AVR from US, Can it be used?

TSDannyOP
post Nov 30 2010, 09:50 AM, updated 16y ago

5,220 posts

I am noticing some good deals for AVR from US sites like Amazon etc... can they be used here reliably with a transformer? Anybody bought electronic stuff from US and used them here safely before?
SUSchokia
post Nov 30 2010, 10:10 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

You definitely need a step down transformer for sure and US dont use RDS for radio station. So you cant see RDS messages on the display if you turn on MyFM or HItz FM etc
SiriuslyCold
post Nov 30 2010, 11:49 AM

1,976 posts

am using a Panasonic XR55 US model with 500W step-down transformer. No problems so far, touch wood.

the Panny is Made in Malaysia too biggrin.gif

azbro
post Nov 30 2010, 12:46 PM

4,403 posts

Sometimes really funny....

When we go overseas and see cheap2 stuff and buy...suddenly check its 'Made in Malaysia'.
Of course we can be proud of Malaysia blush.gif

BUT...I wonder why in Bolehland 'Made in Malaysia' stuff are sold significantly cheaper overseas than in own country mad.gif
SUSchokia
post Nov 30 2010, 01:24 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Yeah, Malaysian never proud of "Made in Malaysia" product.

Im quite surprised when i joined other international forums that these angmos can feature our car in one of their thread and preferring phones made in Malaysia (Bada, ipoh are making Sony Ericsson and nokia) rather than those made from China. Perhaps the similar situation in AVforums. (except when the forumer is from malaysia)

And we are proud of our Iphone , assembled in China.

How Ironic

This post has been edited by chokia: Nov 30 2010, 01:25 PM
elmer
post Nov 30 2010, 03:19 PM

219 posts

I'm using a yamaha 3800 with a 1000 watts step down transformer and have no issues with it. Close to 2 years already.
ADJ
post Nov 30 2010, 05:31 PM

..::fairlight::..
2,921 posts

made in malaysia, but the items from factory are not sent directly to stores here ya know...

they are sent to HQ or worldwide distribution centers, and distributed to countries all over the world, including MY. So when that happens, tax, shipping, markup, etc and there you have it smile.gif

if I remember correctly, even for Intel processors, overclockers would prefer processors made in Malaysia (Penang) as opposed to places like Costa Rica, Philippines etc due to the perception that it was of higher quality, better overclockability etc...Intel stated that they were all the same, but perceptions persist nevertheless
SiriuslyCold
post Nov 30 2010, 08:13 PM

1,976 posts

QUOTE(ADJ @ Nov 30 2010, 05:31 PM)
made in malaysia, but the items from factory are not sent directly to stores here ya know...

they are sent to HQ or worldwide distribution centers, and distributed to countries all over the world, including MY.
thing is, you couldn't buy the Panasonic SA-XR55 anywhere in SEA - we got it from Amazon at US$299

I even called the factory (in JB) to ask if we could buy direct (esp those for European market are fitted with 240V power supplies)
ADJ
post Nov 30 2010, 09:05 PM

..::fairlight::..
2,921 posts

my post was general in nature - sorry if it wasn't clear
diamaidah
post Nov 30 2010, 10:38 PM

28 posts

use this combination for almost 5 years
TSDannyOP
post Dec 1 2010, 12:18 AM

5,220 posts

excellent! how much do those transformer cost? My sis lives in the US... I'm contemplating asking her help me buy some stuff from Christmas sales. If anybody is bringing in goodies from US do let me know too... wanna tumpang the shipping cost.

This post has been edited by DannyOP: Dec 1 2010, 12:18 AM
diamaidah
post Dec 1 2010, 06:37 AM

28 posts

just around 100-300 depends on the watts output.
TSDannyOP
post Dec 1 2010, 10:35 AM

5,220 posts

thinking of getting this one http://www.amazon.com/Onkyo-TX-NR5008-9-2-...1170849&sr=8-10
onkyo 5008 for approx 1.8k usd. Considered a good buy?

Second choice is this
http://www.amazon.com/Onkyo-TX-NR808-7-2-C...91170954&sr=8-6

$678usd.. for onkyo 808.

This post has been edited by DannyOP: Dec 1 2010, 10:37 AM
anfieldude
post Dec 1 2010, 01:18 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Dec 1 2010, 10:35 AM)
thinking of getting this one http://www.amazon.com/Onkyo-TX-NR5008-9-2-...1170849&sr=8-10

Second choice is this

$678usd.. for onkyo 808.
These are high power amps. Ensure u get an appropriate transformer that is rated correctly for the amp. Also bear in mind that electronics fail, so get mentally prepared that shd that happen u need to make a tough decision.
ronaldjoe
post Dec 1 2010, 02:50 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Dec 1 2010, 10:35 AM)

Second choice is this

$678usd.. for onkyo 808.
Why not just get AVR down south? Save the hassle and warranty problem.
It fetches better resale value on 240v model as well.
hian
post Dec 1 2010, 03:30 PM

418 posts

Sorry if I sound like a dumb head. While I do order stuffs from amazon.com from time to time, I only order non-electronic stuffs. Just in case sh-t happens, it will be much more easier to claim for warranty, if buy locally. Consider the extra money paid as an insurance.

Just my opinion. Cheers! smile.gif
TSDannyOP
post Dec 1 2010, 03:59 PM

5,220 posts

it's mainly the risk to take considering most of the prices are even lower than Sg. Some avr have voltage selection 120 or 240v.
htkaki
post Dec 1 2010, 04:34 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

As long as the step-down trans is of good quality, the avr seldom gives problem within the first 2years of usage.

I have not encounter any issue (touch wood) with all the avrs that I owned before for nearly 2 decades. From dolby pro-logic era til now.
kit615
post Dec 1 2010, 04:56 PM

150 posts

I think if the AVR is at least 40%-50% cheaper than local pricing, then its well worth the risk of bringing it in.
SUSchokia
post Dec 1 2010, 06:41 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(hian @ Dec 1 2010, 03:30 PM)
Sorry if I sound like a dumb head.  While I do order stuffs from amazon.com from time to time, I only order non-electronic stuffs.  Just in case sh-t happens, it will be much more easier to claim for warranty, if buy locally.  Consider the extra money paid as an insurance.

Just my opinion.  Cheers! smile.gif
It's ok if your have bottomless pocket.

0.0691sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:29 AM