Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V7, Please read FAQ at 1st page!!
janov
Nov 11 2010, 01:52 PM

QUOTE(holypredator @ Nov 11 2010, 01:36 PM) oh man..that's pretty weak.. mine lasted 3 days.. wifi for an hour.. play some games less than an hour.. call.. and heavy music.. and I would lever the phone on stanby when I sleep.. my screen brightness set to the lowest thought..even when I surf web.. eh, thought you planning to sell your SGS due to the froyo delay? good to hear you still love SGS
janov
Nov 11 2010, 02:58 PM

QUOTE(holypredator @ Nov 11 2010, 02:30 PM) wa.. to be honest.. based on what I say.. my usage time only less than 4hr in 3days..and that also seem like something Impossible..i wonder if your phone is faulty.. music doesn't eat up much battery..because the screen is off and everything else is off when I listen to music and also I felt that sgs standby time is very great...better than iphone 4 at least wah got Iphone 4 oso ah....orang kaya la you....hehe. maybe you can give us a short comparison between those 2 since you have both. no wonder you can last 3days, impossible for most users, when ur not using it do u leave the phone on standby or off it? u still on stock Eclair?
janov
Nov 11 2010, 03:03 PM

QUOTE(phyz @ Nov 11 2010, 02:59 PM) That's why i got confused,what i know SAMOLED should save more energy. not really, there was a discussion on this in V5 or V6 (im losing count with how fast this thread is moving), anyway you can go check back what was said then, IIRC, a comparison was made between Iphone 4 TFT display Vs S.AMOLED but still a tough call because the size is not identical. the summary was Black Screen on a S.AMOLED consumes the most least power and a white screen on S.AMOLED consumes the most compared to TFT
janov
Nov 11 2010, 07:45 PM

QUOTE(phyz @ Nov 11 2010, 07:10 PM) Maybe between 11 Nov 2010 - 30 Nov 2010. i'm seriously contemplating to upgrade my stock Eclair JF4 to Froyo via ODIN and screw the update from Kies. Just so tempted after seeing the rest who have already done so having so much fun but then also have this fear i'll brick my phone. need to overcome our fear to seek FREEDOM!!
janov
Nov 12 2010, 10:21 AM

QUOTE(sissoko @ Nov 12 2010, 09:25 AM) Macha, the intereference you're talking about when the phone is not in call mode i experience it too but its due to data communication or the phone is searching signal. whether it is bad for health or not is a very subjective question, just like medicine it will take a long time to study the effects on humans but if you search around the net you will see some people claiming handphones itself are bad especially for kids because the Electromagnetic waves being transmitted and received during calls can affect brain cells and in the long run it causes brain tumor and this has been proven with the increase in cases of brain tumor especially among kids nowdays. the reason is kids have thinner skulls than adults hence it is easier for the Electromagnetic wave to penetrate. so if you have kids, do not let them use handphones especially kids nowdays can talk on the handphone for hours. i've seen a video on how a handphone antenna could cook and egg!! mobile phones have only really been around for 15-20yrs but was only pick up about 10yrs ago. nowdays kids cant live without it. only time will tell the true effect of this. but for most if not all major corporations, profit is the number one priority, so how it affects humans is secondary.
janov
Nov 13 2010, 10:40 PM

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 13 2010, 10:35 PM) yeah, we all know the fact SGS has a poor software implementation(unlike other android phones) from the 1st(V1) thread until now...so why bother to keep repeating the same thing over and over again?? we are not defensive about it but if yes,u need to remember this is SGS thread..try go to iphone thread and complain how bad for the iphone.i guarantee u get shot straight away without any "mercy" get the phone that meets your requirement... is ur money and ur freedom to choose... iphone is great and served me well for 1 year but i want to try another OS with different functionality..so android and SGS(big screen with nice hardware) is a choice for me.. the thing i missed from iphone is a better quality of apps at least once a week, you and your gf holy predator get a go at each other, you know what? You guys should get a room!! LOL. Kidding la, no need to be so serious talking about phone, we are just here to share views and everyone's got their own. so lets not get to personal, its not directed at you just saying in general, lets spread some love here guys
janov
Nov 13 2010, 11:16 PM

i'm going to try to flash using ODIN, most of you that flash use v1 or v1.3? any difference in steps as highlighted in page 1? by the way, which is better, JPO or JPA or JPD? perhaps reviews on each rom can be placed in page 1? hope im not asking too much, really gian to flash to froyo after reading some of you guys talk about it  Added on November 13, 2010, 11:18 pmQUOTE(lch78 @ Nov 13 2010, 11:14 PM) Hey guys, I just got hold of galaxy tab hours back. Running froyo is very smooth. Like my SGS eclaire on Voodoo. The UI looks more like ADW launcher. Camera got flash. Feels really good on my hand. Don't feel like buying one, but I don't mind owning one either, haha  . Btw, it is rooted.  The maxis promoter says stocks already finish. Probably need to wait till next year. Don't know how true is that. Well here are the pic I took: [attachmentid=1883803] [attachmentid=1883861] one of my colleague bought last week, its quite nice actually, can be a book or a mini lap top all in one but too bulky as a phone to carry around. but my colleague use it as a phone, can be quite amusing seeing it sticking out of his pocket all the time...lol This post has been edited by janov: Nov 13 2010, 11:18 PM
janov
Nov 13 2010, 11:23 PM

QUOTE(GreenGoat @ Nov 13 2010, 11:19 PM) just follow the steps on 1st page using v1.3 n i believe most of ppl here flash to customized JPO/JPA JPD also ok if u wanna give a shot  ya maybe try all and see how each performs, thanks for the tip, kambing hijau  what app to use to back up my stuff eh? titanium or myback up? any recommendation? i wanna backup everything : calendar/phonebook/sms/apps. This post has been edited by janov: Nov 13 2010, 11:24 PM
janov
Nov 13 2010, 11:27 PM

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Nov 13 2010, 11:23 PM) All the best, then. Personally, I am using ODIN 1.70 (from Galaxy Tab page on SamFirmware web site, I think) to flash my phone up and down. Am currently testing JPO firmware with speedmod kernel k2r2-200hz (was on JPM with same kernel before, but I got bored after using JPM for 2-3 weeks..). I'm also curious on JPO vs JPA vs JPD. Read so many conflicting user reports so just randomly chose JPO. thanks for the tip macha, think i'll try JPO as well, i'm gonna read through all the instructions a few times before actually attempting. will let you guys know if faced any problems
janov
Nov 13 2010, 11:33 PM

oh one more noob question, im currently on stock JF4, can i still flash to Froyo from Eclair? what about the backups i made on the old ROM, will it restore correctly considering the change in firmware version? sorry need to clear my doubts a bit here
janov
Nov 15 2010, 11:36 PM

downloading JPA from samfirmware, is the firmware size really 169Mb?? Wow, and it seems i need to flash to JM8 first before going to JPA, correct? well once i get all the files i will take the next big step and FLASH!! i really dont like depending on Kies for firmware update anymore la, feel like no freedom wan. anyway after i flash to JPA from samfirmware can i then apply Custom ROM? Please advise, fellow SIFUS!!
janov
Nov 15 2010, 11:50 PM

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Nov 15 2010, 11:46 PM) which firmware u on?? wad custom rom u wanna try?? Doc's ROM?? I recommend this. although im nt yet a sifu  stil learning currently on stock JF4, came with the phone since i got it in july. i'm gonna try the latest JPA on samfirmware website, the file is big and its taking a while to download. maybe i'll do it tomorrow, need to sleep la, got work, some more need to download JM8 first before i can flash to JPA, im quite excited though. gonna try this first before i move on to custom ROMs like Doc etc, as long u started flashing u considered sifu oredi la!!
janov
Nov 15 2010, 11:51 PM

QUOTE(jujx @ Nov 15 2010, 11:47 PM) I think for stock firmware try JPD as ppl are reporting it as smoother and better battery life. JPD is hong kong firmware thanks for the advise jujx, will try that
janov
Nov 15 2010, 11:56 PM

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Nov 15 2010, 11:51 PM) ya, I second that. They say it has better battery life. but if u prefer custom rom, try Doc's ok im a bit confused, so JPD from samfirmware is considered official? and custom ROM like Doc i follow the similar steps to flash? was thinking custom ROMs only need to flash PDA portion as if im using JPD the CSC and Phone portion already exists? so most of the custom ROM is available in xda forum? will search there for more info. sorry for noob questions
janov
Nov 16 2010, 12:00 AM

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Nov 15 2010, 11:52 PM) if u wan to move to Doc's rom later, then do it right away. I did mine from DXJF4 too  jz folo the instructions carefully, easy oh can straight flash to Doc's ROM? but according to samfirmware, example if i wanna flash to JPA, need to flash to JM8 then JPA, so what ur saying is using Doc Rom i can straight flash from JF4 to Doc ROM? can you please give me the link to the Doc ROM file? thanks for answering guys, appreciate it but i think im gonna sleep, maybe i'll try flash tomorrow then, gotta wake up early for work
janov
Nov 16 2010, 09:19 AM

QUOTE(four_add @ Nov 16 2010, 07:38 AM) using LauncherPro 8.1.1 and Doc's 7.6.2 rom unplug at 11.00 pm last night at 100% then go sleep wake up at 5.30 am, and it already 75% at 7.20 am, at 70% so terrible..  have to charge again at noon. was thinking of flashing to this ROM today as advised by Ken2291 but now that you mentioned that it sucks the battery then i might not. battery life is important to me and i believe to most of us
janov
Nov 16 2010, 10:52 AM

QUOTE(four_add @ Nov 16 2010, 10:29 AM) yes, it is fast alrite quote from xda : just what is this jpm/jpd/jpp ?  if i'm not mistaken JPM/JPD/JPP refers to the "official" firmware from samfirmare website not a custom ROM
janov
Nov 16 2010, 12:49 PM

QUOTE(yhping @ Nov 16 2010, 12:23 PM) i having a sms bug on samsung galaxy s i recieved a sms from A but it goes to another person sms. i sent a sms to B but it was sent to another person. on 12 and 13 november, i did not recieve some sms that sent by my frens, but i recieved all of them together on 16/11? how to solve this problem, thank you! actually i had this problem on 13th but only for one sms, deleted the sms thread with the problem and it was ok, not sure if its phone issue or telco
janov
Nov 16 2010, 05:33 PM

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Nov 16 2010, 04:42 PM) I just installed JPD for a friend. Then installed speedmod kernel and installed superuser + tools via recovery mode. OK so far. after much thought, will be flashing JPD tonight, how to install speedmod kernel? super user installation is the usual update.zip method? fongwei, you can flash JPD by going to samfirmware website, download the file there and flash it using Odin
janov
Nov 16 2010, 10:24 PM

gonna flash to JPD now, just want to confirm something, in the first page it mentions i need to check "RE-PARTITION" however on the samfirmware flash guide the guide shows it is not checked, please confirm if need to check or not, as i recall in the many posts someone mentioned need to check just need confirmation before i proceed, anyone out there can give me a firm answer? thanks