Nokia N8 - V13 - [The King of Camera Phones], WARNING!! ~5% 1st Batch MoBo Defective!!

andrekua
post Nov 16 2010, 07:43 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

LOL @ Nokia...

Whats up with the dead N8 popping up one after another? And it claimed to be underclocked? LOL...

Oh, I just flash FroyoSense and it was blazing fast on my ARM11 Legend... where is your NEW firmware for N8?
andrekua
post Nov 16 2010, 07:58 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Nov 16 2010, 07:55 PM)
N10.rumour.http://digi.tech.qq.com/a/20101116/000512.htm
N10 or Ben10 also useless with this kinda of firmware and software...
andrekua
post Nov 16 2010, 08:06 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Nov 16 2010, 08:02 PM)
rumour only ma.lol.i think meego will be much more stable compare to symbian.symbian is fail but look at maemo5,its quite successful.im anticipating meego and gingerbread..btw,do u know what GPU is this?SGX540.better than current N8 GPU?
Maemo5 successful? Proof? How many N900 they sold worldwide?

If Maemo5 is successful, then N8 is TOP SALE liao, hahaha laugh.gif
andrekua
post Nov 16 2010, 08:34 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Nov 16 2010, 08:15 PM)
i meant the OS...not the sales.personally feel its quite successful compare to symbian.
QUOTE(ne0cz @ Nov 16 2010, 08:18 PM)
Yes...I think Maemo is one of the more successful OSes...but it has low penetration in the phone market..mostly hardcore users only
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 16 2010, 08:19 PM)
Let me ask you this:
How many time have seen N900 ad or any kind of promotion?
N900 never meant to be sold in same quantity as N8.It's an experimental device.Nokia themselves admitted it when they launched it.
You should go and buy one so that Nokia keep supporting it.

Success means good sales. They aint gonna support it if its not meant to sell. Coming from 7710, I realised the difference it makes with a good selling product compared to a product that did not sell well.
andrekua
post Nov 16 2010, 08:37 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Nov 16 2010, 08:31 PM)
owh....then nothing we can really do bout it coz nokia din put a lens cover in the 1st place.jz hope some genius company come out with a case with slidable lens cover, but tht would add bulk for sure
Buy a super thin UV Filter, laser cut to the size of N8 lens and just attach it like that... you get protection + uv filter which gives you better color under the sun... laugh.gif
andrekua
post Nov 16 2010, 08:41 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Nov 16 2010, 08:37 PM)
Fuuu...  I tot ppl always claim symbian is the lightest OS? use much less resources??
I dont know... Symbian is a closed ma... how we know its light or not?
andrekua
post Nov 16 2010, 08:47 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 16 2010, 08:44 PM)
Nokia N8 @ Iphone 4 by thenokiagallery, on Flickr

Jailbreak time happy.gif
Where is the LIKE button now...
andrekua
post Nov 16 2010, 10:02 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Nov 16 2010, 09:11 PM)
success means good sales?N97 sales is very good too.HTC Hero is quite successful oso but sales not good.
Well, what I would refer to as successful by the sales number is due to the support that we would get from the manufacturer and number of software release that follows. No matter how brilliant the software or device might be, if it aint getting the sales attention, sooner or later, manufacturer will start limiting the resources available to keep supporting it. Software developers also start looking elsewhere.
andrekua
post Nov 17 2010, 09:13 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Sorry to say, I did not feel at all how it was "blowing everything away".

Symbian can change, but whether or not Nokia willing to risk it is another matter. If you wanna compare integration, then you should compare it to Android, not Maemo.
andrekua
post Nov 17 2010, 01:56 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Nov 17 2010, 01:20 PM)
That's why I said, depends on individual. When N900 first launched year end last year, it was the closest thing to your laptop/notebook at the size of your palm, the web browsing is fantastic. Of course, now there're more competition, which is GOOD.

Why I compare with Maemo is because both product is from Nokia, being the product fro the same company, they should realize and provides the functions/features that their company is good at. For example, IF Toyota is well known to develop great gearbox for cars, then then come up with another car with rubbish gearbox. It feels weird doesn't it?

Anyway, when I first saw the ads on the social networks integration for Symbian, I thought "WOW", but then, when I see the real thing, it's not actually integrated, no, far from what they have done on Maemo. It thought they have polished it further and implemented in on Symbian, but it seems not so.

Let's see how MeeGo will turn out, or in there is more changes to Symbian.

Added on November 17, 2010, 1:24 pm

How do you choose Data Network or 3G Connection instead of WiFi?
When try to set widgets to online mode, it will auto-connect WiFi. Only when there is no WiFi, it will prompt me connect to Data Network.

The WLAN mode only can connect to WiFi, there's option to choose where we what to connect to? There should be an "Internet Connection" widget or something like that, then we can choose where to connect.
And the WLAN widget, once your Disconnect WLAN, you have to quickly tap again to switch the scanning off, else suddenly it will auto connect again sometimes/most of the time?
Don't put too much hope into it. For one, phone is phone. If it gets too PC like, it definitely won't sell. That's why I'm still target a win7 tablet. Phone will never replace PC/laptop.

The pillar of success is also the root of failure. By clinging onto the pillar for too long will slow you down. That's why Apple has not seen much changes over these 2 years. It's going the same path as Symbian.
andrekua
post Nov 17 2010, 02:07 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Nov 17 2010, 12:19 PM)
U sound like u are so genius of jailbreaking the iphone....  And the method took the greenpoison team months to develop and make it way simple than before....  Iphone a joke bla bla...  doh.gif.
Normal la. Many Android user who root their phone also feel the same.
andrekua
post Nov 17 2010, 04:32 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(jay2you @ Nov 17 2010, 03:40 PM)
sorry i not understand... sad.gif
Symbian 3 and Symbian UIQ3 is not the same.
andrekua
post Nov 17 2010, 07:46 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(apecx92 @ Nov 17 2010, 07:27 PM)
can trust? me only 50% trust
yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif

andrekua
post Nov 17 2010, 07:51 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Nov 17 2010, 07:46 PM)
boring ler dont have my n8 to play with... yawn.gif
If my wife aint using, I would gladly offer mine for you to torture it...
andrekua
post Nov 17 2010, 08:00 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Nov 17 2010, 07:53 PM)
really?? flash mod it as well??...  drool.gif
Hahaha... IF my wife aren't using which is not the case now... I also wanna flash mod the damn firmware if there are alternative... otherwise Im not going to use it also.
andrekua
post Nov 18 2010, 01:36 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Isn't that caused by the light sensor? When under direct lighting, screen brightness increase.
andrekua
post Nov 18 2010, 01:55 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Nov 18 2010, 01:40 AM)
That's what I suspect, I play around with the light sensor (brightness?), no matter how I change, it's the same for indoor and outdoor.

So when viewing photos or videos indoor, it's.... erm... really... erm... bad...
The setting is useless. Nokia did not make the option to turn off automatic brightness. Therefore it will keep adjusting the brightness with the light sensor. Very hard to see the pic taken in night mode. Best prepare a torch light and point at the sensor.
andrekua
post Nov 18 2010, 02:07 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Nov 18 2010, 01:51 AM)
+1 mine one have the same as i recall the tron movie...  nod.gif

so i think the dimming at the dark room actually hitting the amoled threshole?? or because the N8 display having color banding due to it's not a full 24bit color display capable as what like the nexus 1 display behave??  hmm.gif
Since when did we have 24bit panel?

Let me clarify this briefly...

First of all, there is only 6bit display (Twisted Nematic - TN) and 8bit panel (In-Plane Switching - IPS and XXXXXX Vertical Alignment - PVA or MVA depending on which manufacturer but same concept).

6bit panel can display 262k color but with some added tweak, it actually can display up to 16.2m color (according to the manufacturer spec la). 8bit panel meanwhile would display 16.7m color.

Judging from my HTC Legend AMOLED, I would safely say all AMOLED are 6bit based (at least true for Samsung manufactured AMOLED). I noticed banding problem on my Legend after flashing Vodafone branded Froyo ROM. The bootup screen show apparent banding problem.
andrekua
post Nov 18 2010, 02:43 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Nov 18 2010, 02:12 AM)
so mean that it's still software controlable... then only have to wait new firmware fix on this... then no point like Andy sending for NCC as NOTHING will fix that at the moment??  hmm.gif
Not sure whats the problem really is.

For example, most TN panel nowadays would not have any problem with banding. Manufacturer uses dithering to make the color blend smoothly.

Its however the 8bit panel which is more problematic. I guess some of us might have encounter this banding problem with Dell 2007WFP which is supposed to be the superior 8bit IPS panel.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment...13&d=1228530755

This post has been edited by andrekua: Nov 18 2010, 02:43 AM
andrekua
post Nov 18 2010, 09:57 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Nov 18 2010, 09:54 AM)
hopefully some modders will look into the Nexus color issue and make a mod for us based on that solution..
Hahaha... how did they fix the problem? Did they mention it? Dithering?

0.0478sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:18 AM