Streaming videos from my computer to tv, Need some advice

TSCyberTroop
post Nov 20 2010, 04:57 PM, updated 16y ago

743 posts

Hello, I'm planning to stream videos from my computer to my tv, need some advice for this as I am completely new.

What are the equipments that I will need for this. Another problem that I am facing is that my wireless connection from my router won't reach my tv. Is there any extender for this?

Thanks Alot for the help.
SiriuslyCold
post Nov 20 2010, 05:41 PM

1,976 posts

wireless is too iffy for streaming videos, especially when you have higher quality videos.

My advice is to put the videos on an external HDD and get one of those media players (Seagate, WDTV etc)
minimize
post Nov 20 2010, 07:56 PM

1,543 posts

Your TV have network capability?
neb
post Nov 20 2010, 08:34 PM

2,234 posts

some media players have ethernet network port, can play movie remotely located on other computer's harddisk

ariff_tech
post Nov 20 2010, 10:33 PM

183 posts

Both source and display must have a Upnp or DLNA.
In your PC, you must install media server software such media player, arcsoft, cyberlink etc..
Your TV will find the media server automatically.

If you are using windows 7, you must share your media library.
in windows 7 media player, you can found stream button, then enable allow devices play and remote control.
if media player found your upnp capable TV, right click on your selected media, and choose play to>your TV.
TV also capable to search Media that you already shared in network library.

Upnp or dlan not just stream to your TV, it also can stream music to your AVR, handphone, digital photo frame etc..
If you have iphone, samsung or nokia n series, you can control your dlna devices.
Use this phone to search movies from your pc and play it on your tv, search a picture from your network storage and display it on your photo frame. thumbup.gif

PS: Ade jugak peti ais yg support DLNA ni, untuk apa? I dont Know... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
SiriuslyCold
post Nov 21 2010, 02:57 AM

1,976 posts

QUOTE(ariff_tech @ Nov 20 2010, 10:33 PM)

PS: Ade jugak peti ais yg support DLNA ni, untuk apa? I dont Know... rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
inventory, ordering direct from 'net. kalau telur tinggal 2 biji, automatic email kat kedai mamak.

ariff_tech
post Nov 21 2010, 04:23 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Nov 21 2010, 02:57 AM)
inventory, ordering direct from 'net. kalau telur tinggal 2 biji, automatic email kat kedai mamak.
Ooooo... I see
SUSMatrix
post Nov 21 2010, 06:40 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Nov 21 2010, 02:57 AM)
Our mamak not so hi-tech.
TSCyberTroop
post Nov 21 2010, 08:58 AM

743 posts

Thanks Alot for the help!, I'm pretty interested in what ariff said. Not sure whether my current tv has networking capabilities. Shall check it out and so more research first.
DarkNite
post Nov 21 2010, 09:06 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(CyberTroop @ Nov 21 2010, 08:58 AM)
Thanks Alot for the help!, I'm pretty interested in what ariff said. Not sure whether my current tv has networking capabilities. Shall check it out and so more research first.
Bro, what TV are you having, make and model number, that is capable of receiving stream vids?
neb
post Nov 21 2010, 01:25 PM

2,234 posts

why make life so complicated, DLNA and all rclxub.gif

just buy realtek 1073 based media player and connect to any TV, even CRT TV, this setup can play movies from any network drive

bsl555
post Nov 21 2010, 01:31 PM

8,046 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Nov 21 2010, 01:25 PM)
Right on...thats why I just bought one.. PC is just too expensive way of doing things, moreover bulky.
ZaX17
post Nov 21 2010, 03:14 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(CyberTroop @ Nov 20 2010, 04:57 PM)
Hello, I'm planning to stream videos from my computer to my tv, need some advice for this as I am completely new.

What are the equipments that I will need for this. Another problem that I am facing is that my wireless connection from my router won't reach my tv. Is there any extender for this?

Thanks Alot for the help.
If your PC is near your computer, maybe you can get a graphic card that support HDMI out and connect them with a HDMI cable, you will get better quality than streaming wireless, but of course, depends on your source as well.
ariff_tech
post Nov 21 2010, 07:25 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(ZaX17 @ Nov 21 2010, 03:14 PM)
If your PC is near your computer, maybe you can get a graphic card that support HDMI out and connect them with a HDMI cable, you will get better quality than streaming wireless, but of course, depends on your source as well.
PC is a computer, should be TV near the Computer.. blush.gif
TSCyberTroop
post Nov 22 2010, 08:32 AM

743 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Nov 21 2010, 01:25 PM)

just buy realtek 1073 based media player and connect to any TV, even CRT TV, this setup can play movies from any network drive
This seems really interesting. I might go with this. My tv I'd pretty far from my computer, so I guess that's out.

SUSchokia
post Nov 22 2010, 02:42 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

I'm using my PS3 to scan videos/music/pictures on any computer in my house via wifi and stream them on TV that the PS3 connected to.

ariff_tech
post Nov 22 2010, 05:38 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(CyberTroop @ Nov 22 2010, 08:32 AM)
This seems really interesting. I might go with this. My tv I'd pretty far from my computer, so I guess that's out.
That wold be best option I guess. Media player can lot more than media renderer /receiver(your TV). It can become NAS, media server, media controller, torrent client and lot more.

But if you have a hundred of movies, thousand of musics, million of pictures, PC would be the best to managed it. Acryan and eaget would be good, HDX, popcorn hour and Dune would be great. icon_rolleyes.gif
ZaX17
post Nov 22 2010, 05:42 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(ariff_tech @ Nov 21 2010, 07:25 PM)
PC is a computer, should be TV near the Computer.. blush.gif
Typo... I mean if your PC is near your TV~
SUSchokia
post Nov 22 2010, 11:54 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Buy the damn PS3 la, can do more than any media player these ppl mentioned.

Unless you have nice HTPC casing like this:-

Then you can place it near your TV as part of the whole AV system, but if you dont please keep that bulky CPU, keyboard, mouse away and stream anything in there using PS3.

This post has been edited by chokia: Nov 23 2010, 12:00 AM
DarkNite
post Nov 23 2010, 10:09 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Nov 22 2010, 11:54 PM)
Buy the damn PS3 la, can do more than any media player these ppl mentioned.
Oh? Have they make PS3 able to watch mkv files without remux already? hmm.gif

0.0214sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:31 AM