Tips and tricks for watercooling users, Come share with us your workable tips

amok
post May 5 2005, 03:58 PM

schhhhwwiiiiiiinggggggg
739 posts

Watercooling Budget Pumps Shoot Out!!! Part 1.

I hope it's ok if i post this in this thread cause don't think it is wise to create a new thread..O.k. here we go, a few weeks back a few forumers came out with this idea of having an alternative to the renown Nirox P2800 pump which can perform better without burning a hole in our pocket. And so I've nominated 3 pumps as contenders for the budget pumps shoot out (All pumps must be sub RM100.00).
(Please refer here)
How I test it?

Each pump will undergo a real life performance test in a real life watercooling set. The test rig consists of:

1. DangerDen Maze 4 waterblock for socket 478
2. DangerDen Double Heatercore
3. 2 x NMB 120mm fans
4. Aeroplane brand ½" tubing from Ah Beng Hardware shop.

The test machine:

1. P4 2.4A (533Mhz 1M L2)
2. Abit IS 7E
3. Kingston 512 KHX3200AK2
4. AcBell 400W Ipower p.s.u.
5. Geforce 9600 pro
6. Keyboard + mouse + monitor + table + chair + box of tissue paper.

Testing Method:

1. Stock Speed Idle Temperature
2. Stock Speed Load Temperature (min 10 min of prime)
3. OCed Idle Temperature
4. OCed Load Temperature
5. Pump temperature after 1 hour of operating.

So here are the pumps and results:

Reigning Champion.

Our beloved Nirox P2800: Qmax 1200L/h: Hmax 1.8m: 28W
Price: RM 28.00

Test result:
Stock Speed Idle
Stock Speed Load
amok
post May 5 2005, 04:02 PM

schhhhwwiiiiiiinggggggg
739 posts

.. continued.

Oced till 3.157GHz Idle

Oced till 3.157GHz Load

Pump Temperature after an hour of operating.

continued...
amok
post May 5 2005, 04:09 PM

schhhhwwiiiiiiinggggggg
739 posts

.. continued.

Contender No. 1

Cyber Aqua CA4700 Liquid Filter - Qmax 2650L/h: Hmax 3m : 70 W
Price: RM70.00

Stock speed idle temp
Stock speed Load temp

3.157Ghz Oced Idle temp
3.157Ghz Oced Load temp

.. continue... aiyah.. continue part 2 lah, now must attend meeting.

This post has been edited by amok: May 5 2005, 04:21 PM
amok
post May 16 2005, 02:59 AM

schhhhwwiiiiiiinggggggg
739 posts

Watercooling Budget Pumps Shoot Out!!! Part Deux!!.

Yes!! The long awaited sequel from the first box office shoot out: the revenge of the apam...finally stimyx is up again in my place blink.gif (so what else is new form tmnet) ..O.k. here we go, a few weeks back i've tested two pumps namely the Cyber Aqua and the nirox, for the shoot out, for the result please clikc ere :Budget Pump Shoot Out Part 1

And now to conclude the shoot out, two more pumps will be introduced. Before that the intro:

Each pump will undergo a real life performance test in a real life watercooling set. The test rig consists of:

1. DangerDen Maze 4 waterblock for socket 478
2. DangerDen Double Heatercore
3. 2 x NMB 120mm fans
4. Aeroplane brand ½" tubing from Ah Beng Hardware shop.

The test machine:

1. P4 2.4A (533Mhz 1M L2)
2. Abit IS 7E
3. Kingston 512 KHX3200AK2
4. AcBell 400W Ipower p.s.u.
5. Geforce 9600 pro
6. Keyboard + mouse + monitor + table + chair + box of tissue paper.

Testing Method:

1. OCed Idle Temperature
2. OCed Load Temperature
5. Pump temperature after 1 hour of operating.

Sorry this time there will be no stock temp readings.. i mean, who in the right mind will run on stock if you're in watercooling? doh.gif .. ok? no offence.

So here are the pumps and results:

Contender No. 3

HaiYang HY-805 - Qmax 3500L/h: Hmax 2.5m: 60 W
Price: RM 40.00

3243GHz Oced Idle Temp

3243GHz Oced Load Temp

Pump temp after an hour of operating

Continues......
amok
post May 16 2005, 03:01 AM

schhhhwwiiiiiiinggggggg
739 posts

... conitnued...

Contender No. 4

AquaKing AK4000 - Qmax 3000L/h: Hmax 2m : 45W
Price: RM35.00

3.243Ghz Oced Idle temp

3.243Ghz Oced Load temp

There you go, sorry the mcp650 is with my mobile rig and currently burning in so cannot compare with the rest ler.

conclusion in conitnues...

This post has been edited by amok: May 16 2005, 03:06 AM
amok
post May 16 2005, 03:07 AM

schhhhwwiiiiiiinggggggg
739 posts

...continued

ok?.. not ok, since the result is disputable cause on the first pump shoot out the clock speed in oni 3.157GHz.. but i'm not gonna do the Cyber Aqua pump again, cause the results are obvious.. CyberAqua pwn Nirox. So i'd just gonna do the nirox.

So here we go... again.

The Reign Champ

Our beloved Nirox P2800: Qmax 1200L/h: Hmax 1.8m: 28W
Price : RM 28.00

3.243 GHz Idle

3.243 GHz load

Pump Operating temp.. = please refer to the first pump shoot out.

Conclusion (again?).. continues..

This post has been edited by amok: May 16 2005, 03:15 AM
amok
post May 16 2005, 03:16 AM

schhhhwwiiiiiiinggggggg
739 posts

.... continued

So here is a table (sort off) to summarize the shoot out result:

Pump Load TempIdle Temp Pump Temp Price Modification?

CA4700 48C43C 36.6 RM70.00 NO NEED
HY805 50.5 44.5 36.8 RM 45.00 YES
AK4000 51.5 45 39.4 RM35.00 YES, A HELL LOT
NIROX P2800 52.5 46.5 37.4 RM 28.00 YES

blink.gif damn pening try to sort out the so called table above..... conclusion? there's none by me biggrin.gif , it's up to you guys to pick you poison biggrin.gif

Neways, i can't help voicing out that the p2800 era almost come to an end after being the king of budget pump since bro tot first discover it almost 2 years ago. But still... to me, it can hang on to that title for a few more.. tongue.gif . Hope you enjoy reading and viewing the pics sweat.gif , sorry if it kinda large cause don't have photoshop..

and thank you to our new mod: PCcrazy, for letting me to use a lot of post here. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by amok: May 16 2005, 03:39 AM
amok
post May 16 2005, 03:13 PM

schhhhwwiiiiiiinggggggg
739 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ May 16 2005, 08:44 AM)
so, conclusion, CyberAqua perform best, but it consumed 70W n price is rm70..
hmm, im a nooB.. but there r also nirox p3800 rite? compared to 2800, whats teh diff? higher QmaX n such n better performance?
Well regarding the issue of Qmax (maximum flow rate), actually it depends on the resistivity of your :1 . Waterblock, 2. radiator, 3. line (tubing). If say that you've decided to use a low restrictive w/block(eg. DDMaze series) + 120mm rad then a higher Qmax pump is needed. But if you ask me, a high flow rate pump rarely.. i mean most remotely can compensate the Head Pressure(Hmax) loss in the w/cooling set, most GOOD w/blocks (cascaded, pinned) and rads nowadays are highly restrictive thus require a higher pressure heads (at least 3.0m) and an ample flow rate (e.g. 1200/hr).

QUOTE(AllnGap @ May 16 2005, 10:18 AM)
amok, i got one Nirox 5800 lying doin nothing here, so QMAX must be at least 3.0m to perform right ?
Well rumours about the heat dissipated by nirox pumps as reported by tot31 with his P3800(burned) and brader .1. with his 2 x nirox p2800 (kaputed) was proven to be true from the watercooling shoot out.. you see, a 28W nirox P2800 generates 37.4C of temp which is on the high side, compared to other high wattage pump.. imagine what a 58W nirox will do.. even though it is the cheapest one yet you've got to live in fear for a pump breakdown (especially those who're folding 24/7). And, perhaps the nirox are better run submerged rather than in line... just my 2 rupee. rolleyes.gif
amok
post Jun 10 2005, 12:46 PM

schhhhwwiiiiiiinggggggg
739 posts

congratulationS thumbup.gif thumbup.gif , it's about time sarjan get up his lazy butt and do this thread biggrin.gif .. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif . as for the rest lets keep this thread clean and for discussion just use the watercooling discussion thread.

Here a little something from me:

For further reading and understanding please have a look at the links below:

1. The Best Pump Guide

2. A VERY Introductory Guide to Watercooling

3. Evaluation of Thermochill Rads (Black Ice Xtreme)

4. Another Basic Guide at XtremeSystems(Warning, they're using a bit harsh words brows.gif)

biggrin.gif i'll edit my post from time to time to add more links and reading material.. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
amok
post Nov 10 2008, 11:38 PM

schhhhwwiiiiiiinggggggg
739 posts

geeshhh... talk about heads lost... berro, if you kinda skint try dual nirox instead, or dump the rad fer a single and keep the nirox. (is it still good ol' nirox?).. hehehe..

O.T.: Sarjan and ucai.. hayaa doin mate?

This post has been edited by amok: Nov 10 2008, 11:39 PM
amok
post Nov 18 2008, 02:45 AM

schhhhwwiiiiiiinggggggg
739 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Nov 11 2008, 12:39 AM)
Good ol Nirox but bloody hard to keep the damn rotors aligned...manyak misalignment cases la. And this amok aaaaa....tonite red light isit? Go play2 with your 6A12 laaa
Yea.. yeah.. there one chap who did that a few years ago...whose that leng chai's name ar? forget ledi... hmm.gif finally bought himself a Swifty's mcp... brows.gif

and FYI....it's Mister 6A12T T to you sonny. brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by amok: Nov 18 2008, 02:45 AM

0.0228sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:33 PM