4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V4, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

zstan
post May 1 2011, 02:10 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Apr 30 2011, 08:41 PM)
Hi guys, I'm looking for a camera, budget approximately 1k (can stretch abit) for travel use since I'm going overseas in a couple of months. Prefer a small sized one.. and probably quite a bit of night shooting.

Any good recommendations?
sony tx-5~
zstan
post May 1 2011, 07:52 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(cwc77 @ May 1 2011, 01:01 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :mirrorless camera
Budget : RM3000 for twin kitlens
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Sony or Olympus
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape and Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : NEX5 or EPL2
Any specific features u want? : easy to use & photo quality

Please recommend. TQ.
Sony for the superb sensor, Olympus for the range of lenses available with autofocus available. Your call.

QUOTE(onelove89 @ May 1 2011, 02:05 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget : RM3000-RM4000
Your Location : Doesn't matter
Preferable brand : Canon/Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : scenery (cos I'm on an island in aussie with VERY pretty scenery =D) and people
Any specific models in mind? : D5100, D90, D7000?(out of budget), not sure of canon so pls advice
Any specific features u want? : not much, pretty much mid range DSLR will do. I've got a TZ10 currently, feel that it's not enough for me at the moment, so upgrading it to dslr.

thanks for the advice and suggestions! ^^ I'm really keen on D5100, but any feedback or suggestions will help a lot. thanks.
Maybe you can have a look at Sony a55 or a580 as well. 3k can buy twin lens body and one external flash gun for 1.2k.
zstan
post May 21 2011, 10:15 AM

15,856 posts

Anybody owns a Sony tx10 here? Any comments about the camera? unsure.gif
zstan
post May 28 2011, 02:48 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Jason3399 @ May 28 2011, 12:23 PM)
guys what is the best price u can get for Sony NEX-3? i found one cost RM1799 free casing, leather neckstrap and 8GB memory card.

is this camera on par with LX-5?
If you are talking about image quality, high iso performance then nex 3 is very much better than the lx 5.

However, lx 5 offers much more manual controls compared to the nex 3.

Up to your preference.
zstan
post Jun 10 2011, 10:04 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(martinchan @ Jun 9 2011, 03:04 PM)
Dear All lowyat member

I a newbie in photografer and would like to own a Nikon SLR camera, after do some research, my final decision was D7000 or D300s, but still need some advice from sifu around here, i using D90 previously. please help .... thanks in advance.... nod.gif
If you are still a newbie I suggest you spend the money to the attend photography workshops. The d90 is already a very good camera.
zstan
post Jun 10 2011, 07:39 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(kento @ Jun 10 2011, 11:21 AM)
D90 price is around 3k?
i think that is not 'newbie' price...for pro?  sweat.gif
but i dont know..educate me biggrin.gif
If you read his post properly he already mentioned he has a d90.
zstan
post Jun 11 2011, 10:40 AM

15,856 posts

The canon 600D has better manual controls compared to Sony but sony's video autofocus is the fastest and accurate. But with 2.5k budget I think u need to consider Sony a33. 600D need at least 3k I think.
zstan
post Jun 11 2011, 02:17 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(MrKingsley @ Jun 11 2011, 12:30 PM)
if i not wrong... sony a55 also around 2.5k right ...
Depends where you buy la. But don't forget, you may still need to consider the cost to buy other accessories like extra batteries, filters and memory cards and a basic cleaning kit. so if your budget is 2.5k, it's not wise to spend all that money on the camera and lens alone.

Unless 2.5k is just your budget for the camera and lens but you still allocate another sum of money for other things.
zstan
post Jun 11 2011, 06:14 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(xiiao1047 @ Jun 11 2011, 05:37 PM)
Well, RM2.5K is just for camera + lens. =D  smile.gif
He'll get the accessories later, right now he just wants to know about which camera is better.
So for the 600D, is manual controls (ISO etc etc)  really useful for taking videos? Will manual focusing be hard for a beginner? =D
If you know what are you doing with the settings then yes it's very useful. Otherwise you might screw up your whole video
Clip.

Manual focus might be quite tricky for beginners. But still manageable I guess?
zstan
post Jun 11 2011, 09:21 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(xiiao1047 @ Jun 11 2011, 06:22 PM)
Edit: No image stabilization for 600D. Guess my friends has to train with steady hands.
The kit lens got IS what...
zstan
post Jun 12 2011, 01:43 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Jun 12 2011, 01:05 PM)
if u really like the video, then the flip screen is very nice to have especial for video shooting. it also come with wireless flash support for this price, plus some creative filters biggrin.gif

Added on June 12, 2011, 1:09 pm

all pro using manual focus in filming. all hollywood director use manual focus tongue.gif

but can say having fast auto focus is a plus feature eg: Sony n panny gh2. i am now using 600D + 50mm smile.gif

Added on June 12, 2011, 1:11 pm
axx got over heat issue. i never use, it depend on the weather temperature and how long the recording. i no dare to try. and sony lcd screen is old design
If you off the in body image stabilising it can last 29 minutes as well.

And what do youmean by theLCD screen having an old design? kindly elaborate further. Thanks.
zstan
post Jun 12 2011, 05:16 PM

15,856 posts

So the design that you 'prefer' is rightly called the 'latest design'? Right.
zstan
post Jun 12 2011, 09:05 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Jun 12 2011, 07:24 PM)
Is sony a33/55 considered hybrid dslr? any idea what's the different between these and the traditional dslr? And is the pic quality the same? I'm asking cos i'm really interested in sony dslr, I love the ergonomics =D UI is easy too.
The difference is, a DSLR uses an optical view finder whereas in DSLT it uses an electronic view finder. Some may not like the evf though.

Another difference is, when u take a picture with a DSLR, the mirror will flip up where as the mirror dYoesn't move in a DSLT because it's translucent.

Picture quality wise no difference la.
zstan
post Jul 10 2011, 03:38 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(fadzioriq @ Jul 10 2011, 01:27 PM)
canon camera all have AF motor inside~but nikon dont have motor if the camera is d5100 and below~with that price you can get plenty of choices from canon model~just go to the camera shop and give it a hand try to get the feeling~ smile.gif
specific a bit la.. canon's LENS all have AF motor inside..their body no motor one... wink.gif
zstan
post Jul 10 2011, 04:57 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(ShinAS @ Jul 10 2011, 04:47 PM)
if u want upgrade ur camera, canon is the right camera for u..
if u want buy one time (1set, KIT lens n thats it.) u dont want upgrade anything in the future.. choose nikon.
if u want go to "PRO" level.. it means u cant use standard equipment.. sure u choose canon rather than nikon.
if u want natural picture (means similar what u see with ur eyes..) choose canon...
if u want people call it "sharper" the colour.. u choose nikon.

actually u cant compare between canon n nikon.. coz they have different market target.. if u are only want DSLR.. buy standard KIT nikon..
if u want really "pro" level image and looks natural... canon is the best..
but for who new in photography world..
i must say that.. good stuff never come with instant or short period use...
u must learn about  that stuff like u know well ur wife or ur gf.. then u can produce awesome picture from ur DSLR..
even u use 1D mark IV from canon that cost 1 car.. if u not know well, u never can produce better image than iphone 4 did...
so... every stuff has good n bad point.. depends on how u know the stuff so u can use it to the maximum potential.^^
nice theory there. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
zstan
post Jul 15 2011, 11:47 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(leadaxer @ Jul 14 2011, 02:07 PM)
Thanks for the advice sniper.

Any other thoughts?
Have a look at Sony hx9
zstan
post Aug 6 2011, 01:07 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(cyril85 @ Aug 6 2011, 10:49 AM)
anyone can enlightenment me ? thank you
What phone are you using? What do you do with your pics? Do you just post on Facebook?
zstan
post Aug 11 2011, 09:06 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(nabzblitz @ Aug 11 2011, 05:52 AM)
This isn't a very responsive thread is it? lol
If you like to have more manual controls then go for the g12. the tilt screen is useful well.

Performance wise both almost the same la.
zstan
post Aug 11 2011, 01:58 PM

15,856 posts

Sorry to say that cameras don't have international warranty...
zstan
post Aug 13 2011, 12:04 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(cyberixus @ Aug 12 2011, 09:08 PM)
Thanks for the recommendation.

One question ... can you half press the shutter to lock focus and then recompose the photo before taking the shot?
Yes you can but you might get wrong focus as you already shifted the focus plane. Not advisable unless you know what you are doing. smile.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0467sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:42 AM