146 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Astro B.yond V7.0, NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT

azrin_kiko
post Nov 8 2010, 10:31 PM

634 posts

Dun forget to sign the petition.. The link is below my signature,,, Support MPEG-4 for SD
Ivan Sac
post Nov 8 2010, 10:45 PM

368 posts

Hi..
I have a question here...

Im wish to get Astro Beyond but for the moment I dont want to subscribe HD channels first...
Actually I need Astro Beyond to record my favorite programs only...

As I know there are 2 options :

1. Get Astro Beyond then get WD Hardisk
2. Get Astro Beyond which have internal hardisk..

What is the difference between this two..?
What is the monthly subscription for both options.?

azrin_kiko
post Nov 8 2010, 11:54 PM

634 posts

The Difference between mpeg-2 and mpeg-4/avc

Bitrate, both 1600kbps

download samples:

H.264 version

MPEG-2 version

Downscale from true HD video

This post has been edited by azrin_kiko: Nov 8 2010, 11:56 PM
Qash-M
post Nov 8 2010, 11:56 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Nov 8 2010, 11:54 PM)
The Difference between mpeg-2 and mpeg-4/avc

Bitrate, both 1600kbps

download samples:

H.264 version

MPEG-2 version

Downscale from true HD video
Link doesn't work... sweat.gif
azrin_kiko
post Nov 8 2010, 11:57 PM

634 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Nov 8 2010, 11:56 PM)
Link doesn't work... sweat.gif
fixed
Qash-M
post Nov 9 2010, 12:00 AM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Nov 8 2010, 11:57 PM)
fixed
MPEG2 is so 2000.... tongue.gif
wongsf
post Nov 9 2010, 12:09 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Nov 8 2010, 11:57 PM)
fixed
I have already sign the petition.
writesimply
post Nov 9 2010, 12:47 AM

933 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Nov 8 2010, 10:31 PM)
Dun forget to sign the petition.. The link is below my signature,,, Support MPEG-4 for SD

Your petition plays into Astro's hand. They want to change to MPEG-4 - and get people to subscribe to the HD channels - but they are just waiting for the numbers to make sense before doing it nationwide. Stock availability, installation and customer support training must be there before they can migrate everyone to MPEG-4.

The reason you're playing into their hand is that the petition doesn't give the customer any benefit. Simply migrating to MPEG-4 doesn't guarantee quality. Unfortunately you do have to get technical to explain the reason for the migration. IF Astro uses the same bitrate for SD channel transmission AND uses MPEG-4 codec, the quality of the SD channels increases two-fold.

EDIT: You did mention the bitrate on your petition. What is the current bitrate for MPEG-2 SD channels?

fuad

This post has been edited by writesimply: Nov 9 2010, 12:50 AM
gahkin
post Nov 9 2010, 12:52 AM

733 posts

just now i see the adverstiment during watching drama say astro will update the service and remind we go to standby mode when not in used.. i wan ask astro wanna add more new channel come???
azrin_kiko
post Nov 9 2010, 01:16 AM

634 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ Nov 9 2010, 12:47 AM)
Your petition plays into Astro's hand. They want to change to MPEG-4 - and get people to subscribe to the HD channels - but they are just waiting for the numbers to make sense before doing it nationwide. Stock availability, installation and customer support training must be there before they can migrate everyone to MPEG-4.

The reason you're playing into their hand is that the petition doesn't give the customer any benefit. Simply migrating to MPEG-4 doesn't guarantee quality. Unfortunately you do have to get technical to explain the reason for the migration. IF Astro uses the same bitrate for SD channel transmission AND uses MPEG-4 codec, the quality of the SD channels increases two-fold.

EDIT: You did mention the bitrate on your petition. What is the current bitrate for MPEG-2 SD channels?
fuad
Yes i know that, in the petition i do mention "given period of transition", that is Astro can set up a certain time that all customers will change to mpeg-4. About the samples, i compared the quality of both videos in the same bitrate but different codec, i don't know the current bitrate of Astro sd channels.
SUSjalsrix
post Nov 9 2010, 01:18 AM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(gahkin @ Nov 9 2010, 12:52 AM)
just now i see the adverstiment during watching drama say astro will update the service and remind we go to standby mode when not in used.. i wan ask astro wanna add more new channel come???
No. astro wants to upgrade bugs in their software.
aressandro10
post Nov 9 2010, 02:01 AM

121 posts

may i ask if Asia Games channel is available to non-sports package subscribers?

and can PVR decoders function as normal decoder if we pplug in one cable only?

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Nov 9 2010, 02:03 AM
dxjb
post Nov 9 2010, 03:21 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Nov 9 2010, 02:01 AM)
may i ask if Asia Games channel is available to non-sports package subscribers?

and can PVR decoders function as normal decoder if we pplug in one cable only?
asia games only for sports pack but some games will be on astro arena like football..malaysia vs japan and malaysia vs china..
SUSjalsrix
post Nov 9 2010, 01:03 PM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ Nov 9 2010, 03:21 AM)
asia games only for sports pack but some games will be on astro arena like football..malaysia vs japan and malaysia vs china..
what about channel 820 ? also for sports package only ?
sky3742
post Nov 9 2010, 05:15 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Nov 9 2010, 01:03 PM)
what about channel 820 ? also for sports package only ?
non-beyond can access red button feature menu on ch 820 to access result, news, medal tally and more, unfortunately beyond can't... cry.gif
I've also own sport pack already.. notworthy.gif

TSapexg2
post Nov 9 2010, 05:15 PM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

regarding the petition, is it ok or either they will blame us?just thinking for our safety...if ok, its a better step!!!
Qash-M
post Nov 9 2010, 05:22 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(apexg2 @ Nov 9 2010, 05:15 PM)
regarding the petition, is it ok or either they will blame us?just thinking for our safety...if ok, its a better step!!!
It's their job to make us satisfied with their service... laugh.gif
THEALB10N
post Nov 9 2010, 05:54 PM

246 posts

If they force customers to swap to new STBs, what about everyone who has astro max? I'm pretty sure they won't be happy to swap to a non-recordable box or a recordable box with a monthly fee...
dxjb
post Nov 9 2010, 06:32 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(sky3742 @ Nov 9 2010, 05:15 PM)
non-beyond can access red button feature menu on ch 820 to access result, news, medal tally and more, unfortunately beyond can't... cry.gif
I've also own sport pack already.. notworthy.gif
who says Byond cannot access?? why cant u access? i have Byond..ok for me to check all that..u must give it time to load after u get on that channel..
minimize
post Nov 9 2010, 07:41 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(Ivan Sac @ Nov 8 2010, 10:45 PM)
Hi..
I have a question here...

Im wish to get Astro Beyond but for the moment I dont want to subscribe HD channels first...
Actually I need Astro Beyond to record my favorite programs only...

As I know there are 2 options :

1. Get Astro Beyond then get WD Hardisk
2. Get Astro Beyond which have internal hardisk..

What is the difference between this two..?
What is the monthly subscription for both options.?
1- Byond with WD HDD
RM5/month, 1 tuner, 320GB HDD, RM230 for external HDD

2- Byond PVR
RM10/month, 2 tuner, 500GB HDD and RM300 installation fee

This post has been edited by minimize: Nov 9 2010, 07:46 PM

146 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:36 PM