Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V4, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

heinlein
post Mar 16 2011, 04:56 PM

1,794 posts

QUOTE(Hemohemo @ Mar 16 2011, 04:41 PM)
I found the comparison of D7000 D90 and D300s

http://www.dpreview.com/previews/nikond7000/

Check it out. I think D7000 fits the most ^^
I will omit the D90 in the comparison since I feel that D7000 is more like a successor to D90. In sport photography or fast moving subject, D300s is better since it has more cross-type focus point, faster burst mode and less shutter lags.

D7000 has better performance in low light photography or night photography and it has more features for taking videos. That is what I can say about them.
heinlein
post Mar 18 2011, 03:59 PM

1,794 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Mar 18 2011, 03:54 PM)
Just make sure you don't shoot anything pitch black, like this pic by a "paid professional photographer" with "7 years of experience"

Could you share with us how to take photo under that situation whereby all the lights are off and only lit up with a few candles? I mean capture that moment, the mood whereby dun want the flashgun spoil the whole thing?
heinlein
post Mar 18 2011, 05:32 PM

1,794 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Mar 18 2011, 04:14 PM)
Well, this is the worst case scenario that any photographers will face - No lights. The candles generally won't be bright enough to lit the couples in a creative way, the bride and the bridegroom will still look severely underexposed, because there is just insufficient light illuminating them.

Any experienced photographers will tell you - No light = No Photography.

That is where we are left with 2 options to create light.

1. Either you have to negotiate with the hotel/restaurant manager to use at least some sort of a spotlight to create a romantic/grand feel. Let's face it. It's not just about your photographs. It just doesn't make sense if the guests couldn't be able to see the lovely bride where she would have already spent more than 2 hours with make-up to make herself look pretty during the wedding march itself. You can still go without flash.

2. Yes. Use a flashgun. I'm not joking. I'm serious. That's the last resort you have to take when all else fails.

Flashgun, contrary to many beliefs, makes a photo look harsh and unnatural, very cave-like. However, if flash is used correctly, could yield very interesting results. Think studio lighting. If you position your flash in such a way it illuminates your subject in a directional way (maybe from sides, etc), it can yield artistic results. Also if the flashgun is used correctly, it can dramatically create the mood of the shot while not ruining it.
It's really hard for me to capture this kind of photo (btw, Im not the photographer of tat photo). Tripod is out of the question since the subject is constant moving. Need to find out what are the usable ISO with acceptable noise. I would use fastest lens at disposal for exposing enough lights and use a continuous focus and burst mode. I can't think of better dslr for the job except D3S. Correct me if I'm wrong.
heinlein
post Mar 18 2011, 07:33 PM

1,794 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Mar 18 2011, 05:52 PM)
That's why you hire professional photographers to do the job. icon_idea.gif
I couldnt have agree more. rclxms.gif
heinlein
post Mar 29 2011, 05:18 PM

1,794 posts

QUOTE(d3v073d_50uL @ Mar 29 2011, 12:07 PM)
still waitng for anyone to tell me the differences between sony nex-3 compared to entry level dlsr such as canon 1000d or even nikon d3000.

I know that nex series is not a dslr, but if anyone can tell me the differences in term of picture quality, ease of uses, lenses and functioanlity.

Thanks smile.gif
Nex series has the size of APS sensor and the reason why it's not a DSLR is becus it doesn't have a mirror that reflex the image to the viewfinder. That what technically makes it not a DSLR. In term of lens, Nex has less lens and you need a A mount adapter to use sony alpha DSLR's lens. Easy to use? Maybe depends on individual, I on the other hand dun find it easy to use. I search the buttons everywhere when I'm trying out the demo unit at Sony Centre.

The picture quality seems good to me from its lens. I don't know if it looks as good on pc though since I didn't see uploaded photos from Nex camera
heinlein
post Mar 30 2011, 01:07 PM

1,794 posts

QUOTE(are_yee @ Mar 30 2011, 11:42 AM)
wanna ask ur opinion, dunno which one to buy..

1)canon 60d 18-200mm
2)canon 7d 18-135mm
3)nikon d7000 18-105mm

nikon d7000 18-105mm
heinlein
post Mar 30 2011, 02:59 PM

1,794 posts

QUOTE(are_yee @ Mar 30 2011, 02:38 PM)
may i know why?  hmm.gif
newer, better and cheaper
heinlein
post May 20 2011, 10:55 AM

1,794 posts

QUOTE(ganabathi @ May 20 2011, 07:49 AM)
hi guys need your guide

im planning to buy a dslr camera, my budget is very limited and 1000d cross my mind, my plan is to buy 1000d and get 1 extra tamron lense with speedlite...

when i asked my best friend bout it.. he say dont buy 1000D it is a lousy camera.. he asked me to get a compaq camera powershot s90 or sony a390 or a290

which is a best buy...

* used 1000d + 18-55mm + Tamron AF 70-300mm

* new sony a390 or a290

* used 3000D

* new 1100D

* or canon compaq camera powershot s95

all the price more less same rm100 plus minus

by the way im just a beginner
You never know the condition unless you really tried it out for a week for 2nd hand dslr. Better get new with warranty. Just get a new 1100D and yea it's cheap built camera but it still does what it is intended to be. Just the ISO performance and burst mode are not that ideal compare to the other better DSLR out there. Very plasticky and light-weight too and if you attach a 70-300 lens, you might lose its balance since the lens is probably heavier than the body itself.

This post has been edited by heinlein: May 20 2011, 10:59 AM
heinlein
post May 27 2011, 01:07 PM

1,794 posts

QUOTE(zul90 @ May 27 2011, 01:00 PM)
both on the same price range.
actually looking for something that frenly user.
easy to use.as i am a beginner.

if u Mr. Fiqz4ce and Mr. VaLeNrUdOn.
which 1 would u choose.D5100 or 550D?
and why?

Edited *btw D5100 doesnt have built-in motor rite?
I will choose 550D. Reason - I'm more comfortable with it and satisfy with the overall quality it gives, the lens are cheaper too.
heinlein
post May 30 2011, 12:32 PM

1,794 posts

QUOTE(mockv1per @ May 29 2011, 04:00 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : PNS
Budget : RM900-1.2k
Your Location : SWAK
Preferable brand : Canon or Sony
Type of photography u want to do : potrait, scenery
Any specific models in mind? : IXUS 300 HS, Sony WX7/TX10/HX5V
Any specific features u want? :
QUOTE(blackcsc @ May 29 2011, 05:06 PM)
Dear all,i'm looking for a camera, currently got 3 model in mind, Canon G12, S90 / S95 ? and Lumix LX5.. Is S95 better than S90 ? The s95 outlook seems dont attract me

Anyone can recommend which is the best ? Any other better camera around that price range ? Thanks
S95 is powerful and compact. You get more control for it. Other alternatives you could get are Olympus XZ-1 and Panasonic LX5. My preference goes to S95 since it's lighter and easier to carry around.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0420sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:07 PM