10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Big 4 Recruitment Drive_v2, All things Big 4 + others

TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Sep 9 2012, 04:36 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

JB's a significantly smaller market since most msian PLCs and MNCs are based in KL, as such it's harder to get jobs in JB. PwC JB office is very small nia.. about 50-100 people, compared by our PwC KL has 1500++, as such, it's a lot harder to get into PwC JB. Simple mathematical odds, innit smile.gif
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Sep 13 2012, 09:06 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(thefridge @ Sep 12 2012, 06:29 PM)
What's the best dept in assurance pwc?
What's the pay for audit assistant year 2 in pwc with a degree, partial completion of acca?
Thanks for information if anyone can enlighten me !

Arigato...
Is pwc the hardest to enter among the big4s?
What are the requirements the hiring manager wil look at to secure an interview and the job?

Does pwc hr always take quite long to response?

Added on September 12, 2012, 6:32 pmWhich big4 is the most reputable and gives the best salary? I believe workload wise all big4s are hectic..
It seems to me you're already predetermined that you want to join PwC, even if I advise you against it.

But anyway,
1. PwC is the hardest (not because of the interview, but simply because PwC gets more applications than the rest, therefore the odds of them selecting you is lower).
All big 4s are equally selective, but the hurdle to meet to pre-qualify yourself has been getting lower of the past few years.

2. PwC HR will respond quickly, if they like your resume and your qualifications

3. Most reputable? I'd personally say all Big 4s are equally reputable. EY has the most KLSE listed companies. PwC has the large cap clients, KPMG has the global banks, and Deloitte has a very reputable tax department.

4. Best salary? NOT PwC. PwC traditionally has the lowest basic pay of all the big 4 firms. Why so? Despite the equal standing to employers, graduates somehow still perceive PwC to be the best, as such PwC has great bargaining power, which consequently result in PwC's pay being the lowest.

5. On how much an audit assistant with partial acca will get,
a. ACCA/CPA, whether you complete or not will not affect your pay by RM150. aka if you finished, you get Rm150 more.
b. Audit associates 1 (aka AAs with 1 year exp gets approximately Rm2.7-Rm2.9k, depending on your bargaining powers)

TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Sep 13 2012, 11:11 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(thefridge @ Sep 13 2012, 10:59 AM)
Eumi is more to entertainment technology oil n gas industries? Isn't financial services is very specialized too?

Haha then which should I choose? U guys are scaring me.

I just got called for assessment. It consists of numerical and TECHNICAL assessment.

Seniors, how will the TECHNICAL assessment be like? @.@ seems hard. Takkan they will ask transfer pricing thing?

And I thought its only numerical and English test.

Now I'm worried.
It's your career, you choose what you want. Nothing is easy, so we are not scaring you. We're just telling you your choices have real impact and real consequences. If you have doubts about whether you really want to do audit, go find somewhere else. I don't need juniors who has their heart floating somewhere, and gives me problems every other day.
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Sep 24 2012, 07:06 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

So u're the batch of people I see in the lift complaining about their flash can't work and hogging up the entire 15th floor cafe smile.gif
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Oct 15 2012, 11:43 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(juks @ Oct 15 2012, 11:37 AM)
Jst curious what is the percentage increment of salary upon confirmation for fresh grads in advisory?
Usually probationary period can vary from 3 to 6 months?
As far as I'm aware there's no increment on confirmation.
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Oct 15 2012, 02:31 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

14 days leave is normal too. Legal minimum is 8 days btw tongue.gif
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Oct 17 2012, 09:21 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(tank4869 @ Oct 16 2012, 07:55 PM)
Assurance - PwC or EY?
Both is good smile.gif I like EY
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Oct 30 2012, 11:51 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Go Petronas!!! (PwC-er here)
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Jan 20 2013, 12:15 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Jan 20 2013, 11:33 AM)
Hi, is it true that what makes big4 auditors so busy and work so long is because of needing to do so much sighting and vouching to supporting documents?

Pardon my insufficient knowledge, I'm just curious what is the main reason everyone work so long hours, even till after midnight in the office. Cuz everytime I ask, people just generally say its bcuz of the workload. But then specifically, what kind of work load? Hopefully someone here can enlighten me with more detailed explanation, thanks!
Your question is manifold.

a. We're often thrown to do something we don't know, so we often have to learn new things, and that takes up time.

b. Clients likes to give us our requested documents at the end of the day, at friday 5.30pm, and often the deadline is the next day. (waiting time inclusive)

c. Audit fees in Asia is pathetic (fee pressure, generally disregard for audit etc), therefore audit firms cannot afford to hire sufficient staff to meet the required deadlines.

d. Kiasu partners, resulting in extensive work in areas that may seem riskless.

e. Due to shortage of staff, learning time, seniors have to spend alot of time coaching, and often have to spend a 2nd shift to do their own work

f. Higher staff turnover resulting in the feedback loop that is item 'a' above.

g. Deadlines. Often audits have to be signed 2 months after the year end (especially for listed cos), and what happens is it trickles down.
Signing date 2 months, means group consol must be done 1.5 months before, subgroup consol 1 month before, audit finished 0.5 months before... u get the idea. The more complex the group, the less time each team has in each phase. And then imagine if something material changes at the bottom of the group, and it flows upwards...

And each phase there's all the working papers to update, consol worksheets to change, disclosures to update.. casting to recheck...
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Jan 20 2013, 01:50 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Jan 20 2013, 12:33 PM)
ok so based on ur answer, can I summarise the following as main causes of OTs?

1. to understand client's schedules and listings b4 being able to pluck figures into WP(cuz different client provide different format of schedules)
2. too much extensive testing, resulting in needing to do sighting to supporting docs for large amount of transactions
3. complex client group structure which require consol for each level instead of just the ultimate holding.
4. tight deadline for all of the 3 above.
Haha. Frankly, i think the above accounts for generally 60% of the problems la.
the remaining 40% is due to
a. Asians are just inefficient (we chit-chat, take long lunches, sit around facebooking)
b. High staff turnover - alot of learning time factored into it.
c. Asian's clients are generally not as competent.
d. Asian partners are very kiasi.
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 13 2013, 01:35 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(GreenSamurai @ Mar 13 2013, 01:11 PM)
That's a very big downgrade there. Why would you do that?
Probably family business and he is a nominee director.
He would do that, because parents generally want their kids to see the world, then only come back to do their family business. Outside perspective of big businesses (and big 4 is decent networking. Not the best.. but it's pretty alright)
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 13 2013, 09:13 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Dont worry. They will give u an offer letter with the confirmed date. Otherwise just pretend and ask to check on the offer letter
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post May 3 2013, 01:20 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(monev88 @ May 3 2013, 01:18 PM)
Can anyone tell me the updated salary for a fresh grad with Masters degree in EY Tax? (or any big 4)

Also, say for example a quoted salary is RM2700, does that mean it includes EPF? (i.e after EPF deductions, is salary less than RM2700?)
a. Masters - no extra
b. Salary of 2.7k is ur basic. Take home pay will be less than 2.7k because of the employee's portion of EPF and then any other payments (SOCSO etc)
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post May 3 2013, 01:44 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(monev88 @ May 3 2013, 01:41 PM)
Thanks for that.

I got an offer for 2.7k. Damn I thought having a Masters will make a little difference salary wise. That equates to roughly about 2.3k take home pay after EPF deductions etc. FML

How bout progression? Are associates promoted yearly and how much salary increment will there be usually?
It's best you ask your firm's progression structure as to how it works. Generally though (and I don't think this is true for every company), progression is annual (assuming u meet the progression criteria..), and promotion every 2 or 3 years. That said, progression in tax after a while slows down, especially during the consultant - senior consultant range (ie ur 4th year onwards).

TSThanatosSwiftfire
post May 6 2013, 11:18 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

The days of 5 months are long gone sad.gif
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post May 6 2013, 11:43 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(YH90 @ May 6 2013, 11:36 PM)
"A" graders get 5 months+ bonus at PwC.
Last year, yes. But with the new high fixed, low variable model, that 5 month bonus is not gonna be there any more sad.gif
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Jun 2 2013, 06:06 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Once you go past senior, there is no gap between ACCA and non-ACCA....
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Jun 3 2013, 12:06 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Are u a recruiter?
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Jun 3 2013, 09:23 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(juks @ Jun 3 2013, 05:33 AM)
just want to benchmark different big4 companies.
Kindly share.
Its for everyone`s knowledge here as well.
Of course, please be aware that the pay is not everything.
Really sound like recruiter language...
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Jun 5 2013, 10:08 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Lol lucky you. sad.gif I'm busy all year and I feel guilty going on leave ><

10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0581sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:06 AM