:32 AM

85 posts

well can i know wher to get 1 of the copy of the SIMPLELINUX ?

Added on January 24, 2011, 9:34 amwhao , finaally i manage to get it , with the new domain name ^^

later will try out .... althought that now i am using the UBUNTU , but overally quite usable , as long as there is an internet connection , most of the thing will be solve .

This post has been edited by nxgame: Jan 24 2011, 09:34 AM
TSfarizluqman
post Jan 24 2011, 03:37 PM

271 posts

Hello! We are performing maintainance on our wbsite it is now available for download http://simplelinux.my/download/
farkinid
post Jan 26 2011, 10:52 AM

997 posts

OK, this holidays i'll have time on my hands. Gonna be installing SimpleLinux on my home server. Hope there is documentation for me to load onto my e-book.
TSfarizluqman
post Jan 26 2011, 02:17 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(farkinid @ Jan 26 2011, 11:52 AM)
OK, this holidays i'll have time on my hands. Gonna be installing SimpleLinux on my home server. Hope there is documentation for me to load onto my e-book.
currently writing an open documentation of simpleLinux smile.gif
farkinid
post Jan 31 2011, 10:41 AM

997 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Jan 26 2011, 02:17 PM)
currently writing an open documentation of simpleLinux smile.gif
I didn't find any documentation on the website (or maybe the porno movie playing was distracting). Can you give me a link?

Also had to download using direct download. Torrent was too slow.
TSfarizluqman
post Jan 31 2011, 02:29 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(farkinid @ Jan 31 2011, 11:41 AM)
I didn't find any documentation on the website (or maybe the porno movie playing was distracting). Can you give me a link?

Also had to download using direct download. Torrent was too slow.
http://simplelinux.my/downloads/ this is the download link. documentation is somewhere around. or what do you need to know? I'll write a new page for it smile.gif
GameSky
post Jan 31 2011, 03:30 PM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

love the new website layout, much more cleaner than previous one sweat.gif
question, for usb drive bootup, just use unetbootin?
farkinid
post Jan 31 2011, 03:33 PM

997 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Jan 31 2011, 02:29 PM)
http://simplelinux.my/downloads/ this is the download link. documentation is somewhere around. or what do you need to know? I'll write a new page for it smile.gif
Basic stuff actually. Like I said before, I'm not familiar with slackware. Basically, I'm looking for guides on how to add and download from repo-s and converting non slack packages into compatible formats. I'm wondering if the advice found here is usable.

I've already downloaded the ISO btw. Installation will happen in tomorrow or day after.

Also, website looks great man.

This post has been edited by farkinid: Jan 31 2011, 03:35 PM
TSfarizluqman
post Jan 31 2011, 04:48 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(GameSky @ Jan 31 2011, 04:30 PM)
love the new website layout, much more cleaner than previous one sweat.gif
question, for usb drive bootup, just use unetbootin?
Just boot using Unetbooting (load the ISO file) or LILI (Windows Universal Linux Live USB Creator) smile.gif

QUOTE(farkinid @ Jan 31 2011, 04:33 PM)
Basic stuff actually. Like I said before, I'm not familiar with slackware. Basically, I'm looking for guides on how to add and download from repo-s and converting non slack packages into compatible formats. I'm wondering if the advice found here is usable.

I've already downloaded the ISO btw. Installation will happen in tomorrow or day after.

Also, website looks great man.
Hahaha... we are writing articles for simpleLinux... it would have it's own repo (for apps) one day smile.gif

Added on January 31, 2011, 4:49 pmthe link you given is usable. this is how to create an apps from ubuntu http://simplelinux.my/portfolios/sdklive/

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Jan 31 2011, 04:49 PM
bobmy
post Feb 1 2011, 11:24 PM

32 posts

Keep up the good job
Will install this soonest....
using opensuse before..hope our homegrown
is as good if not better

TSfarizluqman
post Feb 4 2011, 02:09 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(bobmy @ Feb 2 2011, 12:24 AM)
Keep up the good job
Will install this soonest....
using opensuse before..hope our homegrown
is as good if not better
icon_idea.gif we hope we can gather so many users cool2.gif so we could have more intelligent and professionals that can help the development thumbup.gif
-Hzu-
post Mar 15 2011, 08:32 PM

944 posts

Finally, I getting myself a copy of SimpleLinux Community Edition(thought of getting the Core for my USB key, but hey, I've never thought that the community version is only 360MB tongue.gif ).

BTW, is there a way to load it into the RAM? As it'd be faster like this.
happyQA
post Mar 19 2011, 02:50 PM

to mr farizluqman! I wish your success for promoting simpleLinux to be best malaysian effort in FOSS. Btw, is there have simpleLinux KDE or KsimpleLinux? Just 2 cent. wink.gif
Acid_RuleZz
post Mar 19 2011, 03:09 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(happyQA @ Mar 19 2011, 02:50 PM)
Btw, is there have simpleLinux KDE or KsimpleLinux? Just 2 cent. wink.gif
simpleLinux DVD Extended 1.1 - Codename Acantha using KDE 4.3.1 nod.gif
hoimangkuk
post Apr 7 2011, 11:47 AM

214 posts

OMG!!! malaysian OS!!! why didnt i discover this earlier???? gonna change my ubuntu for this... drool.gif drool.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Apr 9 2011, 03:35 PM

271 posts

Finally, I getting myself a copy of SimpleLinux Community Edition(thought of getting the Core for my USB key, but hey, I've never thought that the community version is only 360MB  ).

BTW, is there a way to load it into the RAM? As it'd be faster like this.

Yeah, there is it, on the boot screen, use "Copy to RAM"

to mr farizluqman! I wish your success for promoting simpleLinux to be best malaysian effort in FOSS. Btw, is there have simpleLinux KDE or KsimpleLinux? Just 2 cent.

there is already KDE for simpleLinux smile.gif as said by Acid_RuleZz

Community Edition also comes with a heavily eyecandied KDE, with ATI drivers, nVidia drivers and Compiz Fusion

OMG!!! malaysian OS!!! why didnt i discover this earlier???? gonna change my ubuntu for this...   

you can install it to pendrive first so you can try it out smile.gif

We just set up an Apps Store for simpleLinux. How to install?
1. Double click on the downloaded file
2. No need to do anything.
3. Done smile.gif

cshong
post Apr 12 2011, 12:43 AM

3,927 posts

got 64 bit version?
TSfarizluqman
post Apr 12 2011, 07:46 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(cshong @ Apr 12 2011, 01:43 AM)
got 64 bit version?
64 bit support comes to our mind also. I have the 64 bit modules but I afraid drivers especially for nVidia and ATI would not work.. however, you should try the x86_64 (i686) version (ordinary one) and you could report it here smile.gif
cshong
post Apr 12 2011, 09:42 PM

3,927 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Apr 12 2011, 07:46 PM)
64 bit support comes to our mind also. I have the 64 bit modules but I afraid drivers especially for nVidia and ATI would not work.. however, you should try the x86_64 (i686) version (ordinary one) and you could report it here smile.gif
Thanks. What I mean is like Windows 7 x64 version or Ubuntu 64-bit version.

You distribute ATI and Nvidia drivers together with your distro? Isn't those drivers closed source?

For open source drivers, just build them with 64 bit kernel modules, then they can run on 64-bit linux distro.

And, if I am not wrong, Nvidia and ATI released 64 bit version of linux driver, even in closed source.

And, I also suggest to implement a feature that let Windows and Mac users install your distro in their operating system. You know Wubi? It is a installer of Ubuntu for Microsoft Windows. With it, users do not need to resize their Windows partition to make free space for Ubuntu partition. It just create a disk image. And, users can boot into Ubuntu by using Windows boot loader. I suggest you to implement this feature but not only for Windows, for Mac as well.
alexlimco
post Apr 12 2011, 11:52 PM

2,021 posts

Wow. impressive. Load to RAM is definitely something that can work well for appliance based boxes. Will definitely check it out.
TSfarizluqman
post Apr 14 2011, 07:50 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(cshong @ Apr 12 2011, 10:42 PM)
Thanks. What I mean is like Windows 7 x64 version or Ubuntu 64-bit version.

You distribute ATI and Nvidia drivers together with your distro? Isn't those drivers closed source?

For open source drivers, just build them with 64 bit kernel modules, then they can run on 64-bit linux distro.

And, if I am not wrong, Nvidia and ATI released 64 bit version of linux driver, even in closed source.

And, I also suggest to implement a feature that let Windows and Mac users install your distro in their operating system. You know Wubi? It is a installer of Ubuntu for Microsoft Windows. With it, users do not need to resize their Windows partition to make free space for Ubuntu partition. It just create a disk image. And, users can boot into Ubuntu by using Windows boot loader. I suggest you to implement this feature but not only for Windows, for Mac as well.
I port them from Unix so Linux users can use tongue.gif I didn't do any modification... rather than using VESA my Compiz Fusion would'nt work.. or, any other suitable driver?

I do have x64 but many apps won't work and sometime I recieve weird error on the login

Added on April 14, 2011, 7:54 pm
QUOTE(alexlimco @ Apr 13 2011, 12:52 AM)
Wow. impressive. Load to RAM is definitely something that can work well for appliance based boxes. Will definitely check it out.
yay.. you gotta try It.. install it with unetbootin... load the ISO file to a hard disk or pendrive! easy!

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Apr 14 2011, 07:54 PM
kailoonthedog
post Apr 14 2011, 08:52 PM

I have no super cow power~~~
2,470 posts

What is the main aim of this linux distro??For home user??For security expert or others
TSfarizluqman
post Apr 14 2011, 09:06 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(kailoonthedog @ Apr 14 2011, 09:52 PM)
What is the main aim of this linux distro??For home user??For security expert or others
the aim is to develop a Linux distribution with smallest requirement possible. the simpleLinux Core edition takes only an intel pentium 2 with 32 megs of ram.

also, to have fun! errr I mean, it's a sharing of knowledge! there is about < 10 distribution that comes from Malaysia
b1n4ry
post Apr 17 2011, 01:10 PM

78 posts

it's good to see a local effort on producing a lightweight linux distro rclxms.gif
how do you manage the software package? do you have a custom package manager?

btw, the project website is nice, who designed that?
TSfarizluqman
post Apr 17 2011, 03:33 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(b1n4ry @ Apr 17 2011, 02:10 PM)
it's good to see a local effort on producing a lightweight linux distro  rclxms.gif
how do you manage the software package? do you have a custom package manager?

btw, the project website is nice, who designed that?
I do... smile.gif

Added on April 17, 2011, 3:34 pmWe. Are using a web based package management... smile.gif

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Apr 17 2011, 03:34 PM
selfdz87
post Apr 19 2011, 11:13 PM

~5Ghz+ Club~
932 posts

sorry for my noob question bro... sweat.gif
but do u have vmware image for simple linux?? unsure.gif
wanna give it a try... wub.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Apr 20 2011, 03:11 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(selfdz87 @ Apr 20 2011, 12:13 AM)
sorry for my noob question bro... sweat.gif
but do u have vmware image for simple linux?? unsure.gif
wanna give it a try... wub.gif
not yet available, but if you really want to I can think about it
selfdz87
post Apr 20 2011, 07:25 PM

~5Ghz+ Club~
932 posts

nvm bro....i already can run ur .iso file on vmware...
really light n fast... thumbup.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Apr 21 2011, 10:08 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(selfdz87 @ Apr 20 2011, 08:25 PM)
nvm bro....i already can run ur .iso file on vmware...
really light n fast... thumbup.gif
well that's great! perhaps you should try it on i3, i5 or i7 with no virtualization (vbox etc)... just burn it to disk... it's bloody hell fast

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Apr 21 2011, 10:08 PM
lucidlts
post Apr 24 2011, 07:08 PM

brain powder
2,906 posts

just to confirm, can i use eclipse,gcc and other compilers on this simpleLinux?
TSfarizluqman
post Apr 24 2011, 08:11 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(lucidlts @ Apr 24 2011, 08:08 PM)
just to confirm, can i use eclipse,gcc and other compilers on this simpleLinux?
simpleLinux tend to be just like the other distro... if you love QT you can do it with the kits from the official site
lucidlts
post Apr 24 2011, 11:08 PM

brain powder
2,906 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Apr 24 2011, 08:11 PM)
simpleLinux tend to be just like the other distro... if you love QT you can do it with the kits from the official site
interested to contribute in the future. need to finish my exams and FYP first. smile.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Apr 25 2011, 11:06 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(lucidlts @ Apr 25 2011, 12:08 AM)
interested to contribute in the future. need to finish my exams and FYP first. smile.gif
well, you are welcomed tongue.gif
lucidlts
post May 26 2011, 12:39 AM

brain powder
2,906 posts

sure smile.gif
scorps
post May 26 2011, 03:52 AM

9,572 posts

bro, i already try to run simplelinux through usb live session but it failed to load..
any advice?
GameSky
post May 26 2011, 07:27 AM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

I got an old laptop with broken hdd, and I figured to make the laptop just boot using the usb until I got new hdd to replace it.

any method to install the linux into usb? nod.gif
scorps
post May 26 2011, 08:04 AM

9,572 posts

QUOTE(GameSky @ May 26 2011, 08:27 AM)
I got an old laptop with broken hdd, and I figured to make the laptop just boot using the usb until I got new hdd to replace it.

any method to install the linux into usb? nod.gif
easy.. just use the unetbootin software..
http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/
UNetbootin allows you to create bootable Live USB drives for Ubuntu, Fedora, and other Linux distributions without burning a CD. It runs on Windows, Linux, and Mac OS X. You can either let UNetbootin download one of the many distributions supported out-of-the-box for you, or supply your own Linux .iso file if you've already downloaded one or your preferred distribution isn't on the list.

TSfarizluqman
post May 26 2011, 02:31 PM

271 posts

simpleLinux have released a core edition of simpleLinux with 157 MB in size. smile.gif http://www.simplelinux.my/beta/core.html

I always pray and being grateful to the Lord for making simpleLinux as successful as today

Added on May 26, 2011, 2:33 pm
QUOTE(farizluqman @ May 26 2011, 03:31 PM)
simpleLinux have released a core edition of simpleLinux with 157 MB in size. smile.gif http://www.simplelinux.my/beta/core.html

I always pray and being grateful to the Lord for making simpleLinux as successful as today
we tend to be like Knoppix, with only Live Session but it must be great to be installed on a hdd as the speed will be blazingly fast smile.gif

This post has been edited by farizluqman: May 26 2011, 02:33 PM
GameSky
post May 26 2011, 02:42 PM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

i know about the unetbootin tool, but I'd prefer something that can have changes saved on the usb tho nod.gif
TSfarizluqman
post May 26 2011, 03:09 PM

271 posts

unetbootin and linuxliveusb also have persistence support =='..

Added on May 26, 2011, 3:10 pmhttp://www.linuxliveusb.com/

This post has been edited by farizluqman: May 26 2011, 03:10 PM
GameSky
post May 26 2011, 06:04 PM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

i thought it doesn't sweat.gif
G-17
post May 26 2011, 08:49 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ May 26 2011, 02:31 PM)
SimpleLinux have released a core edition of simpleLinux with 157 MB in size. smile.gif
Interesting.
I like small, minimal ISO images that don't include junk I don't need.
Will try it out when I have time. smile.gif

TSfarizluqman
post Jun 8 2011, 05:01 PM

271 posts

Here's our latest Repositories: http://mirror.enyx.tk

Added on June 8, 2011, 5:05 pm
QUOTE(scorps @ May 26 2011, 04:52 AM)
bro, i already try to run simplelinux through usb live session but it failed to load..
any advice?
sorry, out looked your post,

can you give me the error that prompted during the live session?

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Jun 8 2011, 05:05 PM
decypher
post Jul 10 2011, 11:18 PM

低头族
864 posts

Hi, would like to know.

I am planning to install simpleLinux in my Asus Transformer. Is it advisable? The device is running Android, but I want a change of OS.
TSfarizluqman
post Jul 11 2011, 12:41 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(decypher @ Jul 11 2011, 12:18 AM)
Hi, would like to know.

I am planning to install simpleLinux in my Asus Transformer. Is it advisable? The device is running Android, but I want a change of OS.
you can run the KDE3.5 which is the default desktop manager for simpleLinux. and sure, it supports touch navigations smile.gif and also it have a nice gadgets from superkaramba to help you decorate the desktop with gadgets you like

also, other's still the same as the processors are supported and the ram are capable enough running the lightweight simplelinux
FlameReaper
post Jul 11 2011, 08:03 AM

I lari portable on my dude
560 posts

Just be warned, though. Fariz, I don't know if SimpleLinux has an ARM variant and I don't know if you made one but take note that the device is powered by an ARM-based processor (the NVIDIA Tegra). You can try but I'm afraid if the device won't be supported...
-Hzu-
post Jul 11 2011, 03:18 PM

944 posts

Well, it's possible but requires an unlocked bootloader + many more things to do to make it fully compatible with the Transformer. Some phones including SE X10 has been successfully able to boot into Ubuntu and Backtrack 5. Get to XDA or Modaco to see any progress of running Linux distros on your Transformer.
FlameReaper
post Jul 12 2011, 12:19 AM

I lari portable on my dude
560 posts

QUOTE(-Hzu- @ Jul 11 2011, 02:18 PM)
Well, it's possible but requires an unlocked bootloader + many more things to do to make it fully compatible with the Transformer. Some phones including SE X10 has been successfully able to boot into Ubuntu and Backtrack 5. Get to XDA or Modaco to see any progress of running Linux distros on your Transformer.
... I thought there were ARM versions of Ubuntu?

I'm taking the processor architecture into account here. AKA the hardware itself. Unlocked bootloader does not seem to matter to me, all it lets you do is boot the device using another OS. Plus it's the software side's problem

This post has been edited by FlameReaper: Jul 12 2011, 12:20 AM
TSfarizluqman
post Jul 24 2011, 10:10 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(FlameReaper @ Jul 11 2011, 09:03 AM)
Just be warned, though. Fariz, I don't know if SimpleLinux has an ARM variant and I don't know if you made one but take note that the device is powered by an ARM-based processor (the NVIDIA Tegra). You can try but I'm afraid if the device won't be supported...
correction, we don't have an ARM support. :| I thought ASUS transformer is on Atom. yes, he can try also, but it might not be supported. However, this is not and old kernel and I doubt it will be supported.
r1nk
post Jul 30 2011, 10:31 PM

456 posts

Hey, i never use linux be4, and this is my 1st time to try it and i wanna choose this distro bcoz i wan to support 'brg tempatan'. Hehe.. be4 that, there r several questions i would like to ask u all..

1) I plan to clean install this distro. So, wat i need to do is reformat my hdd and create partitions and just install to the partition that i want right? Or u guys recommend me to dual boot win7 and this distro?

2)Can i play games like cs 1.6, fifa, nfs most wanted without any problem?

3)Is it so complicated to use it for the 1st time user like me?

4)Wat is liveCD?
pcbase
post Aug 2 2011, 10:28 PM

1,411 posts

1. this mini distro is portable distro run from USB disk not install type distro.
2. not design for game.
3. try yourself. For first time linux user i suggest u try "popular distro with good comunity support" before stick with that distro.
4. Better use live USB. Save the planet from so many Live CD waste..
TSfarizluqman
post Aug 3 2011, 11:27 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(pcbase @ Aug 2 2011, 11:28 PM)
1. this mini distro is portable distro run from USB disk not install type distro.
2. not design for game.
3. try yourself. For first time linux user i suggest u try "popular distro with good comunity support" before stick with that distro.
4. Better use live USB. Save the planet from so many Live CD waste..
1. actually you can install to hard disk, just use unetbootin to install simpleLinux (same way I tried installing Knoppix LiveCD)
2. yes, I agree. it is not designed for game. but with Wine some games really works uch as Gamehouse games et cetera
3. I agree also smile.gif I really suggest you try Mat Salleh's distro. but, simpleLinux is made by Love so don't worry we can guide any user through lol
4. a LiveCD is > plug and Play operating system. you insert a bootable CD loaded with any os and it'll be booted by your system from the cd

Added on August 22, 2011, 2:34 pmWe released the simpleLinux GNU/Linux Server Edition:

http://www.simplelinux.my/beta/server.html

Try out now! Revive your old machine and turn it to server tongue.gif lol

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Aug 22 2011, 02:34 PM
megahentai
post Oct 8 2011, 10:26 PM

20 posts

bro, i've tried your server edition and it destroys my mobo!! lol, jk..
any new community edition release shortly?
TSfarizluqman
post Oct 8 2011, 10:32 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(megahentai @ Oct 8 2011, 11:26 PM)
bro, i've tried your server edition and it destroys my mobo!! lol, jk..
any new community edition release shortly?
eh... is it true? LOL if it is some really unstable mobo then, no wonder la ... if it is a new mobo now I sent you money for replacement hahahahhaa

Community will come out soon, how soon? I dont know hahaha
the community edition might comes out with KDE 4 but the size are maintained at 350 MB + something.. so sweet ^^
megahentai
post Oct 8 2011, 10:42 PM

20 posts

that's small.. i like that.. i recommend using kde4.7++ and linux3.. brows.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Oct 8 2011, 10:44 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(megahentai @ Oct 8 2011, 11:42 PM)
that's small.. i like that.. i recommend using kde4.7++ and linux3..  brows.gif
yes.... that what I'm thinking about... to compile the linux kernel 3.... I did it already, 3 hours on 3.5 Ghz machine, just to compile all of them.. so lame =_='
megahentai
post Oct 8 2011, 10:55 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Oct 8 2011, 10:44 PM)
yes.... that what I'm thinking about... to compile the linux kernel 3.... I did it already, 3 hours on 3.5 Ghz machine, just to compile all of them.. so lame =_='
all? seriously? how many modules are included there?
TSfarizluqman
post Oct 8 2011, 11:05 PM

271 posts

I included i386, i686 altogether, lol... eh btw...

your mobo really rosak ar?
megahentai
post Oct 8 2011, 11:34 PM

20 posts

lol.. of course not.. jk = just kidding.. kikiki
n8210
post Dec 9 2011, 09:57 AM

2,678 posts

simple linux download error
http://ftp.cc.uoc.gr/mirrors/linux/simpleL...kgo_Install.iso
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 9 2011, 09:45 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(n8210 @ Dec 9 2011, 10:57 AM)
http://ftp.cc.uoc.gr/mirrors/linux/simpleLinux/ browse it here biggrin.gif

or try the singapore one

mirror.averse.net/simpleLinux/

Best of luck biggrin.gif
nakalskit
post Dec 20 2011, 10:31 AM

73 posts

bro, any howto's to setup torrent box using SL ?
TSfarizluqman
post Dec 23 2011, 03:10 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(nakalskit @ Dec 20 2011, 11:31 AM)
bro, any howto's to setup torrent box using SL ?
define Torrentbox. tongue.gif

Added on December 23, 2011, 3:14 pm----

edit: New simpleLinux version is coming out. The Extended is no more called extended, but it is better be called "Sonata"

It comes with Linux kernel 3, XFCE 4.8, and many awesome apps. So, stay tuned! It would be released on this year 2012.

Our release cycle will be re-constructed. also our wikipedia articles and our website will be re-constructed.

thanks biggrin.gif

http://www.simplelinux.my

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Dec 23 2011, 03:14 PM
skydrake
post Dec 31 2011, 11:35 AM

XiiX
992 posts

hi, new linux user here.. i just download the "simpleLinux GNU/Linux Core" from http://simplelinux.my/beta/core.html

i can't find the FAQ page for installation "how to" can anyone free to PM me or tell me where is the link?

meantime i will also continue search for it, thx to all sifu's smile.gif

*i found this http://simplelinuxhowtos.blogspot.com/2010...isk-or-usb.html but its only mention install from linux? i'm using window now and i need to install it to a "fresh pc" notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by skydrake: Dec 31 2011, 11:41 AM
TSfarizluqman
post Jan 3 2012, 09:31 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(skydrake @ Dec 31 2011, 12:35 PM)
hi, new linux user here.. i just download the "simpleLinux GNU/Linux Core" from http://simplelinux.my/beta/core.html

i can't find the FAQ page for installation "how to" can anyone free to PM me or tell me where is the link?

meantime i will also continue search for it, thx to all sifu's smile.gif

*i found this http://simplelinuxhowtos.blogspot.com/2010...isk-or-usb.html but its only mention install from linux? i'm using window now and i need to install it to a "fresh pc"  notworthy.gif
Actually you can install it to your computer by downloading the Unetbootin, straight when you are on the simpleLinux Live, then, you can install it using Unetbootin biggrin.gif

Added on January 3, 2012, 9:34 pm---
edit, or you could format the hard disk using Gparted, farmat it with a Fat32 format, then you could copy all files in the CD into that hard disk. Then, open a terminal (Right click on the desktop, click on Run and type terminal and click Run)

then, type "sh /mnt/(your disk letter)/boot/bootinst.sh" for example, sh /mnt/sda1/boot/bootinst.sh

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Jan 3 2012, 09:34 PM
skydrake
post Jan 4 2012, 10:38 AM

XiiX
992 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Jan 3 2012, 09:31 PM)
Actually you can install it to your computer by downloading the Unetbootin, straight when you are on the simpleLinux Live, then, you can install it using Unetbootin biggrin.gif

Added on January 3, 2012, 9:34 pm---
edit, or you could format the hard disk using Gparted, farmat it with a Fat32 format, then you could copy all files in the CD into that hard disk. Then, open a terminal (Right click on the desktop, click on Run and type terminal and click Run)

then, type "sh /mnt/(your disk letter)/boot/bootinst.sh"  for example, sh /mnt/sda1/boot/bootinst.sh
thx for taking time to reply my post, i will try it out thumbup.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Jan 4 2012, 06:16 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(skydrake @ Jan 4 2012, 11:38 AM)
thx for taking time to reply my post, i will try it out  thumbup.gif
Lol, no problem biggrin.gif
This one also nice if you still make out your mind http://www.linuxliveusb.com/
skydrake
post Jan 5 2012, 09:36 AM

XiiX
992 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Jan 4 2012, 06:16 PM)
Lol, no problem biggrin.gif
This one also nice if you still make out your mind http://www.linuxliveusb.com/
oh wow! this is superb nice share! thumbup.gif thx again
TSfarizluqman
post Jan 6 2012, 10:40 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(skydrake @ Jan 5 2012, 10:36 AM)
oh wow! this is superb nice share!  thumbup.gif  thx again
Your most welcome.

Added on January 6, 2012, 10:48 pmEdit:

simpleLinux now have a Malaysian mirror! A good alternative to our primary mirror which is situated on University of Crete, Greece.

http://ftp.yz.yamagata-u.ac.jp/pub/linux/simpleLinux/ - Japan - (University of Yamagata)

http://mirror.oscc.org.my/simplelinux/ - Malaysia - OSCC (Open Source Competency Centre Malaysia)

http://mirror.averse.net/simpleLinux/ - Singapore - SLUG (Singapore Linux User Group)

http://ftp.cc.uoc.gr/mirrors/linux/simpleLinux - Greece - (University of Crete, Heraklion, Greece)

http://www.osst.co.uk/Download/simpleLinux/dist/?id=9 - UK - (Open Source Software Torrent, United Kingdom)

----

Outdatted mirrors:

http://simplelinux.interhost.co.il/ - Israel - (Interhost Web Hosting)
http://mirror.mirohost.net/simpleLinux/ - Russia - (Mirohost Web Hosting)

We would like to thank all of them for helping out hosting our files.

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Jan 6 2012, 10:48 PM
syockit
post Jan 23 2012, 09:58 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(farizluqman @ Dec 22 2010, 05:37 PM)
What is unique about simpleLinux
a)  Small in size [other's cannot beat us, they usually sized 500 MB etc etc]
Because other liveCD's are more feature packed. Try comparing to PuppyLinux instead.
b)  Loaded with XFCE, or KDE, or LXDE, or Openbox [you choose]
This one is hardly unique.
c)  Apps are easy to install and download. Check it out here simpleLinux App store [http://apps.simplelinux.tk/]
Maybe today is not my lucky day, but that link is not working.
d)  Convert Ubuntu, Redhat or Fedora apps to simpleLinux.
This actually requires high technical knowledge, or else you end up with a hellish dependency situation.

f)  Install to USB key, pendrives, camera [seriously], mp3 [seriously] or even to your hard drive [for sure]
Also not unique. But a feature nonetheless. Of course, I can also install other distros in the same manner too…
g)  It's created by a sincere Malaysian to those who loves "small in size" and "simplicity".
Aha! This is the winning point of this distro, right? After all, Malaysians are proud of things made in their own country.

We need another Ubuntu or another Fedora or another OpenSuSE or Slackware or Mint or Mandriva or Red Hat, that is so successful, known by everyone, that is from Malaysia? Perhaps one day, simpleLinux will join Ubuntu or Fedora or OpenSuSE or Slackware or Mint or Mandriva or Red Hat and be just like them...

Then you need a vision. What about package management? How will the community be like? How often will the distro be released? Support period? etc.etc.
TSfarizluqman
post Jan 30 2012, 01:00 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(syockit @ Jan 23 2012, 10:58 PM)
Because other liveCD's are more feature packed. Try comparing to PuppyLinux instead.
This one is hardly unique.
Maybe today is not my lucky day, but that link is not working.
This actually requires high technical knowledge, or else you end up with a hellish dependency situation.

Also not unique. But a feature nonetheless. Of course, I can also install other distros in the same manner too…
Aha! This is the winning point of this distro, right? After all, Malaysians are proud of things made in their own country.

Then you need a vision. What about package management? How will the community be like? How often will the distro be released? Support period? etc.etc.
You are right smile.gif
hlyh1230
post Apr 26 2012, 05:34 AM

348 posts

i've googled simplelinux..never thought malaysian would have developed a distro~~well done guys~ biggrin.gif
anyway,the page seems to be ald obsolete????
i viewed malaysian server download site...most of 'em iso size so small de??@@
around 350++ MB?
could u tell me wat's inside d package??
TSfarizluqman
post May 8 2012, 04:27 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(hlyh1230 @ Apr 26 2012, 05:34 AM)
i've googled simplelinux..never thought malaysian would have developed a distro~~well done guys~ biggrin.gif
anyway,the page seems to be ald obsolete????
i viewed malaysian server download site...most of 'em iso size so small de??@@
around 350++ MB?
could u tell me wat's inside d package??
simpleLinux is in dormant mode right now...
a little bit of the contents is:
1. kde 3.5 (mashed up)
2. gimp
3. wine + winetricks (the most stablest Wine version plus some mashup on the winetricks support many games, like DotA, Microsoft Office, Photoshop etc!)
4. koffice
5. some games
6. gParted
7. skype
8. pidgin

download it and try on virtualbox then see wink.gif

Instant_noodle
post May 10 2012, 02:31 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

it's been a while for me to touch any GNU/linux distro ever since i switched me job (cuz i installed virtualbox into me previous werkstation and meddled with zenwalk, i think last version of simplelinux is still in that werkstation after i left biggrin.gif ) after me notebook died... i did planned to install slackware into virtualbox (my pc) but i'm either running out of free time (werking, then raiding in game) or too lazy to do it during weekend (burnt out due to monster hunter tri-g).

seeing SimpleLInux is a distro derived from slackware, so i'm @ss-u-me that the configuration should definitely be close to it's predecessor. i'll *try* to get some time and download it.
VinChLucre
post May 12 2012, 07:33 PM

18 posts

I hope this works on my Mac.

Oh no, can't install because of my messed up partition...=.=
fat16
post May 13 2012, 12:30 PM

4,582 posts

Porteus distro simpleLinux parent.
blacktubi
post May 13 2012, 07:04 PM

-
8,418 posts

Any plans on including aircrack-ng biggrin.gif
TSfarizluqman
post May 17 2012, 02:05 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ May 13 2012, 07:04 PM)
Any plans on including aircrack-ng biggrin.gif
Great Idea! But, aircrack-ng is at it's best if we
./configure
./make
./make install

smile.gif I'll include it later for sure, since I got a plan on making simpleLinux a pentest tool. Actually we are not Porteous based, we are Slax based, with a lot of Debian derived packages because Slax packages are all out of date one....

---

I'm busy with my studies recently, I really hoped that someone could help me on the development *grin
technod
post Jun 17 2012, 04:06 PM

58 posts

Support dual boot?
masokis
post Jun 19 2012, 03:18 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(technod @ Jun 17 2012, 05:06 PM)
Support dual boot?
yes, support for multi boot...

dear Fariz, how about your simpleLinux project ? any new news.. thumbup.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Jun 19 2012, 09:28 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(masokis @ Jun 19 2012, 03:18 PM)

dear Fariz, how about your simpleLinux project ? any new news..  thumbup.gif
is on effort to resume the development, and to move to even more complex platform which is Tiny Core.
Expect us xD
masokis
post Jun 21 2012, 10:48 AM

72 posts

owh! nice.. n good luck smile.gif
EM_SPORT
post Jun 22 2012, 05:07 AM

32 posts

good luck all programmers... >.<
arimii
post Jul 5 2012, 11:09 AM

Baru nak try .
Hao Ren
post Jul 5 2012, 06:16 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(masokis @ Jun 19 2012, 03:18 PM)

dear Fariz, how about your simpleLinux project ? any new news..  thumbup.gif
aih lama tak nampak bro
mana menghilang brows.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Jul 6 2012, 10:07 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(masokis @ Jun 21 2012, 10:48 AM)
owh! nice.. n good luck smile.gif
why so long no hear about you? hahaha

---

We are releasing the first official / home user version of simpleLinux GNU/Linux, which is simpleLinux 1.10 (codename Optimist Oncilla). What are on the simpleLinux?

1. GNOME Desktop Manager
2. Chromium browser
3. OpenOffice
4. GIMP
5. galculator
6. Brasero, CDRdao and other cd/dvd tools

we will release it on 15th of July 2012. Be sure to download it if it become available!

https://www.facebook.com/simpleLinux - like us on Facebook!

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Jul 6 2012, 10:09 PM
masokis
post Jul 11 2012, 05:46 PM

72 posts

keh3.. aku ada je . stay on radar...
btw, i'm looking an OS (linux) that suitable for kid.
do you have an distro to recommend ? i'm downloading edubuntut right now.
hope it use small usage of memory.
Hao Ren
post Jul 28 2012, 08:51 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(masokis @ Jul 11 2012, 05:46 PM)
carik je kat distro watch brows.gif
TSfarizluqman
post Aug 10 2012, 10:54 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(masokis @ Jul 11 2012, 05:46 PM)
pelik masokis tanya soalan cmtu... hahaha

any OS is suitable with kid. just add on the apps separately . you can use Debian and just pop in kiddo stuffs later, much better smile.gif
blacktubi
post Aug 11 2012, 12:12 AM

-
8,418 posts

what is the most lightweight Linus distro ATM notworthy.gif
Need it for a 600Mhz x86 downloading rig

masokis
post Aug 13 2012, 05:11 PM

72 posts

Apa lak pelik.. aku dah berumur, maner la taw taste kanak2..
TSfarizluqman
post Sep 25 2012, 08:47 AM

271 posts

Mirrors updated!

Please download the distribution from the nearest to your location:
Official Mirror - http://mirror.simplelinux.my/pub/
http://us.mirror.simplelinux.my/mirror/ - US Mirror
http://mirror.simplelinux.my/pub/ - Malaysian Mirror
http://mirror.yandex.ru/simplelinux/ - Russian Mirror
http://mirror.averse.net/simpleLinux/ - Singapore Mirror
http://ftp.cc.uoc.gr/mirrors/linux/simpleLinux - Greece Mirror
http://www.osst.co.uk/Download/simpleLinux/dist/?id=9 - UK Mirror

Added on September 25, 2012, 8:48 am---

edit, they're taking a while before re-syncing all the files since I made a lot of changes within the last two days smile.gif

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Sep 25 2012, 08:48 AM
Lord Tiki Mick
post Sep 25 2012, 01:30 PM

1,020 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Aug 11 2012, 12:12 AM)
what is the most lightweight Linus distro ATM notworthy.gif
Need it for a 600Mhz x86 downloading rig

Fedora LXDE spin LiveCD is 590MB. Requires at least 1GB space. CPU freq minimum 400MHz, but RAM requires at least 748MB.

Get Fedora
TSfarizluqman
post Sep 25 2012, 10:02 PM

271 posts

simpleLinux GNU/Linux release is late than promised.

However, this is the list of apps that will be included in simpleLinux:
1. Linux kernel 2.6.27.27-stable
2. Compiz Fusion
3. Crack Attack (game)
4. KDE 3.5 with Crystal theme
5. Python 2.5.2
6. Debian pkg tools and remastering tools
7. Fishie Fishie
8. GIMP 2
9. gPicView
10. Kanagram
11. A huge list of kscreensaver
12. leafpad
13. ltris (game)
14. openttd
15. realplayer 11
16. slackpkg (simpleLinux's new package manager, apt-get like)
17. sqlite
18. photorec and testdisk
19. teeworlds (game)
20. KOffice
21. All KDE basic applications
22. wicd (wireless card manager)
23. wpa supplicant
24. Google Earth
25 Stellarium

Stay tuned. More to come biggrin.gif

Added on September 29, 2012, 7:53 pmsimpleLinux 1.10 is out:
http://mirror.simplelinux.my/pub/mirror/do.../1.10/iso/i386/

Feel free to try. wink.gif

This post has been edited by farizluqman: Sep 29 2012, 07:53 PM
FlierMate1
post Aug 22 2022, 02:02 AM

Validating
139 posts

Just found this! Great news.

But I surfed the website, the link is no longer valid.

Is simpleLinux still there?
JLA
post Aug 24 2022, 10:49 PM

2,788 posts

QUOTE(FlierMate1 @ Aug 22 2022, 02:02 AM)
Just found this! Great news.

But I surfed the website, the link is no longer valid.

Is simpleLinux still there?
https://archiveos.org/simplelinux/
SUSdark.putin
post Apr 9 2023, 08:47 AM

17 posts

Any progress update on this OS?

0.0978sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:39 AM