definately need improvement...good job admin
Dec 2 2010, 11:54 AM
1,434 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
I am glad to see this thead still surviving....
Let the iPad user have a breath... |
Dec 2 2010, 12:22 PM
177 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: kolompo |
If u guys dissatisfied with iphone consolidated forum because of specific mod, just go over his head to a more senior mod or forum owner. State the problem in a specific n polite manner n theres likely a chance for change.
This is prob for local ppl it seems. Lack of cow sense n ending up Always barking up the wrong tree. |
Dec 2 2010, 12:29 PM
6,497 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
lets see the iphone thread survive the 1 question 1 thread after this....
ive seen its been flooded by 1 question 1 thread thingie... democracy rules...!!! |
Dec 2 2010, 12:39 PM
1,447 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
i thought this thread was lock last night.... seems like the admin reopen it.
Dec 2 2010, 12:39 PM
7,343 posts Joined: May 2005 |
I do agree that I don't like the idea of being so strict on thread posting.. I am surprised at the amount of threads closed down just by browsing the first 2 pages.
It is really hard to look for certain info when everything is packed into 1 single thread. |
Dec 2 2010, 01:01 PM
576 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
QUOTE(selinix @ Dec 2 2010, 12:39 PM) I do agree that I don't like the idea of being so strict on thread posting.. I am surprised at the amount of threads closed down just by browsing the first 2 pages. very true...and sometimes when u give out ur knowledge some ppl might not be able to read it...It is really hard to look for certain info when everything is packed into 1 single thread. |
Dec 2 2010, 03:00 PM
118 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Bravo ,admin!Love to see the changes!
Dec 2 2010, 04:03 PM
777 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: mars |
QUOTE(selinix @ Dec 2 2010, 12:39 PM) I do agree that I don't like the idea of being so strict on thread posting.. I am surprised at the amount of threads closed down just by browsing the first 2 pages. I was more surprised to see that the iPad subforum only had 2 pages...It is really hard to look for certain info when everything is packed into 1 single thread. |
Dec 2 2010, 04:16 PM
185 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
been in the ipad forum for quite some time now....and what i notice is that it is quite strange as the others have mentioned.
all threads basically deleted and merged into a discussion thread regardless whether their issues are relating to iOS, syncing, hardware problems, Steve Job ranting while this makes it easy for whoever who needs to moderate it....ie. he/she only have to monitor 1/2 thread, it stifles the robustness of this ipad forum. ppl find it hard to find what they want, searching through 130++ pages is mindfucuk What should be done is creating sub-categories /sub-threads in this ipad forum ie.. a) Ipad hardware issues b) iOS upgrade c) so on etc.... And yes, pls get rid of the "thread reported" thing.....its so discouraging for ppl to post something and have it stated "thread reported"....WTF is this? they violated some kinda cyber-rule? IMO it's just so childish. Just guide the TS to the right thread, that's all there is. Anyway, it's mostly the mods job to moderate. And if the threads are "reported" and closed, get rid of them...don't leave a whole bunch of closed threads lying around.... The gist here is that for the forum to work, the mods / wannabes should listen to the users....for it is the users who contribute to the forum. UNLESS, you think that the mods/ wannabes are IPAD GODS, and only they have the solutions to all our queries. The good thing here is that most users are quite friendly and ever willing to provide quick fixes and suggestions to my issues. These guys deserve 2 Flame all you like, that's my 2 quids. This post has been edited by Amanda99: Dec 2 2010, 04:22 PM |
Dec 2 2010, 05:50 PM
177 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: kolompo |
Wah, everybody else offer just 2 cents but u offer a whole 2 pound, so generous.
Personally i was more forgiving of the board strict rules because i did not rely solely on lyn especially if its a generic question. Googling something like 'how to transfer movie in ipad' is a lot more faster and easier than waiting somebody to reply here. Ive found lyn is better for local specific issues like getting around itunes registration, proxy use n such. 'google is ur friend' maybe cliche but its true n a lot of newbies should be encourage to be more independent in problem solving, makes for a more intelligent community n reduce overall 'noise to signal ratio', ahem This post has been edited by kae_ae: Dec 2 2010, 05:58 PM |
Dec 2 2010, 05:59 PM
Admin
1,806 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Captain's Cabin, Black Pearl |
I would think the cause of the problem would be the "Ipad Discussion thread" which if most of your remember was a one thread thing over at the main Apple Byte subforum before there was an Ipad subforum.
With an "Ipad" subforum, there is not so much a need for a Discussion thread, makes things redundant. What i suggest is the Ipad discussion thread to be changed to a General Information/Updates on the Ipad thread maintained by the mods, and individual discussion threads be opened for particular questions/topics in the iPad section. |
Dec 2 2010, 06:48 PM
92 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
The People has spoken and their voice has been heard!!!!!!! This is democracy in an autocratic regime hehe
Dec 2 2010, 08:43 PM
1,853 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
To TS, can u close this thread? Ur problem solved already. Thanks.
Dec 2 2010, 08:46 PM
576 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Dec 2 2010, 09:31 PM
125 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
there is no official statement but i seen quite abit of improvement in iphone 4 forum.
not like last time.reported here and there.i say good job to TS though that shout out his voice.thats what forum are for. |
Dec 2 2010, 09:47 PM
6,497 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Well thats not the best part yet, just stay a lil bit longer at the iphone forum. The fun is just about to begin lol!
Dec 3 2010, 04:05 AM
1,624 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Between Ground And Sky |
This is my opinion by a junior ipad user, mintak tolong jangan ambil hati.
Try looking into Roundtable Discussion thread. Thread such as education essential, job&careers, or others. Try searching for actuarial science in education essential. You'll found many almost same topic created over n over again. But the mods there very good. They know most of the time those who did this is a new user. They dun directly close it. They only close topic that is about advertisemen. It might seem messy to see a lot of almost same topic, but it's attracting more people to read it and discuss in it. People love to read few pages topic that discuss on specific thing rather than reading plenty of pages topic that discuss on everything. Wheneve i see more than 50 pages topic it makes me thinking " shoot... Only 5% only might be useful to me". Also, instead of mods directly closing the new topic created and write something like "please refer here <some 100++pages topic> , mods can just write please refer here. But don't close the topic. Let it be alive. Some kind guys might post the answer directly to that topic and attract the thread starter to the topic. It shows that we're friendly and this attitude will attract more new user to stay with lowyat.net beacause most of new user tends to do this(including me when i've just join this forum back then). The kind people replying and new posts everyday keep me eager to wait if someone reply and it show that people care about ur prob and people do read it. However, after the prob is solved, after some period of time, it'll remain quiet. Just let it be. How much problem there is for an Ipad? Again, if it happen that someone post the same prob again by creating a new topic, we can just reply "please check this thread <a topic with no more than 10 pages which directly answer his prob rather than 100 pages topic which discuss everything>. If that is the case than no prob to close the topic. For example, we can divide apps into many categories such as games<role playing, racing, etc>, lifestyle<fitness, health, cooking, travel>, etc. While we can separate them to make it easier to discuss, why we compiled everything in one topic and discuss evrything in it. I don't want to read 20 pages talks only about gaming while the thing i've been looking(for example GPS nav apps) is somewhere in the middle of it with only 2-3 posts. I'm a noob. So I apologise if i create any heartfeeling here. This post has been edited by destroyer: Dec 3 2010, 04:32 AM |
Dec 3 2010, 04:11 AM
119 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
Well no only this Ipad Section.
Some other section as well. They expect us to go page by page, it is not convenient and stupid! |
| Change to: | 0.0218sec
5 queries
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:16 AM |