Online Bookstore, Trusted and Recommended site..?
Dec 14 2010, 12:25 AM, updated 15y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
384 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Anyone can recommend some good online bookstore, I'm tired looking for my favorite book in Malaysia bookstore.. Our government keep on encouraging the people to read more, yet our book is so expensive and very limited choice..
Dec 14 2010, 12:45 AM
1,072 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: Where theres an open-road state |
what kinda books are u looking for ?novel ?business?
Dec 14 2010, 07:58 AM
2,928 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
Dec 14 2010, 11:33 AM
384 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
I prefer travel and photography books.
Is there any tax if shipped from oveseas? the book weight around 800gram-1kg. |
Dec 14 2010, 04:09 PM
3 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
hey I'm into photography as well and unfortunately I've learnt that books about photography are really expensive. i think they base tax on price and not weight. maybe you can try amazon.com or acmamall.com? both offer good selection of books. hope this helps
Dec 14 2010, 10:07 PM
161 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: earth |
i second bookdepository. free delivery worldwide. no tax (our govn dont tax our books wan lah)
Dec 21 2010, 01:02 PM
124 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Book Depository FTW..have been my most trusted bookstore for a while..
Dec 23 2010, 06:18 PM
15 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
You may visit www.amazon.com - one of my favourite online bookstore, price can be similar as some Malaysia book store (due to stonger RM vs USD). Also, it has books that Malaysia bookstore don't have
I recently started a blog review about books, take a look for more updates. http://a1-books-review.blogspot.com/ |
Dec 26 2010, 06:51 PM
940 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Hey, I'm new to online bookstore. I know this site through the previous post: http://www.bookdepository.co.uk
1.Can I know what do I need if I want to buy a book in that site? Credit card? Is it safe? 2.It is stated there that free delivery, that means the price listed there is the only price I need to pay? 3. I'm totally new to this, so anyone can provide procedures, instructions or reminders for me? Btw, the novel I want to buy is Mockingjay. It is about RM40 here but it's only $8.19, as stated in that site. I would save a lot if I can buy it online! Thank you for your helps! |
Dec 26 2010, 10:06 PM
2,928 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(DavidWKW @ Dec 26 2010, 10:51 AM) Hey, I'm new to online bookstore. I know this site through the previous post: http://www.bookdepository.co.uk 1) You'll need an account and credit card is fine. 1.Can I know what do I need if I want to buy a book in that site? Credit card? Is it safe? 2.It is stated there that free delivery, that means the price listed there is the only price I need to pay? 3. I'm totally new to this, so anyone can provide procedures, instructions or reminders for me? Btw, the novel I want to buy is Mockingjay. It is about RM40 here but it's only $8.19, as stated in that site. I would save a lot if I can buy it online! Thank you for your helps! 2) Yes but just check when you're checking out, if you need to pay any delivery charges, it will be stated before you confirm your purchase. 3) http://www.bookdepository.co.uk/help |
Dec 27 2010, 03:05 PM
161 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: earth |
QUOTE(DavidWKW @ Dec 26 2010, 06:51 PM) Hey, I'm new to online bookstore. I know this site through the previous post: http://www.bookdepository.co.uk 1. I've bought using credit card from that site numerous times without any problems, so i feel safe using my credit card there1.Can I know what do I need if I want to buy a book in that site? Credit card? Is it safe? 2.It is stated there that free delivery, that means the price listed there is the only price I need to pay? 3. I'm totally new to this, so anyone can provide procedures, instructions or reminders for me? Btw, the novel I want to buy is Mockingjay. It is about RM40 here but it's only $8.19, as stated in that site. I would save a lot if I can buy it online! Thank you for your helps! 2. for bookdepository.co.uk, the price of the book is all that you need to pay. there are no delivery charges or any extra charges. 3. the books will arrive in about 2 weeks. if you order more than 2 books, each book will arrive separately - so don't panic if you receive only one book because the rest should arrive in a day or two (for me they usually arrive on the same day) |
Dec 27 2010, 03:09 PM
1,153 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Boleh Land !!! |
guys, thx for the recommendation of bookdepository.
i never knew there's an online bookshop with free international shipping. i am now a happy *******. =) |
Dec 27 2010, 04:37 PM
940 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Tyvm for the replies! ^^
I notice that Amazon.com requires us to pay shipment fees of $13.00....that mean I the book I want to buy is $7.00, I need to pay $20.00?? Ty! Btw, although there is no shipment fee for http://www.bookdepository.co.uk/, but the fee is more expensive than amazon one... T_T |
Dec 27 2010, 05:44 PM
i noticed that too. the prices on bookdepository is higher compared to amazon.
then we'll just need to add books that we wanted in the cart, compared both shop, which is cheaper. 1) Buy from amazon(cheaper price for the books) + shipping costs. 2) Buy from bookdepository. More expensive books, but free shipping. And decide for ourselves, which is cheaper. Added on December 27, 2010, 5:46 pmand maybe if anyone find out any coupons for bookdepository, we could share them here. =) Added on December 27, 2010, 5:53 pmfound a 10% coupon for bookdepository. valid till 20/01/2011 : FCBZ10 http://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/36603 This post has been edited by khairolnizam: Dec 27 2010, 05:53 PM |
Dec 30 2010, 03:24 PM
14 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
2nd hand book seller - www.betterworldbooks.com
Try it, the books are rather quite new even though they are 2nd Hand. |
Dec 31 2010, 04:35 PM
www.betterworldbooks.com has free international shipping too! =)
Jan 12 2011, 06:58 PM
302 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Kota Kinabalu, Sabah |
hello all. New to this section, pleased to meet you all.
by the way, wanna ask something regarding the online bookstore, how do you all think about book depository? kindly share your experiences here (even it was stated before in the previous posts, but i just wanted some more feedback) i saw there's negative feedback about the website but i forgot the source. |
Jan 13 2011, 07:49 PM
662 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
Hi Aron
Have been using bookdepository for a while now, & am quite pleased. When you factor delivery costs, it's much cheaper than Amazon UK/ US & than the local bookstores. The one time I had a problem with a delivery (it was slow in coming), the customer service people were willing to give me an immediate refund / re-delivery. |
Jan 18 2011, 01:54 PM
167 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
Hey AronC,
I have nothing but praise for Book Depository. If there is any downside to it, it would only be that it ships each book as a separate package even if you place them in a single order. Doesn't hurt the wallet as the shipping is free but it makes the greenie in me annoyed. |
Jan 18 2011, 11:29 PM
10 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
hi guys, im gonna rush an order with bookdepository before the 20th so i can enjoy the discounts- i realised that mangas are so damn cheap compared to kino, which is like, the only place i know of which sells us-version manga.
however, one thing that's bugging me is the postal service. i stay in jb, and you know, all those things ive heard about poslaju... should i be concerned with poslaju? will my books arrive unharmed? have any of you ever lost your books thru poslaju? Added on February 1, 2011, 12:22 am QUOTE(melancholy @ Jan 18 2011, 11:29 PM) hi guys, im gonna rush an order with bookdepository before the 20th so i can enjoy the discounts- i realised that mangas are so damn cheap compared to kino, which is like, the only place i know of which sells us-version manga. no one????????/ however, one thing that's bugging me is the postal service. i stay in jb, and you know, all those things ive heard about poslaju... should i be concerned with poslaju? will my books arrive unharmed? have any of you ever lost your books thru poslaju? This post has been edited by melancholy: Feb 1 2011, 12:22 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0212sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:41 AM |