Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V48!, The Orange Legion

shootkk
post Dec 7 2010, 01:45 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Dec 7 2010, 10:01 AM)
perhaps if possile they put both EVF and OVF or id they want more $$ , external OVF laugh.gif
not much different if u dont plan to upgrade for fullframe cameras.

50mm f1.4
-sharp even at aperture f1.4.
-better bokeh (blur blur effect)
-better built (body structure)
-comes with hood
-full frame lens
-

SAL 50mm f1.8 SAM
-not a fullframe lens
-SAM lens (can autofocus with NEX with adapter)
-shorter minimum focusing distance (iinm)
-cheaper
-abit noisy AF
-sharp output at f2.5
the
Actually I like the bokeh on the 50mm f1.8 better. Those of you not planning to go FF and does not need to go low light without flash ALL THE TIME can opt for the 50mm f1.8

albnok : Thanks!
Wah! Zeiss poisoning!!! I am already so smitten with the 24mm f2 Zeiss already!!! When my wife saw the picture of the lens the first thing she asked is : How much is it? When she found out the price, she said : Don't you dare buy it! cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

For you guys wanting to know what kit lens replacement is really good apart from the Tamron 17-50mm there is one premium choice that is second to none! That's the Zeiss 16-35mm!! Covers the 24m to 50m range on APS-C and you get a UWA when you upgrade to FF!! whistling.gif
shootkk
post Dec 8 2010, 01:22 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

zicron : Sunday a bit difficult for me. If I'm going I will probably go on Saturday. Not confirmed even going or not at this point. So you can probably say I'm not attending the TT. Will let you know otherwise.
shootkk
post Dec 8 2010, 04:01 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Naruto : Best is you find a printer first and then test print a few pics. Then if output is acceptable then only place the order for the album.
shootkk
post Dec 9 2010, 11:34 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Wah!!! 85mm poison!!! Have anyone actually bought this 85mm f2.8 SAM? It's retailing for RM 999 in Sony Style. What's the street price like?

I like the bokeh!!!
shootkk
post Dec 9 2010, 12:06 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Kernkraft400 : Welcome to the Orange Legion! Go snap some photos and post them here!
shootkk
post Dec 10 2010, 09:46 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(evanttc @ Dec 10 2010, 09:39 AM)
hmm..... 16-105 wide abit... but short.... lighter?

18-250 .... hmm... price around?..
The 16-105 & 18-250 should have the same price. I think you can get for Rm16xx new. Should be able to bargain abit on the price. Should weigh the about the same also.

The 16mm will be very useful for wider landscape shots when travelling. If you do not absolutely need the longer end then get the 16-105mm.

shootkk
post Dec 10 2010, 12:29 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Dec 10 2010, 12:06 PM)
IS is more expensive to implement in lenses with larger glass elements as the IS motor will have to physically move bigger and heavier glass. That is one reason why it is more expensive. Sony's SteadyShot moves the camera's sensor around to achieve the stabilization, so the specification of the stabilization motor is fixed. You only buy ONE stabilization and use for ALL lenses.... in Nikon & Canon, you need to buy ONE stabilization for EACH lens....
In simpler terms :

Sony ROCKS.... the sensor so that you don't have to rock your wallet every time to buy IS lenses!! whistling.gif tongue.gif biggrin.gif
shootkk
post Dec 12 2010, 05:12 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Digital Lifestyle Expo shots. Just a few only coz I went with my wife and kids.

That's all folks!

shootkk
post Dec 13 2010, 09:25 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Dec 13 2010, 01:33 AM)

here another one, need everyone's comment.

The model's hand has the shadow falling on the model's face, making half of it dark. If you had a reflector or a fill light on the frame's left it would have lifted the shadows and made it a better shot. I would have also preferred less leaves on the right side of the frame. Just my 2 cents though.

On an unrelated note :

It looks like you guys had fun at the zoo! Too bad I can't make it. Wanted to go to the Digital Lifestyle Expo but ended up had to drag the kids along and in the end could not shoot much. Went on Saturday so missed the TT. Haih...!
shootkk
post Dec 13 2010, 10:40 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

wonka : I think the red in the flower is overdone. Kinda makes it look a little fake.
shootkk
post Dec 13 2010, 01:01 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

ieR : You could try to meter the background and then use flash to up the exposure on your subject.
shootkk
post Dec 13 2010, 01:25 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Dec 13 2010, 01:02 PM)
shootkk: full manual, i wan consistent result, not TTL result. opps, i just got what u mean... i wan use M because i wanted to control both aperture and shutter, the auto metering works in PAS, wont auto adjust M. and i think (go back check later) in A mode, the shutter will blink at 1/160, it wont go in HSS rite? (WL mode)

*edit: wait, i still confuse, when u said use flash up my exposure, mean in TTL or manual?

using metering for A/S will give inconsistent BG exposure... if u point downward more(darker) it will give slower shutter (or brighter aperture) if u point more sky in the frame, it will think its too bright, increasing shutter (or smaller aperture) causing even darker ground... so, use full M for more consistent result smile.gif
Yes, if you put to A mode and shift the scene the metering can change. What I mean is you take a meter reading on the background. Say it give you a 1/300th of a second reading at f8.

You know that at this reading, the background is 'properly' exposed but your subject will be under. Switch to M mode. Dial in 1/300th and f8 and then use the flash on manual to bring up the exposure level on your subject to match the background.
shootkk
post Dec 14 2010, 09:40 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Dec 14 2010, 09:28 AM)
yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif

some people can't differentiate a 24mm shot and a fish eye shot.
That's because fanboys can only differentiate the lenses and not the output from the lenses. They look at the lens more than they look at the lens' output! tongue.gif

** larikkkkk!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! **
shootkk
post Dec 14 2010, 11:32 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(rehohk @ Dec 14 2010, 11:26 AM)
mean, background oso must far away from object??
Yes. Far background = easier to get bokeh.

Here's a sample of smooth bokeh created using a SAL18250 lens that is NOT known to have good bokeh. Just because the background is far away.

shootkk
post Dec 14 2010, 12:23 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(valve_300b @ Dec 14 2010, 11:51 AM)
can't help it i believe, i'm still waiting for some advanced photos from the nice advanced tools. Or are they ignoring me cause it's just some marketing gimmick. Just like the large megapixel bullshit. All marketing gimmick which doesn't contribute to a good photo.
Well, I don't have many advanced tools but here's a pic I took using the ancestor of the Alpha - the A100

It's not a particularly good pic I must admit but I took this shot just using the A100 and F58 flash mounted off camera & triggered by the ancient A100 using the pop-up flash.

I'm wondering if you could do the same just using a Canon 550D and a 580 EX II flash?
shootkk
post Dec 14 2010, 03:18 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(fansoption @ Dec 14 2010, 03:12 PM)
anyone know how to shoot object background is black color one?
Yes, use a black background. Important to control your lighting so that it does not spill all over the place and make the black background become gray.

In my pic posted earlier (wireless flash shot of my A850) I used a black sugar paper as background. That pic was not edited in any way. Just resized and uploaded.
shootkk
post Dec 14 2010, 03:24 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

fansoption : Like that confirm is use high f number coupled with fast shutter speed and control flash to your subject only. Don't let it spill to the background. The small aperture opening and fast shutter speed will kill the ambient light.
shootkk
post Dec 14 2010, 03:33 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(fansoption @ Dec 14 2010, 03:31 PM)
i saw one uncle at KLIM he using flash to fire only capture the people background all black also same with this skill too?
Yes lor... especially if you make the flash go into HSS mode. The flash power reduce like crazy so cannot light large area.
shootkk
post Dec 14 2010, 03:39 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(fansoption @ Dec 14 2010, 03:37 PM)
thank you
You're welcome! smile.gif
shootkk
post Dec 15 2010, 11:48 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

evilhomura89 : I like 8 too and to cjlai I don't see any yellow tinge.. then again, this monitor at my office is not the best one to view pics with.

Hahaha! Sampah king and blue king what about the famous 'sofa king'?

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0554sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:23 PM