Nikon thread merging, All in one or ?

TSKTCY
post Nov 15 2010, 01:37 PM, updated 16y ago

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

As per Nairud post at D7000 thread, this is the thread to discuss. Please cast your vote and discuss !
Areas Elysian
post Nov 15 2010, 01:45 PM

1,132 posts

Even if it isn't merging all into one, at least less than what there currently is.

There is like more than 1 thread on D7000 alone.
yushin
post Nov 15 2010, 01:48 PM

3,329 posts

I feel keep it at 3 threds is better.

D3k,d5k
D90,D7k
D300, D700, D3

TSKTCY
post Nov 15 2010, 01:51 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Nov 15 2010, 01:48 PM)

D3k,d5k
D90,D7k
D300, D700, D3
It doesn't make much different from current state. User that going through that 3 thread will feel dizzy because they contribute towards the 3 thread.

The main reason to have all in one is to have other to help up as well instead of just that particular dslr model user.

If grouping the 3, how about D70 ? D50 ? D100 ? D200 etc and etc ? All in one is always the solution for upcoming model or disco model discussion to continue on.
General_Nic
post Nov 15 2010, 01:52 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

D3k,d5k
D90,D7k
D300, D700, D3
agree to this
Areas Elysian
post Nov 15 2010, 01:54 PM

1,132 posts

How about this then.

Nikon
Canon

Entry/Mid DSLRs
Semi-Pro
Pro/Full Frame
geekster129
post Nov 15 2010, 02:00 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

I prefer to be in a single thread and all things Nikon.

Sometimes I may want to talk about Nikkor lenses, Speedlights, but ended up discussing it in D90 thread instead, as I don't know the definitive place to talk about it.
TSKTCY
post Nov 15 2010, 02:00 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(Areas Elysian @ Nov 15 2010, 01:54 PM)
How about this then.

Nikon
Canon

Entry/Mid DSLRs
Semi-Pro
Pro/Full Frame
Canon already have their own which is having all together and discussion been going on smoothly biggrin.gif
destroyer666
post Nov 15 2010, 02:12 PM

38 posts

Putting all nikon under one roof is the best as we can share more knowledge. No need for separate thread since D5000 also posted in D90 thread. So what the point of having separate thread.....more confusing.

Other model users also can gain knowledge about other models for future upgrading. Technology now in fast pace........now D7k......in future D8k, D9k......then we will have more threads.

Just my noob 2 cents
C.P.U
post Nov 15 2010, 02:15 PM

------------------------------
2,280 posts

D3k,d5k
D90,D7k
D300, D700, D3
I agree with this as well..

Maybe

Entry Level
Midrange
Full Frame
FaezFarhan
post Nov 15 2010, 02:15 PM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

My idea. Merge to two thread. It will be easier to explain smile.gif

FX Thread.
DX Thread.
asm@m
post Nov 15 2010, 02:19 PM

80 posts

I vote yes.

Divide into 2 groups:
1. Pro
2. Consumer
freddy manson
post Nov 15 2010, 02:30 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Nov 15 2010, 02:00 PM)
I prefer to be in a single thread and all things Nikon.

Sometimes I may want to talk about Nikkor lenses, Speedlights, but ended up discussing it in D90 thread instead, as I don't know the definitive place to talk about it.
1 2nd this.. soometimes in d90 thread talking about 85mm lens attached to d3 body.. so confusing man.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(KTCY @ Nov 15 2010, 02:00 PM)
Canon already have their own which is having all together and discussion been going on smoothly biggrin.gif
so do Sony. they have 3 lineups, the alpha SLR, the SLT and the NEX
but so far they only make 2 threads, the SLR/SLT and the NEX one..
QUOTE(Areas Elysian @ Nov 15 2010, 01:54 PM)
How about this then.

Nikon
Canon

Entry/Mid DSLRs
Semi-Pro
Pro/Full Frame

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Nov 15 2010, 02:15 PM)
My idea. Merge to two thread. It will be easier to explain smile.gif

FX Thread.
DX Thread.
the Dx and Fx is more suitable IIHO

but merging this into one will make sure we dont be bias, even d5000 can use Nikkor 24-70 f2.8 mah?
so do they have to go to d3/d700 thread to discuss about it?

merge saja lah.. or do we need specific threads for speedlight, lenses, etc etc? rclxub.gif
TSKTCY
post Nov 15 2010, 02:32 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

We do have thread about nikkor lens. Anyone using meh ? doh.gif
All talk in thread only. Might as well merge all sleep.gif
nairud
post Nov 15 2010, 02:32 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

You guys kept thinking about Beginner, Semi Pro, and Pro.

What about PnS. They'll be left out
Faint
post Nov 15 2010, 02:40 PM

Moving forward :)
2,474 posts

D3k, D5k etc
D90,D7k etc
D300, D700, D3 etc

Prefer this way!
geekster129
post Nov 15 2010, 02:44 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Nov 15 2010, 02:32 PM)
You guys kept thinking about Beginner, Semi Pro, and Pro.

What about PnS. They'll be left out
I have thought of Coolpix as well. Where should they belong?
C.P.U
post Nov 15 2010, 03:20 PM

------------------------------
2,280 posts

Adui... Just merge all to giant Nikon Thread instead than... Speedlite, Lens, consumer, pns and DSLR to The Nikonian - The dark side.
TSKTCY
post Nov 15 2010, 03:28 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Nov 15 2010, 02:40 PM)
D3k, D5k etc
D90,D7k etc
D300, D700, D3 etc

Prefer this way!
Reason why to group that ?
quineMc
post Nov 15 2010, 03:29 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(C.P.U @ Nov 15 2010, 03:20 PM)
Adui... Just merge all to giant Nikon Thread instead than... Speedlite, Lens, consumer, pns and DSLR to The Nikonian - The dark side.
agree with tis rclxms.gif
FaezFarhan
post Nov 15 2010, 03:43 PM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

QUOTE(C.P.U @ Nov 15 2010, 03:20 PM)
+1.

DSLR 1 thread. PnS 1 thread biggrin.gif
yushin
post Nov 15 2010, 04:01 PM

3,329 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Nov 15 2010, 03:28 PM)
Reason why to group that ?
D3k, D5k - no motor, no commander mode, cannot meter properly with manual lens
D80,D90,D7k - got motor, cannot meter properly with manual lens
D300, D700, D3 - have all the feature but not much user. This thread is usually very quiet.

The reason why I don't agree to merging all into a single Nikon thread due to
1) Thread grows too fast, things posted at morning will be 3 page behind by afternoon and not much people notice it.
2) Big difference between nikon body (No motor ), Money will be wasted if D5k user accidently buy a AFD lens or even AIS lens then only discover it won't work on their body.

ps: I might be wrong with the limitation of each class of bodies.

About merging into FX and DX thread, I forsee FX thread will be very quiet while DX thread will grow very fast like the canon thread. cool2.gif

My 2 cents.

Maybe can change the thead name to
Nikon light Body
D3k,D5k

Nikon Medium Body
D80,D90,D7k

Nikon Full Body
D300, D700, D3

Sound like wine thread now. tongue.gif
zellleonhart
post Nov 15 2010, 04:54 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

I would suggest a Entry level thread (PnS, D40,D3000/D3100, D5000) and another thread to accommodate higher range (D90 - D3S) since the entry level models doesn't have motor, the discussion topic for them would be more relevant rather than having D40 and D3s users talking together in a big thread.

Two threads is good because it retains the current state and not having too many threads at the same time. PnS users is very few here so they can just join the entry level thread.

Does this make sense?
yushin
post Nov 15 2010, 05:19 PM

3,329 posts

P&S user will get poisoned and jooin the dslr crowd. hahaha
guest18
post Nov 15 2010, 05:20 PM

hisap hisap hisap
2,236 posts

if you dont merge I Will create a pentax kx thread laugh.gif

anyway since canon only have 1 thread, why nikon need so many
forger
post Nov 15 2010, 05:32 PM

734 posts

why not leave it as it is, most of the question"discussion" is about the same...

the thread will grow too fast but the discussion is quite the same. i.e: should i buy this lens/camera etc.....lol

p/s: why this discussion come out again. I taught we been through this before. which is exactly proved my point.. hehehehe
edwardgsk
post Nov 15 2010, 05:56 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

What i worry is merging all thread together will end up thread going too fast, and questions asked will be left out accidentally sad.gif
TSKTCY
post Nov 15 2010, 06:01 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Nov 15 2010, 05:56 PM)
What i worry is merging all thread together will end up thread going too fast, and questions asked will be left out accidentally sad.gif
Can re-ask ma. Not that you need to pay a single cent tongue.gif
Serenity Bliss
post Nov 15 2010, 06:05 PM

QUOTE(KTCY @ Nov 15 2010, 06:01 PM)
Proof that Stars =/= ability to add to a discussion.
sniper on the roof
post Nov 15 2010, 06:06 PM

23,414 posts

You know that you can click on "my assistant" on the top right corner and find your last 10 posts.

Heck.. the mods should even merge the S90/S95, LX3/LX5 threads together. After all, they're all the same thing.
edwardgsk
post Nov 15 2010, 06:15 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Sien lo wanna ask again and again tongue.gif

This case happen before in canon thread, I saw forummer got pissed off because he thought no one wanna answer his question doh.gif
bad melatonin
post Nov 15 2010, 06:31 PM

Insomnia
1,677 posts

better put all nikon dslr in 1 thread & pns in 1 thread.
CyberianHusky
post Nov 15 2010, 06:35 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Nov 15 2010, 06:15 PM)

This case happen before in canon thread, I saw forummer got pissed off because he thought no one wanna answer his question doh.gif
1. and then we will be in a loop again to break the thread into models....

2. Users will open a new thread to ask a question, which the mod will kolos and ask to go to the giant thread.... and we will in a loop again as the above quote.

seems like somethong similar in Apple Section

shiinkuro31
post Nov 15 2010, 07:42 PM

Chef of Straw Hat Pirates
1,259 posts

D40/x, D60, D3000. D3100, D5000, PnS --> Entry
D50, D70/s, D80, D90,D7000 --> Semi
D100, D200, D300/s, D700, D3 --> Pro<s>gol</s>

QUOTE(KTCY @ Nov 15 2010, 01:51 PM)
It doesn't make much different from current state. User that going through that 3 thread will feel dizzy because they contribute towards the 3 thread.
The main reason to have all in one is to have other to help up as well instead of just that particular dslr model user.
If grouping the 3, how about D70 ? D50 ? D100 ? D200 etc and etc ? All in one is always the solution for upcoming model or disco model discussion to continue on.
thumbup.gif

brows.gif

nod.gif nod.gif
fcuk90
post Nov 15 2010, 07:45 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

one thread - nikon the dark side . xD.

higher end model user can guide the beginner user (d3000/d3100/d60/d40) in term to produce nice images.
sniper on the roof
post Nov 15 2010, 08:05 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(CyberianHusky @ Nov 15 2010, 06:35 PM)
1. and then we will be in a loop again to break the thread into models....

2. Users will open a new thread to ask a question, which the mod will kolos and ask to go to the giant thread.... and we will in a loop again as the above quote.

seems like somethong similar in Apple Section
Mentality issue lar.. if someone wanna get pissed cos no one answer his/her question, then that's own problem di.

Split into different model... like now D90 wanna EOL di... later those fella's lepak where?

Besides... one DSLR model got so many question can ask ker?

If group into class... ppl with D3000 will think it's a semi-pro model.

All these issues cannot change wan.
TSKTCY
post Nov 15 2010, 08:10 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 15 2010, 08:05 PM)
Mentality issue lar.. if someone wanna get pissed cos no one answer his/her question, then that's own problem di.

Split into different model... like now D90 wanna EOL di... later those fella's lepak where?

Besides... one DSLR model got so many question can ask ker?

If group into class... ppl with D3000 will think it's a semi-pro model.

All these issues cannot change wan.
That's the part most of the post above don't get it. A little lazy to reply already laugh.gif

I'd say gather all. Be it entry level or super pro level. So what ? it's still a dslr under Nikon. One day, they will move to that level as well.
geekster129
post Nov 15 2010, 08:14 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

If I look at all the threads in Photography forum, the top 10 of them usually belongs to products discussion. Sometimes, even still you need to choose one thread to go in if you just want to talk about photography in general (regardless of the camera brand). I haven't see such thread yet. Or is there any?

Even in D90 thread, we can still talk about high end stuffs like D3 or D700 etc just for the fun of it. So imagine I owned a D90 and I'm a beginner, I asked some photography questions, no one bothers to answer me, does it mean I have to go to D3k or D5k thread just because the general demographics of the photographers there are mostly beginners or just started in the world of photography?

This post has been edited by geekster129: Nov 15 2010, 08:17 PM
forger
post Nov 15 2010, 08:32 PM

734 posts

there are thread regarding general photography regardless of the camera brand in here. search for it please just don't make up point to strengthen your own..

p/s: we got one about black and white, we got one about street photography... if we don't have one...just make one lor. the mod wont fire you for it...
Mikeshashimi
post Nov 15 2010, 11:31 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

just group all la...

DSLR 1 thread, PNS 1 thread... like canon's thread. very neat and tidy...
whats the point of multiple threads? exclusivity? the feel of superiority?

and even sony's thread, the fastest growing thread here with the most versions happy.gif also i dont get lost...
Isepunye
post Nov 16 2010, 06:33 AM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

i dont like it as i always get lost with it ;P prefer to stay diz way hahaha
TSKTCY
post Nov 16 2010, 07:07 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Gonna let this poll this end of tomorrow and guess it should be sufficient to decide whether to stick or not. wink.gif
nkarul85
post Nov 16 2010, 07:13 AM

newbies
1,480 posts

i prefer ... nothing to change, haha..

no need to merge. biggrin.gif
craziechild
post Nov 16 2010, 08:04 AM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

merged it all... easier for the discussion... i think...
zstan
post Nov 16 2010, 10:11 AM

15,856 posts

so if don't merge, when newer models come out, more new threads to be made? hmm.gif
Mikeshashimi
post Nov 16 2010, 10:36 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

come on, the current nikon threads arent moving THAT fast anyways... if you guys refuse to merge then at least group d3000/d5000/d90/d7000 together and the d300s and d3x in one.
Darkripper
post Nov 16 2010, 10:37 AM

What do you expect?
1,258 posts

Why not make a new universal thread For Nikonian ?

We will remain all the thread that currently exist and then make a new thread that is universal for every nikon user to discuss about speedlite, lenses and anything regardless of the body they are using.

Just my opinion
Mikeshashimi
post Nov 16 2010, 11:13 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(Darkripper @ Nov 16 2010, 10:37 AM)
Why not make a new universal thread For Nikonian ?

We will remain all the thread that currently exist and then make a new thread that is universal for every nikon user to discuss about speedlite, lenses and anything regardless of the body they are using.

Just my opinion
lol... then that defeats the whole purpose of this poll in the first place...

you dont need multiple nikon threads. I dont see the need for it. some d3000 users sometimes ask questions regarding d90 in the d3000 thread and vice versa. so the whole splitting up entry-level from mid range is pointless.
fubs
post Nov 16 2010, 01:53 PM

201 posts

merge sajalah. more heads better. biggrin.gif
wingster
post Nov 16 2010, 02:00 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

At least make a entry-mid range a threads and a semi-pro to high-end range thread

If every new model comes and make a new thread like that would be very annoying = =

TSKTCY
post Nov 16 2010, 02:03 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Same thing what. Mid range or semi pro by end of the day still messy. Look at quote below.

Posting at 2 thread just to ask a question ?

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 16 2010, 01:06 PM)
Quick question, anyone knows how much is a Sandisk Extreme SDHC 8GB and 16GB going for now? (Or anyone just bought it recently?)
QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 16 2010, 01:06 PM)
Quick question, anyone knows how much is a Sandisk Extreme SDHC 8GB and 16GB going for now? (Or anyone just bought it recently?)
destroyer666
post Nov 16 2010, 02:11 PM

38 posts

just merged all la better.......seldom discuss about the model itself.......in the end they just discuss about lenses, technique etc.......so why dont merge it all together......much more easy.....more head is better......no point to split the thread into entry, high end stuff.......in the end discuss about the same thing in different thread
goldfries
post Nov 16 2010, 02:17 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

you Nikon users damn funny wan la. last time merge all make so much noise. now split between merge or not merge. smile.gif

Nikon D300/D300s/D700/D3/D3s/D3x V8

D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D3100/D5000 V12

now D7000 is higher spec in quite many ways than D300. biggrin.gif

got thread for Nikkor lens too! https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=999254

wahhhh. you guys ah. tongue.gif seeing that D300 is together with the FX bodies, looks like DX lens discussions are spread over 3 threads. FX lenses spread over 2 threads.

Added on November 16, 2010, 2:19 pm
QUOTE(wingster @ Nov 16 2010, 02:00 PM)
At least make a entry-mid range a threads and a semi-pro to high-end range thread

If every new model comes and make a new thread like that would be very annoying = =
one thing damn funny is for those like D90. some call it entry level. some call it semi-pro. it's higher than those like D5000 definitely but it's still lower than D300.

for me i find D90 is semi-pro range la. now D7000 following the 4 digit entry level naming convention but appearance is like D90, while specs wise can tapau D300. so is like LOL case already. so categorization may not be a good thing.
zellleonhart
post Nov 16 2010, 03:09 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Okay why not we categorize like THIS.

One thread as "Nikon Beginner's thread -or- Entry Level thread" and another thread as "Nikon Advanced thread -or- any term similar" BUT!

we do not state what models to use. So any beginners/entry level users who feel that they are asking something about entry level models can ask in the Beginner's thread. Newbie D90 users also can ask there as they cannot fit in the more advanced discussion in the "Advanced" thread.

So in total there are only TWO threads, one for entry level, one for pro. If a D3000 user wants to talk about something advanced (maybe strobist, something more sophisticated) they can ask in the "Advanced thread". Anyone got me?
goldfries
post Nov 16 2010, 03:17 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

haha. do like that then you'll see advanced thread and beginner thread also will have D90 / D7000. because they fall in between.
TSKTCY
post Nov 16 2010, 03:17 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Nov 16 2010, 03:09 PM)

One thread as "Nikon Beginner's thread -or- Entry Level thread" and another thread as "Nikon Advanced thread -or- any term similar" BUT!

we do not state what models to use. So any beginners/entry level users who feel that they are asking something about entry level models can ask in the Beginner's thread. Newbie D90 users also can ask there as they cannot fit in the more advanced discussion in the "Advanced" thread.

So in total there are only TWO threads, one for entry level, one for pro. If a D3000 user wants to talk about something advanced (maybe strobist, something more sophisticated) they can ask in the "Advanced thread". Anyone got me?
Still pointless. Different people different thinking. I feel strobist is something easy. So I ask in entry level thread also can what.
See the point ?

And without stating the camera models also a problem. I feel my D3100 can beat D300 cause the ISO so much better. So is it really in advance thread after all ? Think about this.
goldfries
post Nov 16 2010, 03:18 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Nov 16 2010, 03:17 PM)
Still pointless. Different people different thinking. I feel strobist is something easy. So I ask in entry level thread also can what.
See the point ?

And without stating the camera models also a problem. I feel my D3100 can beat D300 cause the ISO so much better. So is it really in advance thread after all ? Think about this.
btw if you feel strobing is easy you wouldn't be asking about it already. tongue.gif in fact there's a Flash Photography thread and Studio something thread for that.

don't tell me you Nikon users want a dedicated CLS thread? tongue.gif
TSKTCY
post Nov 16 2010, 03:20 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 16 2010, 03:18 PM)
btw if you feel strobing is easy you wouldn't be asking about it already. tongue.gif in fact there's a Flash Photography thread and Studio something thread for that.

don't tell me you Nikon users want a dedicated CLS thread? tongue.gif
Taking an example tongue.gif
Merging all is the end solution without having multiple post by the same person asking same question and other user can use the search to search the keyword.
zellleonhart
post Nov 16 2010, 03:21 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 16 2010, 03:17 PM)
haha. do like that then you'll see advanced thread and beginner thread also will have D90 / D7000. because they fall in between.
hmm.gif true also >.<

See the point ?

I got your point. Also if some muka tembok forumers might ask PnS questions in the advanced thread. Ok, I voted for "MERGE!"

Yesterday I posted in canon's big thread to ask something noob (about PnS models) and still get replies from the white knights.. Don't think it will move too fast if quality posts instead of spams are posted. MERGE THEN!
wingster
post Nov 16 2010, 03:22 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

See the point ?

Haha but is too much of Nikon thread doesn't it?

Now the D7000 have another new thread(currently have 2 thread either = =) later on got so many of it flood over the this category and this and that ...

sniper on the roof
post Nov 16 2010, 03:28 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Nov 16 2010, 03:09 PM)

This is discrimination already. tongue.gif tongue.gif

Beginners cannot play with the big boys cry.gif

Yeah of course a lot of the old timers (not just in this sub-forum) gets sick of people who don't bother reading/searching just coming in to ask where to buy, how much and then disappear ... nevertheless... its still against the forum spirit tongue.gif

Who knows.. maybe some will actually learn something if everyone's in the same thread.
yushin
post Nov 16 2010, 03:34 PM

3,329 posts

Maybe just split nikon thread just to DX & FX...

cik_tak
post Nov 16 2010, 03:47 PM

210 posts

merge .. Byk thread bikin semak ! 1 thread shuld be enuf.
TSKTCY
post Nov 16 2010, 03:54 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Mostly saying merge but vote of the YES don't goes up laugh.gif
Please do vote up there. smile.gif
sniper on the roof
post Nov 16 2010, 04:07 PM

23,414 posts

TS:
I think better set a dateline for the vote .. like that make more sense
TSKTCY
post Nov 16 2010, 04:08 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Already stated till tomorrow bro wink.gif
busyman
post Nov 16 2010, 04:37 PM

1,465 posts

merge into 1 thread will do~
just lk canon , sony~

so that all d beginner can poison by those old bird~~~
hehehehe
TSKTCY
post Nov 17 2010, 11:29 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Bring up the thread. Will be closing this thread by tonight and decision will be made.
edwardgsk
post Nov 17 2010, 06:49 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Where's the decision? Where's the new combined thread? Why are the old threads still active doh.gif
zstan
post Nov 17 2010, 06:59 PM

15,856 posts

67-26
zellleonhart
post Nov 17 2010, 07:01 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

chill bro edward, not night yet... deadline is tonight =D
-kytz-
post Nov 17 2010, 07:02 PM

12,573 posts

Be prepared to start all over again at V1 tongue.gif
goldfries
post Nov 17 2010, 07:40 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

looks like 2 years later Nikon users change mind. hehe.
zstan
post Nov 17 2010, 07:59 PM

15,856 posts

wait. what does merge means?

is it EVERY SINGLE nikon thread merged into one?
zellleonhart
post Nov 17 2010, 08:17 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Yeah zstan, there will be this "The Nikon thread V1 - The Dark Knight returns" thread... soon tonight!

Okay just my lame suggestion for the dark knight thingy XD
General_Nic
post Nov 17 2010, 08:29 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 17 2010, 07:40 PM)
looks like 2 years later Nikon users change mind. hehe.
New generation of users d mah laugh.gif

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Nov 17 2010, 08:17 PM)
Yeah zstan, there will be this "The Nikon thread V1 - The Dark Knight returns" thread... soon tonight!

Okay just my lame suggestion for the dark knight thingy XD
Who wanna race to b thread starter? whistling.gif
maikel
post Nov 17 2010, 08:38 PM

for me, more thread is much better, easy to understand the issue, cause people using google to find answer, if they go to the subject and find out it got 20 pages, maybe they'll left
General_Nic
post Nov 17 2010, 08:41 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(maikel @ Nov 17 2010, 08:38 PM)
for me, more thread is much better, easy to understand the issue, cause people using google to find answer, if they go to the subject and find out it got 20 pages, maybe they'll left
D reason last time Nikon threads stay separated
But this problm didn affect Canon or Alpha thread, so y must separate?
Mikeshashimi
post Nov 17 2010, 08:47 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(maikel @ Nov 17 2010, 08:38 PM)
the problem is, people should start reading their manuals and use google in the first place.
and not to flood the forum with questions like "how to i change the shutter speed?" etc.
Tony Stark
post Nov 17 2010, 08:48 PM

Jarvis where are you?
1,883 posts

D3k,d5k
D90,D7k
D300, D700, D3
i like it like this even more

easier to read-on and search a particular model

just my humble opinion though
fabianz03
post Nov 17 2010, 08:53 PM

4,649 posts

entry-level
semi-pro
full frame

thumbup.gif
zellleonhart
post Nov 17 2010, 08:57 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

We'll just follow the majority... Majority voted for one thread so we'll just follow that.

@Nic
I'll not join the 'race', lazy to keep update the user list or the news... haha
fabianz03
post Nov 17 2010, 09:26 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Nov 17 2010, 08:57 PM)
We'll just follow the majority... Majority voted for one thread so we'll just follow that.

@Nic
I'll not join the 'race', lazy to keep update the user list or the news... haha
Depends on the admin or staff to allow it to happen or not also... hmm.gif
chucky
post Nov 17 2010, 09:29 PM

Urang Sabah
1,072 posts

also another thing to consider: non-nikon people might also have voted
goldfries
post Nov 17 2010, 09:32 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Nov 17 2010, 08:53 PM)
entry-level
semi-pro
full frame

thumbup.gif
for questions like "i have a D90 and i wonder if i should buy D7000 or go D700" .......... ask in which thread? smile.gif sure some fella with too much free time will ask in all 3 cos not sure whether D90 is entry or semi-pro (it's semi-pro btw, based on the body design you know) while asking users of the pro-grade body for opinion.
fabianz03
post Nov 17 2010, 09:36 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 17 2010, 09:32 PM)
for questions like "i have a D90 and i wonder if i should buy D7000 or go D700" .......... ask in which thread? smile.gif sure some fella with too much free time will ask in all 3 cos not sure whether D90 is entry or semi-pro (it's semi-pro btw, based on the body design you know) while asking users of the pro-grade body for opinion.
Hmm, makes sense also... hmm.gif
There's also pros and cons merging all into one thread.

edwardgsk
post Nov 17 2010, 09:45 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Why not go with 2 threads then. Consumer(D3000, D3100, D5000, D90, D7000) and prosumer (D300, D300s, D700, D3, D3s, D3x). Since D90 stop production already, soon or later D90 won't be in list and all left is Dxxxx lo. laugh.gif

Besides, it's fair for people who wants all thread combine and people who doesn't want to combine tongue.gif

Im ok with merging all though, since the prosumer thread is pretty dead anyway laugh.gif

This post has been edited by edwardgsk: Nov 17 2010, 09:47 PM
goldfries
post Nov 17 2010, 09:46 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

mix FX and DX meh? D300 range semi pro only wor.
edwardgsk
post Nov 17 2010, 09:47 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Merge saja lah. tongue.gif
Mikeshashimi
post Nov 17 2010, 10:16 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

just merge it lah... aiyo... its not like these 3 nikon threads are fast-moving anyways.
edwardgsk
post Nov 17 2010, 10:18 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Nov 17 2010, 10:16 PM)
just merge it lah... aiyo... its not like these 3 nikon threads are fast-moving anyways.
Depends one laugh.gif
Sometimes fast sometimes slow. Sometimes.... it just died... (D300,...) tongue.gif
Mikeshashimi
post Nov 17 2010, 10:32 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Nov 17 2010, 10:18 PM)
Depends one laugh.gif
Sometimes fast sometimes slow. Sometimes.... it just died... (D300,...) tongue.gif
i mean even if u chunk them all together, the version amount is less than Canon and Sony.
TSKTCY
post Nov 17 2010, 11:09 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Looking at the votes, I conclude all the thread to be merged. Thanks. Thread closed. !

0.0622sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:54 PM