Guitars Cheap guitars & Cheap amps, Bargain 'Em All. Cheap = Rm1500 below

JenzIggo
post Mar 6 2009, 10:10 AM

QUOTE(Lefty @ Feb 19 2009, 02:55 PM)
thx for your help, i m new in electric used to play accoustic only, now want to get my hand on some electric.

What do you think about squier fender strat copy ? is it ok for beginner ? or is there any other Les Paul copy that is around RM500 dor a second hand. how much is a epiphone? (not sure what model , but something for beginner) my budget around RM500 only. for guitar
Guys, hello all icon_rolleyes.gif and I have been reading this thread for some time now. I'm into buying my first guitar ever with my own money and would like to share some recent prices of common items based on my scouting for the past week:

1. MicroCube 2W. Super best limited price RM350 at MamaTreble Endah Parade. Google it up.
2. SX Strat Traditional Series RM390 also best price at MamaTreble. Limited units. Also check out the Staggs. Cheap as well.
3. Greg Bennet Avion AV3 at DoReMi RM 760
4. Farida FST-6 Strat-like (BETTER QUALITY THAN SQUIRE) RM 620 at The Guitar Store. Damn chun guitar. really2 chun. beat all SX, cheap Squires etc in terms of finishing and sound. Superb. Recomended.
5. Ibanez Gio AX70 - RM 680 Tarrega Guitars Klang
5. Cheap guitar to break neck during gigs - SpreadMusic strat-like, RM299 Jalan Pasar. The kit with noob amp is RM399.

Hope beginners can get a clue about pricing here.

As for me, I havent bought any guitar yet! sweat.gif
o.d
post Mar 6 2009, 11:15 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(JenzIggo @ Mar 6 2009, 10:10 AM)
Guys, hello all  icon_rolleyes.gif and I have been reading this thread for some time now. I'm into buying my first guitar ever with my own money and would like to share some recent prices of common items based on my scouting for the past week:

1. MicroCube 2W. Super best limited price RM350 at MamaTreble Endah Parade. Google it up.
2. SX Strat Traditional Series RM390 also best price at MamaTreble. Limited units. Also check out the Staggs. Cheap as well.
3. Greg Bennet Avion AV3 at DoReMi RM 760
4. Farida FST-6 Strat-like (BETTER QUALITY THAN SQUIRE) RM 620 at The Guitar Store. Damn chun guitar. really2 chun. beat all SX, cheap Squires etc in terms of finishing and sound. Superb. Recomended.
5. Ibanez Gio AX70 - RM 680 Tarrega Guitars Klang
5. Cheap guitar to break neck during gigs - SpreadMusic strat-like, RM299 Jalan Pasar. The kit with noob amp is RM399.
Hope beginners can get a clue about pricing here.

As for me, I havent bought any guitar yet!  sweat.gif
Thanks JenzIggo!! really appreciate your help here icon_rolleyes.gif

Siege
post Mar 7 2009, 03:06 AM

406 posts

well i bought mine at ck music for RM780 package...comes wif a craftman strat copy guitar,spider III 15w amp,cable,gig bag...
kinda gd for beginners...

fly on...little wing...
dilin
post Mar 7 2009, 12:04 PM

348 posts

+1 for the Samick Avion. Get a set of used SDs/DiMarzios in it, and a used AD30/VT30, and you're all set, if you're a LP type of guy.
Barricade
post Mar 7 2009, 10:02 PM

4,170 posts

Guys, my brother birthday is near, i wanted to get him a guitar, i'm no professional guitar player, so i don't know much about guitars but he wanted a white epiphone les paul custom? Can you guys guide me where I can get that and the price range?
SweetTooth
post Mar 7 2009, 10:49 PM

2,650 posts

just pm dead eye, he's your best bet in terms of prices tongue.gif
JenzIggo
post Mar 8 2009, 12:30 AM

QUOTE(dilin @ Mar 7 2009, 12:04 PM)
+1 for the Samick Avion. Get a set of used SDs/DiMarzios in it, and a used AD30/VT30, and you're all set, if you're a LP type of guy.
Dilin,
saw your two samick LP beauties (from other thread)....so envy. rolleyes.gif
The only unit left in KL currently is not the reddish like yours but more to black/yellowish flame top. And the PU's are covered with shiny metal...perhaps your PU's are not stock?
quarantined
post Mar 9 2009, 11:23 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

The Samicks are very dependable guitars for the price. Black/yellowish... makes it kind of like the Epi Slash sig LP? Very cool then!

I guess among those that you mentioned the AV3 is the heaviest in terms of sounds (and weight of course haha). So if you intend to play heavy music, it's a no brainer smile.gif
JenzIggo
post Mar 10 2009, 07:42 AM

Quarantined,
it wasnt that Slash looking...they call the colour honeyburst. I guess the same as Mushi2 one.

BTW, there's only one unit left after scouting the major shops in KL. Even Doremi oso no stock (have to wait).

Guess what...i bought the unit! RM700 after much haggling..Very satisfied...excellent quality for such a price... SX LP and AXL LP cannot fight! thumbs up Samick! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
.:zaxiao:.
post Mar 10 2009, 05:04 PM

470 posts

Helo!

See, I'm a somewhat self-proclaimed intermediate guitarist. xD
Still working on having magic fingers. Have been practicing on acoustic guitars and church electrics for 3 years now.
Have been self-learning all these years and I'm sick of playing by hearing and tabs, when I don't know what I'm playing.
So I decided to start all over and get a proper guitar coach.

Now the real question is, what guitar + practice amp can I buy under 1.5k?
I was thinking of getting the Epi LP-100 + Roland Microcube from Dead Eye.
But I still wanna widen my options just in case I regret.

Sifus, please teach me notworthy.gif
JenzIggo
post Mar 10 2009, 05:32 PM

QUOTE(.:zaxiao:. @ Mar 10 2009, 05:04 PM)
Helo!

Still working on having magic fingers. Have been practicing on acoustic guitars and church electrics for 3 years now.
Have been self-learning all these years and I'm sick of playing by hearing and tabs, when I don't know what I'm playing.

Im no sifu perhaps play worse than the rest of you but Epi LP100 + Microcube is really great for a start! Since youre into LP style guitar, a cheaper option of course Samick AV3+Microcube, I oredi got one! You get the LP100 spec plus crown inlays and set neck too...thumbup.gif well thats from my budget viewpoint but if youre a fan of Epi then go ahead... icon_rolleyes.gif

yOuNg$tEr
post Mar 10 2009, 06:16 PM

728 posts

any1 tried/use godin velocity before ??? sounds like a brilliant guitar..?? any comments on it ?
SUSedge85
post Mar 12 2009, 01:46 AM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

Helo!

get a used used mexican fender stratocaster (RM1200 onwards), and a vox pathfinder amp (below RM300)...
mareno77
post Mar 13 2009, 10:15 AM

260 posts

Hi. Just found out this forum have subforum for musicians. I was on and off guitar for a while now. beginner to intermediary level player only. I just got SX LP starter pack. After much scouting for new and second hand set, .. I know there other better deals around for the price, but considering I want an LP copy and too "gian" too playagain, I settled for the SX set RM800+. Woh fatt ran out of stock so was referred to one of their dealer, Melodic music in Pandan Kapital. Only one set left now. Pricier from woh fatt, but no choice. The guitar isn't as heavy as other LP copy but sound as good to my untrained ear. The amp is just good enough for home practice. It sure do not bring out the best sound of the guitar. When compared with better amps in the shop, the guitar sounds better with the other amps. But in the end, it is a good set for beginner who wants an LP copy. It can get you jamming straight away.
dilin
post Mar 14 2009, 09:12 AM

348 posts

QUOTE(JenzIggo @ Mar 8 2009, 12:30 AM)
Dilin,
saw your two samick LP beauties (from other thread)....so envy.   rolleyes.gif
The only unit left in KL currently is not the reddish like yours but more to black/yellowish flame top. And the PU's are covered with shiny metal...perhaps your PU's are not stock?
Thanks...

The stock pups are chrome covered... I replaced mine with SD59s. The two open black open coils is the Avion, while the one with the gold covered humbuker in the bridge is an older Artist Series.

Added on March 14, 2009, 9:14 am
Helo!

I think the Samick Avion have better specs than the LP-100. Rm700 + another RM800 for a VOX VT30 should be better than LP-100 & Microcube.

Just my 2 cents.

This post has been edited by dilin: Mar 14 2009, 09:14 AM
teamloks
post Mar 14 2009, 05:29 PM

1,176 posts

i think wan to buy metal zone pedal la. btw i learn play guitar 4 day edy and i can play intro starlight from muse only so hard to play other song like stairway to heaven huhu
Xannava
post Mar 18 2009, 12:28 PM

765 posts

Should I get a:

Squire Vintage Modified Telecaster® Custom
* Agathis body
* Maple neck
* Maple fretboard
* 25-1/2" scale length
* Medium-jumbo frets
* 2 humbuckers with independent controls
Rm1k

Or
Yamaha PAC112J Electric Guitar
# Solid alder body
# Maple neck with rosewood fretboard
# Bridge humbucker, single-coil neck and center pickups
# Die-cast chrome tuners
# Vintage-style chrome tremolo
Rm 900

As my first electric? I'm looking for an all rounder with a nice crunch. Thanks

JenzIggo
post Mar 18 2009, 12:34 PM

QUOTE(Xannava @ Mar 18 2009, 12:28 PM)
Should I get a:

*  Agathis body
    * Maple neck
    * Maple fretboard
    * 25-1/2" scale length
    * Medium-jumbo frets
Rm1k

Or
# Solid alder body
# Die-cast chrome tuners
Rm 900

Tele with Humbuckers! Wow thats really customized. I vote for the Tele! biggrin.gif
Everdying
post Mar 18 2009, 01:06 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

Should I get a:

*  Agathis body
    * Maple neck
    * Maple fretboard
    * 25-1/2" scale length
    * Medium-jumbo frets
Rm1k

Or
# Solid alder body
# Die-cast chrome tuners
Rm 900

of cos the yamaha.
if not mistaken the 112 recently had a re-design, so make sure u get the newer model.

hidzwan
post Mar 18 2009, 02:30 PM

377 posts

Should I get a:

*  Agathis body
    * Maple neck
    * Maple fretboard
    * 25-1/2" scale length
    * Medium-jumbo frets
Rm1k

Or
# Solid alder body
# Die-cast chrome tuners
Rm 900

both sounds reasonable 4 me.. but u did mentioned that its ur 1st electric guitar..so might suggest yamaha slightly a better option...unless u know how to adjust ur amp properly with tele humbucker

This post has been edited by hidzwan: Mar 18 2009, 02:37 PM

126 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 126 >Top

0.0277sec    1.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:12 PM