Another proud owner of the N900 checking in!
Nokia N900 V9 (More than 180 owners), Jack of trades for phone
Dec 3 2010, 11:18 AM
956 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Another proud owner of the N900 checking in!
Dec 3 2010, 03:23 PM
I can't seem to get a decent pouch as well... gonna snoop around KL to try hunting for it...
@creative zn: what exactly is your problem? Cause I think if you use pidgin or just the conversations app it shouldn't be a problem cause it is directly programmed in the app |
Dec 3 2010, 06:51 PM
I found this website http://onlyn900.com/ncases.html
I don't really like them cause they have the belt clip which to me only makes it chunkier... ... but some of you may like it |
Dec 13 2010, 01:52 PM
hey,
for a while now I've been having this issue with the n900... could you guys help me out? I posted it in the maemo.org website but it has not been responded to as of yet. Really appreciate it. Here's the link to the problems (includes pictures for more details) http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?p=895004#post895004 |
Dec 14 2010, 01:47 AM
@super_evil_alien
I think the problem is that when you delete something from the device, it's permanently deleted i.e. flash drives. So I couldn't retrieve it back from the recycle bin... ... is there anyway I can get that file from someone else and copy it into the device? will that work? I'm just trying to avoid flashing the device and such |
Dec 14 2010, 08:29 PM
just a few questions...
mms is being sent as data? then won't the charge for big pictures be expensive? Do you guys know the rate to transfer 1 picture? We're still being charged 0.25 cents (Maxis) aside from the data transfer rate? So how much will that be? I ask cause my data was charged a whopping RM130 this month! i don't recall using that much of the mobile internet service. I was really upset that they do not warn you that you have surpassed the 100MB or 500MB limit after subscribing to the passes. Really bad that they don't notify you. It's almost like their trying to con you under the radar. Once and never again will I use the mobile internet service sms charged regularly right? |
Dec 15 2010, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(mashimarow @ Dec 14 2010, 09:46 PM) N900 don't support normal MMS method, they create a small program call FMMS and it use internet data to send MMS back and forth, hence depends on your telco, each KB is how much, if you send/receive a big data packet in, I won't surprise for the RM130 charges really?p.s. Maxis don't cap user on data usage cause all rich guy using Maxis, Digi will cap the max usage but also around that figure (i think is around 120) p.p.s You can ask your friend to email the photo to your mailbox, then you find a wifi area and online to get the picture, alternate method is get a dataplan, but I remember some sifu said turn off your internet connect and set to always ask, then when something coming in, it will ask for online, not sure it works for mms or not damn... then it must be really expensive... then can we download the mms through wifi instead? I heard from the maemo forum http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=63917&page=9 that 'droll' could mms via wifi... is that so and probably is that a way to get around the 35 packet data? if you're a maxis user, which data package do you recommend for a more than average user of the internet? |
Dec 15 2010, 10:58 AM
disable auto update check? tried finding it in 'internet connections' in settings... natha
Dec 16 2010, 11:00 AM
@super evil alien
I PMed you about your way of solving my n900 issue... It hasn't changed and still reacts the same... HELP!!! ONLY YOU CAN SAVE ME!!! thanks |
Dec 16 2010, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Dec 16 2010, 02:33 PM) I dunno if i can help u are not. thanks man... your autorun file did help me change the generic USB icon into the n900 one (I know it's not a big deal... but you know... these things do irk me)[attachmentid=1942201] btw, put the file 2 file in the folder in ur n900 storage.. check whether it working or not Some AV auto delete any autorun.inf file or block the program to run. That's why u cannot see the n900 icon for video prob, i try open my video, and same.. stop at the end of the video, and didn't continuously played to another video.. [attachmentid=1942202] Thanks.. So, still no way to solve the continuous play issue? Or is that standard that the media player doesn't play videos continuously? No right? Cause I do remember there was one time where it did play continuously... Anyway, THANKS!!!!! BIG HELP YOU ARE! |
Dec 16 2010, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Dec 16 2010, 03:09 PM) No prob bro.It's small matter only. As i got 'free' time today to upload the file for u. Btw, for video, i dunno on how to creating playlist. For song, yes..u can save playlist for that or set it up to played continuously..hoho Try other media player maybe can help..huhu aih... that's why... the device allows you to tamper around too much we forgot what it is we tampered... I kinda like the media player.... so that's why didn't use others... hehehe... plus the media player widget is kinda simple and cool. thanks anyway bro |
Dec 17 2010, 01:04 AM
@super_evil_alien
My n900 plays music continuously... but not videos. It just stops and goes back to the videos list after the end of the video that is playing... I remember it does play continuously.. I can't find the settings for the video to play continuously but for songs there is... Where is the settings for the video to play continuously? Thanks Added on December 17, 2010, 1:21 amHere's another WIFI related issue... Sometimes, when I'm using the wifi networks elsewhere, I can go to the app manager or use mussorgsky to download stuff and update but not with the wifi that I have at home... I can still browse the web with the wifi at home and I can even connect to pidgin but these programmes just don't funtion: 1. App manager and the faster app manager 2. Mussorgsky I'm trying to download Hermes again (which also didn't seem to open for some reason) and I realised this. HELP! This post has been edited by Dark_Angel85: Dec 17 2010, 01:21 AM |
Dec 17 2010, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Dec 17 2010, 10:51 AM) No idea on the continuous video playing setting. Regarding the video settings: *sob sob sob... so forever stuck with non-continuous video?On the WiFi,try resetting your home router. Resetting the home router means unplug/turn off for a while and then replug it in right? Did that a couple of times... I read somewhere in maemo.org(don't quite understand) it has something to do with the DNS address is it? or it's because of the firewall settings of the router? Thanks |
Dec 18 2010, 08:28 PM
i feel like subscribing to the data plan but i'm really afraid cause they don't tell you when you've surpassed the limit... so whenever I need it, i use the BB... because most of the time, my laptop is readily available...
aih.... maxis really knows how to get your money |
Dec 18 2010, 09:37 PM
Dec 18 2010, 09:51 PM
what I do is, I swap my BB card... I use celcom BB for my laptop... so if I feel like I'm gonna go off for a long time and I need it, I just take the card along for a quick swap if I'm going to online for a long time... my Celcom BB is at RM50 flat rate
Added on December 18, 2010, 10:41 pmby the way... I've been wanting to try out the app transmission but want to know what are the good local torrent sites that you guys download music/videos/movies/ from? can recommend? This post has been edited by Dark_Angel85: Dec 18 2010, 10:41 PM |
Dec 19 2010, 09:26 AM
QUOTE(zeeker87 @ Dec 19 2010, 03:16 AM) hey everyone..i encounter a prb..nt sure wat happen tat i cant bring up da symbol like i use to be.. which with shortcut of "Fn + Ctrl"..anyone got this prb b4? i installed da apps of enable chinese prc pinyin input..does it have somethimg to deal with tat? if you are using the 'chinese stroke method' i don't think i've heard of reports of major problems... but there are a few who reported that there are keyboard problemsThx alot in advance.. |
Dec 19 2010, 08:38 PM
QUOTE(lightastral @ Dec 19 2010, 08:00 PM) hmm if i am not mistaken even if you brick your phone, the flasher is 100 percent can fix it i.e reflash back to stock setting. 1. nokia n900 is also compatible with pc suite.follow the instruction at fp and press U longer just to make sure. even after the usb icon shows...and wait longer after dos prompt usb ....waiting. just wait. Have you tried opening the nokia pc suite and then plug it in? maybe it'll help... since you've tried almost anything |
Dec 20 2010, 03:46 PM
hehehhee... incidentally, my boot video has my name on it... thanks to a user in maemo.org who helped me out... heheh
Dec 20 2010, 07:03 PM