Feature wall color choices?

TSGameFr3ak
post Nov 9 2010, 02:51 AM, updated 15y ago

3,849 posts

Hey guys, I'm trying to figure out a color for my master bedroom's feature wall. Firstly let me list out the color choices of the house.

Wall primary color : White
Furnitures : Black
Decor : black with some red

With the above info, I hope you guys understood the theme of the house. I thought of using Black for the feature wall.

Something like this. What do you guys think?

Oh and BTW, anyone knows where in the forum to get that light that illuminates from the bed headboard? Can this be done by those simple LED strips/tubes?

avantasia
post Nov 9 2010, 07:56 AM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

Wallpaper is one of a good choice....

U can use T5 tube for the headboard
TSGameFr3ak
post Nov 9 2010, 08:37 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(avantasia @ Nov 9 2010, 07:56 AM)
Wallpaper is one of a good choice....

U can use T5 tube for the headboard
I'm gonna paint the wall biggrin.gif and hang up some large poster..

Any idea where to get that T5 tube?
numbertwo
post Nov 9 2010, 09:59 AM

1,784 posts

T5 tubes, u can find them in every light shop..a 4ft bar price starts from RM19 to RM25..

but i like the LED strips if it is not too expensive!
Drian
post Nov 9 2010, 10:12 AM

4,999 posts

It'll make your room look small. Gray will be better.

TSGameFr3ak
post Nov 9 2010, 11:03 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Nov 9 2010, 09:59 AM)
T5 tubes, u can find them in every light shop..a 4ft bar price starts from RM19 to RM25..

but i like the LED strips if it is not too expensive!
hmmm but I'm thinking about something that is flexible and thin. So I can slide them through tight spaces yet still illuminate certain area...

QUOTE(Drian @ Nov 9 2010, 10:12 AM)
It'll make your room look small. Gray will be better.
Did some further researches and much agreeable that black absorbs light hence tighten up the illusion of wide space. How about if I hang up a large black n white canvas wall poster on the black wall? With some lights behind the canvas, lighting up the whole poster. drool.gif

When you say gray, is it dark gray or gray of other tones? Do you have any pics ? rclxub.gif

And guys, any idea how to hang a large canvas poster without any nails?

Thanks for the inputs...

This post has been edited by GameFr3ak: Nov 9 2010, 11:28 AM
tinkerbel
post Nov 9 2010, 11:05 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@GameFr3ak,
Just a thought - would Black be uhm...too-mosquito-friendly?
Shazzac
post Nov 9 2010, 11:21 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Nov 9 2010, 11:05 AM)
@GameFr3ak,
Was about to say that. Alot of insects might decide to 'stay' near the black walls. If our weather is really dry & cool, it would probably be ok.
Drian
post Nov 9 2010, 11:22 AM

4,999 posts

http://www.decorpad.com/photos/2009/06/09/1ce3da8b7ec8.jpg

Something like this kind of gray.
TSGameFr3ak
post Nov 9 2010, 11:31 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Nov 9 2010, 11:05 AM)
@GameFr3ak,
QUOTE(Shazzac @ Nov 9 2010, 11:21 AM)
Was about to say that. Alot of insects might decide to 'stay' near the black walls. If our weather is really dry & cool, it would probably be ok.
Hmm nvr thought of this problem. Will this still happen if I live on the tallest floor (23rd) ? With medium sunlight access. And mostly air conditioned?

QUOTE(Drian @ Nov 9 2010, 11:22 AM)
Nice color. And the wall poster is the kind that I have in mind... wink.gif
Shazzac
post Nov 9 2010, 11:54 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Nov 9 2010, 11:31 AM)
Hmm nvr thought of this problem. Will this still happen if I live on the tallest floor (23rd) ? With medium sunlight access. And mostly air conditioned?
I'm not sure about that though. I have never tried any dark coloured wall before. As long as your room is well-aired and at times air it with outside air will be fine.

Or maybe you could try it out and let us know? I think also need about a year or 2 to find out if the spiders etc will be crowded into that area or not. But if you clean it all the time (behind your bedhead etc), should be no problem.
TSGameFr3ak
post Nov 9 2010, 12:02 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Nov 9 2010, 11:54 AM)
I'm not sure about that though. I have never tried any dark coloured wall before. As long as your room is well-aired and at times air it with outside air will be fine.

Or maybe you could try it out and let us know? I think also need about a year or 2 to find out if the spiders etc will be crowded into that area or not. But if you clean it all the time (behind your bedhead etc), should be no problem.
biggrin.gif I'm currently living in another Condo and the whole house is painted in white. guess what, it doesn't stop the spiders from coming. Though I don't see any mosquito, probably coz I'm living on the 19th floor. Even if there is mosquitoes, it gotta be from my own toilet....
Shazzac
post Nov 9 2010, 12:21 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Nov 9 2010, 12:02 PM)
biggrin.gif I'm currently living in another Condo and the whole house is painted in white. guess what, it doesn't stop the spiders from coming. Though I don't see any mosquito, probably coz I'm living on the 19th floor. Even if there is mosquitoes, it gotta be from my own toilet....
The Spiders came because you seldom 'dust' your place lor. If you practice dusting and cleaning the walls at least once a mth with Magic Mop (from Kao), your walls/ceilings will be clean from other stuff.

I just meant that black will attract as insects like cool & dark places.
gjohn
post Nov 9 2010, 03:46 PM

388 posts

for my house..
living room..feat colour=red..the rest white..
my master bedroom..feat colour=dark purple..the rest light purple..
raymondlim
post Nov 9 2010, 08:30 PM

384 posts

Guys .. asking your opinion.. this below color nice?

TSGameFr3ak
post Nov 9 2010, 08:37 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Nov 9 2010, 12:21 PM)
The Spiders came because you seldom 'dust' your place lor. If you practice dusting and cleaning the walls at least once a mth with Magic Mop (from Kao), your walls/ceilings will be clean from other stuff.

I just meant that black will attract as insects like cool & dark places.
ahh ok.. that means if i pick dark color then I need to be more hardworking...

QUOTE(gjohn @ Nov 9 2010, 03:46 PM)
for my house..
living room..feat colour=red..the rest white..
my master bedroom..feat colour=dark purple..the rest light purple..
Got pics ? drool.gif

QUOTE(raymondlim @ Nov 9 2010, 08:30 PM)
Guys .. asking your opinion.. this below color nice?
Hmm looks ok in the pic but I guess you need a lot of lights to make it look even better?
raymondlim
post Nov 9 2010, 08:40 PM

384 posts

Ya.. dissapointed with that gray.. hahaha, have to repaint brighter color.
IGax2000
post Nov 9 2010, 09:04 PM

641 posts

i said chili red or deep purple as it will match well with ur dark walnut furniture tongue.gif
TSGameFr3ak
post Nov 9 2010, 09:11 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(raymondlim @ Nov 9 2010, 08:40 PM)
Ya.. dissapointed with that gray.. hahaha, have to repaint brighter color.
I think it lacks brightness. Should be ok if there's enough natural light during the day and enough lighting during the night will be good enough. Though I do think that gray and maroon is a little too dark. But should be ok as a feature wall color I guess..

QUOTE(IGax2000 @ Nov 9 2010, 09:04 PM)
i said chili red or deep purple as it will match well with ur dark walnut furniture tongue.gif
Nah furniture will not be dark walnut. It should be black, pure black. But Chili red paint seems to be a feasible idea.
Eleganz Concept
post Nov 9 2010, 10:32 PM

582 posts

Do you know? dust actually not black colour, but is some kind of gray, so unless your "black" wall is using gross finish paint, if not when the dust stop on the wall, it will look very bad

0.0202sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:28 PM