Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V8, Please read FAQ at 1st page!!

dannyng
post Nov 24 2010, 10:06 PM

126 posts

Hi All,

Currently I'm upgrading to official froyo via odin. it's already 30 mins still in the Factoryfs.

Normally how long it take to complete the upgrade?

dannyng
post Nov 24 2010, 10:36 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(dannyng @ Nov 24 2010, 10:06 PM)
Hi All,

Currently I'm upgrading to official froyo via odin. it's already 30 mins still in the Factoryfs.

Normally how long it take to complete the upgrade?

Please help, already 1 hour, still in Factoryfs. If now I unplug, will it brick my sgs?
dannyng
post Nov 24 2010, 10:44 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(Joker87 @ Nov 24 2010, 10:39 PM)
can try voodoo or NO-RFS advance

Added on November 24, 2010, 10:41 pm

ur phone can go in recovery mode and download mode?
Thanks Joker87, now the screen is is crayon color, I dare not unplug the usb. Normally how lon it take to complete the upgrade via odin?
Yes, it can go to recovery mode and download mode before i start the upgrading.
dannyng
post Nov 24 2010, 11:14 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(dannyng @ Nov 24 2010, 10:36 PM)
Please help, already 1 hour, still in Factoryfs. If now I unplug, will it brick my sgs?
No one able to help me? I'm very panicking now......
Should I just leave it on? cry.gif
dannyng
post Nov 24 2010, 11:18 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Nov 24 2010, 11:16 PM)
danny, unplug, pull battery and go back to download mode.
Hi MYstombox,

Normally how long it take to upgarde via Odin? And if I unplug, will it brick my phone? If not, i just give up on foryo 2.2
at this moment....
dannyng
post Nov 24 2010, 11:27 PM

126 posts

Just in case I brick my sgs, can anyone tell me where is Smasung service center in KL/PJ?
dannyng
post Nov 25 2010, 10:34 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(cradle0fFilth @ Nov 25 2010, 12:02 AM)
bro. got 1 along the federal highway before near jalan 222 there. dp a search on samsung service centre plaza pj or somethin on google map. i just went there yesterday
Thanks buddy
dannyng
post Nov 27 2010, 10:48 PM

126 posts

Hi All,

After using official Froyo for 3 days, I'm very dissapointed with Froyo. After all the heap that Froyo will be 4 times faster than Eclair (I remember that i read some where), it is infact 4 times lag.

For me stock 2.1 is faster than official 2.2 (both without lag fix)

Eg. I do not have anyproblem when dialing a call (using contact --> swipe from left to right) in 2.1 but with 2.2, it take few seconds before it start to dial.

Only after I installed/flashed Voodoo, 2.2 is usable. One more thing, in 2.1, the total RAM is around 340mb but now with 2.2, it only 304mb, what????? I thought (again I read somewhere) that 2.2 (Froyo) will increase the RAM in sgs (bear in mind that sgs has 512mb).

Nothing special for Froyo. I cannot see any advantage in upgrading to 2.2.

Can any sifu out there tell me what is the advantage 2.2 over 2.1?

Cheers....

This post has been edited by dannyng: Nov 27 2010, 10:49 PM
dannyng
post Nov 27 2010, 11:40 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(Fornx @ Nov 27 2010, 10:51 PM)
flash to speedmod kernel k9a.. u will get 341mb ram
Thanks Fornx, i'm still very new to this all stuff.

1) Do i just download speedmod kernel k9a and flash using Odin (PDA)?
2) Do I need to uninstall Voodoo?

Cheers...

dannyng
post Nov 27 2010, 11:41 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Nov 27 2010, 11:01 PM)
Yup, I have already installed Speedmod kernel. Now setting lagfix and waiting for backup. I have set:

Data: JFS
Cache: JFS
dbdata: ext4

I think it should have fast performance without timezone/language bug biggrin.gif
+bluetooth keyboard and mouse
+native screen capture
+native cellular data switch (sync will intelligently pause too!)
+appears to have better C2DM (Android push) implementation for my email and IM. Even twitter appears to be instantaneous (have to check if twitter really did use C2DM)
+flash support on website
+neater contacts synchronization (no longer auto-link for user but guaranteed no mistake since user have to link manually)
+slightly more convenient USB storage device mounting
+colourful icons (bah, I didn't like it)
Hi mengsuan,

OIC, thanks for the info thumbup.gif

Cheers...
dannyng
post Nov 28 2010, 03:40 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(Fornx @ Nov 27 2010, 11:50 PM)
1) yes, flash using odin..
2) disable it first, u can apply lagfix by going to 'advanced ULK' in recovery mode after flashing

and enable all tweaks as well for better perfomance  biggrin.gif
Thanks Fornx.

Added on November 28, 2010, 3:45 pm
QUOTE(alvinz @ Nov 28 2010, 12:13 AM)
refer to this guide for installation of speedmod k9a
http://touristinparadise.blogspot.com/2010...to-install.html
i didnt enable tweaks or lagfix ... already smooth for me ...
battery usage also not bad ... check at page 59 ... hehe
hmm, maybe ur apps problem? .. which firmware r u on?
weird ... did u do a factory reset? wat i did after upgrading to froyo dxjpa was factory reset, then change csc (auto F.reset again) then install kernel + reset ...
everything smooth here without tweaks and lagfix ...
Thank alvinz for the link, really appreciate it.

So happy so many sifu out there willing to help rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by dannyng: Nov 28 2010, 03:45 PM
dannyng
post Nov 28 2010, 04:05 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Nov 28 2010, 12:15 AM)
go into recover mode (vol up + home button + power button) ...

ULK for lagfix and root
another one is for tweaks (forgotten the name tongue.gif)
Hi alvinz,

The ULK for lagfix is it same as Voodoo lagfix or it's it own lagfix?

And if I goto recovery mode > advanced ULK > tweaks > enable all, it's mean enable ULK lagfix and all the tweak?

Once I disable Voodoo lagfix by creating disable_lagfix folder, if I dont not want Voodoo, can I just delete the Voodoo folder?
(as if i want to enable Voodoo, I prefer to flash aagin via odin)

Edit : I just flashed the SpeedMod K9A, yeah, the lagfix is included and i choose Voodoo.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers..

This post has been edited by dannyng: Nov 28 2010, 07:56 PM

0.0218sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:35 PM