CS, CZ, CSS and CS:GO FAQ, Latest update: CS:GO FAQ

TSH@H@
post Jun 4 2005, 06:44 PM, updated 21y ago

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

Okay, here's a quick FAQ on the differences between these 3 titles.

What is the difference between Counter-Strike (CS) and CS 1.6?
They are essentially the same. Its just that CS1.6 runs on Steam, meaning you need to be connected to the Net to play even on LAN.

What is the difference between CS and Condition Zero (CZ)?
CZ is basically CS but with a single player portion (Consists of offline bot play with goals and another game type called Deleted Scenes). The multiplayer component for both is exactly the same except that CZ has different textures for some maps. CZ can also be played on LAN without the need for Steam, so no net connection is required.

What is the difference between CS and Counter-Strike: Source (CSS)?
CS is a multiplayer mod for Half-Life while CSS is the multiplayer component for Half-Life 2. CSS plays similarly to CS but has better graphics, a physics engine and also ragdolls drool.gif .

How can I get CS, CZ and CSS?
You can download CS for free if you own Half-Life or you can buy it at retail (Or via Steam). Same goes for CZ. CSS comes with Half-Life 2 and is not available separately. All of these titles are available online via Valve's online service aka Steam. (Requires credit card)

I can't find places to get CS, CZ or CSS. How to get it then?
At the moment, the official distributor of VUG games, Sendi Mutiara Multimedia, is not allowed to distribute any Valve game anymore as VUG and Valve are no longer together. So, finding a copy of any of these games at retailis not so easy. You can try looking for it at some retailers who are selling old stock or purchase it via Steam.

I don't have money to buy CS, CZ or CSS, where can I get it?
Too bad for you. They worked hard to make this game, work hard to get it then.

Can I play CS, CZ and CSS on LAN offline?
Yes, you first need to connect to the Internet, login to Steam, unplug your net connection and let Steam fall into Offline mode. After that, you should have no problem running LAN games. To look for LAN games, just go to the LAN tab in the Find Servers dialogue box. To host, just create a game.

CSGO F.A.Q.

Q) Where can I play Counter-Strike: Global Offensive?
A) CS:GO is currently available on PS3, Xbox 360, PC and Mac.

Q)How do I activate the console?
A) Activate the console in Help & Options -> Game Settings -> Enable developer console. This will then allow you to open the console using the tilde key ~.

Q)How do I open the server browser?
A) The community server browser is available in the main menu, and can also be accessed from the pause menu while in-game.

Q) Can I host my own dedicated server?
A) Yes, the CS:GO dedicated server is available. Click here for more details.

Q) Can I make maps for CS:GO?
A) Yes, there is a new SDK available for CS:GO. Players can subscribe to new maps through the Map Workshop, where designers can get feedback on early versions of their maps.

Q) How do I play competitively?
A) Enter a competitive match using Find A Game -> Classic Competitive

Q) Why does my crosshair change size?
A) The crosshair consists of multiple parts. The most obvious section is the dot in the middle which is used for aiming. The traditional cross hatch moves as you move and provides rough accuracy. The brackets represent the weapon accuracy at all times including being stationary and firing.

Q) Why can I sometimes defuse the bomb faster than other times?
A) On the counter-terrorist side if you are carrying a defuse kit it will halve the defuse time. The defuse kit appears as a small pair of needle nose pliers in the lower right corner of your in-game UI.

Q) What are the minimum and/or suggested system specs?
CS: GO Minimum Requirements:

Intel CPU: Dual-Core Pentium D @ 2.4GHz
AMD CPU: Dual-Core AMD Athlon 64 X2 @ 2.0GHz
RAM: 2 GB
NVidia GPU: NVidia GTX 200 or greater
AMD GPU: AMD HD4000 or greater
DirectX: DirectX 9
HDD Space: 4GB
FPS Verdict: 60 - 100.

CS: GO Recommended Requirements:

Intel CPU: Quad-Core Intel Core i5 @ 2.66GHz
AMD CPU: Quad-Core AMD Phenom II @ 2.5GHz
RAM: 4 GB
NVidia GPU: NVidia GTX 500 or greater
AMD GPU: AMD HD6000 or greater
DirectX: DirectX 11
HDD Space: 4GB
FPS Verdict: 120 - 200+

Q) Why aren’t the characters solid?
A) In Casual mode players can pass through each other as their bodies are not solid. In Competitive mode the player’s bodies are solid and they cannot pass through each other. This also allows for player stacking in competitive mode.

Q) What modes are available in CS:GO?
A) CS:GO has two versions of the Classic Counter-Strike Gameplay, Casual and Competitive. It also has a Deathmatch mode and two gun progression modes: Arms Race, and Demolition.

Q) Will there be team match making?
A) Yes. It is in works by Valve

Q) Will there be a replay system?
A) Yes, Valve will be implementing this feature at a later date.

Q) What tools are there for spectating?
A) There are many ways to watch games from the Watch page in the game and from the TwitchTV streams featured here on the blog. Many spectator features are available when watching matches from within the game.

Q) How can I see my ping?
A) Ping is visible on the left side of the scoreboard.

Q) How many players are allowed on a server?
A) Official servers support 5v5 matches in Competitive mode, and up to 20 players in Casual mode. The scoreboard is designed to support up to 24 players.

Q) Is CS:GO available on the Mac?
A) Yes, CS:GO is currently available for both PC and Mac.

This post has been edited by memphiz_zero88: Oct 20 2014, 09:09 PM
Peisqo
post Jun 5 2005, 10:14 PM

5 Star Member !!
900 posts

ok H@H@ i finally got my original copy today ... just wanna know how the friend thinggy works ? It's so hard to be able to join the same game with my friends ...
TSH@H@
post Jun 5 2005, 10:17 PM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

QUOTE(Peisqo @ Jun 5 2005, 10:14 PM)
ok H@H@ i finally got my original copy today ... just wanna know how the friend thinggy works ? It's so hard to be able to join the same game with my friends ...
Don't use it. Its broken... In my 2 years of using Steam, I've never once seen someone on it... Even though I have 4 names. Use Xfire instead.
Peisqo
post Jun 5 2005, 10:34 PM

5 Star Member !!
900 posts

does it has fuction where it checks which server is my fren in or auto join in my fren's game ?
csL
post Jun 5 2005, 10:44 PM

114 posts

yeap, u downloaded xfire? Xfire have this function, u can join them when they are in game but not the friend list in ur game.
MasterAlvin
post Jun 6 2005, 01:18 AM

Not my Head!! Not my HEAD!!!!
1,677 posts

QUOTE(Peisqo @ Jun 5 2005, 10:34 PM)
does it has fuction where it checks which server is my fren in or auto join in my fren's game ?
xFire has everything you need
Peisqo
post Jun 6 2005, 06:10 PM

5 Star Member !!
900 posts

that's cool .. thanks
Peisqo
post Jun 6 2005, 09:50 PM

5 Star Member !!
900 posts

is there anyway where i can join my fren's game that he creates at home with bots ? Say he create a game in his house with bots ... can i join his game ? if yes how ? thnx .. and it doesn;t seem really efficient .. my fren has joined a game but it says he's not in my xfire .. did i do anything wrong ? how can we refresh the list or something ..

This post has been edited by Peisqo: Jun 6 2005, 09:53 PM
MasterAlvin
post Jun 6 2005, 11:57 PM

1,677 posts

first, he needs to type "sv_lan 0" in console, then you need to make sure he's not on a router, or he will need to open certain ports, i dunno about ports, you'll need someone else to help.

if you are set, all you need is his IP addie
Peisqo
post Jun 7 2005, 09:21 AM

5 Star Member !!
900 posts

so i just create a normal game with bots .. type "sv_lan 0" in console ( i'm without router ) and he can join my game via xfire ? xfire auto detects which game i am in isn;t it ?

edit: haha sorry i'm so n00b .. i remember when i last played was like beta 5. something ? lol .. awp shot leg oso can die 1 .. and those bunny hop days .. anyways is there any command we type during the start game works now ? Like cs_sidespeed or something like that .. i remember last time got alot 1 .. does it still work now ? if got can someone share with me some useful commands sad.gif

and also how to join game when i know the ip ? I can't seem to find any place to enter ip address

This post has been edited by Peisqo: Jun 7 2005, 11:21 AM
csL
post Jun 7 2005, 12:15 PM

114 posts

Here u goes, a full set of command for cs source, if that not you need nvm tongue.gif . Cuz i play only source..... btw, if you want to connect to a server, at console you can type connect xxx.xx.xx.xx:xxxxx then enter. Its work in cs source. Hmm... the command list isn't made by me, i actually dl it from some forum. tongue.gif

Attached File(s)
Attached File  commands.zip ( 24.51k ) Number of downloads: 264
arshad
post Jun 7 2005, 02:05 PM

Blessed
1,527 posts

to port forward..go portforward.com... thumbup.gif
Peisqo
post Jun 7 2005, 03:35 PM

5 Star Member !!
900 posts

thanks ... i tried the sv_lan my fren still can't join la .. how to enter ip ? can't join tru xfire
ZipD
post Jun 7 2005, 06:32 PM

434 posts

Type 'connect xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx' (without quotes) in the console, where x is the numbers representing the IP address of your friend's server. Your friend must also NOT be blocked by a router (if he has any) and both of you must unblock HL2 from the Windows Firewall if you're using Windows XP SP2.

If you still cannot connect. Try connecting to an internet CSS server. If you can't connect to any servers, try this thread http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=92118.

If that doesn't help, please note down the error message you got from Steam and post it here so that we can help.

This post has been edited by ZipD: Jun 7 2005, 06:36 PM
Peisqo
post Jun 7 2005, 08:02 PM

5 Star Member !!
900 posts

both parties must port forward ar ? anyways what's the port for source ar ?

MasterAlvin
post Jun 8 2005, 12:27 AM

1,677 posts

only host needs to do port forwarding
ZipD
post Jun 8 2005, 12:46 AM

434 posts

Copy & pasted from Steam User Forums:

Firewall/Router Settings
If you can't see your server in the list or your friends are not able to connect to your server then this could have many causes. One of them is that you're behind a firewall or a router.
If your server is behind a firewall and/or you are using a router, you need to open/forward these ports:

UDP 1200 (Friends Network)
UDP 27000 to 27015 (Gameport)
UDP 27020
TCP 27030 to 27039
TCP: 27015 (SRCDS Rcon port)

For the full thing: Source Dedicated Server (Windows Only) FAQ

This post has been edited by ZipD: Jun 8 2005, 12:48 AM
Lurker
post Jun 8 2005, 02:42 AM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

I can't find places to get CS, CZ or CSS. How to get it then?
At the moment, the official distributor of VUG games, Sendi Mutiara Multimedia, is not allowed to distribute any Valve game anymore as VUG and Valve are no longer together. So, finding a copy of any of these games at retailis not so easy. You can try looking for it at some retailers who are selling old stock or purchase it via Steam.

any idea which store in KL still have stock?
Peisqo
post Jun 12 2005, 04:36 PM

5 Star Member !!
900 posts

the port forward thing still doesn't work la .. 4get it la .. anyone knows how to activate the QUAKE thing ar ? like dota 1 ... got FIRST BLOOD ... DOMINATING like that ... how to activate ?
davidman82
post Jul 6 2005, 02:26 PM

1,453 posts

One CS COndition Zero Original CD sold how much???

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:48 AM