The Hunger Games Movie, From the book by Suzanne Collins

apocalypxe
post Apr 6 2012, 11:39 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(elm0001 @ Apr 6 2012, 07:22 PM)
oh, i think you dont know what the careers are in this movie.

the careers have been training for the hunger games since when they're small.
they are not like peeta, who helped his parents in bakery shop and bake cakes.

the careers are stronger than him. you think he can do all those without experience -.-

when it comes to life and death and being trapped in a game where only 1 alive and the rest killed. I dont think the people will consider who were they or experienced enough. more elaboration on the term killed?: stabbed, beheaded, exploded, shot to death, poisoned etc; waugh think all of this just makes me go insane enough to use whatever i have to survive. I mean, if i know i dont hv the chance to survive, why bother to play along?

It's the basic instinct of survival. Even when u accidentally touched a boiled hot water, u will shove ur hand away. It's all in programmed in your mind, experience is just to enhance and sharpen the skill.

chrommed
post Apr 6 2012, 11:39 PM

189 posts

just saw it and it kinda meh..thought going to have some plot twist somewhere but the good guy turns out to be good and the bad guy turns out to be bad. the ending is bad..for me..very anticlimax..its like everyone live happily ever after.. (except for that strange beard guy tongue.gif )

5 out of 10 for me.

n no im not gonna read the book.
neuroneuster
post Apr 7 2012, 01:11 AM

423 posts

i think this movie is interesting, of course it wont be as good as the book ( havent read it though ) but I like the actors. The ending is probably not satisfactory , that s why i need to wait for chasing fire next year.

OwlosaurusLass
post Apr 7 2012, 04:40 AM

83 posts

I think Jennifer Lawrence portrayed Katniss so so well! smile.gif
Eisenmeteor
post Apr 7 2012, 10:12 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

QUOTE(chrommed @ Apr 6 2012, 11:39 PM)
just saw it and it kinda meh..thought going to have some plot twist somewhere but the good guy turns out to be good and the bad guy turns out to be bad. the ending is bad..for me..very anticlimax..its like everyone live happily ever after.. (except for that strange beard guy tongue.gif )

5 out of 10 for me.

n no im not gonna read the book.
Not exactly happy ending,remember what Haymitch told Katniss?
elm0001
post Apr 7 2012, 11:30 AM

I'm Tyrion Lannister's whore
998 posts

QUOTE(neuroneuster @ Apr 7 2012, 01:11 AM)
i think this movie is interesting, of course it wont be as good as the book ( havent read it though ) but I like the actors. The ending is probably not satisfactory , that s why i need to wait for chasing fire next year.
catching fire* biggrin.gif

Anyway, i think it's confirmed that Gary Ross won't be directing Catching Fire.
Now they have to find another director.

http://www.imdb.com/news/ni25785099/

This post has been edited by elm0001: Apr 7 2012, 11:30 AM
xy2610
post Apr 7 2012, 12:03 PM

Bachelor of Lostology (Hons)
1,566 posts

I enjoyed the movie. Very entertaining and keep me on the edge of my seat most of the time even though I know the ending.

8/10
defaultname365
post Apr 7 2012, 01:06 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

One should never penalize the audience for not knowing the source material of a movie they are watching. Everyone goes into the cinema just the same, the ones who know the source material and those who do not. Heck, there are plenty of movies you would have probably watched that are based on comic books/books/stage/radio play but you might not even be aware of.

"The Hunger Games" adaptation onto film was good but never great. It did not capture all the emotions you would have wanted especially those who have read the book. And screen time for smaller characters are lacking. Those who know the books wanted more, but those who did not know the books would obviously be judging the film based only on what they saw - which is both a good and a bad thing.

As a film on its own, not comparing it to the books, it is a good watch. Jennifer Lawrence obviously is the driving force with her incredible performance but the rest of the film is just about OK. If you dwell into the smaller details (err... the whole 'why Peeta didn't kill them' thing) you will definitely not reach any satisfactory explanation... unless you read the book. I'm not saying you have to, but one wouldn't really reach a satisfactory answer to their burning questions.

I'm in favor towards it not being a very effective film adaptation, but it is never a bad film. I enjoyed it very much and am looking forward to "Catching Fire".

QUOTE(elm0001 @ Apr 7 2012, 11:30 AM)
catching fire* biggrin.gif

Anyway, i think it's confirmed that Gary Ross won't be directing Catching Fire.
Now they have to find another director.

http://www.imdb.com/news/ni25785099/
My pick - Alfonso Cuaron ("Children of Men", "Prisoner of Azkaban"). I love his realist film making style, and if you've got fair bit of violence then all the more effective. I didn't really like Gary Ross' direction.

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Apr 7 2012, 01:09 PM
chrommed
post Apr 7 2012, 02:29 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Apr 7 2012, 10:12 AM)
Not exactly happy ending,remember what Haymitch told Katniss?
what did he said to Katniss? Sorry I couldn't remember.

Anyway, through out while watching the movie I kept imagining some plot twist going to happen, e.g Peeta gonna somehow betray everyone and be the winner, or Katniss manage to escape the hunting zones and somehow able to get back to the city, or even Haymitch did something in the backstage trying to sabotage the game and somehow release every survivor left from that game, and destroy the game once and for all..

but..yeah maybe the next movie would be better..I'm looking forward to it but might not watch it on the silver screen tho.. smile.gif
Nekochan
post Apr 7 2012, 11:06 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(chrommed @ Apr 7 2012, 02:29 PM)

Anyway, through out while watching the movie I kept imagining some plot twist going to happen, e.g Peeta gonna somehow betray everyone and be the winner, or Katniss manage to escape the hunting zones and somehow able to get back to the city, or even Haymitch did something in the backstage trying to sabotage the game and somehow release every survivor left from that game, and destroy the game once and for all..

but..yeah maybe the next movie would be better..I'm looking forward to it but might not watch it on the silver screen tho.. smile.gif
You will be surprise in Catching Fire. Lol. Somehow more than one of your imagination up there come true. Wakaka.

QUOTE(defaultname365)
My pick - Alfonso Cuaron ("Children of Men", "Prisoner of Azkaban"). I love his realist film making style, and if you've got fair bit of violence then all the more effective. I didn't really like Gary Ross' direction.

I love Alfonso Cuaron who directed Prisoner of Azkaban. It was the best HP movie in my opinion.
Eisenmeteor
post Apr 8 2012, 02:59 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

QUOTE(chrommed @ Apr 7 2012, 02:29 PM)

Haymitch told Katniss that her action of trying to commit double suicide has angered Panem something like that..Basically, Snow doesnt like that thing..a rebellious-ish thing..

dlct87
post Apr 8 2012, 01:29 PM

474 posts

http://www.deadline.com/2012/04/sources-ga...hunger-games-2/

well this report claimed that Ross hasn't withdrew from directing the sequels
mitodna
post Apr 8 2012, 03:21 PM

14,039 posts

Peeta could just poison them when he allied with them. Lol.

Didn't know the film is long, wish they explain more sub characters.
hvk13
post Apr 9 2012, 10:38 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(elm0001 @ Apr 6 2012, 07:22 PM)
oh, i think you dont know what the careers are in this movie.

the careers have been training for the hunger games since when they're small.
they are not like peeta, who helped his parents in bakery shop and bake cakes.

the careers are stronger than him. you think he can do all those without experience -.-
Again their tactics is utter crap. For some1 who is stronger, he sure got his ass thrown by Peeta. When they cornered Katniss instead of listening to the advice of a little bakery boy, juz burn the freakin tree down. For a person who has trained their whole life in survival hunting. Of all things they run around cheering n shouting giving their position away.

Like I said, their tactics is tahi.

Planting a bomb under your 1 big pile of valuable supplies? "Genius"

This post has been edited by hvk13: Apr 9 2012, 10:39 AM
n00b13
post Apr 9 2012, 11:13 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(hvk13 @ Apr 9 2012, 10:38 AM)
When they cornered Katniss instead of listening to the advice of a little bakery boy, juz burn the freakin tree down.
You really think it's "smart tactics" to start a fire in a forest? laugh.gif

hvk13
post Apr 9 2012, 11:26 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ Apr 9 2012, 11:13 AM)
You really think it's "smart tactics" to start a fire in a forest?  laugh.gif
better than waiting for her to die. they're on the ground, can kill her if she comes down n runaway b4 the fire catches momentum. she got no where to run.
Eisenmeteor
post Apr 9 2012, 11:32 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

QUOTE(hvk13 @ Apr 9 2012, 10:38 AM)
Again their tactics is utter crap. For some1 who is stronger, he sure got his ass thrown by Peeta. When they cornered Katniss instead of listening to the advice of a little bakery boy, juz burn the freakin tree down. For a person who has trained their whole life in survival hunting. Of all things they run around cheering n shouting giving their position away.

Like I said, their tactics is tahi.

Planting a bomb under your 1 big pile of valuable supplies? "Genius"
I think its an explosion of all 24 mines that were scattered around the supplies..if just one explodes..probably not as huge explosion as that.
hvk13
post Apr 9 2012, 11:40 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Apr 9 2012, 11:32 AM)
I think its an explosion of all 24 mines that were scattered around the supplies..if just one explodes..probably not as huge explosion as that.
How about u make 24 traps instead of 1 huge trap? increases the chances of blowing up more den once dont u think?
dlct87
post Apr 9 2012, 12:56 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(hvk13 @ Apr 9 2012, 11:40 AM)
How about u make 24 traps instead of 1 huge trap? increases the chances of blowing up more den once dont u think?
ok so this part the movie didnt explain also....(which is really bad lol)

the mines are the one under the plates where the tributes stand at the start of the game, it was deactivated after the game started, but then the careers managed to get a district 3 tribute to reactivate the mines and scatter them around the pile, creating a maze of land mines, Katniss blew the net up and the apples drop to the ground, setting up a chain reaction that detonate all the mines

n00b13
post Apr 9 2012, 01:03 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(hvk13 @ Apr 9 2012, 11:26 AM)
better than waiting for her to die. they're on the ground, can kill her if she comes down n runaway b4 the fire catches momentum. she got no where to run.
So instead of just waiting, better to risk burning to death? Again, this is your idea of "smart tactics"? laugh.gif

26 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:55 AM