Tired of Ipad

TSicepixes
post Dec 20 2010, 07:32 AM, updated 15y ago

17 posts

I want to buy an Ipad. What worries me is that after a few months I will get tired of it and will be just another gadget seldom used and stored somewhere in the house. I'm a laptop heavy user either on work or entertainment. Anybody has experienced this?
ali_boulala
post Dec 20 2010, 07:36 AM

Lets put a smile on that face
764 posts

if u miskin and think about 3-4 times before buy it,then dont buy it
ipad is not for miskin ppl
underGr0und_8
post Dec 20 2010, 10:15 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(icepixes @ Dec 20 2010, 07:32 AM)
I want to buy an Ipad. What worries me is that after a few months I will get tired of it and will be just another gadget seldom used and stored somewhere in the house. I'm a laptop heavy user either on work or entertainment. Anybody has experienced this?
it is a YES for entertainment but it may not a YES for heavy usage on work.
If you plan to use it with a bluetooth keyboard, i suggest you dont. People designed it to use without physical keyboard smile.gif
for me, i use it for internet surfing, but please aware that java and flash is not supported smile.gif so it is still something different with your casual laptop

if you plan to buy for show off purpose, i suggest you dont buy it laugh.gif

This post has been edited by underGr0und_8: Dec 20 2010, 01:35 PM
aleluya
post Dec 20 2010, 12:41 PM

I'm Teh Powah!
1,134 posts

Not recommended for work use.. better off with netbook..

It doesn't replace netbook, just replacing the way we surf & entertain ourselves
jphlau
post Dec 20 2010, 02:25 PM

1,202 posts

im tired of it oredy.. now only using to play games...
lightning69
post Dec 20 2010, 05:09 PM

2,298 posts

Ipad is great for portability. If you travel a lot or simply go to starbuck a lot for your free time, then ipad is a perfect companion.

For work, most likely no unless you use it as a display for catalog etc which doesn't require any typing or very little typing.

I find that ipad is the most used pc for me now by my 4 and 6 years old kid and my wife simply because its the most simple and convenient device fro games, movies and internet.

SUSvault.dweller
post Dec 20 2010, 05:15 PM

64 posts

yes, go get it. because with iPad, you will have extreme portability.

imagine full fledged internet experience with flash animation, continuing your work on word, excel and powerpoint with touchscreen environment, also 3D gaming like never before.

oh, wait ..
newtoapple
post Dec 20 2010, 05:31 PM

56 posts

ipad wont replace a notebook..it just another gadget that design differently that may change your life...you grow fatter!!!!
lightning69
post Dec 20 2010, 11:00 PM

2,298 posts

A lot of people buy ipad for games. My advise is don't buy iPad for games. I like playing games and I have Xbox360 and PS3 and PSP etc. But i can tell you that iPad games are very simple and not very fun after a while. Its good for like 30 mins and you won't play it anymore kind of thing. It s really great if you're in a subway or an airport which a short and simple game can really help kill time, but if you are looking for "real" games, you will likely be disappointed.

But short and simple games can be very good for my kids and my wife so it really depends.
acbc
post Dec 20 2010, 11:03 PM

9,050 posts

Same here...

When I had the iPhone 3GS, it is my whole life. I did everything on it, from reading newspapers to Facebook.

Now, after getting the Streak, it is my backup phone. The Streak can do more and requires a lot of tinkering which makes it fun.

Worse it my netbook, left neglected for months until recently I bump the RAM to 3Gb and added a CrystalHD card.
karwaidotnet
post Dec 20 2010, 11:04 PM

come near me and i'll bam bam U...
1,353 posts

i dun have a notebook....but i find myself mainly using ipad for surfing and reading mags i cant purchase locally...game casually...

if u think u might get bored of it...u most probably will.

Added on December 20, 2010, 11:06 pmand since u oredi have a laptop...u will find ipad much less useful...coz besides from of long battery power and portability (small but not that light) it doesnt perform 100% like a notebook

This post has been edited by karwaidotnet: Dec 20 2010, 11:06 PM
zeronine
post Dec 20 2010, 11:32 PM

iPad is just great and handy, especially on a bed. Safari works well even without flash, and email is easy to set up. It is also my 2nd iPod, where I can sync all my collections. I would recommend only those with 64gb as the cheap ones get filled up very quickly with videos.
lightning69
post Dec 21 2010, 09:11 AM

2,298 posts

Well, the best way to think of the iPad is that its cool device to have if you got extra cash to burn and already have a laptop. If you r on a tight budget, then i suggest getting a pc or laptop as you can do almost anything with it.
Mavik
post Dec 21 2010, 11:39 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Frankly, I am rather tired of my iPad already. Only use it for media purposes. Otherwise, hard to move away from 3 laptops. LOL
lightning69
post Dec 21 2010, 06:42 PM

2,298 posts

It also depends on whether you jailbreak your ipad. Without jailbreak, it really is a very limited device.
burb
post Dec 22 2010, 12:51 AM

261 posts

I'm basically using my iPad for all purpose. Entertainment, works, Internet, photos, etc. Juz spend some $$ to get the apps u need for your work such as numbers, open office n etc n u r ready for documents work.

But I'm not saying that an iPad is capable to replace ur laptop or desktop. I use it to complement it adit is more portable.

Awakened_Angel
post Dec 22 2010, 01:43 PM

2,703 posts

I just bought it and just notice how irrelevant it could help me in my working perspective.....

however, it is a great gadget for leisure.....
TracY.
post Dec 23 2010, 01:07 AM

i don't think iPad is suitable for work at all, it cannot replace a pc or a laptop but i really like it for entertainment purpose, surfing net at cafe, playing games, listening to music, easy to carry around.
carjack18
post Dec 23 2010, 06:39 AM

491 posts

It is a gadget for leisure and light surfing. Not suitable for work smile.gif
baretta
post Dec 23 2010, 06:43 AM

1,853 posts

80% using for work, not tired yet
donnie.brasco
post Dec 23 2010, 06:57 AM

79 posts

of course ipad is not suitable for work
it is not designed for work purpose

i do my work on my imac, then i transfer to my ipad
i can edit it anywhere when i was out
some light editing here and there
it's light and u can bring anywhere
even can use in the toilet to surf internet
TSicepixes
post Dec 23 2010, 10:09 AM

17 posts

I will probably buy it anyway. Ipad for light leisurement while outside the house.. like waiting your number at JPN, paying saman at Balai polis, bank etc, etc... Laptop for works and heavy games at home.. or in office.
It'll work, I guess...
SUSeksk
post Dec 23 2010, 03:05 PM

586 posts

for all those who are bored of your ipad willing to let go ? smile.gif
Awakened_Angel
post Dec 23 2010, 03:32 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(donnie.brasco @ Dec 23 2010, 07:57 AM)
of course ipad is not suitable for work
it is not designed for work purpose

i do my work on my imac, then i transfer to my ipad
i can edit it anywhere when i was out
some light editing here and there
it's light and u can bring anywhere
even can use in the toilet to surf internet
agree.. it is for entertainment... from entertainment POV, it is unbeatable....

even my HTC HD 2 open PDF better than iPad
deepan84
post Dec 23 2010, 04:43 PM

White Rider
2,200 posts

QUOTE(icepixes @ Dec 23 2010, 10:09 AM)
I will probably buy it anyway. Ipad for light leisurement while outside the house.. like waiting your number at JPN, paying saman at Balai polis, bank etc, etc... Laptop for works and heavy games at home.. or in office.
It'll work, I guess...
u mightself just get an iphone4. small compact and pocketable once u reach ur turn. ipad is pretty irrelevant. well, if iphone didnt exist, den ipad might be pretty tempting.
baretta
post Dec 23 2010, 09:09 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Dec 23 2010, 03:32 PM)
agree.. it is for entertainment... from entertainment POV, it is unbeatable....

even my HTC HD 2 open PDF better than iPad
Correct 100x. My iphone 4 open pdf better than Htc HD2. Muahahahahaha
bennike129
post Dec 23 2010, 11:20 PM

Love WL <3
2,455 posts

Preferably it touches more on the entertainment side.

It's really for leisure. I for one only use it mostly for surfing and games.

Emails and etc, other devices =D
lightning69
post Dec 23 2010, 11:59 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(baretta @ Dec 23 2010, 09:09 PM)
Correct 100x. My iphone 4 open pdf better than Htc HD2. Muahahahahaha
I thought the pdf viewer is a pleasure on the iPad. Hmmm, i wonder how good is the HTC HD2 if its is 100x better than the iPad.
baretta
post Dec 24 2010, 01:46 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 23 2010, 11:59 PM)
I thought the pdf viewer is a pleasure on the iPad.  Hmmm, i wonder how good is the HTC HD2 if its is 100x better than the iPad.
Haiyaa doublr meaning la.
goldfries
post Dec 24 2010, 04:27 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 20 2010, 11:00 PM)
A lot of people buy ipad for games.  My advise is don't buy iPad for games.  I like playing games and I have Xbox360 and PS3 and PSP etc.  But i can tell you that iPad games are very simple and not very fun after a while.  Its good for like 30 mins and you won't play it anymore kind of thing.  It s really great if you're in a subway or an airport which a short and simple game can really help kill time, but if you are looking for "real" games, you will likely be disappointed.

But short and simple games can be very good for my kids and my wife so it really depends.
the games are cheap, simple and fun. It's all made to be simple.

Wednesday I just start using my iPad and have quite a few games. In fact I only started fiddling with it late afternoon / early evening and I've already finishsed Air Attack HD (finger hurts now). Spent loads of time on NFS:Hot Pursuit and Sim City. Then Thursday installed Infinity Blade and already settled God King, now just random playing it for fun when I'm bored. Rather tired of it already. Angry Birds HD also finished 1st Chapter and skip to #3 cos I already done so on my other device. Red Alert installed, lazy to play. RTS just seems a little awkward on iPad. Monkey Island 1 and 2 installed but not yet played, ahh the nostalgia - one of the better titles around.

I think it really depends on how demanding you are, I do appreciate simple games as such but it's really sucky for FPS, at least i find it sucky. Even playing FPS on consoles seem to be much better.

*yes, it is clear that I can get bored with just having only ONE game on the iPad, hence the choice of games I installed.

For me, I think iPad's great for books and educational stuff. Very helpful. Using it for social networks (eg Twitter / Facebook) is great too!
clawhammer
post Dec 24 2010, 04:46 AM

///M
8,788 posts

In short, iPad is just a bigger version of the iPhone except it couldn't make calls smile.gif If you love iPhone games, you will somehow love the iPad games or perhaps even more.
goldfries
post Dec 24 2010, 05:56 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

yes. can say it's like that. biggrin.gif games are so much nicer on the iPad ohhhhh.
sebz
post Dec 24 2010, 06:16 AM

331 posts

but rumor of the ipad 2 is coming soon ,basically improved version eh hmm.gif ? should i wait or jus get it anyway?

for budget , what model is most recommended?wifi16gb or 3gwifi16gb?
goldfries
post Dec 24 2010, 07:32 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i got the wifi 16GB version. cheap cheap good to use. biggrin.gif
eugenechiuu
post Dec 24 2010, 07:58 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(sebz @ Dec 24 2010, 06:16 AM)
but rumor of the ipad 2 is coming soon ,basically improved version eh  hmm.gif ? should i wait or jus get it anyway?

expect new one coming out first quarter next year, well that is if you can wait... and it wouldn't be coming out in Malaysia immediately also I suppose.. I read a news months ago that they have a reliable source from China stating that the new iPad would be 7inch.. But I still hope that it won't shrink lol..
Awakened_Angel
post Dec 24 2010, 02:48 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 24 2010, 12:59 AM)
I thought the pdf viewer is a pleasure on the iPad.  Hmmm, i wonder how good is the HTC HD2 if its is 100x better than the iPad.
wekk,

If you compare phone to phone basis, definately HTC is better than iPhone. Try exclude appstore from iPhone or iPad....its nothing....

HTC`market place aka appstore needs a lot to catch up to its counterparts.....

I store my business catalogues into iPad but alas, it didnt work....

I have prearrange like 500pdf in over 100 sub folders... I just select the main folder and the sub folder shall copy 100% into my HTC(window based)

and I need to do it one by one in iPad.... :/ and the minimum RAM(256) makes it crash when I open of say 15-20MB of pdf file

now i only use my ipad for leisure.... definately not for the pro n elite user
sebz
post Dec 24 2010, 06:20 PM

331 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Dec 24 2010, 07:58 AM)
expect new one coming out first quarter next year, well that is if you can wait... and it wouldn't be coming out in Malaysia immediately also I suppose.. I read a news months ago that they have a reliable source from China stating that the new iPad would be 7inch.. But I still hope that it won't shrink lol..
yea,smaller ipad but i hav read another news from cnet,they said reported from digitimes there is no sign of changing screen size and at last most of ppl mistaken for the micro sd slot infact it is a speaker improved for wider range...tis is wad i heard from another story... hmm.gif

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Dec 24 2010, 02:48 PM)
wekk,

If you compare phone to phone basis, definately HTC is better than iPhone. Try exclude appstore from iPhone or iPad....its nothing....

HTC`market place aka appstore needs a lot to catch up to its counterparts.....

I store my business catalogues into iPad but alas, it didnt work....

I have prearrange like 500pdf in over 100 sub folders... I just select the main folder and the sub folder shall copy 100% into my HTC(window based)

and I need to do it one by one in iPad.... :/ and the minimum RAM(256) makes it crash when I open of say 15-20MB of pdf file

now i only use my ipad for leisure.... definately not for the pro n elite user
i tot ibook can read pdf files?a

afterall,m still wondering should i get an ipad despite the entertaining and excitiment of most user/tv ads....
izzit really not necessary to get 3g wifi...like what goldfries suggested? hmm.gif
piscesguy
post Dec 24 2010, 06:37 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

QUOTE(sebz @ Dec 24 2010, 06:20 PM)
izzit really not necessary to get 3g wifi...like what goldfries suggested? hmm.gif
If ur mobile phone can do wifi tethering such as HTC HD2, then just get the wifi version lor. biggrin.gif
donnie.brasco
post Dec 24 2010, 09:34 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(sebz @ Dec 24 2010, 06:16 AM)
but rumor of the ipad 2 is coming soon ,basically improved version eh  hmm.gif ? should i wait or jus get it anyway?

i say, if u want to buy now,
go and buy
apple release new product every year
no point to wait
if you wait for latest version, u'll end up buying nothing,
just like my fren
mwuaahahahaha
and hev to wait until it reach our shore officially
which is way too long
TSicepixes
post Dec 24 2010, 09:43 PM

17 posts

finally bought it at Harvey Norman today. They only have the 64g wifi.. So grabbed one. Now to go through the forum to see what else I should know.. Thanks for the advices. Now to count the days to see how long it will take before I get tired of it...

nando
post Dec 24 2010, 11:32 PM

Was Nando Morientes, Nando Torres, now is Nandos Chicken
1,650 posts

if you're a keen reader, its a great device. the ability to surf, check emails, play some games, type some light memos and spreadsheets are a bonus.

I went for it not to read all the articles, magazines, books but to keep them all in ONE simple device. National Geos, Mac magazines, footie magazines, comics, Photography magazines, Lord of the Rings novels, Narnia novels, John Grisham novels. Excellent if i just want to read any of them.

This post has been edited by nando: Dec 24 2010, 11:33 PM
clawhammer
post Dec 25 2010, 04:31 AM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Dec 24 2010, 11:32 PM)
if you're a keen reader, its a great device.  the ability to surf, check emails, play some games, type some light memos and spreadsheets are a bonus.

I went for it not to read all the articles, magazines, books but to keep them all in ONE simple device.  National Geos, Mac magazines, footie magazines, comics, Photography magazines, Lord of the Rings novels, Narnia novels, John Grisham novels.  Excellent if i just want to read any of them.
Nice! smile.gif However I rather read those with my PC or do it with my iPhone when I'm mobile.
nando
post Dec 25 2010, 06:33 PM

Was Nando Morientes, Nando Torres, now is Nandos Chicken
1,650 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Dec 25 2010, 04:31 AM)
Nice! smile.gif However I rather read those with my PC or do it with my iPhone when I'm mobile.
reading novels an Iphone will do...but its the Ipad that brings out the full glorious colours of the photos and illustrations... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by nando: Dec 25 2010, 06:34 PM
donnie.brasco
post Dec 25 2010, 07:48 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(icepixes @ Dec 24 2010, 09:43 PM)
finally bought it at Harvey Norman today. They only have the 64g wifi.. So grabbed one. Now to go through the forum to see what else I should know.. Thanks for the advices. Now to count the days to see how long it will take before I get tired of it...
nice
enjoy ur new year wif ipad??
thumbup.gif
sebz
post Dec 25 2010, 08:09 PM

331 posts

sry for the tumpang,i seems like come up with some planning...

iphone 3gs(3rd party apps wifi tethering) + archos70 internet table (android) , for those not familiar with this tablet pls refer ->archos70 also can google for youtube demo,kinda nice after all and its cost around 1.4k?

or

htc desire/aria(preinstalled wifi hotspot aka wifi tethering) + ipad wifi16gb

what do u think?which one u will choose the most?ur opinion and why either one blush.gif

This post has been edited by sebz: Dec 25 2010, 08:09 PM
TSicepixes
post Dec 25 2010, 08:40 PM

17 posts

So far i really am... Been messing with the iPad since.. Even reading and corresponding using this machine.. Hey wait, where's my laptop?? I'm sure it was here just now.. Oh, there it is, my two years old son is playing with it.. MY TWO YEARS OLD!!! Sorry, gotta go........
pcboy
post Dec 26 2010, 06:27 AM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

I have 2 years old son as well who loves to play with the iPad. He just play around with youtube videos and some children apps.. My wife always use the ipad to search for recipes and facebooking.. And I use it for browsing and some gaming... Now 3 family members use it the same device.. Really worth it
piscesguy
post Dec 26 2010, 06:53 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

QUOTE(sebz @ Dec 25 2010, 08:09 PM)

iphone 3gs(3rd party apps wifi tethering) + archos70 internet table (android)  , for those not familiar with this tablet pls refer ->archos70 also can google for youtube demo,kinda nice after all and its cost around 1.4k?

or

what do u think?which one u will choose the most?ur opinion and why either one  blush.gif
Better go with --> htc desire/aria(preinstalled wifi hotspot aka wifi tethering) + ipad wifi16gb

yangchee98
post Dec 27 2010, 03:16 PM

264 posts

i love my ipad biggrin.gif
kianweic
post Dec 27 2010, 03:24 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

I am tired of looking for a way to tether my iPad to my Blackberry Bold 9700.
Shenay
post Dec 29 2010, 02:52 PM

546 posts

I'm thinking of getting an iPad for uni purpose. Like reading my notes (PDF) and maybe sometimes typing my assignments. Not a hardcore entertainment lover here. What do you guys think ?
piscesguy
post Dec 29 2010, 02:56 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

QUOTE(Shenay @ Dec 29 2010, 02:52 PM)
I'm thinking of getting an iPad for uni purpose. Like reading my notes (PDF) and maybe sometimes typing my assignments. Not a hardcore entertainment lover here. What do you guys think ?
R u sure u really need an Ipad just to read ur notes cause u r not really fully utilised it. hmm.gif

Typing emails r OK but doing assignments.. sweat.gif
Shenay
post Dec 29 2010, 03:09 PM

546 posts

Hmm I get headache very fast looking at the laptop for too long, and I don't like sitting at the table reading. But maybe I'm still new with these Apple gadgets so I'm not too sure. Can I download movies from the iPad itself ? I do like watching GossipGirls and certain movies, but I'm not sure if I can download it ?

Can I open like a few PDF files at one time ? And is it really difficult to type on it ah? Sorry for all the questions, I'm a real newbie !
DarkNite
post Dec 29 2010, 07:44 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Thinking of getting one for reading novels, watching movies/series and surfing-facebook/flicker.

Most of my novels are in MS word 2007 and pdf format, movies and series are in avi, mkv and a few m2ts & mp4.
any problem or issue I should be aware that is not covered in here >> http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1563492 ?

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Dec 29 2010, 07:56 PM
shahrizans
post Dec 30 2010, 09:27 AM

112 posts

I bought ipad for presentation purposes when meeting up wit my client, i do design save in jpeg/pdf into ipad, then present to using
new technology, 1st impression is really important to attract your client to hired ur service smile.gif, apart from that,
it's good for entertainment device, especially gaming..superb graphic quality, and one more thing, from ipad, i can buy design magazine, photoshop design magazine with verrrrrrryyyy cheap price as low as 2.99usd only, and i can use that as my designing reference...
that's y ipad is worth it for me smile.gif
garagesell
post Jan 3 2011, 09:32 AM

1,310 posts

i always tell myself... why apple??  show off?damn... everything suck at the end. brand nia ma...  american product. cheh
clawhammer
post Jan 3 2011, 03:25 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(garagesell @ Jan 3 2011, 09:32 AM)
i always tell myself... why apple??  show off?damn... everything suck at the end. brand nia ma...  american product. cheh
Partly for the show off reason I believe smile.gif I see people bringing their iPad just to purposely buy a cup of coffee and sit in Coffee Bean or Starbucks. At the same time Apple makes great products.
logy
post Jan 13 2011, 04:30 AM

37 posts

Since i bought mine last month, I think i read more and i surf more than before. And what a coincidence that i read this topic in the toilet while doing my poopoo. (just imagine surfing with your laptop in the toilet smile.gif

But to be honest its not really a gadget do your office works. To me ipad is like an electronic version of filofax or organiser (of course its has more functions.. smile.gif
ape
post Jan 13 2011, 09:48 AM

849 posts

QUOTE(sebz @ Dec 25 2010, 08:09 PM)

iphone 3gs(3rd party apps wifi tethering) + archos70 internet table (android)  , for those not familiar with this tablet pls refer ->archos70 also can google for youtube demo,kinda nice after all and its cost around 1.4k?

or

what do u think?which one u will choose the most?ur opinion and why either one  blush.gif
Please choose ipad instead of android tablet at this moment, i have tried both. although android give us more flexibility, but its smoothness is not comparable to ipad.

perhaps this situation will only be changed during the launching of the chrome OS tablet.

I am using N1 + ipad btw...
Phonzy
post Jan 13 2011, 09:48 AM

542 posts

i would still say an ipad is just a toy man ... a really expensive toy ...

or alternatively , something that makes u start the reading habit again haha
MX510
post Jan 13 2011, 09:49 AM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

So far it help me in my daily work :-)
gajian88
post Jan 22 2011, 12:12 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(garagesell @ Jan 3 2011, 09:32 AM)
Really show off or we r still not familiar v this product? If oversea no body care u own an Ipad= = even in Uni most of the students hav their ipad...

we hav to look forward for the high tech ~
beatlesalbum
post Jan 22 2011, 12:14 AM

1,711 posts

Waiting for the next iOS version upgrade to freshen the whole system and add more perks again like the last upgrade that made the iPad into something new...
llsphinxll
post Jan 22 2011, 03:26 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Jan 22 2011, 12:14 AM)
Waiting for the next iOS version upgrade to freshen the whole system and add more perks again like the last upgrade that made the iPad into something new...
i agree partially as software upgrades can only do so much to help make the iPad more useful. i think with the rumour iPad 2 coming out, the feature could really make it more functional and appealing to more people. biggrin.gif
jonrwg
post Jan 27 2011, 02:11 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(gajian88 @ Jan 22 2011, 12:12 AM)
Really show off or we r still not familiar v this product? If oversea no body care u own an Ipad= = even in Uni most of the students hav their ipad...

we hav to look forward for the high tech ~
only apply in US. in UK until now i haven seen anyone using ipad. not even in Uni or subway. western ppl don rly care wat u owned, not like asian who like to show off. lol.

look forward for high tech should look at japan or korea now. all using pon to pay watever they buy in shop or vending machines. Now only in US google and apple catching up tat technology. NFC. hmm.gif
lightning69
post Jan 27 2011, 07:32 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(jonrwg @ Jan 27 2011, 02:11 AM)
only apply in US. in UK until now i haven seen anyone using ipad. not even in Uni or subway. western ppl don rly care wat u owned, not like asian who like to show off. lol.

look forward for high tech should look at japan or korea now. all using pon to pay watever they buy in shop or vending machines. Now only in US google and apple catching up tat technology. NFC.  hmm.gif
That is not true. All human being are the same. It is just that ipad are too common now for the westerner and it is so cheap for them. Its like USD499 but for us its RM2000.
jonrwg
post Jan 27 2011, 06:55 PM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jan 27 2011, 07:32 AM)
That is not true.  All human being are the same.  It is just that ipad are too common now for the westerner and it is so cheap for them.  Its like USD499 but for us its RM2000.
I thought Msia selling RM1549? o.O
UK is expensive though, £439. Here is you buy something, lets say for a phone for £450, pay in one shot they will say you are rich. lol.
From what i see, UK ppl a lil bit kedekut in spending money for technology stuff. hmm..
lightning69
post Jan 27 2011, 07:43 PM

2,298 posts

So you think UK is more expensive?

Say you earn Rm2000 in KL and your friend in UK doing the same job pays £2000.

You bought an iPad for Rm1500 and he got his at £450. After the purchase you only got Rm500 left while he's got £1550 left. So whose iPad is more expensive?

Mr.Audi
post Jan 27 2011, 07:51 PM

169 posts

Caucasian never care about price and products.They are generous but they never waste their money.Caucasian only buy the thing which is useful to them.Thats why,Eu country dont really got supercars,huge cribs,high end products,etc althought their currency is highest. smile.gif

Back to topic:
Galaxy Tab is a pretty great choice compare to Ip4 or Ipad as its a combine of IP4 and Ipad, but with Android OS/smaller screen which give you portable.Although,Galaxy Tab is not really to use as a mobile.No worries,We still can take it as spare mobile phones.

This post has been edited by Mr.Audi: Jan 27 2011, 07:56 PM
Icehart
post Jan 27 2011, 08:47 PM

14,901 posts

QUOTE(Shenay @ Dec 29 2010, 03:09 PM)
Hmm I get headache very fast looking at the laptop for too long, and I don't like sitting at the table reading. But maybe I'm still new with these Apple gadgets so I'm not too sure. Can I download movies from the iPad itself ? I do like watching GossipGirls and certain movies, but I'm not sure if I can download it ?

Can I open like a few PDF files at one time ? And is it really difficult to type on it ah? Sorry for all the questions, I'm a real newbie !
I've the same problem too, initially when I purchase my laptop, weight isn't a problem, more emphasis is given to the power - performance / value ratio, but as soon as I realized bringing a 15.4" (3kg with 9 cells attached) laptop to University, it seems that the power is not really attractive anymore. It's heavy and even with a 9 cell it will last 3-4 hours. I need more than that. sad.gif

I'm now planning to settle down for some lightweight tablet and longer battery life. I'm still confused whether this iPad is going to worth my purchase. In the coming months, more and more attractive tablets are making their way into the market - Asus, Toshiba, Lenovo and more.

Any views?
jonrwg
post Jan 28 2011, 02:48 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jan 27 2011, 07:43 PM)
So you think UK is more expensive? 

Say you earn Rm2000 in KL and your friend in UK doing the same job pays £2000.

You bought an iPad for Rm1500 and he got his at £450.  After the purchase you only got Rm500 left while he's got £1550 left.  So whose iPad is more expensive?
i don see a price of a product that way. I convert the price from countries that I have relative living there to RM and see which is the cheapest. laugh.gif

let's say you see it that way. RM2000 - tax = how much left? I'm not sure about msian tax but in UK you are paying 40% tax, not included NIC which will be around 12.8% depends on your earning. Earning £2000 is very low in UK, barely survive. When you buy an iPad £450 straight, meaning you are rich. Middle class ppl in UK wont spend so much on something they don really need. That is what my class mate told me. laugh.gif

Added on January 28, 2011, 2:49 am
QUOTE(Icehart @ Jan 27 2011, 08:47 PM)
I've the same problem too, initially when I purchase my laptop, weight isn't a problem, more emphasis is given to the power - performance / value ratio, but as soon as I realized bringing a 15.4" (3kg with 9 cells attached) laptop to University, it seems that the power is not really attractive anymore. It's heavy and even with a 9 cell it will last 3-4 hours. I need more than that.  sad.gif

I'm now planning to settle down for some lightweight tablet and longer battery life. I'm still confused whether this iPad is going to worth my purchase. In the coming months, more and more attractive tablets are making their way into the market - Asus, Toshiba, Lenovo and more.

Any views?
MBA 11"? brows.gif

This post has been edited by jonrwg: Jan 28 2011, 02:49 AM
lightning69
post Jan 28 2011, 07:46 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Audi @ Jan 27 2011, 07:51 PM)
Caucasian never care about price and products.They are generous but they never waste their money.Caucasian only buy the thing which is useful to them.Thats why,Eu country dont really got supercars,huge cribs,high end products,etc althought their currency is highest. smile.gif

Back to topic:
Galaxy Tab is a pretty great choice compare to Ip4 or Ipad as its a combine of IP4 and Ipad, but with Android OS/smaller screen which give you portable.Although,Galaxy Tab is not really to use as a mobile.No worries,We still can take it as spare mobile phones.
Its not jut the ipad only. Everything thing in malaysia is expensive because our income is measly and our currency has no spending power. A lot of people got the wrong impression that things are expensive abroad when they start to convert it to RM. What they don't understand is that their income is more than ours and their currency is much stronger than RM. Just like singapore where everything is cheaper than malaysia when you earn and spend there because they make more than us and the price of goods are always half price compare to ours. In other words for the same income, they can buy more things than us.
nik2
post Jan 28 2011, 09:36 PM

134 posts

ipad works awesome for me. cant await for upcoming ipad 2 on this coming april smile.gif
KHOdin
post Jan 29 2011, 02:49 AM

7 Stars Newbie
2,928 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jan 27 2011, 08:47 PM)
I've the same problem too, initially when I purchase my laptop, weight isn't a problem, more emphasis is given to the power - performance / value ratio, but as soon as I realized bringing a 15.4" (3kg with 9 cells attached) laptop to University, it seems that the power is not really attractive anymore. It's heavy and even with a 9 cell it will last 3-4 hours. I need more than that.  sad.gif

Any views?
having the same concern after i uni my college life ... having a tablet is more easy for reading and having my lecture note viewed ... wondering should i get a ipad or an android tablet since i using android phone wish to try something new one thing that really bother me is no flash support ><
Icehart
post Jan 29 2011, 10:16 AM

14,901 posts

QUOTE(KHOdin @ Jan 29 2011, 02:49 AM)
having the same concern after i uni my college life ... having a tablet is more easy for reading and having my lecture note viewed ... wondering should i get a ipad or an android tablet since i using android phone wish to try something new one thing that really bother me is no flash support ><
As far as I know, future tablets are powered by Android 3.0, a totally new Android optimized for tablets.

Looks like I've swayed away from the topic. I'll say wait until what iPad 2 has to offer and then decide from there.
KHOdin
post Jan 29 2011, 12:07 PM

7 Stars Newbie
2,928 posts

but if ipad 2 also not supporting flash seem no point waiting ...
Icehart
post Jan 29 2011, 02:45 PM

14,901 posts

QUOTE(KHOdin @ Jan 29 2011, 12:07 PM)
but if ipad 2 also not supporting flash seem no point waiting ...
Yeah you have a point sweat.gif
fyrogenesis
post Jan 29 2011, 03:34 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jan 28 2011, 07:46 AM)
Its not jut the ipad only.  Everything thing in malaysia is expensive because our income is measly and our currency has no spending power.  A lot of people got the wrong impression that things are expensive abroad when they start to convert it to RM.  What they don't understand is that their income is more than ours and their currency is much stronger than RM.  Just like singapore where everything is cheaper than malaysia when you earn and spend there because they make more than us and the price of goods are always half price compare to ours.  In other words for the same income, they can buy more things than us.
a very true reply, i must say.
that is why i think many spoiled kids in their country could easily ask for expensive products EVERY DAMN YEAR as gifts (birthday, christmas), even for a mid-income family.
Here, most of us working people have to save, and jimat2 a lot, for maybe half a year (or wait for bonus) to buy just ONE ipad.
weng98
post Jan 29 2011, 06:42 PM

457 posts

my 6 years old kid thinks its hers .. i have to borrow it from her...this morning i charged 100% now its dead.. and cannot on back cos jailbreak de.. have to send it to jb'ker.. sienzzz
geekster129
post Feb 6 2011, 11:35 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

Well, the vast array of VPN access support (Cisco, PPTP, Juniper SSL VPN) on the iPad is what motivates me to carry it around all the time, rather than carrying a full-fledged netbook which is much more heavier in order for me to support my customers on the go. icon_idea.gif

Added on February 6, 2011, 11:37 am
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jan 28 2011, 07:46 AM)
Its not jut the ipad only.  Everything thing in malaysia is expensive because our income is measly and our currency has no spending power.  A lot of people got the wrong impression that things are expensive abroad when they start to convert it to RM.  What they don't understand is that their income is more than ours and their currency is much stronger than RM.  Just like singapore where everything is cheaper than malaysia when you earn and spend there because they make more than us and the price of goods are always half price compare to ours.  In other words for the same income, they can buy more things than us.
Very well said. Purchasing power is the keyword, many people have a general misconception of comparing our price with overseas price. The expensive goods overseas are balanced out by the high income, but back here, expensive goods matched with everly low income, seems rather unbalanced.

This post has been edited by geekster129: Feb 6 2011, 11:39 AM
tpl
post Feb 8 2011, 01:58 PM

1,748 posts

QUOTE(jonrwg @ Jan 27 2011, 02:11 AM)

look forward for high tech should look at japan or korea now. all using pon to pay watever they buy in shop or vending machines. Now only in US google and apple catching up tat technology. NFC.  hmm.gif
Same goes to Oz. Just everywhere. Just like any other ppl walking ard. show off? nothing to show lol...
shadow_gouken
post Feb 8 2011, 07:11 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Feb 6 2011, 11:35 AM)
Well, the vast array of VPN access support (Cisco, PPTP, Juniper SSL VPN) on the iPad is what motivates me to carry it around all the time, rather than carrying a full-fledged netbook which is much more heavier in order for me to support my customers on the go. icon_idea.gif

Added on February 6, 2011, 11:37 am

Very well said. Purchasing power is the keyword, many people have a general misconception of comparing our price with overseas price. The expensive goods overseas are balanced out by the high income, but back here, expensive goods matched with everly low income, seems rather unbalanced.
Yeah, is true that purchasing power at Malaysia is low. But there still ppl buy those over price items, whether it is cars or electronic.
Made me wonder, is Malaysia full of rich ppl?
geekster129
post Feb 8 2011, 07:16 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(shadow_gouken @ Feb 8 2011, 07:11 PM)
Yeah, is true that purchasing power at Malaysia is low. But there still ppl buy those over price items, whether it is cars or electronic. 
Made me wonder, is Malaysia  full of rich ppl?
Over priced indeed, and yet I just saw a notice at Machines KLCC limiting only 3 iPad purchase per customer... iPad/iPhone 4 selling like hot cakes? hmm.gif
XiuKeong
post Feb 8 2011, 08:46 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,441 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Feb 8 2011, 07:16 PM)
Over priced indeed, and yet I just saw a notice at Machines KLCC limiting only 3 iPad purchase per customer... iPad/iPhone 4 selling like hot cakes? hmm.gif
I only know Pyramid Digi Centre got notice that iPhone 4 both 16gb and 32gb sold out.
xaw5126
post Feb 9 2011, 10:48 AM

3,488 posts

that's cos people here put so much on installment payment. 1 credit card not enough. still got car loan, house loan. so we all end up keeping the banks in business, just so we can have some gadgets to play with.
visualfoley
post Feb 17 2011, 11:24 PM

565 posts

.. for the first time using it.. it was so cool.. but now its been about 11 month.. and what can i say it is still cool.. but im not seldom using it anymore.. just my fren always borrow from me to play games in my ipad.. keh keh
ArtXsight
post Feb 18 2011, 10:25 AM

15 posts

Greats topics...i'm a photojournalist...ipad helping me alot...especially on my works ground...i can simply download, edit and upload to our news server...it's much better than carry around a laptop....

Reading a few comments that....some people might be confused....whether to get an netbook or ipad...i feels...ipad more more better than neetbook....yup...im also agreed that..if you have a jailbreak ipad...u can hv more altenative to suit your daily works and your time wisely..... smile.gif
SHAZAL79
post Feb 19 2011, 11:11 AM

hello every one...i'm "miskin bandar" catogery... i got i pad from lucy draw..(company annual dinner)..
Ipad wifi 16gb,,, but now after synx all game must purchase,,, so i used to surfe internet only at office...,,, but onyone know how to download free game from i tune??.. i tengok all must purchase one???

TQ
adriankhoo153
post Feb 19 2011, 11:25 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(SHAZAL79 @ Feb 19 2011, 11:11 AM)
hello every one...i'm "miskin bandar" catogery... i got i pad from lucy draw..(company annual dinner)..
Ipad wifi 16gb,,, but now after synx all game must purchase,,, so i used to surfe internet only at office...,,, but onyone know how to download free game from i tune??.. i tengok all must purchase one???

TQ
U can jailbreak your iPad but discussion here is not allowed. So try use uncle google.
samlee860407
post Feb 19 2011, 11:50 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(SHAZAL79 @ Feb 19 2011, 11:11 AM)

TQ
there are many LEGAL FREE GAMES from itunes.

don't be cheapskate, most games cost RM3.2 or so only depends on exchange raet.

miskin bandar my ass if you can't even afford to pay RM3.2 for a game.

wongpeter
post Feb 19 2011, 11:55 AM

973 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Feb 6 2011, 11:35 AM)
is there anything an ipad can do that the netbook can't?
samlee860407
post Feb 19 2011, 12:22 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(wongpeter @ Feb 19 2011, 11:55 AM)
is there anything an ipad can do that the netbook can't?
the ecosystem of ipad offer
limyusiong
post Feb 19 2011, 12:41 PM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Feb 19 2011, 11:50 AM)
there are many LEGAL FREE GAMES from itunes.

don't be cheapskate, most games cost RM3.2 or so only depends on exchange raet.

miskin bandar my ass if you can't even afford to pay RM3.2 for a game.
well said, support support...

many ppl can have cigarette a box per day, but telling me cant afford for USD0.99 games... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
geekster129
post Feb 19 2011, 02:34 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

Noob question here:

Is CC the only payment method to buy games from the apps store? I saw Apple prepaid/gift coupons, but presumably you need to use a CC to purchase it first?

I have a Public Bank VISA CC. Can it be used to buy apps?

This post has been edited by geekster129: Feb 19 2011, 02:35 PM
Suk
post Feb 20 2011, 09:14 PM

2,330 posts

no for me.. im using tis for 6 mths now.. now i use ipad as a magic touchpad.. so i can remote my mac...
butaIT
post Feb 21 2011, 06:17 PM

163 posts

great for surfing. before if go to wifi cafe, need to find wall socket to plug my laptop (battery drain fast). But with Ipad, battery huiyooo.... never have to worry if u prepare properly. Battery really can last, I tried to drain the battery by playing games, surfing, videos.... but at last I cannot last, penat already and battery still got few percent.

Put in my car and become super ICE. Just connect the sound to the audio system and there u go... Plus giant-sized gps for your driving.

Easier to use while pooing compared to laptop or netbook (tried). HP just too small.

Ebook reader awesome especially Kobo. Many helpful apps available for free. I did not JB and it is still awesome. Don't think will get tired of it. And if I do, I can easily dispose it at the Garage Sales.

Hah, Steve should give me some money now...
aidlover
post Feb 21 2011, 10:31 PM

1,002 posts

QUOTE(butaIT @ Feb 21 2011, 06:17 PM)
great for surfing. before if go to wifi cafe, need to find wall socket to plug my laptop (battery drain fast). But with Ipad, battery huiyooo.... never have to worry if u prepare properly. Battery really can last, I tried to drain the battery by playing games, surfing, videos.... but at last I cannot last, penat already and battery still got few percent.

Put in my car and become super ICE. Just connect the sound to the audio system and there u go... Plus giant-sized gps for your driving.

Easier to use while pooing compared to laptop or netbook (tried). HP just too small.

Ebook reader awesome especially Kobo. Many helpful apps available for free. I did not JB and it is still awesome. Don't think will get tired of it. And if I do, I can easily dispose it at the Garage Sales.

Hah, Steve should give me some money now...
how you do that? working on non 3g version? can guide?

This post has been edited by aidlover: Feb 21 2011, 10:31 PM
Joelles
post Feb 22 2011, 12:37 AM

@Call me Uncle@
1,355 posts

QUOTE(aidlover @ Feb 21 2011, 10:31 PM)
how you do that? working on non 3g version? can guide?
I think he should be using a 3G version iPad, otherwise you can get a "Mifi" router if you're using a non 3G model for internet mobility.
butaIT
post Feb 22 2011, 08:56 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(Joelles @ Feb 22 2011, 12:37 AM)
I think he should be using a 3G version iPad, otherwise you can get a "Mifi" router if you're using a non 3G model for internet mobility.
Yup, spot on.
naga_sakti
post Feb 22 2011, 09:25 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(ali_boulala @ Dec 20 2010, 07:36 AM)
if u miskin and think about 3-4 times before buy it,then dont buy it
ipad is not for miskin ppl
ipad is not for miskin ppl aiiyaa... u dont saya like that.. better watch out your mouth.. it might be sensitive to certain people.. all the superb gadget is not for rich person only.. if like that.. better ask for your payslip or ur 'E and J Form'..
Tookia
post Feb 22 2011, 04:18 PM

290 posts

As with any gadget, a lot of people get into the rush to buy because everyone else is buying it. Plan your purchase. I bought mine after much thought as I use an ebook reader and couldn't read my pdf magazines and reference books properly. Now I use my ipad to check my emails, read my pdf magazines and reference books (which are in pdf format which cannot be handled by my B&N Nook ebook reader). I check my face book contact, chat with my daughter in LA on my google talk. I read news articles from overseas news portals for the latest..including my daughter's LA paper to see what is the latest. I use the safari browser for quick checks on health matters and keep in touch with latest recommendations. I do not do serious office work with it. So, for me it's a good portable gadget..expensive but useful. My 3G version helps when I am away from my house wifi.

I get good battery life .. up to 2 weeks on standby..by shutting off all applications after I use them. This is a useful trick I picked up from my son when he was using his iphone4. Go to the bottom centrally located button Home button and press it quickly twice. You will see the icons of all the applications you have opened. Press on anyone for more than 2 secs and you will see them wiggling with a red circle and a "-" sign in it. Press the red circle to turn off the application. Do that for all the applications. After you are done, press the home button again to go back to the main screen and then press the sleep button to turn off the screen. By doing it this way, you don't have to keep recharging your ipad for weeks..my longest is three weeks. When I first got my ipad the battery lasted only 2 - 3 days before losing all its charge. I didn't know that I had all the applications still opened. Even in Sleep mode, they were still active!

This post has been edited by Tookia: Feb 22 2011, 04:22 PM
visualfoley
post Feb 23 2011, 10:16 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(Suk @ Feb 20 2011, 09:14 PM)
no for me.. im using tis for 6 mths now.. now i use ipad as a magic touchpad.. so i can remote my mac...
have u tried the kinect to control ur pc? cool2.gif

Added on February 23, 2011, 10:18 pm
QUOTE(naga_sakti @ Feb 22 2011, 09:25 AM)
ipad is not for miskin ppl aiiyaa... u dont saya like that.. better watch out your mouth.. it might be sensitive to certain people.. all the superb gadget is not for rich person only.. if like that.. better ask for your payslip or ur 'E and J Form'..
yes.. ipad is not for miskin. such a lousy statement. u want it.. then u must have work for it.. thats it..

This post has been edited by visualfoley: Feb 23 2011, 10:18 PM
babyikws
post Feb 25 2011, 03:36 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(Tookia @ Feb 22 2011, 04:18 PM)
As with any gadget, a lot of people get into the rush to buy because everyone else is buying it. Plan your purchase. I bought mine after much thought as I use an ebook reader and couldn't read my pdf magazines and reference books properly. Now I use my ipad to check my emails, read my pdf magazines and reference books (which are in pdf format which cannot be handled by my B&N Nook ebook reader). I check my face book contact, chat with my daughter in LA on my google talk. I read news articles from overseas news portals for the latest..including my daughter's LA paper to see what is the latest. I use the safari browser for quick checks on health matters and keep in touch with latest recommendations. I do not do serious office work with it. So, for me it's a good portable gadget..expensive but useful. My 3G version helps when I am away from my house wifi.

I get good battery life .. up to 2 weeks on standby..by shutting off all applications after I use them. This is a useful trick I picked up from my son when he was using his iphone4. Go to the bottom centrally located button Home button and press it quickly twice. You will see the icons of all the applications you have opened. Press on anyone for more than 2 secs and you will see them wiggling with a red circle and a "-" sign in it. Press the red circle to turn off the application. Do that for all the applications. After you are done, press the home button again to go back to the main screen and then press the sleep button to turn off the screen. By doing it this way, you don't have to keep recharging your ipad for weeks..my longest is three weeks. When I first got my ipad the battery lasted only 2 - 3 days before losing all its charge. I didn't know that I had all the applications still opened. Even in Sleep mode, they were still active!
Totally Agree what TOOKIA mention ,turn on ur 3G & Wifi only when u really need. if u using iPad playing game like angry bird. it also will drain off ur battery fast .
Vince1991
post Feb 25 2011, 05:12 PM

262 posts

iPad and will and can NEVER replace a Laptop. If you are looking at running some lite games, picture editing, social, songs and video on the go, then get it. Else dont coz it cant do things like what a laptop can.

Even I dont bother to bring out a heavy Macbook to college unless I really need it.

I use mine mainly for picture viewing, editing with imported pictures from my DSLR to iPad with camera kit, some lite games and songs to keep me company at college or on the train. Oh ya, I do use it for note taking too.. saves paper and ink and easily manageable.

Battery wise, if you are a user like me(im outside of my house 2/3 everyday), I can never manage to finish the battery in one day unless you game on for 3-4 hours straight.

This post has been edited by Vince1991: Feb 25 2011, 05:14 PM
SkyGig
post Mar 1 2011, 12:08 AM

127 posts

There are a few people I know the purpose of getting the expensive gadget like Ipad or Iphone just to show off.Really!No joke....Just like my boss.His 3 year old son got 16gb Ipad and he himself got a iphone 4 just to make and receive calls only and some SMSes,that's all he knows.And the bloody son also don't even know how to install application using Ipad and his father start to teach his little boy to show off.I called that 'show off' or maybe a typical Kiasu Malaysian.(What people have is what I must have,buy first and don't care whether really need it or not)
naga_sakti
post Mar 2 2011, 02:02 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(SkyGig @ Mar 1 2011, 12:08 AM)
There are a few people I know the purpose of getting the expensive gadget like Ipad or Iphone just to show off.Really!No joke....Just like my boss.His 3 year old son got 16gb Ipad and he himself got a iphone 4 just to make and receive calls only and some SMSes,that's all he knows.And the bloody son also don't even know how to install application using Ipad and his father start to teach his little boy to show off.I called that 'show off' or maybe a typical Kiasu Malaysian.(What people have is what I must have,buy first and don't care whether really need it or not)
agree with you... such a crap attitude...
andcorps
post Mar 3 2011, 12:11 PM

252 posts

ipad 2 is out..anyone getting it?
makaveli
post Mar 3 2011, 03:05 PM

Livin' la Vida Loca
1,491 posts

That really true TS.
I usually get bored with gadget sometimes.
I own a pre-owned iPhone 2g last time,used only 1 month then get bored.
Then bought a Blackberry.Get bored after 1 week.
I dont know its been like bored using some flawless features in routine.

I been using my sisters iPad recently,i just use at night time for games.Other then that,i use only Desktop for surfing.
I wont bring it out.

Added on March 3, 2011, 3:05 pm
totally agree on this. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by makaveli: Mar 3 2011, 03:05 PM
Mackiddo
post Mar 3 2011, 10:46 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

i dun really think it's show off. Those stuff are probably 'value-less' to him. So nothing wrong in getting a few and discard it later.
kuekwee
post Mar 4 2011, 04:55 PM

Trading for a living
877 posts

i use ipad when i shit in the toilet waiting for my shit to come out..notebook too heavy even with macbook air...other than that it's just an ipad..
bitterbutter
post Mar 4 2011, 06:26 PM

232 posts

interesting discussion! after much thought, we've decided to purchase the ipad compare to the other serious tablet contenders such as samsung galaxy tab and few others. However found out that the main advantage of ipad is the apps store, which offer a lot more apps compare to android or any other platform. The main reason to buy this is for our daughter education and for our casual browsing/ reading while relaxing at the sofa after dinner.

UNFORTUNATELY, we've to hold our purchase first, since they've introduced the ipad2!

This post has been edited by bitterbutter: Mar 4 2011, 06:28 PM
Joelles
post Mar 4 2011, 09:17 PM

@Call me Uncle@
1,355 posts

QUOTE(bitterbutter @ Mar 4 2011, 06:26 PM)
interesting discussion! after much thought, we've decided to purchase the ipad compare to the other serious tablet contenders such as samsung galaxy tab and few others. However found out that the main advantage of ipad is the apps store, which offer a lot more  apps compare to android or any other platform. The main reason to buy this is for our daughter education and for our casual browsing/ reading while relaxing at the sofa after dinner.

UNFORTUNATELY, we've to hold our purchase first, since they've introduced the ipad2!
It's the same intention why I bought my iPad for and my wife can watch movies with Air Video which hosted by my laptop located at the first floor while she was at the second floor bedroom. No conversion needed and file transferring to the iPad since it's live conversion. My 1 year + daughter can play around with some education apps and listening to kids song. It's like 1 device for 3 users...lol. If you don't mind the new features and Unconfirm date of the iPad 2 reaching our shore, I think the lowest spec of iPad 1 at RM1199 is a great bargain to purchase.
Khimmyz
post Mar 5 2011, 11:39 AM

41 posts

Haihz Samsung galaxy tab 10.1 --- Dead before Arrival. Haihz sos: http://m.gizmodo.com//5776692/samsung-chie...-101-inadequate. ----------------------------------Samsung's mobile VP Lee Don-Joo has taken a look at the iPad 2 and decided that his own Galaxy Tab 10.1 isn't up to scratch. Speaking to the Korean Yonhap news agency, he said that "We will have to improve the parts that are inadequate."

Further, Samsung was planning on selling the ten-inch Tab for more than the seven-incher, but that too has changed. "[W]e will have to think that over," said Lee.

When I tried out the Tab 10.1 at the Mobile World Congress in Barcelona last month, I found it to be a "a plastic toy with a gorgeous screen." All of its "superior" specs turned out to be squeezed in simply so they could be marked off on a feature checklist. The camera is terrible, the Android Honeycomb OS feels like an old timey desktop OS, and the plastic body may make it light, but it also makes it feel cheap. Obviously Samsung was building down to a price.

Now that the iPad 2 has slimmed down and added cameras and a faster, dual-core processor, even those hardware differences have evaporated. This will be worrying not just for Samsung, but for Motorola and all the other tablet-makers trying to make a dent in Apple's market. Expect a lot of pre-announced tablets to mysteriously disappear.

Lee's words are telling. These companies are doing all they can to compete with the iPad, but - as Steve Jobs said at the launch event on Wednesday - they're making PCs. And nobody is buying them, because iPad buyers don't care about megapixels and CPU clock-speeds.

A final remark from Lee sums up the bewilderment these companies must be feeling. "Apple made it very thin" he said.
fastreader
post Mar 5 2011, 04:02 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(Khimmyz @ Mar 5 2011, 11:39 AM)
Haihz Samsung galaxy tab 10.1 --- Dead before Arrival. Haihz sos: http://m.gizmodo.com//5776692/samsung-chie...-101-inadequate.  ----------------------------------Samsung's mobile VP Lee Don-Joo has taken a look at the iPad 2 and decided that his own Galaxy Tab 10.1 isn't up to scratch. Speaking to the Korean Yonhap news agency, he said that "We will have to improve the parts that are inadequate."

Further, Samsung was planning on selling the ten-inch Tab for more than the seven-incher, but that too has changed. "[W]e will have to think that over," said Lee.

When I tried out the Tab 10.1 at the Mobile World Congress in Barcelona last month, I found it to be a "a plastic toy with a gorgeous screen." All of its "superior" specs turned out to be squeezed in simply so they could be marked off on a feature checklist. The camera is terrible, the Android Honeycomb OS feels like an old timey desktop OS, and the plastic body may make it light, but it also makes it feel cheap. Obviously Samsung was building down to a price.

Now that the iPad 2 has slimmed down and added cameras and a faster, dual-core processor, even those hardware differences have evaporated. This will be worrying not just for Samsung, but for Motorola and all the other tablet-makers trying to make a dent in Apple's market. Expect a lot of pre-announced tablets to mysteriously disappear.

Lee's words are telling. These companies are doing all they can to compete with the iPad, but - as Steve Jobs said at the launch event on Wednesday - they're making PCs. And nobody is buying them, because iPad buyers don't care about megapixels and CPU clock-speeds.

A final remark from Lee sums up the bewilderment these companies must be feeling. "Apple made it very thin" he said.
we would not mind a fat ones...BUT the price has got to CHANGE...for the better (from the customer's perspective)
myisland
post Mar 6 2011, 02:35 AM

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Mar 4 2011, 04:55 PM)
i use ipad when i shit in the toilet waiting for my shit to come out..notebook too heavy even with macbook air...other than that it's just an ipad..
tfk or shit bro ? lol

0.0521sec    1.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:21 AM