QUOTE(jeehouhee @ Nov 18 2010, 05:19 AM)
cool. go for it. uncle had one last time. very good sub. great impact. too bad has to sell coz uncle's heart can't take so much beating remember to read the manual
YAMAHA YST-SW315 subwoofer, Sub user pls come in comment it!!
Nov 18 2010, 09:33 AM
4,865 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Nov 18 2010, 09:42 AM
3,421 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 2 30 N, 112 30 E |
QUOTE(jchong @ Nov 17 2010, 11:00 AM) I think azxel meant is whether you are playing music from bluray, CD, mp3, flac, etc. As you know some are lossless, some are lossy. Yea.. I kinda meant that but more of... if you're listening to MP3, what kind of quality is it at? Personally, while there is some difference I think those differences are minor (or maybe I don't have golden ears like others As for down firing sub, there are many threads about this on other forums: http://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/hom...g-sideways.html http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/subwoofers/...r-benefits.html http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=803787 http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/subwoofers/...ide-firing.html I noticed my mp3s also have different sound quality... something to do with the 'kb'? |
Nov 18 2010, 10:01 AM
4,403 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Johor Bahru |
QUOTE(jeehouhee @ Nov 15 2010, 08:01 AM) I have this Yamaha sub YST-SW315. Is a 10" but i felt that not solid as i wanted !! Now back to topic.How can i set it more Solid !?? i want a solid bass. Clean and Clear ! 1st.Did you set the Front, Center, surround speakers to "small' or "Large" on the AVR. If you set the speakers to "Large' but using small speakers, there will be no bass coming out of the Subwoofer. If you set to "Small" for Small speakers, the bass freq will be directed to the Subs giving you better bass. 2nd.I also did encounter loss of bass between sources. Only to find out that between sources, the settings is also different. Depends on the AVR, you will need to set the settings again...if not they will be on default settings. Example, if you have set the best setting for the DVD source, the same setting might not follow for TV,VCR or multiple input source. This post has been edited by azbro: Nov 18 2010, 10:19 AM |
Nov 18 2010, 10:07 AM
221 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
I think i set my surrouns speaker to Large as i following the default setting lo.
Later back home will try to change the setting. Thinking of selling YST-SW315. = = only 1week plus = = |
Nov 18 2010, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(jeehouhee @ Nov 18 2010, 10:07 AM) I think i set my surrouns speaker to Large as i following the default setting lo. That could be the reason Later back home will try to change the setting. Thinking of selling YST-SW315. = = only 1week plus = = Never set the Front, Center and surrounds to 'Large', unless you are using a very expensive and powderful AVR and massive floorstander speakers with 10~12 inch speakers built in! Set all to "Small". By doing so, the low freq will be diverted to the Yammy Sub. You will even get better sound from the surround speakers and also lessen the AVR load to play all those bass sound. Try it out And remember, If you use multiple sources....check between the sources that the setting remains the same. Example media player and Bluray player Large/Small, Tone etc settings. On some AVR models, you need to set again. Note: YST-SW315 should be adequate for most ppl except for those bass head sifus replying in here. Dun get poisoned by them This post has been edited by azbro: Nov 18 2010, 10:33 AM |
Nov 18 2010, 10:22 AM
icic.. Only set the speaker to Small right ? then others just remain the same ?
I just know how to judge is the sound for Music is good or bad. In term of Movie i still not good in it. Thats y i request for "solid" bass. 1 More question. If i use my Laptop to play music. What sort of cable should i use ? izzit the banana head ? (output from LAPTOP into my AVR input infront of the AMP) or shall i use RCA cable to input my AMP and Buy a converter for RCA into banana head. |
Nov 18 2010, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(jeehouhee @ Nov 18 2010, 10:22 AM) icic.. Only set the speaker to Small right ? then others just remain the same ? Set all the speakers to "Small"....Front, Center and Surround (back)I just know how to judge is the sound for Music is good or bad. In term of Movie i still not good in it. Thats y i request for "solid" bass. 1 More question. If i use my Laptop to play music. What sort of cable should i use ? izzit the banana head ? (output from LAPTOP into my AVR input infront of the AMP) or shall i use RCA cable to input my AMP and Buy a converter for RCA into banana head. Laptop? I guess if you want to use it for music only then its OK for stereo. This post has been edited by azbro: Nov 18 2010, 10:29 AM |
Nov 18 2010, 10:43 AM
Thks azbro u been so helpful since the 1st time i came here.
The output for my Laptop is just normal hole. Yeap i think is Stereo. Dell Studio 15 i guess. |
Nov 18 2010, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(jeehouhee @ Nov 18 2010, 10:43 AM) Thks azbro u been so helpful since the 1st time i came here. Hey, a word of 'thanks' goes very far The output for my Laptop is just normal hole. Yeap i think is Stereo. Dell Studio 15 i guess. If I'm not mistaken, the Dell Studio 15 comes with HDMI port and the means of getting a 5.1 audio out of there. Your Yammy AVR also has HDMI inputs.. If you dun have a HDMI cable lying around, just go to Tesco and get the RM19.90 cable to test it out. |
Nov 18 2010, 11:11 AM
IC wow..nice nice. so HDMI cable that sell is everywhere is the same?
I mean is all standard ? can use for PC/LCD/TV/AVR....bla bla ? |
Nov 18 2010, 12:06 PM
QUOTE(jeehouhee @ Nov 18 2010, 11:11 AM) IC wow..nice nice. so HDMI cable that sell is everywhere is the same? Basically, you can categories HDMI cables to free, cheap, expensive. and then there is the standard 1.2, 1.3, 1.4..1.3 itself got a few variant...I mean is all standard ? can use for PC/LCD/TV/AVR....bla bla ? But no need to confuse yourself...go to tesco and grab one Here is how it looks like. Pictures from a member named PrincCaspian: ![]() And remember this, I can't guarantee you it will work, depends on you Lappy and the software. but at RM19.90, its worth trying it out..but if you connect it to AVR, you need another cable it from AVR to LCD....but I'm sure you can think of that. How is your system like now?...what components are you using?...example LCD, Bluray player, AVR, PS3 etc. You must make sure all are properly connected...if not another trip to tesco will you will be tired And when you go to tesco, go alone, never bring your wife and kids cause the RM19.90 cable will cost Rm200 out of your wallet because of the rest of the junk food etc |
Nov 18 2010, 12:35 PM
lol azBRO u must have gone through this ! i'm still in a relationship status XDXD.
I just have my LAPTOP and 1 cakai DVD player with RCA cable only. Have been working for 4months only. still not afford to high end product like bluray bro ~ |
Nov 18 2010, 12:59 PM
QUOTE(jeehouhee @ Nov 18 2010, 12:35 PM) lol azBRO u must have gone through this ! i'm still in a relationship status XDXD. Take small steps bro..and best is to ask question before buying anything...you wouldn't want your hard earned money go to waste for buying the wrong stuff.I just have my LAPTOP and 1 cakai DVD player with RCA cable only. Have been working for 4months only. still not afford to high end product like bluray bro ~ |
Nov 18 2010, 01:34 PM
yeap. May i know how long u have been playing AV system ?
Nov 18 2010, 03:12 PM
5,989 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Nov 18 2010, 03:23 PM
5,989 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
QUOTE(azbro @ Nov 18 2010, 10:01 AM) Now back to topic. Just to clarify...1st.Did you set the Front, Center, surround speakers to "small' or "Large" on the AVR. If you set the speakers to "Large' but using small speakers, there will be no bass coming out of the Subwoofer. If you set to "Small" for Small speakers, the bass freq will be directed to the Subs giving you better bass. In a movie soundtrack bass info can be found in 2 places: (a) the normal speakers channel (front, center, surrounds) and (b) the LFE channel (for the sub). Info in the LFE channel will always go to the sub. So even if you set the speakers to L the sub will still play the bass coming from the LFE channel. Once you set the speakers to S (and if you can select the crossover freq) then that means the bass info from those speakers will be redirected to the sub. Meaning the sub will now play the bass from the LFE channel + bass from the other speakers. So for example if you set speakers to S and crossover to 80Hz, then any signal in the front speakers which is 80Hz and above will be played by the speaker, below that will be played by the sub (remember the sub will still play all the signals in the LFE channel). |
Nov 18 2010, 03:24 PM
494 posts Joined: May 2009 From: Amcorp Mall |
Nov 18 2010, 04:11 PM
wow.. what a deep explanation ! is time to learn how to play with the Hz / Om / dB..
if not really scare my speaker and AVR will busted ! Anyway thank you so much for the advise. Much appreciate |
Nov 18 2010, 04:15 PM
Yeah...try it out tonite...I simply cannot believe your system lacks bass!
Nov 18 2010, 10:29 PM
3,421 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 2 30 N, 112 30 E |
what abour crossover? 160hz ok?
Added on November 18, 2010, 10:29 pmwhat abour crossover? 160hz ok? This post has been edited by azxel: Nov 18 2010, 10:29 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0232sec
5 queries
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:28 AM |