CSL MI300, Low budget android with high spec

iipohbee
post Jan 20 2011, 10:12 PM

603 posts

Did some reads about this interesting phone.

Name might be Chua Soi Lek - CSL brand, but the internals is something well worth the money.

This phone spots the same processor which is inside your HTC Aria and Asus Garmin A10 phones.
The MSM7227 600MHz processor.

With the price of just about RM700, you get something for half the price.

Those who doesn't go for brands and know what they're buying will appreciate this phone.

It even have HSUPA 2mbps upload support and a digital compass.

Have you all find out the price of the HTC Aria and Asus-Garmin A10 yet?

iipohbee
post Jan 20 2011, 10:19 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(mokogero87 @ Jan 20 2011, 10:17 PM)
Both are still above rm1k..

This phone was not made by CSL, CSL just brought it to Malaysia..Spice is brand from India..
It is a Foxconn OEM phone.

Originally made exclusively for FET Taiwan - Commtiva z1

This post has been edited by iipohbee: Jan 20 2011, 10:20 PM
iipohbee
post Jan 22 2011, 01:07 PM

603 posts

The best and most stable ROMs by far is

Foxconn's Official Apanda F0X-3260-0-0002-A01 ROM

and

Firetrap's TwoNights 2.2.1

Anyhow new and normal users please avoid the official Foxconn ROM because you need Android's Developer SDK installed which is a very tedious thing to get the FASTBOOT command to work to enable the 600MHz overclock.

I recommend Firetrap's TwoNights 2.2.1.

**For new users attempting this mod your phones, you might one to try other releases other than Cyanogen because they are highly experimental which were meant for more experienced users.

Here're the fail proof and easy steps:

1) Install Clockwork Mod - ROM Manager and install the app in your phone.
Do a full backup of your current ROM

2) Install SUT 1.7
http://uploading.com/files/7942c5ef/SUTLR_v1.7.0.zip/
*This is a flashing app which is to be installed on your desktop computer

3) Download Firetrap TwoNights 2.2.1
http://uploading.com/files/9b72fb45/firetr...oNights221.rar/
Unrar the nb0 file on your main drive (e.g: c:\)

4)Put your phone on download mode by pressing RED(hangup button) + VolUp + PowerOn Button.
Your phone will enter download mode.Now Plug in your phone with the USB cable to your desktop.

5) Launch SUT Program you just installed. Select the location of the ROM's nb0 you just place and on the pull down menu below it, select "wipe user data". This will make a fresh install wiping all user data to ensure a smooth install.

6) Wait for your phone to reboot and there's your new custom install DONE RIGHT.

New Features in FireTrap TwoNights 2.2.1
Reference: Boston-Mania

-Root Enabled (Superuser.apk + su)
-Latest SetCPU 2.1 included for 600MHz overclocking
-Latest ADW Launcher
-Google Apps Included
-Just out less than 24hrs ago

This post has been edited by iipohbee: Jan 22 2011, 01:44 PM
iipohbee
post Jan 22 2011, 01:19 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(phyz @ Jan 22 2011, 01:18 PM)
Please use proper words.It up to anyone who love to use any rom they want to.

Just make this thing simple,if you want to used experimental,you may use the experimental rom but if you want the stable version just go for official one.

But if you don't want either,go for other smartphone using W7 or Mac.
Stick to the official and stable versions of ROMs.
You'll get less headaches.

EDIT:

This phone was made by Foxconn the same ones which manufactures your iPhones, iPads and Ipods..

If you stick with their official ROMs you're very likely to be safe because they are the OEM manufacturers themselves.

This post has been edited by iipohbee: Jan 22 2011, 01:24 PM
iipohbee
post Jan 22 2011, 01:29 PM

603 posts

Should be fine with the latest stable official releases.

They are more trustworthy and you are less likely to get malicious apps in them.

You will also get the feeling that your phone has been refreshed to a brand new one.

This post has been edited by iipohbee: Jan 22 2011, 01:30 PM
iipohbee
post Jan 22 2011, 01:37 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Jan 22 2011, 01:32 PM)
headache?
what kind of headache..
yeah.. Math is sure headache.. but u have to learn it. laugh.gif
have u tried CM mod? hmm.gif
I still prefer the official ROMs and feel that they are more refined for users.
The Foxconn Official ROM has everything much intact just like the official one from Google.

Gingerbread will have to wait until it gets an official stable release.

EDIT:
I guess I better edit my comments on the experimental Cyanogen mods which I stepped on some of their fans calling them guinea pigs.
My apologies there.

This post has been edited by iipohbee: Jan 22 2011, 01:42 PM
iipohbee
post Jan 22 2011, 08:00 PM

603 posts

Yup Firetrap's distributions are more often stable.

Once you get settled with a good ROM, stick with it until the next major release. Work on your apps collection instead.

I do not recommend you all to keep flashing your ROM or else your HP lifespan will be shorten considerably.
iipohbee
post Jan 22 2011, 08:11 PM

603 posts

The closest firmware to Google's stock(original firmware) would be Foxconn's APanda distribution.

2nd would be Firetrap's distribution. In this case the latest would be TwoNight release.
It comes with 600MHz overclock feature included with the latest SetCPU app.

Cyanogen distributions are more customized and may included many other experimental apps.

Would not recommend them to new users who does not certain of what they want or are not experience in getting their setup correctly done.

iipohbee
post Jan 23 2011, 12:41 PM

603 posts

Forget to mention to you all, most of the latest ROM would also upgrade the radio capabilities of the phone.

From Android 2.2.1 build ROM onwards, your phone would be able to support HSUPA speeds of upto 2mbps and 7.2mbps download.

You'll notice this improvement with the Firetrap's TwoNights firmware.
-Improved downloading speed and your uploads now support 2mbps.

Please do not keep flashing your ROM, it'll brick your phone and shorten its lifespan.
iipohbee
post Jan 23 2011, 01:00 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Jan 23 2011, 12:53 PM)
lets wait phyz test it out how long / many time  it can be flashing.. laugh.gif
Ha! rosak already then you know.

When you need to send back to Chua Soi Lek for repair, the replacement and waiting time is somethign you want to avoid.
iipohbee
post Jan 29 2011, 04:37 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(BlackKiraEW @ Jan 29 2011, 11:34 AM)
What rom is the most stable now ?? i like to use superbler 4.1 because it very smooth !
Foxconn's official 2.2 ROM

Firetrap's TwoNights

SuperBler 4.1

The latter 2 roms are based on Foxconn's official ROM and many things remain intact.
You will know when you plug in your phone for USB transfer for the first time.

Foxconn's original ROM has only 3 languages to select from:
English and Chinese characters.

Head to this page and read up the comments.
http://boston-mania.blogspot.com/2011/01/r...nights-221.html

Lot's of neh nehs there commenting though. tongue.gif

It's by far one of the most stable Froyo ROM.
They have reasons for not allowing App2SD in this version because this would cause slowdowns and stability issues.

Why? That's because the data transfers between the external SD and the phone might pose some slow transfer problems if the wrong Class microSD card is used.
iipohbee
post Jan 30 2011, 10:05 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ Jan 30 2011, 11:39 AM)
so jealous of sarawakians.. here in pg phones are always more exp.. ><
Many of them "sui for" or smuggled items escaping tax of course la. tongue.gif

Anyway hp now are tax free right?

Doesn't make sense because these items often reach Peninsular b4 your place.

Unless stolen items end up your place there??

Cannot be that cheap because CSL authorized dealers are insisting that the phone go for RM699 officially everywhere.

I'm also curious any memory card was included hmm.gif
iipohbee
post Jan 30 2011, 10:19 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(zyulander @ Jan 30 2011, 10:17 PM)
the csl authorized dealer sold em. promotion with that price includes (from what i've seen & heard)

csl road tour
csl christmas offer
rite now offer pre-cny..

no phoney phone shop.jz csl dealers..regular phone shop sell em for 750,899,999 max.

some say this last batch of stock enjoy this price...next stock might be a price hike
maybe csl authorized dealers here stole em from their friends at peninsular.if thats ur suggestion

the 599 price ads are in the local papers,anyway.
How come the CSL dealers are not selling with that price in Peninsular Malaysia?

Even in their catalogue also got no RM599 pricing wor..

They are selling RM699 without even the premium pack. rclxub.gif

CSL HQ is not even in East Malaysia and export of stocks across the South China Sea will not make it cheaper.

CSL HEADQUARTER MALAYSIA
Wisma CSL,
No. 10, Jln Jurunilai U1/20,
Hicom-Glenmarie Industrial Park,
40150 Shah Alam, Selangor,
Malaysia.

This post has been edited by iipohbee: Jan 30 2011, 10:21 PM
iipohbee
post Jan 30 2011, 11:01 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ Jan 30 2011, 10:53 PM)
Eh guys, i found that the screen protector that comes wit da phone is quite sucky, as though da screen is full of noise like a lousy captured photo

What other phone models' sp would fit our spice's screen?
errm because the phone is not popular, it's so rare to find one specifically for it.

But the CSL shop who sold me told me the closest is to find the iPhone 4 screen protector for it.
If you want to buy a good one buy the best iPhone 4 screen protector in the market and paste it on your MI-300
iipohbee
post Feb 2 2011, 09:34 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Feb 2 2011, 09:23 PM)
CSL good meh? no offence ><
Who cares when the phone you're buying came from the same manufacturer of your iphones/ipads..

Do you matter buying a non branded Intel Core i-7 vs a branded one both with the same specs but of different pricing?

This CSL model has the same Qualcomm MSM7227 processor as many other top of the line phones for less than 1/2 their prices.

So?
iipohbee
post Feb 3 2011, 07:24 PM

603 posts

You want to conserve battery?

Turn off data mode and set to GSM only(no UMTS).

Then turn your wifi on only when needed.

iipohbee
post Feb 6 2011, 02:11 PM

603 posts

You can't get bar code reading to work with this phone thanks to the absence of autofocus biggrin.gif

It's useless when it comes to bar code reading.

The camera is pretty much a toy.
iipohbee
post Feb 6 2011, 10:19 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Feb 6 2011, 09:42 PM)
try Quickmark..

the better one for me now..
( QR code work, but BAR.. as u say  blush.gif )

Added on February 6, 2011, 10:05 pmanyone successfully try build 30
Even with QR Codes, it's like almost impossible to get it right.

My Galaxy Tab could just detect QR codes in less than 2 secs..but this it took many times you can get it correct.

I'm not sure different program helps but this is due more to the autofocus function to improve accuracy.
iipohbee
post Feb 19 2011, 11:57 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(GameSky @ Feb 19 2011, 05:01 PM)
seems this phone is quite popular and better hmm.gif
might think to get this for starting..

Mi410 or Mi300?

Anyone know the current prices for both in Kuching????

seems i read that motorola "did" rebranded their phones..so why not i just use this one sweat.gif
256k colours kinda...but hows the screen display quality?
For the price of Mi410 you should be able to buy the MeizuM9 already.

Sharp ASV screen with Hummingbird processor. Power SGX540 with 3X the iPhone 4 GPU power.

iipohbee
post Feb 20 2011, 12:04 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(GameSky @ Feb 19 2011, 11:59 PM)
how much like that le hmm.gif

maybe next week survey2 on these csl liao laugh.gif
If you order online minus the shipping it's around RM1300.

0.0228sec    1.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:03 AM