Nokia N900 V9 (More than 180 owners), Jack of trades for phone

zeeker87
post Dec 1 2010, 01:07 AM

272 posts

Hey everyone, been starting to do research on n900, will be getting this monster real soon...hope it's not too late thou~ sad.gif

there are some terms that I cant figure out properly, sorry if it's a real stupid question or a double post..what is the meaning of the few things follow huh?

- Run X Term (X terminal as same in Linux os?) and become root?
- place something on the root of mass memory? what does it mean?

Thanks a lot in advanced and nice to meet everyone of you~ smile.gif
zeeker87
post Dec 1 2010, 01:36 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Dec 1 2010, 01:18 AM)
root means the main or lowest bottom or etc. To become root just need install rootsh and when in x-terminal command type root thats all
I see..thx a lot aspire~ tongue.gif
zeeker87
post Dec 1 2010, 02:02 PM

272 posts

Hey everyone..may i ask what is da meaning of repositories? i read da first page, and say we should add it/install it? but i don really wat's for and wat it is... ><

Thanks a lot in advance~ biggrin.gif
zeeker87
post Dec 2 2010, 05:03 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 26 2010, 11:20 AM)
If u have any photos make sure u post it here especially sifu sifu of Fcam
http://www.flickr.com/groups/thenokiagallery/

Added on November 26, 2010, 11:24 am

Iphone is great to a certain extend but if you want further there the limitation thats where phone like Nokia N900 release the limitation to go further.
The possibility is how far your imagination can go is what nokia N900 capable off.

Games on the iphone i cant deny its the best now even with gyro sensor u imagine what mobile gaming is becoming. If uniqueness nokia N900 take the top spot and with so strong community support the possibility become unlimited. Nokia N900 i am still disappointed is lack of flash 10 or else its the best browser on mobile phone i ever experience.

Tried Fruit Ninja so addictive too
Hey everyone, I've been climbing da threads from v1(tat's alot alot of version rclxub.gif ) and gaining all da info that I should before getting this device..and saw this as the latest flash is not being supported..will it be a big downside for n900? and i saw everyone is talking avout da Nitdriod recently, I thought the bid attraction for n900 is about unique os maemo? and y it's like now getting m ore towards android? sorry if all these are silly questions..

thx a lot in advanced~ notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
zeeker87
post Dec 2 2010, 05:47 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Dec 2 2010, 05:17 PM)
Maemo 5 supports Flash 9.4
Majority of the sites now requires users to have flash 10.1 supported browser to browse through flash content.However in real usage these sites don't exactly utilize flash 10.1 functions.
There is a trick to make the sites recognize Maemo's flash 9.4 as flash 10.1.It's simple trick really you can watch youtube/facebook videos.

About Android,
No matter how good your OS is you always want to try out other OS in market.And some nerds here(me included) loves to take things to next level by installing Android in our devices & try to improve with out method.It's merely hobby.Some install NITDroid to use Android's apps & games.

No matter how many mobile OS out there,Maemo is truly one of a kind which will never bore any hardcore users.
Hmm..i see..thx alot alien. biggrin.gif So it's not too late for me to get this device right? coz since it's production is stop, have some kind of uneasiness feeling towards it..thou I know there is a huge community keep the ball rolling hot..
zeeker87
post Dec 14 2010, 01:36 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Dec 14 2010, 01:05 PM)
Relax man... laugh.gif
Forgot that I haven't download todays series...Making a pitstop at computer lab now.Will take the cable in 1 hour max.
lol...ct?? tongue.gif
zeeker87
post Dec 15 2010, 01:08 PM

272 posts

Hey everyone...I get a price quote from Nokia The Curve zitron set RM1520..is it a worthy offer? stil thinking to get AP or Zitron set..the ap set can get with RM1250.. blush.gif

So I go for zitron or just get AP willl do? ><
zeeker87
post Dec 16 2010, 09:02 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Dec 15 2010, 01:08 PM)
SSH INTO ur n900
go to /etc/multiboot.d
edit the NITDROID... item
to

ITEM_NAME="NITDroid 2.6.28.NIT.06 no SD in slot"
ITEM_KERNEL=2.6.28.NIT.06
ITEM_MODULES=ext3
ITEM_DEVICE=mmcblk0p5
ITEM_FSTYPE=ext3
ITEM_FSOPTIONS=rw,noatime,errors=remount-ro

Added on December 15, 2010, 1:09 pm

zitron set...
at least ure in a peace mind.. lol
QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Dec 15 2010, 01:58 PM)
Zitron set bro.. I got mine last month at RM1525. Just like gyanz said, peace of mind. nod.gif
Hmm..thx bros..I got my baby finally! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
My Babe by zhikun, on Flickr
shot using fcam btw.. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
zeeker87
post Dec 16 2010, 10:49 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(half_lif3 @ Dec 16 2010, 09:44 PM)
any free gift from nokia shop??  wub.gif
No bro.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Dec 16 2010, 10:41 PM)
nvm bro...ask sifu josh put a date for small TT..
then discuss on da spot about da t shirt..huhu

Added on December 16, 2010, 10:42 pm

welcome to da club bro...
thx alot man.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Just finish flashed my baby and oc it to 800mhz~ icon_idea.gif
zeeker87
post Dec 18 2010, 01:45 PM

272 posts

Hey guys, there is something bout the charging i wana ask, let say if the phone battery is low, then i charge it..but in the middle of charging (not yet 100%), i gotta go out so i plug it off for usage..after that I charge it back again..will it affect the battery?

Coz i m a mbp user and i know it will affect da battery cycle in mbp..but i not sure in n900.. hmm.gif

Thanks a lot in advanced! biggrin.gif
zeeker87
post Dec 19 2010, 03:16 AM

272 posts

hey everyone..i encounter a prb..nt sure wat happen tat i cant bring up da symbol like i use to be.. which with shortcut of "Fn + Ctrl"..anyone got this prb b4? i installed da apps of enable chinese prc pinyin input..does it have somethimg to deal with tat? hmm.gif

Thx alot in advance.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
zeeker87
post Dec 19 2010, 11:48 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Dec 19 2010, 08:49 AM)
i did remember, someone says that pinyin input make the virtual keyboard damage..

i dunno whether it have any solution or not..  hmm.gif
QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Dec 19 2010, 09:26 AM)
if you are using the 'chinese stroke method' i don't think i've heard of reports of major problems... but there are a few who reported that there are keyboard problems
QUOTE(mashimarow @ Dec 19 2010, 10:07 AM)
so far I didn't hear anyone try to solve the symbol problem nor the virtual keyboard, everyone seems happy with the english only input =.=
Hmmm..i see..that's a bit of trade-off there.. sweat.gif
zeeker87
post Dec 21 2010, 12:24 AM

272 posts

Hey..wana ask everyone..about oc the phone..so far anyone stil using 900mhz? is everything okay? haha..juz a confirm before i do it..lol~
zeeker87
post Dec 21 2010, 12:41 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Dec 21 2010, 12:27 AM)
haha yeah.. its good
I'm running at 1000Mhz.. sometimes for fun try 1100Mhz also
Thx man..but i cant oc my n900 now like wat i did last time..after i key in da command, it say da files do not exist.. sweat.gif

Added on December 21, 2010, 1:12 am
QUOTE(zeeker87 @ Dec 21 2010, 12:41 AM)
Thx man..but i cant oc my n900 now like wat i did last time..after i key in da command, it say da files do not exist.. sweat.gif
okay..i figured out what's wrong edi...da file name of the 900mhz.fiasco is not da same with da rest..nid to rename it or change the commands accordingly i guess..lol~

This post has been edited by zeeker87: Dec 21 2010, 01:12 AM
zeeker87
post Dec 21 2010, 01:27 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(zdentws @ Dec 21 2010, 07:49 AM)
use jakiman's method.. no fiasco needed.. wink.gif
But have to install a new kernel? seems quite complicated..izzit a better method of oc?
zeeker87
post Dec 22 2010, 01:28 AM

272 posts

Just now saw a malay girl using n900 in mmu library cyberjaya..don dare to say hi..someone from here?? looool~

This post has been edited by zeeker87: Dec 22 2010, 01:29 AM
zeeker87
post Dec 22 2010, 12:25 PM

272 posts

Hmm..let me know if what i about to ask is illegal or whatsoever..haha..

I installed DR. noksnes in my n900..and where should i dl those rom files? i tried a few..but seems i've downloaded da wrong file..cant detect the file o wat in da emulator.. tongue.gif
zeeker87
post Jan 2 2011, 12:36 AM

272 posts

hey everyone, wana ask about the stygic map..hwo should i purchase my license? sorry if i ask a silly question.. biggrin.gif

Thanks a lot in advance! hehe~
zeeker87
post Jan 2 2011, 01:16 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(meLi @ Jan 2 2011, 12:56 AM)
Columbus Navigation Toolkit

URL: http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=67276

Use your N900 as a Bluetooth or a USB GPS dongle. Working with Garmin mobile PC

[attachmentid=1970459]

[attachmentid=1970463]

[attachmentid=1970464]

TQ
Thanks a lot meli for your response..but sorry for my ignorance..how is this apps function? i'll juzt nid to install it and ready to go? coz i m not good at all in gps things..do i nid to buy any product from garmin?

thanks a lot man~ notworthy.gif notworthy.gif biggrin.gif
zeeker87
post Jan 5 2011, 06:07 PM

272 posts

Guys..I'm having trouble reflashing my phone..after i connect via usb..and try to switch da phone off..it say the phone is being connected and nid to disconnect from PC in order to switch off.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

0.0398sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:43 AM