Dell XPS Series, Discuss everything about ur XPS

volrath
post Apr 19 2018, 09:23 AM

440 posts

I'm going to buy 9370 by this week (gonna look for best deal from LYN sellers)

I watched Pc World YouTube review, the guy said.. Surprisingly, the i5 version is already so fast, faster sometimes compared to i7 from other laptops. He did vigorous tests from several benchmark softwares to prove it.

Although I don't do movie/photo editing now, I'd like to have the capability to do it when I needed them. So is i7 a safe bet? Or i5 8th Gen is enough?

Mobility is super important, I move around alot.. So UHD may not be good for me, I want max battery life.. But it's just sad that I couldn't get 16gb ram/512 ssd variant on FHD model.

I had read and watched so many reviews for about 3 weeks now, I still feel this is the best one.. Maybe Surface Book 2 comes close though, but macam way too expensive liao.

Sorry for wall of text... Hope sifu here can shed some lights. Tq

EDIT: Another thing. If the rest of my team use MacBook, will this pose a great challenge in collaborating? For example, presentation deck, they use Keynote while I use PowerPoint, I know keynote can convert to ppt but will it have compatibility issue? Like standard fonts, alignment lari or something. Or excel formula, or word formatting...

This post has been edited by volrath: Apr 19 2018, 09:28 AM
volrath
post Jul 29 2018, 10:58 AM

440 posts

For XPS 15 9570, is undervolting and repasting thermal almost a must do when we early got it?

Seen forums and YouTube people been talking about this to fix the thermal throttling.. Why isn't this fixed by Dell?

Also the WiFi card, Killer 1535 is so bad people ditch em for an Intel instead.

I just find it weird a company such as Dell could let this happen despite users' common complain.

I understand XPS 15 isnt a gaming laptop, so these people complain because they expected XPS 15 to be doing more than what it was designed to do?

I plan to get one to use for work + leisure, and portability is one of my criteria coz I carry it in and out daily. I hope this is a good buy (despite having to resort to the above solutions to get the best out of this laptop).

Hope sifus here can clarify. Tq
volrath
post Jul 29 2018, 10:03 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Jul 29 2018, 08:50 PM)
UV can do in day1, repaste depend... if you feel UV still not enough then repaste can push more depand on what paste you using..., extreme tpye can choose liquid metal...

For WiFi 1535, i feel still OK, for normal youtube + webbrowsing not having lag, if you like can purchase intel 9260 from Taobao, quite cheap..

XPS is very good laptop, just because its dont had major issue, so ppl is looking on those minor...

XPS is NOT gaming laptop, but i can play Dota 2, Shadow of War, witcher 3 with just lower the setiing only....

XPS is compare to Macbook Pro!! Not GS65, Aero 15, i feel its best fit my daily need with its weight and power inside.

Maybe you can wait 11xx series GPU, but for 1150 + XPS may need wait until next year...
Thank you for your reply bro, also noticed you own a Dell XPS yourself. And UGPM! haha
volrath
post Jan 22 2019, 05:45 PM

440 posts

Hey guys,

I just noticed that I'm still running BIOS 1.3.1 haha (XPS 15 9570)

Did a check there's BIOS 1.7 but people on Reddit condemned this to death with weird fan activity.

Support Assist shows there's 1.6 and 1.7 for me to choose. Should I still upgrade despite the issues? Not that I really have significant problems with my old BIOS but that's probably because I have not experience better from newer BIOS, to be fair.

IDK what to do sad.gif

volrath
post Jul 17 2019, 06:53 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jul 8 2019, 11:07 PM)
Not just thermal issue only...there are way more issues which is unacceptable given its price
This is so true, I'm on the brink of selling my 9570 and get myself a new laptop. The BIOS issue, thermal throttling, fan issues...I had undervolted, repasted new thermal twice. Quite disappointed as I've paid a high price for this, sigh.

Other than the above, everything else is great. The keyboard and touch pad is so good, weight-wise is good, with low profile charging adapter.

But the mechanical-technical side of it, really make me sad.
volrath
post Jul 18 2019, 04:41 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jul 17 2019, 07:51 PM)
Thanks for sharing. Finally a user speaks about these issues

Yeah having powerful hardware with good battery life+portability is really a good concept, however X1 Extreme / P1 is just a much better choice (even though it also throttles when both CPU+GPU is under load, it has slightly better thermals and doesn't have VRM throttling)
These XPS legacy problems, you think would carry on? Is the new XPS using the same chassis? (coz it looks like it to me). Meaning, the same issue will most likely going to persist right?

0.0171sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:27 AM