Wharfadale Diamond VS Dynaudio Focus, Should I upgrade

TSelmer
post Nov 10 2010, 11:05 AM, updated 16y ago

219 posts

I recently got back from Singapore and auditioned the Dynaudio Focus speakers there. I can tell you I was totally hooked with the clarity it produce but the demo wasn't so good since was in an open environment powered by a high end pioneer receiver.

I'm thinking of upgrading to the Dynaudio Focus but am wondering if there is going to be a major difference in terms of sound quality in my current setup. I need some help from sifu here to decide. I currently have a dedicated room for my home theater with the current set up.

1) Emotiva XPA-5 Power amp
2) Yamaha RXV 3800 receiver
3) Wharfadale Diamond 9.6 - fronts
4) Wharfadale Diamond 9.1 - Side
5) Wharfadale Diamond 9CM - Center
6) Whatfadale Diamond DFS - Rear
7) SVS PB12-NSD - subwoofer

Planning to change my front and center to Dynaudio Focus. Let me know if I will be able to hear significant difference... thanks.
yltan
post Nov 10 2010, 11:25 AM

194 posts

How much for the Dynaudio Focus.
TSelmer
post Nov 10 2010, 11:50 AM

219 posts

Probably about 10k
bsl555
post Nov 10 2010, 12:10 PM

8,046 posts

Dynaudio are a class of its own, no comparison to Wharfy but be known they're not designed for bi-wiring, b-amping and mostly 4ohm speakers. Dynaudio owner is expected to hook up a matching power amp (hi-current output highly suggested) for great potential. They're also quite uncolored speakers..not to everyone's taste. I prefer them for stereo hi-fi rather than HT. (but then its your choice, not discouraging anyone). Dynaudio is never cheap.

This post has been edited by bsl555: Nov 10 2010, 12:13 PM
TSelmer
post Nov 10 2010, 12:30 PM

219 posts

Thanks for the input. I was impressed with it for its imaging and clarity. The bass was also pretty outstanding especially when I auditioned their contour bookshelf speakers. I should have 300 watts driving 4 ohms so I don't think power will be the issue.

Anyone have any other impressions on Dynaudio?

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Nov 10 2010, 12:10 PM)
Dynaudio are a class of its own, no comparison to Wharfy but be known they're not designed for bi-wiring, b-amping and mostly 4ohm speakers. Dynaudio owner is expected to hook up a matching power amp (hi-current output highly suggested) for great potential. They're also quite uncolored speakers..not to everyone's taste. I prefer them for stereo hi-fi rather than HT. (but then its your choice, not discouraging anyone). Dynaudio is never cheap.
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 10 2010, 12:50 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(elmer @ Nov 10 2010, 11:05 AM)
I recently got back from Singapore and auditioned the Dynaudio Focus speakers there. I can tell you I was totally hooked with the clarity it produce but the demo wasn't so good since was in an open environment powered by a high end pioneer receiver.

I'm thinking of upgrading to the Dynaudio Focus but am wondering if there is going to be a major difference in terms of sound quality in my current setup. I need some help from sifu here to decide. I currently have a dedicated room for my home theater with the current set up.

1) Emotiva XPA-5 Power amp
2) Yamaha RXV 3800 receiver
3) Wharfadale Diamond 9.6 - fronts
4) Wharfadale Diamond 9.1 - Side
5) Wharfadale Diamond 9CM - Center
6) Whatfadale Diamond DFS - Rear
7) SVS PB12-NSD - subwoofer

Planning to change my front and center to Dynaudio Focus. Let me know if I will be able to hear significant difference... thanks.
Every audiophile knows this fundamental fact: How a speaker sound is very much dependent on the other equipment it is being hooked up with.

For example, that Dynaudio may have blown your socks off but when paired with other equipments and in other environment, it could sounded like s*&#!

There is no way of knowing for sure but to put that Dynaudio into your system and find out for yourself.

TSelmer
post Nov 10 2010, 01:00 PM

219 posts

Hard to do this since most audio shop won't have the same setup as mine and they will definitely not lug the speakers to my house for me to audition it unless you know someone who will do it?

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Nov 10 2010, 12:50 PM)
Every audiophile knows this fundamental fact: How a speaker sound is very much dependent on the other equipment it is being hooked up with.

For example, that Dynaudio may have blown your socks off but when paired with other equipments and in other environment, it could sounded like s*&#!

There is no way of knowing for sure but to put that Dynaudio into your system and find out for yourself.
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 10 2010, 01:10 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(elmer @ Nov 10 2010, 01:00 PM)
Hard to do this since most audio shop won't have the same setup as mine and they will definitely not lug the speakers to my house for me to audition it unless you know someone who will do it?
Yap. That's every audiophile's headache. You are not alone. I suppose you have to try your luck posting on some dedicated audiophile forum

http://www.audioasylum.com/index.htm
arremie
post Nov 10 2010, 01:28 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Bro you better check with Emotiva if XPA-5 got any compatibility issue with Dynaudio Focus. For example Axiom speakers tend to cause XPA-5 to goes up in smoke sweat.gif
TSelmer
post Nov 10 2010, 01:30 PM

219 posts

What lau... so serious??? That's scary man.

QUOTE(arremie @ Nov 10 2010, 01:28 PM)
Bro you better check with Emotiva if XPA-5 got any compatibility issue with Dynaudio Focus. For example Axiom speakers tend to cause XPA-5 to goes up in smoke sweat.gif
arremie
post Nov 10 2010, 01:42 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

yup it's all over avs forum. as usual they blaming each other but for us end users better be safe then sorry.
dlyz
post Nov 10 2010, 01:43 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

Which Focus you are talking about?

Contour S1.4, the bass really geng despite its small size.

Wharf and Dynaudio is no contest really.

My friend has Confidence C2 he drive with a Denon AVR, if you ask me... it was bright and a bit harsh. His house is undergoing renovation so tats just a temporary solution. So you might have enuf power, but Dyns are very sensitive to the equipments you hook up.

I have a Audience 122 and i have never been very happy with the lows... some ppl tell me that 122 dun have sub bass as it was design for HT use. Some say my Marantz is just not good enuf. I cant be sure, but im still working on that amp.
TSelmer
post Nov 10 2010, 01:54 PM

219 posts

I'm looking at the Focus 220 II. You familiar with that floorstander?

That's what people have been telling me... no contest. But how significant the improvement I guess its up to the listener.

Wow Confidence C2 are lovely speakers. They are even beautiful to look at.

QUOTE(dlyz @ Nov 10 2010, 01:43 PM)
Which Focus you are talking about?

Contour S1.4, the bass really geng despite its small size.

Wharf and Dynaudio is no contest really.

My friend has Confidence C2 he drive with a Denon AVR, if you ask me... it was bright and a bit harsh. His house is undergoing renovation so tats just a temporary solution. So you might have enuf power, but Dyns are very sensitive to the equipments you hook up.

I have a Audience 122 and i have never been very happy with the lows... some ppl tell me that 122 dun have sub bass as it was design for HT use. Some say my Marantz is just not good enuf. I cant be sure, but im still working on that amp.
dlyz
post Nov 10 2010, 04:00 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

Yes, i have the good forture of auditioning a lot of Dynaudio as my friend is a collector, but he doesnt have focus towers.... yet...

Anyway, what he taught me is this... all dynaudio are good just some do somethings better, doesnt mean you go higher you gonna get better sound depend preference.

DM/Audience for all rounder
Focus for vocal
Contour for bass/drums/percussion
Confidence for Orchestra
Evidence i cant remember
Sapphire does all that well

hope tis helps a bit in your choice
TSelmer
post Nov 10 2010, 10:10 PM

219 posts

What would you recommend for strictly movies? Looks like the Audience could already meet my requirements.

QUOTE(dlyz @ Nov 10 2010, 04:00 PM)
Yes, i have the good forture of auditioning a lot of Dynaudio as my friend is a collector, but he doesnt have focus towers.... yet...

Anyway, what he taught me is this... all dynaudio are good just some do somethings better, doesnt mean you go higher you gonna get better sound depend preference.

DM/Audience for all rounder
Focus for vocal
Contour for bass/drums/percussion
Confidence for Orchestra
Evidence i cant remember
Sapphire does all that well

hope tis helps a bit in your choice
DannyOP
post Nov 11 2010, 10:43 AM

5,220 posts

Don't mind me asking I noticed u are using the SVS PB12-NSD subwoofer with your system. Are you happy with the bass? I'm planning to get the same sub upgrade for my system.
dlyz
post Nov 11 2010, 11:25 AM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

Hmm, for movies im not really sure really, but focus definately is better than audience, it does have bass to die for. But you already have a sub for that. If talk about music and vocals, Focus better than audience for sure.

TSelmer
post Nov 11 2010, 01:11 PM

219 posts

I'm very happy with it. I think for its price, there are no comparisons. I actually upgraded from a Wharfedale 250 but that was no match for the SVS. Becareful that it might get a bit boomy in small rooms. My home theater is in a 17' by 15' room and it rattles my door during action scenes.

My sub is also turn down quite a lot so that I don't get the boominess but I still feel it enough to know its there.

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Nov 11 2010, 10:43 AM)
Don't mind me asking I noticed u are using the SVS PB12-NSD subwoofer with your system. Are you happy with the bass? I'm planning to get the same sub upgrade for my system.
DannyOP
post Nov 11 2010, 08:26 PM

5,220 posts

darn.. kena poison already.. u're the 3rd owner of Whafedale sw-250 including myself. What do u do with your 'old' 250? Any use for it? Currently if I upgrade the subwoofer I would have exactly 1 'extra' ht system.. not sure whether to sell it or setup a 2nd space for the av system.
shinzhizu
post Nov 11 2010, 11:20 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Nov 11 2010, 08:26 PM)
darn.. kena poison already.. u're the 3rd owner of Whafedale sw-250 including myself. What do u do with your 'old' 250? Any use for it? Currently if I upgrade the subwoofer I would have exactly 1 'extra' ht system.. not sure whether to sell it or setup a 2nd space for the av system.
how the sound of sw250? do u audit wharf diamond 10.gx sub? i looking for sub tat can boom boom paw..

0.0232sec    0.97    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:24 AM