Level/Exp Grinding & Gold/Item Farming, Still lovin' it?

TSgreyshadow
post Dec 16 2010, 04:12 PM, updated 16y ago

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

I notice RPG games nowadays has lesser of level grinding & gold/item farming, it's especially true for western RPGs

but for JRPGs, the developers still like to put it as a necessity in the game to grind level & farm for more gold in order to progress further in the game

When I was younger, it was the age of JRPG on console, FF series, Chrono series, DQ series, and so much more
but all requires you to spend some time, at least a few hours of your time just wonder aimlessly on the map to fight enemy to farm for gold & exp
and most of the time you can never rush a boss fight, and it's a sure GAME OVER if you didn't level up a few levels before fighting the boss.
Since I was a kid then, I got all the time & energy in the world, I can grind 12 hours non-stop just to level up my characters. And some of my friends already reached the maximum level in mid-game

After almost 3 decades playing games, I find myself sicked & tired of level grinding and item/gold farming.
Yes, I still loved RPGs, east or west... but if i encountered a game that requires me to grind just to progress, I'll abandon the game straight away
most recent example is resonance of fate/end of eternity
i just hated to waste that few hours of just fighting enemy and nothing else, as my gaming time now is already limited.

but compared to fallout3, i fell in love straight away, and hooked on it.

I also noticed lesser & lesser JRPGs are being produced.
So is the decade 201x, gonna be the last decades for JRPGs? The decade they died?

Grinding & Farming? Still Lovin' it?

gundamalpha
post Dec 16 2010, 04:18 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Grinding and farming games still my main interest after so many years laugh.gif

Any game that has simple grinding and farming would interest me most, while free roaming games will never get my attention biggrin.gif
TSgreyshadow
post Dec 16 2010, 04:29 PM

1,844 posts

I used to hate free roaming games too

until recent a few free roaming games opened my eyes,
JRPGs tends to have more linear story line, whereas Western RPGs are mostly free roaming

I still enjoy the stories of JRPGs, just not the grinding part anymore

another thing i hated about JRPGs now is the MAZE, which comes with every single JRPGs, and most of the time you only can save your game at a save point in the maze, and most of the maze are huge with little save points.
Imagine you've spend 1 hour exploring a maze, and couldn't find a save point, then you got urgent thing need to settle else where, you got no choice but to waste that 1 hour of exploration, and start again at the beginning of the maze, and fight the same enemies again when you resume from the last save point

Dark NT
post Dec 16 2010, 04:36 PM

1,006 posts

The last time I did level grinding was FF12, leveling up everyone to LV99.

I think I still enjoy doing it, if it is a fun game, and where grinding is not so boring. For example if I can run around a save point and randomly encounter enemies, I will be happy to do so, since I can save my progress anytime.

But going through mazes without save points is a no no for me. i will run away quickly even though it may mean missing some items collection.

I guess like everything else in the world, one will rise and fall. JRPG had its moments.
Kyoyagami
post Dec 16 2010, 07:22 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

I can say its hard being older where you used to have 12 hours for gaming, but for now even 1 hour can't say for certain (close to having it now).

I for one still want to indulge in RPGs. But perhaps when I am travelling. when at a certain moment in life you realize you have no attachments and you feel free (eg business travel, or just having a simple vacation where the wife goes shopping), i'm gonna open my portable console and spend a few hours enjoying the miracles of RPGs. East or West.
PhoenixByte
post Dec 16 2010, 08:35 PM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

i dun mind grinding as long as i understand the story and it motivates me to keep going...my last jrpg...i slept during grinding coz i just dunno why the heck am i on this quest biggrin.gif
blinky_w
post Dec 16 2010, 09:36 PM

Are you the same greyshadow from CARI...

Grinding item n weapon is a must in Monster hunter!!!!
TSgreyshadow
post Dec 17 2010, 08:22 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(blinky_w @ Dec 16 2010, 09:36 PM)
Are you the same greyshadow from CARI...

Grinding item n weapon is a must in Monster hunter!!!!
why u want to know? tongue.gif

btw, for M, that's the reason why I'm still unable to enjoy this game
the grinding process turn me off wink.gif
misterpotato
post Dec 17 2010, 02:25 PM

49 posts

I can grind if the battle system and the music is good.
BelowAverage
post Dec 17 2010, 09:19 PM

1,274 posts

i can grind, for less than 30min to 1 hour.

lilko
post Dec 18 2010, 01:54 AM

95 posts

depending on what kind of plot and the mechanism.. like P3 i fast fast reach top level then can grind and grind till the experience is so low...duno y... FFXIII i dun like grinding.. 1 to 2 hours max.. sometime zero... but most of time grinding is see my character level at that time and how much exp i get from beating monster... if not no motivation...
SWATwolf
post Dec 18 2010, 08:03 AM

431 posts

I still grind up to date.
Specially games like Tales of Series, which they change their max level system to 255. sweat.gif
Joey Christensen
post Dec 20 2010, 10:33 AM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

Came to think of it, I spent days and nights with Koudelka on PSOne when I was still a young chap. Thou it's from the genre of "Adventure", I still love it and it gives me the motivational push to level up my characters and let the story unfolds by its progress. I remember this game very well until today. Unbelievable!

Fast forward to today's gaming, I've grinded through Tales of Vesperia, Eternal Sonata, Kingdom Under Fire: Circle of Doom...and Final Fantasy XIII.

All in honesty, I really don't have much time as I used to have when I was still studying years ago...These days, it's weekends or maybe a day or two playing it till 2am on week days.

This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Dec 20 2010, 10:33 AM
lksing78
post Dec 20 2010, 02:55 PM

91 posts

the only game that i max out is FF7 podewin
just because i wanted to see cloud do omni slash in 9999 damage each slash he do....those were the day man
taking out sephiroth is kacang putih...i also buy the ps1 tamagochi thingy( forget wat it call de) just to unlock Cait Sith and other rare item.

blinky_w
post Dec 21 2010, 10:53 AM

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Dec 17 2010, 08:22 AM)
why u want to know? tongue.gif

btw, for M, that's the reason why I'm still unable to enjoy this game
the grinding process turn me off wink.gif
nah... just find u familiar.... seeing u everywhere LOL...

well if u can manage off the grinding is actually quite nice.... the only thing i enjoy is playing with fren...
make grinding kinda "manageable"

Added on December 21, 2010, 10:54 amThe only game that i can't grind is the last renment from Xbox...
eventhough is by square EX but is just so damn boring!!!

This post has been edited by blinky_w: Dec 21 2010, 10:54 AM
ashx
post Dec 21 2010, 04:43 PM

230 posts

I still remember the good o'l FF7 grinding as well. I basically slept with my controllers in hand lol! then continue when i got up. My console days stopped at PS2.

I continued that with PC, D2/LOD and recently Titan quest:IT. Yes, gaming time getting shorter sad.gif.

The dilemma i face now, if i should continue console gaming lol
xsaintzx
post Dec 24 2010, 11:40 PM

598 posts

Console grinding is still okay for me, I will usually find tricks that will grind up faster, such as in FFX you will find tonberry king with all the proper settings, that will level up a lot faster.

But grinding in MMORPG sucks especially for Malaysian which has a bad Internet connection, well I guess most MMORPG is boring for me as they don't have a story.

Anyway, for me I will just grind for easy boss fight but not to max out all the levels and so on, I have my life to live with laugh.gif
afeeq
post Dec 31 2010, 10:03 PM

237 posts

i'll love grinding if the game's names is final fantasy.
kingdom hearts 2 and final fantasy 13 i grind till everything lv99.
for plat loh.haha.

but yeah you're right,
gaming time become shorter nowdays,

0.0185sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:39 PM