11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Asus A | U | N series combined thread V3

eugenechiuu
post Feb 25 2011, 01:24 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Feb 25 2011, 01:00 AM)
did u know how to open A42JV ???
Go to page36 of this thread there's a guide by najsmod
eugenechiuu
post Feb 25 2011, 05:33 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Feb 25 2011, 05:05 PM)
hello guys , i have a question,

im using n43jf and i installed gta IV yesterday tongue.gif

damn lagggg loool...

GTA IV shows my video memory only 54mb...i tot 1GB? yawn.gif

weird...and when i dxdiag , it didnt write its gt425 but it states Intel HD dunno what thing.

any idea ar?

i think that laptop uses the intergrated gpu as main 1 instead of the gt425...hmm
Yup, main display is using Intel HD.. It's probably an optimus problem.. Trying updating to the latest Nvidia driver or add gta iv into ur nvidia profile.. I thought it's ur gf laptop lol
eugenechiuu
post Feb 25 2011, 06:00 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Yup, or u can try this first..

Right click on desktop. Select NVIDIA Control Panel.
Choose ur game 'GTA IV' from the list --> Preferred graphics processor: --> select High-performance NVIDIA processor --> click Apply
eugenechiuu
post Feb 26 2011, 10:20 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(ForestSleeping @ Feb 26 2011, 10:05 AM)
N43 phase out??  shakehead.gif
Probably dun have details yet... It's coming out definitely... N43SL is the next one... N43Jf phased out dy...

Added on February 26, 2011, 10:21 amanyways, just reposting what i posted in another thread here..

UPDATES*

FINALLY... Can't resist and decided to open my A42Jv.... Najsmod's guide in the A42 thread helped me quite a lot, at least the first half of it... After I opened the laptop cover, I only realised that I basically need to dismantle the whole thing to reach the heatsink...

Since I already opened half, I decided might as well try it till the end... When I finally reached the heatsink... There's a warranty sticker on the screw of the CPU heatsink.... So I tried to peel it off without tearing it, applied thermal paste and then sticked it back... Well, it does looks like its been touched before, but the sticker is not torn yet, I am wondering whether they would void my warranty? I am a bit worried now...

So I put back everything and found out I left out a screw which I haven't used @.@ I had no idea where it come from LOL...

Anyways, I turned on the laptop, THANK GOD it functioned as normal... It was the scariest thing I did in a very long time... It would have been quite a hassle because I dun have a backup laptop to use LOL...

Regarding temperatures, I still find it not much difference on light browsing... Does it need any recurring time for IC Diamond 7??

I used the rice grain method, didn't spread it myself.... I'll try to load games and see later..

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Feb 26 2011, 10:21 AM
eugenechiuu
post Feb 26 2011, 11:00 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(Koki @ Feb 26 2011, 10:38 AM)
LOL don't worry, just see how the stickers are only, they won't really care if it's touched, might be those workers in the factory touched it by accident or whatsoever.
dunno how to explain, but it's like u know my hands are sweaty that time and it kinda caused it to be in like really bad shape now... just pray that my laptop won't go RMA then..

Added on February 26, 2011, 11:36 amAnyways, some updates regarding the temperatures on my A42Jv with IC7 Diamond....

I checked the net and it says only need 2hours recurring time for my thermal paste IC7... I don't really see notable temp drop though during idle, just a few degrees only I think, so jealous that Astria could achieve such low temp with OCZ Freeze!

But I think it would be notable diff for the max temperature when playing games though.. Lets just see... For now I dun really have time to test it yet...

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Feb 26 2011, 11:36 AM
eugenechiuu
post Feb 26 2011, 06:40 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(mekboyz @ Feb 26 2011, 03:29 PM)
@eugenechiuu have any pics of your opened laptop?
Sorry man.. I was too nervous already that time haha.. Forgot to take pic lol.. Check page 36, the first half is exactly the same.. After that is removing some cables n mobo to access to the heatsink which is on the bottom of the laptop..
eugenechiuu
post Feb 26 2011, 09:23 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(8u8u @ Feb 26 2011, 09:06 PM)
a42ja bro...i think got
He meant whether have turned it on lol.. Try 'fn+f2' key
eugenechiuu
post Feb 26 2011, 10:38 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(8u8u @ Feb 26 2011, 10:12 PM)
isnt fn+f2 wireless de?
It's for Bluetooth as well.. Hold 'fn' and press f2 twice see got BT icon or not
eugenechiuu
post Feb 26 2011, 11:23 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(8u8u @ Feb 26 2011, 10:51 PM)
sorry to ask noob question again...will it dc my wifi?cuz if will den i try later
To be safe try it later then
eugenechiuu
post Feb 28 2011, 04:59 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(ashly @ Feb 28 2011, 02:03 PM)
anyone using a52jv? i have some doubts...

What doubts? If u wanna get it now, I suggest don't, since a53sv is coming out very soon and selling for the same price
eugenechiuu
post Feb 28 2011, 05:36 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(ashly @ Feb 28 2011, 05:23 PM)
I already got it  blush.gif a53sv is GT540 1GB while the a52jv that I got is GT540 2GB...

My doubt is how come the middle of the keyboard is like bend up?
Hmm.. Go to a shop a check a display whether it's the same? It shouldn't be so I think
eugenechiuu
post Feb 28 2011, 07:50 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(xXmiuXx @ Feb 28 2011, 07:26 PM)
hi there, i m interested in buying Asus - A42JZ-VX086

spec:
-INTEL P6200 2.13Ghz
-2GB DDR3 1066 SO-DIMM
-Free Dos
-ATI HD 5470 512MB DDR3
-320GB HDD

the best offer i've got is RM1379.
many others offer me RM1449 - RM1499 for the exactly same model
how do u guys think of the price?

shud i wait until march asus new price list come out or this will do?
btw, when will asus march price list will be  released?

my budget is RM1500. any other suggestion?
Rm1379 is a really good price... It's the best laptop you can get under Rm1.4k.. Don't worry it's a good choice, budget laptops such as this one won't have much price drop even if there's one..
eugenechiuu
post Feb 28 2011, 08:12 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(xXmiuXx @ Feb 28 2011, 08:02 PM)
thanks for your reply bro~
another 1 of my choice is x42de-vx075 best price RM1429

spec:
amd turion II dual-core p520 2.3ghz/2m
free dos
ati radeon HD5470 512mb
2gb RAM
500gb HDD

is this processor (amd turion p520) better/faster than pentium duo-core P6200 2.13ghz/3m?
obviously the HDD is bigger than it,
but the point is i don really mind about that
so wanna know the processor part =)
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Proces...ist.2436.0.html

Nope, P6200 is still better...

And I think A42Jz is using HD6470 instead.. it's slightly better than HD5470
eugenechiuu
post Mar 1 2011, 10:05 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Idle temp during (battery saving mode+cooler) after applying IC Diamond 7 Thermal paste =)

Somehow my maximum temp didn't really improve much during gaming though...

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Mar 1 2011, 10:09 AM
eugenechiuu
post Mar 1 2011, 10:10 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

what's ambient temp?
eugenechiuu
post Mar 1 2011, 10:13 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Mar 1 2011, 10:11 AM)
Room temperature..
Ohhh.. Hmm.. no idea.. quite cool, in London ar haha, consider it like air-conditioned lar..
eugenechiuu
post Mar 3 2011, 12:05 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Mar 2 2011, 11:29 PM)
Full load of cpu reaches 65c when l4d-ing xD

gpu idles at 44c and didnt check it out when gaming  ohmy.gif
wow very good temperatures... A series has much higher idles...
eugenechiuu
post Mar 3 2011, 09:34 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(loyaney @ Mar 3 2011, 09:19 AM)
Asus A42JE offered at 1449, it comes with P6100 processor and decicated GPU (AMD Radion if not mistaken) Free dos and 1G Ram.

is this laptop ok for normal use, no gaming, some Autocad and Solidwork design (light use).

thanks in advance.
A42Je is old model and EOL already, get A42Jz with same price n better specs as lee_what mentioned
eugenechiuu
post Mar 3 2011, 10:16 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(hsienhsien @ Mar 3 2011, 10:12 AM)
Aiseh, any news for the new series of asus laptoP? N53sn and sv..
Apparently N53Sv coming out next Monday according to many LYP sellers.... N53Sn not sure yet, but I am pretty sure it's gonna arrive around next week or the week after also...
eugenechiuu
post Mar 3 2011, 11:12 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(loyaney @ Mar 3 2011, 10:41 AM)
of cause if same price will get better spec one, is A42JZ also selling at 1449?

on Asus website, A42JE and A42JZ have similar look, i see only diff is GPU from HD 5470 to HD 6470, other are all similar.

is this series of notebook got give any problem?
No problem, just have a few downsides, like bad speakers n stuffs since it's a budget series anyways..

Yes, that is why I was saying A42Jz replaced A42Je, some forummer stated that he got a deal below RM1.4k for A42Jz... Yea it's around that price or cheaper depending on sellers

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0391sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:01 AM