HTC Desire Official Thread V7, FAQ Updated (7-Jan)

dvinez
post Dec 15 2010, 09:10 AM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

hi, new desire user here, but its an slcd set, screen like gloomy..
installed angry bird & season and it is fun and smooth biggrin.gif
im so glad im switched from symbian to android, hehe.

soon, i need help when i have time to read to root.
btw, yesterday from 7pm to 12am i keep press this and that non stop, battery from full become 20%. issit normal ?
dvinez
post Dec 15 2010, 02:09 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

nice, u have white desire there sis smile.gif
btw im from wmaju also, if u learnt how to root, root mine too tongue.gif
too lazy and dont have much time to learn.

hehe

This post has been edited by dvinez: Dec 15 2010, 03:20 PM
dvinez
post Dec 15 2010, 02:54 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

dear bros, anyone can tell me how to transfer nokia contacts to desire ?
i had back up those contacts from nokia, all ended as vcf file. eg: mr.pro.vcf

i googled and read that android firmware above v2 should have internal import/export for vcf files. but, i cannot find it.

then i downloaded vcardIO to transfer. in order to read those files, i need to have file manager. downloaded and installed too.

but, i need to transfer it 1 by 1 and 95% of the contacts cannot be transfered. (directory cannot found error, mostly happen on vcf file with 2-3 contact number.)

dvinez
post Dec 15 2010, 03:17 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

yesterday i browse on market, a lot of apps require rooting..

wondering if there is any app can have 1 click rooting for total noob

rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by dvinez: Dec 15 2010, 03:23 PM
dvinez
post Dec 15 2010, 03:18 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Dec 15 2010, 03:04 PM)
Usually I download the movie straight away put into my Desire and watch very clear..Use rock player, it can play almost all video files I believe..
rock player ? nice..does this means it can play most file format and resolution ?
dvinez
post Dec 15 2010, 03:25 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

yesterday i browse on market, a lot of apps require rooting..

wondering if there is any app can have 1 click rooting for total noob
if got pls share..all looks hard from the wall of texts...very eager to root ! tongue.gif
dvinez
post Dec 15 2010, 03:39 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

nice bro...seems simple and easy.

my desire on froyo, is it suitable ?
slcd/amoled also can ? cos i read somewhere slcd rooting is different, but i cant understand at all.

step 3 & 4 for what ? important ? sorry a lot questions..

wondering how long it takes to become pro...last time symbian easy become pro lol. tongue.gif
dvinez
post Dec 15 2010, 03:52 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

ya it sucks, had ngage>6630>n70>3250>n73>n78>n95>n95-8>n97>x6

n97 mini was the worst one, sorry nokia i cant no longer cheat my self and fight for you. dont understand their r&d can release that kind of shit.

their attitude made me become coward to try N900, meego.

if no android, rather go iphone and let ppl say im i-fark lol.
dvinez
post Dec 15 2010, 04:05 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

QUOTE(jamieshin @ Dec 15 2010, 03:42 PM)
haa.. symbian.. i oso from symbian user.. i dun like at all.. n slow~

wanna ask bout installing papago need how much space for tis software?

any link tat can easily understand n install it??
maybe can read read our papago thread
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1215073
dvinez
post Dec 15 2010, 04:12 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Dec 15 2010, 04:05 PM)
and i thought im the only one bored with symbian already... tongue.gif

dvinez : with unrevoked,all set can be root now...no need pening2 like before already...you just follow per instruction and you wont go wrong...i root using this exact method with the help of the video in that site... biggrin.gif

jamie : you need at least 500mb for the maps...Google is your friend...get what i mean...??? biggrin.gif *Jack Sparrow version looms the Net*
*phish phoosh phish phoosh*
luke,i am your father...  laugh.gif
nice, this save me a lot of work to study and pening. thanks ! rclxms.gif
project list hehe

1. root
2. papago
3. cfw
dvinez
post Dec 15 2010, 04:13 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

QUOTE(jamieshin @ Dec 15 2010, 04:09 PM)
i from nk 3100 > 2100 > SE (forget wat model.. flip 1 - thn kena stolen) > SE w580i > nk 5530xm (suck!) > HTC!!! horray~~~~ smile.gif

Added on December 15, 2010, 4:11 pm

hmm.. tis 1 gt teach hw to install?
teach install 1 need google..and i think cannot post here..
or buy original one... flex.gif
dvinez
post Dec 15 2010, 04:19 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

thanks for the tips biggrin.gif
what are the recommended size and speed of memory card for desire?
dont want it to become laggy or problems..

dvinez
post Dec 15 2010, 04:47 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

QUOTE(tyja @ Dec 15 2010, 04:28 PM)
as long you do all the thing..you are in correct lane. even you cannot load your rom..dont afraid..just flash flash flash like hazril advise..your device will not break easily..you bought thing more than 1.5k. so it got quality worth 1.5k.not same like 10 ringgit thing..
bro, i bought n97 mini more than 1.5k and it is shit lol. non working touch screen, cannot boot and laggy. they cant even fix those until now.

QUOTE(hazril @ Dec 15 2010, 04:39 PM)
im using kingmax 8gb class 10...so far so good...
kenot tahan already ehh bro.... laugh.gif
owh ya...miss the most important step...too engrossed in reading latest post in the rom section... tongue.gif
how much it cost hehe..and anyone can help me about the contact ?
to transfer vcf files from nokia contact backup, maybe u guys didnt see that post earlier.

dvinez
post Dec 15 2010, 05:11 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Dec 15 2010, 04:54 PM)
price should range around 80-100...so need to rajin2 find the best seller... biggrin.gif

i think you just copy all the vcf file into your phone then import it in the People app...
where do i put on memory card..? i put root/contacts/all vcf files.
open people click where lol..kepala pusing...arghhh

class10 means transfer at pc more fast right ? or at hp also can achieve class 10 ?
maybe go classs 4/6 cos cheaper hehe..tight month after bought desire cry.gif
dvinez
post Dec 15 2010, 05:14 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

QUOTE(chaos415 @ Dec 15 2010, 05:01 PM)
Haha... so true, friend. Lost my Desire to gf cos of Angry Birds. Now put it on the iPhone so she is happy.

@dvinez - or you can import it in Gmail and sync
angry birds is fun tongue.gif
will try gmail method if people app cant..cos i dont really use gmail...

and bro, any thread discuss nice games ?
looking for those like angry birds, plant vs zombie, diner dash, cooking mama..that kind of simple game.. drool.gif

dvinez
post Dec 15 2010, 05:21 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

thanks ! without all bro help and share i think lama lama also cant find solution. googled and it doesnt help. tongue.gif
dvinez
post Dec 15 2010, 10:26 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

need help regarding transfer nokia contact vcf files to android...

tried the method put all vcf files on memory card root.
open the people app..no export/import button..only got 3 tab..contact,favourite,log..
dvinez
post Dec 16 2010, 08:49 AM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

bro i got 1 big problem, when plugged into usb, it shows only charging and showing usb debugging on top left only.
it didnt detect hdd, sync or any. it didnt ask me which usb function to use too when i have it enabled.

this happen to one of desire, another set i have uses the same cable and it function as it should.

help cry.gif issit the phone problem ?

QUOTE(chaos415 @ Dec 15 2010, 11:46 PM)
@dvinez - Ah, I see, you have different contacts in different vcf... can you export to one file?

solved, i open ppl app, and the click menu. can import all vcf files. (i discovered a lot of app, when we click menu will have options, totally ignorant about this earlier)

@jamieshin - If I understand you correctly, saying "root directory" means the top most level of the volume of media or disk that you are using. If that is right, then you just use Astro to copy the file to the topmost directory
jamie, root directory means, just put in out-est side of the memory card. no need put inside any folder.

This post has been edited by dvinez: Dec 16 2010, 08:52 AM
dvinez
post Dec 16 2010, 09:20 AM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

enabled ask already ticked.

it never asked me to select charging/hdd or sync.

from the usb option, i tried to set it to hdd/sync, but still same.

it just didnt detect the hdd/sync at all. but it can detect only "usb debugging" on top of left. (top of left doesnt show "charging only" too)

issit possible that the usb bricked ? i googled and usb can be bricked but i dont understand at all.

This post has been edited by dvinez: Dec 16 2010, 09:30 AM
dvinez
post Dec 16 2010, 09:32 AM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

QUOTE(chaos415 @ Dec 16 2010, 09:28 AM)
@dvinez - set the default to ask when you connect. Settings > Connect to PC. May also be the cable and PC drivers.

@jamieshin - Go to mail. Choose your Hotmail. Then Menu>More>Settings>General Settings and set it to be default
as i said in my first post, i already have "ask me" enabled. also i tested with another desire with same pc and cable and it works as it should.

0.4038sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:17 AM