I would like to ask your comments of fotile oven before I purchase it. Anyone here used it before? Kindly let me know your comments/views.
Thank you!
Fotile Oven - Good or not?, Reviews/Comments on Fotile Oven
Nov 26 2010, 04:01 PM, updated 14y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
398 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Hi forumers!
I would like to ask your comments of fotile oven before I purchase it. Anyone here used it before? Kindly let me know your comments/views. Thank you! |
Nov 26 2010, 11:41 PM
6 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
QUOTE(phythia79 @ Nov 26 2010, 04:01 PM) Hi forumers! Me too thinking of getting Fotile. I heard it is good and only Fotile has that air curtain technology.I would like to ask your comments of fotile oven before I purchase it. Anyone here used it before? Kindly let me know your comments/views. Thank you! |
Nov 27 2010, 09:21 AM
QUOTE(mohag @ Nov 26 2010, 11:41 PM) Me too thinking of getting Fotile. I heard it is good and only Fotile has that air curtain technology. Hi Mohag,Can you pls elaborate more on the air curtain tech thingy..pls? Thanks! I received a PM saying that Fotile is good for its hob, hood, sterizer and microwave oven but not in their ovens. The person recommended Electrolux or Rinnai. I know Electrolux is good but unsure about Rinnai. I'm askign about Fotile is because the package I had was very good..but then again, the hood doesn't really meet my demand as I need a slim hood (as you can see in my KC design in the other post). But if the Fotile oven is good, then I have to change my design to accomodate the hood. |
Nov 27 2010, 05:21 PM
6 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
QUOTE(phythia79 @ Nov 27 2010, 09:21 AM) Hi Mohag, Hi, i think i've overlooked the word 'oven' in ur post, sorry. Can you pls elaborate more on the air curtain tech thingy..pls? Thanks! I received a PM saying that Fotile is good for its hob, hood, sterizer and microwave oven but not in their ovens. The person recommended Electrolux or Rinnai. I know Electrolux is good but unsure about Rinnai. I'm askign about Fotile is because the package I had was very good..but then again, the hood doesn't really meet my demand as I need a slim hood (as you can see in my KC design in the other post). But if the Fotile oven is good, then I have to change my design to accomodate the hood. The air curtain is actually air blowing down from the hood to act as a barrier, so no smoke can escape from the hood. I think its the same concept in shopping complexs doors. You can feel air blowing when u enter them. Any sifus correct me if i'm wrong. About the oven, me too still looking. Went to a shop and the sales person showed me a Fotile oven that has functions as microwave also. He said 2 in 1, no need to get microwave anymore, saves space, but that oven is not in the promotion. I think maybe Zheilwane can answer this. |
Mar 23 2011, 03:01 PM
Just to let everyone know..that I ended up buying Fotile..and so far it's great! Baked cupcakes with it last Sunday and today gonna do shepherd's pie..
Mar 23 2011, 04:33 PM
80 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
Mar 23 2011, 04:50 PM
I bought KEG6002. You?
Mar 23 2011, 05:02 PM
19 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(phythia79 @ Nov 26 2010, 04:01 PM) Hi forumers! every oven is good depends on their function.I would like to ask your comments of fotile oven before I purchase it. Anyone here used it before? Kindly let me know your comments/views. Thank you! 1. ventilation fan ( or call turbo fan) this makes the things you cook even. 2. auto cleaning, no matter your cook chicken or bake cookies, the oven can turn to top heat and turn all the left over on oven's wall into dust. doesn't smell chicken on your cookies 3. at least 8 functions. 4. site demo provided 5. after sales service and spare parts 6. front door heat proof. if the oven has above functions, that consider a good oven. |
Mar 23 2011, 05:06 PM
no auto cleaning as I don't think i will use it as it will consume extra electricity. the good rule of thumb is to maintain the oven properly - clean after every use.
If to remove smell..i think can always leave bicarbonate soda (in a bottle) and just leave it in the oven to remove the smell..just like how i did for my fridge. works wonders. |
Mar 23 2011, 05:22 PM
QUOTE(phythia79 @ Mar 23 2011, 05:06 PM) no auto cleaning as I don't think i will use it as it will consume extra electricity. the good rule of thumb is to maintain the oven properly - clean after every use. the auto cleaning is just good if you need to bake cookies after you bake chicken, ( becos the fat of chicken will stick on the oven after you baking it) if the bake cookies (even after cleaning) also will get chicken smell on your cookies. so that is what auto cleaning use of. turns the fat into dust also clean the smell.If to remove smell..i think can always leave bicarbonate soda (in a bottle) and just leave it in the oven to remove the smell..just like how i did for my fridge. works wonders. anyway, if you not really a baking person, i think every brand is good. Added on March 23, 2011, 5:26 pmfortile brand is china product This post has been edited by KirRoyale: Mar 23 2011, 05:26 PM kenphora liked this post
Mar 23 2011, 06:26 PM
Yes I know it's from china. Any implication if it's from china?
Mar 23 2011, 09:14 PM
4,184 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Builders Hardware Enterprise 0362572412 |
actually not quite practical to have auto clean function as it requires around 4 hours of burning. Would u use the auto clean function every time after baking cookies? Auto Clean burns the residuals to ashes, it also burns ur money. Regarding baking cookies after chicken, would u wait 4 hours after the auto cleaning is done den only u bake ur cookies?
Btw, you will need to clean ur oven, make sure there is no grease or food left in the oven before starting auto clean. If u don do so, it might cause ur oven to be on fire. So, we are back to square one, you still need to clean it urself. http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qi...13140303AAFRO2X As what phythia79 said, if u clean it after using every use, then it should b ok and you do not need the auto clean function. The auto clean function will lock the oven and heats up around 900F, and you will need to leave it around 4 hours, probability of ur oven breaking down soon is very high. Google around and you will get more info. WHat is wrong with things made in China? as long the product is good den it is OK. Most of the branded stuff are also made in china now. Fotile has invented, 3D ionized air curtains, Nautilus air passageway, 5 nozzle drives, 25.5 angle burning technology and many more, what do the other brands have? No point trying to talk bad about other brands, just feed forumers with info and let them decide which is the best. Just a friendly reminder to forumers who are interested with FOTILE. If the goods are not delivered by FOTILE's transporter, don BUY it. It might be a stolen goods, dented display unit, 2nd hand and etc. WHen the deal is too good to be true, just be careful. Always buy from a reliable shop with good experience. Here is a very good example » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « http://www.usj.com.my/bulletin/upload/prin...ead.php?t=15456 Just join my facebook for latest Promotion and Info for FOTILE, Johnson Suisse, Sorento and etc. (only visible for friends) http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php...5528914&sk=info This post has been edited by zheilwane: Sep 9 2011, 08:47 PM |
Mar 23 2011, 10:28 PM
I'm not saying products from china is not good, but for technology in ovens , western countries are always more advanced , as their cooking technique involves a lot more baking than asian cooking. And also, I think site demo and site service is important, which western brands always provide (such as TEKA, Bosch etc.
Mar 23 2011, 11:19 PM
sorry for the misunderstanding but u wrote fotile is china brand without any1 asking, i bliv many will think that u r trying to say things made in china are bad. I would say FOTILE has a very good reputation for service & their products as if they are bad, those forumers who bought from me will start posting their bad experience with FOTILE. On the other hand, many praised and recommended other forumers to buy this brand.
For more info about what technology Fotile's oven have http://www.fotile-kitchen.com/3-ovens.html Just join my facebook for latest Promotion and Info for FOTILE, Johnson Suisse, Sorento and etc. (only visible for friends) http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php...5528914&sk=info This post has been edited by zheilwane: Sep 9 2011, 08:48 PM |
Mar 24 2011, 12:22 AM
2,006 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Truly Malaise |
for information,
the auto-clean/self-clean time aka pyrolytic cycle depends on how dirty the oven cavity is. if the oven cavity is minimal, the self-cleaning cycle takes 5 to 10mins to complete. example: the user just has to select the maximum heat (oven with auto clean function) to burn off the stubborn cooking residues after finish baking/cooking (just spend another Rm1 or RM2 ringgit on the electricity bill per practice, is this sound reasonable?). after the pyrolytic cycle, the interior is bacteria-free. by using a manual cleaning method, who can ensure that the oven interior is bacteria-free? using antibacteria cleaning kit? (errr,use of chemical in the oven well, if the oven cavity is horrendous, i dont think the user is able to wipe it clean with a damp cloth. Agree? so, the built in oven with auto clean function is very economical (rated Energy :Class A) thanks to the advanced oven technology. |
Mar 24 2011, 09:43 AM
For oven, microwave and such...to properly maintain it, one must clean down after every use with a mild detergent and warm water. If it is done religiously every time, there's no need to even use the auto cleaning function. It was made because of some ppl who just don't clean their oven or too lazy to do it after every use and this would ease their 'burden'.
bacteria-free? I think there's no such thing as bacteria-free unless you are totally in a sterile environment. I think even with the heat while cooking can kill the bacteria. FYI, if you clean everytime after a use, you don't need a super cleaning agent to clean the oven. Mild soap in warm water will do the trick. This is coming from someone who actually uses the oven, not selling it. |
Mar 24 2011, 10:00 AM
1,790 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: PJ lamansara... :D |
Fotile is/was used as a gift/freebies for some condo projects under Brem holdings in Bkt Pelangi.. So far I have not heard any -ve comments abt these freebies from the resident...
And to a certain extend, some if not all european brands are getting the product manufactured in China too for obvious reasons. So long as they control the quality during the production cycle there is nothing wrong by having a China made product.. |
Mar 24 2011, 10:25 AM
http://www.websiterepairguy.com/articles/h...clean_oven.html
The site is good for those who doesn't really clean their ovens and for once a month proper cleaning. Furthermore, it easy on your pocket and good to the environment plus not damaging to the oven. Added on March 24, 2011, 10:39 amthe guy has a blog on cleaning ovens...really worth to keep it as it's the easy way to clean up those grease. http://ovencleaningbakingsoda.blogspot.com This post has been edited by phythia79: Mar 24 2011, 10:39 AM |
Mar 24 2011, 11:26 AM
2,006 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Truly Malaise |
QUOTE(phythia79 @ Mar 24 2011, 09:43 AM) For oven, microwave and such...to properly maintain it, one must clean down after every use with a mild detergent and warm water. If it is done religiously every time, there's no need to even use the auto cleaning function. It was made because of some ppl who just don't clean their oven or too lazy to do it after every use and this would ease their 'burden'. Pyrolytic cycle is to practice at the end of the cooking/baking session by setting the maximum heat while the oven is still hot to shorten the heating time (compared to cool interior) and this process lasts in a few minutes. bacteria-free? I think there's no such thing as bacteria-free unless you are totally in a sterile environment. I think even with the heat while cooking can kill the bacteria. FYI, if you clean everytime after a use, you don't need a super cleaning agent to clean the oven. Mild soap in warm water will do the trick. This is coming from someone who actually uses the oven, not selling it. The time taken same as cooling down the oven, use damp cloth to wipe the interior. Both practices are easy. There is no such statement saying auto clean function is money wasting, consumption high electricity. If this is so, what about the induction hob and ceramic hob? European people are more energy concerned than Asian people. I'm a seller of eight built in oven brands and am also an oven user who uses more than my mother does. I believe many of the potential oven buyer does not clear on what the auto clean function is and most (mostly) shops they visit generally will not explain in details to customers. What are the most popular questions the customers normally ask? 1: function mode ie 5 or 6 or 7 or 8 functions 2: triple glazed or double glazed door 3: origin of the oven manufactured Each oven is different by its specification. If I am only selling 1 or 2 brands, I will say either A or B is better than the other as the customer has 2 choices only. |
Mar 24 2011, 09:22 PM
About bacteria in oven without auto cleaning.
If my form 5 science is right, most bacteria dies off at 100 degree celsius, thatz why we boil our water before drinking and boiling temperature is 100 degree celcius.... After doing some research online, most bacteria dies off at 100 celsius and none will survive at 250 Fahrenheit or 121 celsius, which is way below the max temperature of ovens without auto cleaning function. As like what phythia79 said, "the heat while cooking can kill the bacteria." http://www.foodsafetysite.com/educators/co...teria/bac4.html Auto clean 5-10 minutes. It is true if u perform the auto clean after using the oven will shorten the auto cleaning period as it is still hot inside, but don think it can shorten it from 4 hours to few minutes. As i said earlier, u will need to clean ur oven to make sure there is no grease or etc or else the high temperature will burn the grease and cause fire, so back to square one you need to clean it yourself. Just google around and you will find some comments. Here is an example. http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qi...13140303AAFRO2X Wasting money Most chinese citizen cycle around instead of driving, can i say they are more energy concerned than European people? Auto clean heats up your oven upto 950 Fahrenheit, u can just imagine how many kilowatt (kW) you need to consume to generate that amount of heat and you need to leave it on for few hours. So, is it energy consuming and wasting your money? This is to support what i said above http://www.ehow.com/list_7018827_problems-...ning-ovens.html Dont really understand, some forumers used FOTILE, satisfied with it and wanna share their experience with other forumers but there are some people (mainly competitors) out there trying their best to prove them wrong without any supporting facts. Some even conned forumers by offering super low prices but later say no stock, then they propose another brand and refuse to refund the deposit. My customer insist to get FOTILE, den they finally give him a dented display unit saying it is brand new. Therefore, the best is to buy from a reliable shop and if it is not delivered by FOTILE, dont buy it. They have stock most of the time and delivery is usually the next day upon confirmation in KL. Why would any1 bother to waste their petrol to deliver the goods where by the supplier could deliver for them. That is why i am able to give FREE delivery within west Malaysia. Just join my facebook for latest Promotion and Info for FOTILE, Johnson Suisse, Sorento and etc. (only visible for friends) http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php...5528914&sk=info This post has been edited by zheilwane: Sep 9 2011, 08:48 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0238sec
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:30 AM |